Reviews and Testimonials

9.8

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 41 reviews.

Review submitted by David N (Son of Resident/Service User) on Monday 21 May 2018. Review relates to May 2018.

On this visit all the staff I saw were very friendly and would answer any questions I had openly and honestly. My Mother and the other residents I saw are well cared for and any needs they had were dealt with quickly and efficiently. My Mothers room is very clean as are all the common areas. I am very glad that I chose Fernhill for my Mother to stay in.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Nicola S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 17 May 2018. Review relates to May 2018.

My father is so much more settled at Fernhill than he was in his overrated previous home. He has a lovely room and the staff are wonderful. They truly seem to enjoy working at Fernhill. This truly is a caring care home. Management is excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Lynne G (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 16 May 2018. Review relates to May 2018.

My Husband is very well cared for in a lovely6 environment. All the carers are marvellous, the home is a friendly place, always making you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. There are some good activities and trips for all to take part in. The food and drink very good and special cakes for different occasions, all very good. It has been very comforting for myself and two Sons to see my Husband happy in his own way and settled in such a lovely place Fernhill.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Carole F (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 8 May 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

Fernhill has been mum's home for the last 8 years in which time she has been cared for and looked after very well. The staff are dedicated and always very willing and kind. I have peace of mind when I leave that she will be loved and properly looked after. There is nowhere like home but this comes pretty close. Well done Fernhill.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Robert H (Son of Resident/Service User) on Sunday 22 April 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone at Fernhill for the help and support they gave my mother while staying there. Sadly, she passed away there on the 2/4/2018, she was at peace there, comfortable and warm. I cannot put into words how much they looked after her, all the staff were so helpful and caring, They couldn't do enough, right to the end.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Shirley A (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Friday 16 March 2018. Review relates to February 2018.

My first visit to Fernhill and an absolute pleasure to be there. The staff are very welcoming. Very relaxed and nothing is too much trouble. Such a lovely place and lovely surroundings.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jean J (Sister of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 22 February 2018. Review relates to November 2017.

My sister went into respite care at Fernhill, having lived alone for 10 years, and was so happy with the care she received from the staff that she is now a full-time resident, enjoying the company and the activities.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by B S (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Monday 15 January 2018. Review relates to January 2018.

Staff have always been very helpful.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Activities: Don't Know
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Jeff M (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 5 December 2017. Review relates to November 2017.

I visit my long-standing friend as often as possible. He is looked after extremely well and his room and surrounding lounge and garden are beautifully maintained. I find the management and staff extremely professional in every respect and are always willing to help with any respect of my friend's care. I would certainly recommend Fernhill to my friends and family.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Mark N (Nephew of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 19 October 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

Fernhill at Ferndown Dorset is part of Colten Care, my uncle has been a resident from April 2017. I was at first, nervous of my uncle going into a dementia care home but Fernhill has been excellent in their care for him and also supportive and reassuring to other family members. They have an open door policy for visitors so are not able to hide anything. They are real and genuinely support my uncle, all the staff from the cleaners, chefs, carers. The management is very approachable with questions and any concerns and answers are received quickly and efficiently. With my uncle's condition, it is clear to me that he is well cared for and in an excellent caring environment. Fernhill is and has been, outstanding.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jennifer E (Daughter-in-law of Resident/Service User) on Friday 29 September 2017. Review relates to September 2017.

My mother in law has been at Fernhill now for 4 months and we continue to be delighted with all aspects of her care. The staff are extremely caring and friendly, from housekeeping to management. She now needs puréed food which is a real meal presented so nicely on a plate, very tasty and which she really enjoys. We are so pleased that we chose Fernhill and have recommended it to a friend to consider for a relative.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Michael F (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 28 September 2017. Review relates to September 2017.

My wife suffers from Alzheimer's and has recently been attending Fernhill one day a week, partly to receive stimulation and a change of environment but also a short respite for myself. We are met by friendly, welcoming staff in a warm and secure facility. Although my wife has so far only attended on three occasions, she seems very happy and enjoys her visits. I was initially loath to leave her but am now happy to know she is in safe hands.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by John E (Son of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 31 August 2017. Review relates to July 2017.

A lovely home providing a high level of care delivered by fantastic staff at all levels.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by K J (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 12 July 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

I have written this review several times, trying to include all that is so good about Fernhill Care Home. I cannot praise the staff highly enough for all the kindness, care, comfort and dignity they give to the residents. Fernhill is becoming my second home. My husband is safe and happy in their care. One little thing I would like to mention is the garden, lush and green as it is, I think it is sadly in need of much more colour and interest.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J R (Resident / Service User) on Friday 30 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

Excellent home. I found everyone very professional. Nothing is too much trouble. All the staff are very happy and friendly. I feel very happy indeed that my uncle is in this home. My thanks to everyone who works here. Wonderful people.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S E (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 8 June 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

Excellent service under difficult circumstances. My friend being some 20 years younger than 98% residents chooses to eat more 'modern food' and generally refuses inclusion. Very few minor irritations, disappointed with care taken of laundry.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Steve M (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 3 May 2017. Review relates to April 2017.

I don't believe my friend could be anywhere better.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Lisa M (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 24 April 2017. Review relates to April 2017.

The staff are excellent, always happy to help all residents and family members. It's always a joy to visit mum as I know how happy she is here. Nothing is too much trouble and the family feel is fantastic. I always know mum is safe and well looked after. No complaints from me or mum. Carry on with the excellent service you are providing.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Kathryn (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 17 March 2017. Review relates to March 2017.

My father had always said that he didn't want to go into a care home, so when his Alzheimers progressed to a point that he needed 24-hour care my sister and I tried everything we could to keep him at home. However, after several nasty falls, we decided that we could no longer keep him safe at home and reluctantly looked for a care home for him. In total, we looked at 24 homes and decided that Fernhill was by far the best, and we have not been disappointed. All of the staff are friendly and helpful, they will take the time to discuss any concerns and they always treat the residents with dignity and respect. When my father was at home he spent a large amount of his time sleeping in the chair however since he's been at Fernhill he's been on trips, attended tea parties, been entertained by singers and musicians and even stroked an Alpaca! My sister and I know that he is safe and well cared for and we are confident that we made the right choice.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sarah M (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Saturday 14 January 2017. Review relates to December 2016.

We were very reluctant to put my mum into a care home as we had heard terrible stories in the press about the standard of care homes in general. As my mum's condition worsened we had no choice and I'm pleased to say that we were lucky enough to find Fernhill. The home is lovely and the staff are friendly and caring. Every visit provides us with the comfort of knowing that she is safe and well looked after. My mum's appearance is always immaculate, something she always cared about before her illness. The staff are kind and seem to genuinely understand the sadness of families with a loved one with dementia. We are very happy with the lovely facilities and would highly recommend Fernhill to other families facing this awful dilemma.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Robert B (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 10 November 2016. Review relates to October 2016.

My wife has dementia and has been in care for some seven months. She needs to be pushed in a wheelchair. I have found the staff to be most helpful with such as personal care, hoisting, feeding and dealing with medication in the difficult circumstances. The activities staff also do this but to engage her in the various past times. I and my family looked at quite a number of care homes and decided that Fernhill had the best facilities. (I worked on the basis that it is where I personally would wish to be cared for in the same circumstances). The outcome has indeed come up to our expectations.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Lesley F (Power of Attorney/Solicitor of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 20 September 2016. Review relates to September 2016.

When I arrived, I found the care staff very caring and sympathetic. As time went by during my stay, I found the staff were wonderful and well maintained. In general, I have enjoyed the variety of activities except my bus trip as I was a little poorly with travel sickness. The Activity Organiser looked after me really well with love and dignity. In general, the home is lovely and I like my bedroom. With regards to the food when I first arrived it was lovely, however, it deteriorated during my stay.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Keith R (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Monday 12 September 2016. Review relates to August 2016.

My wife has been a resident with Vascular Dementia for the past nine months at Fernhill. The nursing care given by the nurses and care workers is first class and it is obvious that the regular training of staff at all levels is of a high standard. The activities are well planned with several main events held each month. Cleanliness of the entire building is very good with a reliable cleaning team. The food is well cooked with interesting menus. I would have no hesitation in recommending Fernhill to my friends.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Michael R (Son of Resident/Service User) on Monday 5 September 2016. Review relates to September 2016.

Ever since my family came into contact with Fernhill we feel more as though we have extended our family than that we have brought Mum into a 'home'. The standard of care is evident from the first contact with staff and I can honestly say that we feel Mum is in the hands of medical care, as in, say, a hospital, rather than simply a care home. Reaction time between request and action is very short ... one is not side-lined in any way. As a family, we thought we could keep Mum at home all the way but realised the odds were against us after quite a struggle - finding Colten care brought about a complete change in our outlook. At every visit I find Mum at ease, happy, eating well and responsive to members of staff. She calls her room home and enjoys the fact that she can have peace when she wants it, company when she wants it. We are all so relieved, knowing every aspect of Mum's health, character and personality are taken into account and treated with consummate tenderness. Top marks.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Andy K (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 17 August 2016. Review relates to August 2016.

My mum was taken poorly in the early evening and all the staff were absolutely amazing and caring - the nurses were very supportive and the carers were brilliant. The standard of care in general and the atmosphere within the home provides a safe and secure environment, this combined with the high standard of care cannot be faulted so I thoroughly recommend it as an excellent choice for a loved one.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Julie N (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 28 July 2016. Review relates to July 2016.

From the moment you walk into Fernhill you can feel how friendly it is, the staff know and greet everyone by name. Mum loves being here and enjoys all the activities provided. There are lots of outside visits and excursions on the mini bus for all the residents to enjoy on a weekly basis. I as a carer have support and advice consistently.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Alison F (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 30 June 2016. Review relates to June 2016.

After making a quick decision to bring mum to Fernhill the staff were very helpful, both helping her settle in and supporting us at a difficult time. Mum enjoys the activities provided at Fernhill and loves the cake that is always available. The activities managers have amazing enthusiasm and provide innovative sessions on a daily basis.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sue D (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 22 June 2016. Review relates to May 2016.

Fernhill has proved to be the right place for my friend to live. My friend is ninety three and has dementia and is extremely unsteady on her feet. I cannot thank the staff enough for helping her to settle and in their safeguarding of her. She loves all the activities and is always immaculate in her appearance and content with her life. The home is spotless, the food excellent and staff great everyone with a smile, nothing is to much trouble for them.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Hazel P (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 8 June 2016. Review relates to June 2016.

Feel that this is the best place Mum could be in. Confident that she is well cared for.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sandra H (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 8 June 2016. Review relates to June 2016.

Mum is looked after in the best possible way.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Satisfactory
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Dianne H (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 7 June 2016. Review relates to May 2016.

I feel the home provides my mum with the love, dignity and care I as a daughter could wish for her. The staff are always very polite and friendly when I visit, which is at least 4 times a week. I feel lucky to have my mum in such a lovely home. She loves all the music afternoons and responds very well. I often join in and it's a lovely afternoon for us both.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Brian S (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Monday 6 June 2016. Review relates to May 2016.

My wife has been a resident for nearly 3 years now and I am happy with the care she receives. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The facilities are fabulous and the level of care is excellent. Whenever I visit, I am made to feel very welcome and everyone waves and chats as I walk through the home.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Judith B (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Friday 3 June 2016. Review relates to May 2016.

I stayed 2 days and nights at the home and was able to observe daily activity. The home was run by caring, pleasant and helpful staff who worked very hard to meet the needs of demanding clientelle. Food was served in excellent portions but was not always warm when it reached the residents. Residents were observed to be enjoying a party but showed little interest in a craft session. Overall standards were high, well above average and residents are treated with kindness and dignity.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Stephanie M (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 3 June 2016. Review relates to May 2016.

Very caring. Always treated with dignity. Lots of activities organised which my mother is very keen on and always attends. Generally good food and drink. Mother eats well and is now on a reducing diet which has helped keep her weight on an even keel. Good communication from staff - whenever necessary.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Fernhill
  • Read excerpts from letters of thanks sent to Fernhill.
    (Original letters are kept in a book available to visitors at reception)
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • Fernhill was such a peaceful and caring place for the people who live in it, I always left knowing that my Dad would have the best care and love from the staff
    Jackie, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    17 May 2018
  • The staff are dedicated and always very willing and kind, I have peace of mind when I leave that Mum will be loved and properly looked after, there is nowhere like home but this comes pretty close. Well done Fernhill!
    Carole, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    08 May 2018
  • Thank you to everyone at Fernhill for the help and support they gave my mother, she was at peace there, comfortable and warm. I cannot put into words how much they looked after her, all the staff were so helpful and caring
    Robert, son of resident at Fernhill

    22 April 2018
  • You gave me such peace of mind knowing how caring you all were
    Debbie, relative of resident at Fernhil

    09 April 2018
  • A card cannot express how much we as a family appreciate the amazing love and care you have all shown our relative in the three and a half years she has lived at Fernhill. Your commitment to caring for each person as a special individual is incredible and second to none. You have all become like family, and we will miss you.


    Lyn, relative of resident at Fernhill

    09 March 2018
  • It is a privilege to live here. All the staff are excellent.


    Michael, resident at Fernhill

    09 March 2018
  • I have been taking part in work experience at Fernhill for around four months, and I have thoroughly enjoyed my time spent at the home. The staff have been very welcoming and I look forward to each Wednesday when I can spend time with the residents. Taking part in activities such as painting Christmas trees, preparing room decorations, making Valentine’s Day cards, or simply conversing with residents and their families, is something I class as a privilege and wish to continue to do for as long as possible.


    Leah, work experience visitor to Fernhill

    21 February 2018
  • My sister and I, and all our family, would like to say a big thankyou for all you have done for our father. I’ve always felt peace of mind, knowing he was well cared for and loved. 


    Hilary, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    13 January 2018
  • We owe the fantastic team at Fernhill a huge thank you for looking after our mum for the last seven years. The care and understanding shown was second to none – not only for Mum, but also to us whenever we came to visit. 


    Stephanie, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    05 January 2018
  • The care at Fernhill has been outstanding, and I am very grateful for the support of the whole Fernhill team. Thank you for the dedication, passion and care.


    Alistair, son of resident at Fernhill

    23 November 2017
  • I cannot thank you enough for all the care, love and kindness shown to my husband. For me, Fernhill has become my second home.


    Kay, wife of resident at Fernhill

    19 November 2017
  • I just wanted to say thank you so much for organising such a lovely day for my family. It was wonderful to be able to spend time with Mum over lunch in the café, where the food was as delicious as always. It was very much appreciated.


    Lisa, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    18 November 2017
  • We are writing to thank you for all you did for our relative. From the very beginning of his time with you, he knew nothing but kindness and excellent care. Within days of joining you, he looked brighter and better cared for. It was a pleasure to see him settle and enjoy the food – especially the cake!

    We cannot fault the care, the organisation and management, and the staff themselves. Together, you make Fernhill a special place. 


    Pam, relative of resident at Fernhill

    17 October 2017
  • Just a short note to thank you all at Fernhill for being such kind, compassionate and caring people. 


    Chantal, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    12 September 2017
  • I am so overwhelmed by the kindness and thoughtfulness of you all at Fernhill. Thank you for caring for our relative with such affection.


    Shirlie, relative of resident at Fernhill

    24 August 2017
  • First of all, thank you to all the staff for the excellent nursing care you have provided for my dad. The team have demonstrated forward planning, caring consideration and a lot of patience – they all deserve a gold star!

    Secondly, thank you for organising the relative’s meeting yesterday with all the cakes (your meetings are always well attended by cakes!).

    Last but certainly not least, thank you for making people feel special.


    Lyn, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    15 June 2017
  • A very big thank you for giving my brother such a fantastic day at Bournemouth Football Ground!


    Maureen, sister of resident at Fernhill

    06 June 2017
  • Please accept my sincere thanks for the welcome, cake and card produced when we visited my wife on Saturday, which was our 56th anniversary.

    It was nice to see how well she is clearly being looked after.


    Colin, husband of resident at Fernhill

    24 May 2017
  • I just wanted to thank you for the wonderful Celebration of Life Day yesterday. The elegant setting and personalised content was a very fitting tribute to those we had come to remember.

    It was lovely to see all the staff members again, as well as having the opportunity to talk to other relatives.

    My thanks again to everyone at Fernhill for your kindness and support, and I wish you all the very best for the future.


    Susan, relative of resident at Fernhill

    15 May 2017
  • I wanted to say a big thank you for inviting my family and I to the lovely Celebration of Life Day yesterday. We didn’t know many of the other visitors, but it was great to see so many of the staff who cared so wonderfully for our relative.

    The fountain is delightful, and a super memorial to your late residents. We are looking forward to seeing the flowers grow too – the pots were a lovely touch.

    Thank you again for all that you did for our relative, and for the celebrations yesterday.


    Sue, relative of resident at Fernhill

    15 May 2017
  • Dad and I wanted to thank you and all your wonderful staff for the very happy afternoon we spent at Fernhill yesterday. The memorial service was perfect, and very sensitively done. We’d like to thank you all so much for all the hard work, and all the care and thought that went into providing such a wonderful celebration of so many loved ones’ lives.
    Eddy, son of resident at Fernhill

    15 May 2017
  • My family and I will always be grateful for the love and care that my dear husband received whilst he was at Fernhill, and for the care that was also extended to us as a family too.


    Enid, wife of resident at Fernhill

    12 May 2017
  • I went to your Dementia Friends talk on Monday and I just wanted to say how much it has helped me. I have worked at Fernhill for nearly six months, and my mum has stage-five dementia, so I thought I was reasonably well informed. However, I found the talk very poignant and extremely useful; it has given me a new insight into dementia and changed the way I interact with Mum. I have also talked to my husband and aunt, using your analogies to help them understand her better.


    Elaine, staff member at Fernhill

    26 March 2017
  • I recently visited Fernhill, as part of a training course required in my role as a police officer, and I just wanted to say I considered your establishment to be outstanding.

    Thanks again.


    Jennie, visitor to Fernhill

    16 March 2017
  • On behalf of all our relative’s friends and family, we wanted to pass on our deepest thanks for everything you have done for our relative over the years.

    We have been humbled by the level of care, love and attention to detail shown towards her, and everyone involved has our deepest respect for the humility and empathy that is so obviously present at Fernhill. Our relative was a lady of dignity and all the staff at Fernhill helped maintain that dignity, and for that the family will be eternally grateful.

    We are also grateful for being made to feel so welcome. What you all do at the home is simply fantastic, and we could not recommend you highly enough.

    Thank you again for the amazing, brilliant and fantastic job you all do every day.


    Family of resident at Fernhill

    15 March 2017
  • I want to thank the team at Fernhill so much for looking after Mum these past few months – she has really enjoyed her time with you and we have had peace of mind knowing she has been so well looked after, and made to feel so at home.

    Thank you once again for your care, patience and understanding. 


    Beverley, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    07 March 2017
  • I wanted to take this opportunity to thank all the staff at Fernhill for the wonderful care you provided for my mother whilst she was at Fernhill. The dedication, respect, humanity and compassion shown by everyone was exceptional, and the friendly consideration I was shown was of great support.

    Once again, my sincere thanks.


    Susan, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    05 March 2017
  • Our family would like to acknowledge the last years of Mum’s life at Fernhill. This has been Mum’s and our home for the last six years. We would visit Mum, go out into the lounge and put the kettle on, make ourselves a cuppa, help ourselves to a biscuit (well, I did!) and chat to the carers.

    We have seen Mum’s carers come and go over the years, and we have shed many tears, but with the tears came laughter too, and many stories, like the one where President Obama was going out with Mum for dinner to The White House! She was so excited about this and was talking about what she would wear! And the time she caught the bus to Salisbury and Prince Charles, of all people, was sitting on the bus!

    Mum would be up till hours of the night singing (Mum loved to sing at the top of her voice!) and enjoying a midnight feast with some of the other residents. She enjoyed many of the musical afternoons, singing and dancing with the carers.

    The last few years have been tough for Mum, and us too, but the carers have helped us hugely. We wish we could name you all, past and present, but there are just too many to mention. Each and every one of you were so very kind to our Mum, in many different ways, and the bond Mum had with you all was truly very special; this we could see and it meant the world to us.

    Thank you for your kindness. We know you loved our mum – we had to put our trust in you, and you helped us, each and every one of you.

    Thank you for looking after our dear and very precious Mum.


    Family of resident at Fernhill

    01 March 2017
  • On behalf of myself and my committee, can you please pass on our thanks to your chef, Gary, for the wonderful desserts he made for our ‘Black Tie Gala Dance’.

    They were much appreciated and very well received by everyone. 


    Michael, Chairman of Royal British Legion Ferndown

    28 February 2017
  • My sincere thanks to all the staff at Fernhill for the care and kindness shows towards my mother, especially at the end of her life.

    Thank you also for the support you have given to me.


    Jennifer, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    20 February 2017
  • Huge thanks to everyone at Fernhill for the wonderful send-off party, which was put on for our relative yesterday. In particular, the families, friends and I would like to say how impressed and grateful we all were for the spread the chef put on – it was truly magnificent and I’m so sorry we weren’t able to do justice to all of it.

    Thank you too for the memory cards – they were an unexpected but very welcome surprise.


    Sue, relative of resident at Fernhill

    18 February 2017
  • I have pondered over how to thank everyone for their care of our relative over the past year and can only say ‘thanks’ – but on so many levels.

    Thank you for keeping her safe, for the happiness she got from all the activities, for the fact that every member of staff always had time and a smile – no matter how busy they were.

    And from me, thank you for giving me peace of mind, knowing that my relative was happy and with people who would do anything for her. I knew at Fernhill she would get the help she required when she needed it – how happy I am to remember this.

    You are all very special.


    Relative of resident at Fernhill

    27 January 2017
  • Thank you so much for your recent donation of £900.60.

    Your support is greatly appreciated and invaluable. We would be grateful if you could pass on our thanks to everyone at Fernhill, who have been so generous in supporting Alzheimer’s Society. The funds will be put to work right away to help people living with dementia and their carers.

    One again, thank you.


    Emily, Alzheimer’s Society

    30 December 2016
  • Thank you to all the wonderful staff for looking after my husband so well. You were all so kind, caring and patient. 


    Patsy, wife of respite resident at Fernhill

    25 November 2016
  • I’m sorry that I can’t attend the forthcoming relatives meeting.  But, I did want to take this opportunity to thank everyone at Fernhill for making my friend's life so good.  It was the best decision I ever made for her.
    Sue, friend of resident

    18 November 2016
  • When my mum first arrived at Fernhill a couple of weeks ago, she was greeted by kind and friendly staff, and consequently she didn’t feel isolated. The care at Fernhill is excellent and the home is lovely – you have all been great. 

    Thank you once again. 


    Chantal, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    15 October 2016
  • I wish to thank you all for everything you have done for my mother over the years. Thank you for the care, respect and love she received each and every day, and thank you for making our lives easier and happier through the knowledge that Mum was so safe and well looked after. We could not have wished for a better home for her – she was smiling from the start to the end!  


    Debbie, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    01 October 2016
  • It is difficult to find the words to express our gratitude to all the exceptionally wonderful staff at Fernhill care home for all the love, devotion and care they have provided towards our mother over the years. That same love has also been extended to all of the family, particularly our father. He has found solace and comfort in the knowledge that both he and my mother have been enveloped in the most caring and nurturing environment possible.

    Your staff are stars, and have become family to us. We cannot thank you enough, and we will miss you all. 


    Family of resident at Fernhill

    25 June 2016
  • We wanted to send you all a very big thank you for all of the love, kindness and wonderful care you showed towards my dad and his wife – I don’t know what we would’ve done without you!


    Family of resident at Fernhill

    25 June 2016