A A A

Reviews and Testimonials

9.8

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 34 reviews.

Review submitted by K C (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Saturday 5 May 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

After extensive research, I feel very lucky finally to have found such an excellent care home for my mother. Every member of staff is trained in dementia care and that really shows. Without exception, they are lovely people and I cannot fault the care she is being given.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M J (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 30 April 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

My mother has been a resident at St Catherines for just over 2 months. Since arriving she has been much more settled and content, which I attribute in large part to the carefully laid out facility, the good staffing levels, and the excellent standard of care. It is clear that all staff are thoroughly trained in managing people with dementia, to a standard that is not seen elsewhere. Details such as my mother’s clothes being fully labelled by the morning after her arrival, the fact that all staff speak to residents, and visitors and the lovely “cafe” that people visiting can go to with their friend/family member make this much more homely than would be expected. The whole staff have an air of friendly professionalism and the atmosphere is supportive and caring. We were recommended to this facility by a senior medical professional, so are not surprised to find the standards to be so high. We would not hesitate to recommend St Catherine’s View to others.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by June M (Relative of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 5 April 2018. Review relates to February 2018.

Mum comes to St Catherines View for respite care. I have talked to her about her experience and this review reflects what she said - her room is lovely, and has everything she needs. It is always clean, comfortable, warm and cosy and has stunning views of St Catherines Hill. The food is excellent, plentiful, and there is a good choice on the menu. The staff are brilliant and very hard working. She says they always have time for her, popping in to say hello and taking really good care of her. They are friendly, kind and cant do enough for her. It is wonderful to have somewhere like St Catherines where we can leave mum and know she is safe and happy. The staff and management are brilliant. Mum pops in for the activities even when she is not staying and the staff always make us feel welcome. Visiting between stays means that mum feels familiar, and at home at St Catherines. They also offer a booking service which means we can plan our holidays, which is a big bonus for us.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S F (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 7 March 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

Mum moved to St Catherines View at the end of November 2017. Until then she was living independently with dementia but had an accident resulting in her needing formal care, a shock for us all. From the first time I met the staff, it was evident how passionate they feel about their individual and wider roles as part of the St Catherines View team. Mum has been shown love, care and friendship and has been supported in her recovery by the staff and other residents. The staff are superb and I was able to leave mum knowing that she was happy and felt safe. The care she received was adapted to her routine, likes/dislikes and she was encouraged to join in with the other residents and activities on offer. She was always treated with dignity and respect. Due to distance, mum has recently moved to a home closer to us. If I could, I would pick up and move St Catherines View and all it's staff to be nearer to us. It really is a very special place where your loved one and wider family are genuinely cared for.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by A F (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 4 January 2018.

My mother moved into St Catherines View in August 2017. From the day she moved I have never had a moments concern about her wellbeing. All the staff are caring, go over and above their duties to the residents. Since my mother's diagnosis of dementia in 2009, this is the first me and my family have felt completely reassured that she is safe, wonderfully looked after and genuinely loved by the carers. I have nothing but deep admiration for them all.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Chris T (Son of Resident/Service User) on Sunday 31 December 2017. Review relates to December 2017.

From the day that we first met them, the staff at St Catherines View impressed us with their professionalism, knowledge and caring attitude. You are quickly made to feel part of the family and to make yourself at home. From the moment they arranged the transfer of my mum from the hospital into their care they have looked after her medical, mental and personal-care needs excellently. The themed rooms are great and we're looking forward to the spring so we can explore the gardens with mum too. Residents are encouraged to participate in as many activities as they are able to and there are regular trips out. The staff always make time to listen to any question or request from relatives and are obviously genuinely fond of their residents.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Tim B (Son of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 7 December 2017. Review relates to December 2017.

The care my mother is receiving has been consistently of the highest standard. The staff are always friendly and do everything they can to look after her and make time to comfort her at a very difficult time. The home itself is very well kept and it’s nice to be able to come and have lunch with her.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Tony (Son of Resident/Service User) on Sunday 19 November 2017. Review relates to September 2017.

I could not have asked for a more dignified, professional and friendly environment in which my mother could remain and be cared for in what turned out to be her last few months. A wonderful warm environment more like an upmarket hotel, my family and I particularly loved the music room where my daughters could play and sing to their grandmother (who simply loved music) when they visited. Wonderful helpful, communicative and kind staff who looked after mum as if she was their own.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by L G (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 31 October 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

My father has been at St Catherines View for more than a year. He is very settled, well fed and looked after by the staff in the home. The standard of care is very good and the staff are lovely - particularly the team I have met in Buttercross. My siblings and I are very happy with the level of care our father receives.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Brian R (Power of Attorney/Solicitor of Resident/Service User) on Monday 23 October 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

My wife and I are extremely highly satisfied with the home and its functioning. The staff are excellent and we feel that they are tending absolutely wonderfully to the residents. It is a great help to us to know this.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M S (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 13 September 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

St Catherines is a very well organised care home for residents suffering from dementia. Clean, well run and everything done to a very high standard. The staff, from manager down to carers were brilliant and my mother was very happy there. The fees are on the high side and this was the reason we had to leave.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Simon B (Grandson of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 27 July 2017. Review relates to July 2017.

My Grandma has been a resident for a few years and living far away we are happy knowing she is well looked after. She benefits from a range of activities and has good relationships with the carers.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Linda C (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 6 July 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

St Catherine's View has been my mum's 'home' for just over 2 years. Whilst she is no longer well enough to enjoy the many outings and activities provided, the outstanding care, love and kindness she has always received from everyone is exemplary. We do appreciate everything that is done for her. Thank you so much.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sue C (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 8 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

My mum has been at St Catherines View for three months now. The staff are always very caring and have done everything they can to help my mum settle in. We all found it difficult at first but with patience and support from all the staff mum has settled in well to her new home and we, the family, know that she is safe and being well cared for.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by D T (Power of Attorney/Solicitor of Resident/Service User) on Friday 2 June 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

St Catherines View offers an extremely high quality service of care enabling residents to enjoy life to their full potential. Carers treat residents with kindness and understanding. The staff know each resident on an individual level and take great care to maintain excellent levels of privacy and dignity as required. One thing I would regard as outstanding is the smile and cheerful manner in which all staff greet visitors.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by L G (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 9 May 2017. Review relates to April 2017.

My mother was adamant she would never come into a care home. She said it would kill her! We finally had no option and anticipated terrible scenes and attempts to escape. We are delighted to say that within a week or so she was completely happy, looked well and was joining in and enjoying all the activities. The staff are fantastic - they have made it a success and the whole family are happy.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Paul M (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 28 March 2017. Review relates to March 2017.

My mother arrived at St Catherines View 7 weeks ago. She is in complete denial of her dementia and has been a very difficult case. The assessment was completed in a professional kind manner (i.e. no clipboard questionnaire asking upsetting questions about her memory). Today she is looking better, eating and sleeping well, making friends, playing cards and attending dance and singing classes. She doesn't remember any of this but she does retain a feeling of being taken care of by nice people in a nice place. I can't commend my mother's carers and the management at St Catherines View enough for achieving something that we could not imagine: making and keeping my mother happy. St Catherines View is part of the Colten Care Group, a privately owned business that own and run around 20 homes. The staff seem to be happy and proud working for the company. It is a clean (no unwelcome smells), modern and attractive environment to be in with a cleverly designed layout, gardens and views.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Carolyn D (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 24 January 2017. Review relates to January 2017.

As a new experience for our family, everybody has been so kind and helpful with everything. My father has had and is having excellent care. Everybody makes you feel so welcome - like you are part of a family. Spotless, everything is immaculate. I would recommend St Catherines to anyone.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Ann H (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 4 January 2017. Review relates to December 2016.

Very caring staff who we feel look after our mother with the utmost care while maintaining dignity and respect.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Rachel E (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 31 October 2016. Review relates to August 2016.

The care provided in this home is so good that I cannot think of a single area for improvement. Staff are warm, welcoming and helpful. Each resident really is treated as an individual with all their care needs constantly and thoroughly assessed. Activity staff work on a one to one, as well as group basis. The environment is geared to those with dementia. My mother resided here at a time when her care needs changed rapidly. Not only did the staff respond to her needs but also to my father's. He remained with her constantly in the last three days of her life. The staff cared and supported him just as much as they did my mother. There are so many things that make this home stand above all the rest. In summary, this is a place where one can receive top quality dementia care. It is not just a home that is willing to take people with dementia. I and my family will be forever grateful to the manager and the staff, and indeed to those behind the entire Colten ethos. If only all homes were this good.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Margaret S (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 6 October 2016. Review relates to September 2016.

For the short time my husband has been here I have found the staff to be caring and considerate at all times, always providing me with up to date information.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M B (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 4 October 2016. Review relates to September 2016.

First class care home, with all trained staff in dementia care, which is virtually important to residents and family. All the staff are very professional about what they do and the care they give. All family/friends who visit are very impressed. The home has a lovely, warm, safe feel - a real pleasure to go there!

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by ML (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 12 September 2016. Review relates to August 2016.

The team at St Catherines View were absolutely exceptional. I use the word 'team' as everybody I came in contact with from the laundry room, kitchen, carers through to management treated my mum and myself with such kindness. The staff were gentle and showed respect for mum's dignity always. My family and I will always be grateful for St Catherines View allowing us to have 'peace of mind' that mum was receiving the best possible care. Thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by H R (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 23 August 2016. Review relates to July 2016.

My husband has been a resident at St Catherines View for just over a year, and I feel confident that the challenges his dementia gives to the staff are met with much thought, care and support. All the staff give residents loving care and treat their individual needs with understanding and dignity.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Tim C (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 26 July 2016. Review relates to June 2016.

Colton Care show every diligence and professionalism in caring for our mother, who has gained physical and mental strength since entering the nursing home. The family can genuinely relax, knowing our mother is well looked after.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Steve T (Son of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 21 July 2016. Review relates to July 2016.

Dad received excellent care during his time at St Catherine's View, during which time his Alzheimer's disease was worsening. Following a few weeks in hospital for a serious infection our chosen preference was for him to receive palliative care st St Catherine's View. His last few days of life were made as comfortable as possible and the care provided excellent. My immediate family and I were there when dad passed away. The kindness, dignity and genuine compassion from the staff of St Catherine's View was much appreciated by my family and I.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by A T (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 5 July 2016. Review relates to June 2016.

We were welcomed to the home by all staff in a warm, friendly manner. My mother has improved so much from being here about a month, interacting with others and eating properly, the friendly staff encourage her to be up and dressed. Qualified nurses give reassurance that the meds are correct and working in the right way. Good all round feel and good surroundings.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Kate M (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 20 June 2016. Review relates to June 2016.

I am constantly amazed at the patience the carers show towards my mum. They really know her and know how to look after her. It is not easy to care for someone who is so negative and sometimes disruptive! Thank you. The only reason I have scored some 'good' is that there is no 'very good' to tick. All my 'goods' are really 'very good' and 'excellent' really does mean excellent!

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Susan B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 15 June 2016. Review relates to June 2016.

My mother has been a resident at St Catherine's View for 4 years now. She is extremely happy and content and is living a lovely life. All aspects of her needs are catered for. Her caring team are excellent and she is able to participate the wide variety of activcities on offer. Over the past year the activities have become more focussed on individual preferences which works extremely well. The staff know that my mother speaks French and French speakers on the staff often engage her in conversation. Great care is taken over my mother's eating and gentle strategies have been devised by the care team to help my mother when she becomes challenged by food and mealtimes. We notice that all the staff at St Catherine's know my mother by name and greet her and engage her in conversation when they see her. We really appreciate the ability of all the staff to become involved in residents' care and to involve the residents in diverse aspects of the home

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Brian T (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 31 May 2016. Review relates to May 2016.

From first arrival to date everything has been entirely satisfactory, and I am pleased and hugely relieved that my wife is at St Catherine's View. I very much appreciate the use of the excellent Guest Suite! The non-slip surface in the shower, is the best I've known. Your staff are remarkable, particularly the care assistants. But at meal times, between feeding residents and the other duties, they can be really stretched and there appears to be no spare capacity in the event of any problem arising.

How likely would you be to recommend St Catherines View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at St Catherines View
  • Read excerpts from letters of thanks sent to St Catherines View
    (Original letters are kept in a book available to visitors at reception)
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • After extensive research, I feel very lucky finally to have found such an excellent care home for my mother. Every member of staff is trained in dementia care and that really shows. Without exception, they are lovely people and I cannot fault the care she is being given
    Daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    05 May 2018
  • St Catherines View is a carefully laid out facility, good staffing levels and excellent standard of care. It is clear that all staff are thoroughly trained in managing people with dementia, to a standard that is not seen elsewhere, the whole staff have an air of friendly professionalism and the atmosphere is supportive and caring
    Daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    30 April 2018
  • A very big thank you to you all at St Catherines View who have been involved in Mum's care. I very special thanks to the nursing and care staff, days and nights, who gave Mum such excellent care, I always appreciated the kind words, the words of reassurance and of course the cups of tea or coffee!
    Susie, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    14 April 2018
  • My Mum's room is lovely and she has everything she needs, it is always clean, comfortable, warm and cosy and has stunning views of St Catherines Hill. The food is excellent, plentiful, and there is a good choice on the menu. The staff are brilliant and very hard working, they are friendly, kind and cant do enough for her
    June, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    05 April 2018
  • Thank you all for looking after Mum and Dad so well.


    Kathryn, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    07 March 2018
  • I can’t thank you enough for the care and support you have given Mum and our family. St Catherines is a very special place and the staff have all been exceptional.


    Stephanie, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    05 March 2018
  • Thank you for all your support and help over the last few years.


    Barry, relative of resident at St Catherines View

    19 February 2018
  • I am writing to thank you for the care and support you gave our relative. You gave her help, kindness, dignity and love.

    We will never forget you.


    Linda, relative of resident at St Catherines View

    30 January 2018
  • Thank you to all the staff at St Catherines View for the wonderful way you all looked after our relative. We always knew he was safe and well cared for. All the staff at the home showed such kindness and affection towards him and we were always welcomed and looked after when we visited.

    Thank you so much for all that you have done.


    Margaret, relative of resident at St Catherines View

    30 January 2018
  • As a family, we will never forget the care and kindness you gave our mum. You made her final year safe, secure and full of companionship. We could not have wanted more, and often think of you and all the help you provide to others. 


    Paul, son of resident at St Catherines View

    19 December 2017
  • Thank you for making my stay at St Catherines View so comfortable and for the colourful arrangement of flowers you sent on my return.


    Bob, respite resident at St Catherines View

    05 December 2017
  • Thank you so much for caring so wonderfully for our relative – way beyond ‘just doing my job’! We are all so grateful and will never forget you.


    Family of resident at St Catherines View

    05 December 2017
  • Thank you for all you did for our father, and for showing us around and organising his admission. We are so grateful Dad was happy and well cared for.


    Jackie, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    21 November 2017
  • On behalf of myself and all the family, I wanted to thank all the staff at St Catherines View for the love and care you provided for my mother. All the day-to-day things that were important to her (clothes, make-up, music, prayers and laughter) were with her in abundance. The kindness, love, dignity, respect and warmth shown to Mum was simply amazing.
    Tony, son of resident at St Catherines View

    14 November 2017
  • It made life so much easier for us knowing Dad was well cared for, settled and happy. As a nurse, I tend to look beyond the pleasant surroundings and pretty curtains, and the care has been exceptional. I never had to ask for anything, and every member of staff we ever came across, be it in a corridor or lift, was friendly and helpful. I can’t put into words just how blessed and thankful we are.


    Jackie, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    01 November 2017
  • When Dad moved into St Catherines View, we were determined to treat it as his and our home, and this was made possible because you were all so welcoming and supportive. We cannot thank you enough for the love and support you gave us all.

    We have some very happy memories of the time Dad was with you that continue to make us smile.


    Sarah, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    18 October 2017
  • Thank you so much for all the kindness, care, attention and laughs you showed to Mum during her time with you. She always seemed so contented. All of you do an amazing job, and you are all appreciated greatly.

    Thank you with all our hearts.


    Debbie, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    17 October 2017
  • Thank you all so much for the excellent care and compassion shown to our mother at all times. I know she appreciated everything, as we do too.


    Tracy, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    16 October 2017
  • I am writing to thank you and all the staff at St Catherines View for the loving care that our relative received. He was always greeted by name with friendship and affection by everyone he encountered, and I also experienced this – I was addressed by name from day one! The love and care encountered exceeded any professional obligations, and I will never forget the moments of support, humour and professionalism.


    Pauline, relative of resident at St Catherines View

    12 September 2017
  • Thank you for the time you spent with me showing me around St Catherines View. I certainly gained the impression that it is well organised, with caring and dedicated staff.


    Chris, visitor to St Catherines View

    24 August 2017
  • We just wanted to say a huge thank you to everyone who made the anniversary party so enjoyable. The cake and the balloon completed it perfectly – so thoughtful.


    Catherine, relative of resident at St Catherines View

    01 August 2017
  • I would just like to thank you and everyone at St Catherines for all the wonderful care, love and kindness shown to my mother. I will never forget all your help and endless patience!


    Linda, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    27 July 2017
  • It is almost impossible to put into words the appreciation and thanks we wish to pass on to you all at St Catherines View for the hard work, support, love and care you showed my mum. There is nothing more important than helping care for an elderly person as they pass along life’s pathway – you all welcomed our mum and our entire family without exception, and we know that we could not have chosen a more perfect last chapter for her.

    We will never forget your professionalism, dedication and kindness. 


    Paul, son of resident at St Catherines View

    29 May 2017
  • The family would like to thank St Catherines View for all your wonderful care and attention.


    Family of resident at St Catherines View

    18 May 2017
  • Thank you so much for organising Mum’s birthday celebrations on Sunday – we really enjoyed and appreciated all you had done, and Mum seemed to have a lovely time.

    Thank you so much.


    Jennie, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    22 April 2017
  • Thank you to all the staff who cared so well for our father.
    We have not forgotten you care and compassion at such a difficult time.


    Veronica, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    13 April 2017
  • I am writing to thank you for all the care you gave to my father. You were all always so kind and helpful, taking his views into consideration. I was so impressed with how well he was looked after – always with patience and kindness. All his family and friends who came to visit him were very positive about St Catherines View.

    Additionally, thank you for all the support you gave to me on my visits to him when I stayed in the guest room – a tremendous bonus for me, being able to pop up the stairs to see him at different times.


    Mary Jane, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    24 February 2017
  • We would like to thank you most sincerely for the loving and caring way you looked after our mother throughout her time with you at St Catherines View.

    We know that Mum loved staying with you and appreciated the kindness she was shown.


    Valerie, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    13 February 2017
  • Thank you seems too small a word to reflect the care you gave Dad during his stay with you.

    He was visited by friends who provided very positive feedback, which made our geographical distance from Dad a little easier to bear.


    Family of resident at St Catherines View

    25 January 2017
  • My sincere thanks to all the staff who cared so tirelessly for our mother and who gave us immense support throughout a challenging journey.


    Debbie, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    24 January 2017
  • On behalf of my brothers, I would like to thank you all for the wonderful care you took of Mum. It was a great comfort for us to know she was receiving the very best care and surrounded by love.


    Tim, son of resident at St Catherines View

    09 January 2017
  • We wanted to say a big thank you to all the staff at St Catherines View for all their help this year. We can’t tell you what a massive difference it has made to all our lives knowing our family member is so well cared for, healthy, clean and safe. She has settled in very well and the staff are a real credit to Colten Care.

    It is always a pleasure to visit St Catherines View – it’s a really lovely place with lovely people.


    Family of resident at St Catherines View

    30 December 2016
  • I cannot really begin to say what you have all meant to me during the past four and a half years. Your wonderful kindness to our mother has been way above the call of duty and we can never thank you enough.

    Each and every member of staff is part of a wonderful team!


    Clare, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    04 December 2016
  • My experience of the standard at St Catherines View suggests to me that it is exemplar in its care of those with dementia.  This is important at any time but at a time when there has been so much national publicity regarding the shameful treatment of many elderly and vulnerable people in homes that clearly are not fit for purpose, St Catherines View deserves recognition for all that it does and all that it achieves.

    I have visited St Catherines View regularly, along with other family members and friends.  I mention this simply because it has been the collective and constant experience of all of us that our family member has always been well cared for and to a high standard.  This has been an environment kept spotlessly clean by domestic staff, where residents’ clothes have been attended to by those on the domestic team, where the catering team have provided appetizing and nutritious meals (the food served has always been presented with great care and attention in recognition of the nutritional, psychological and social impact of mealtimes) where the activities team have provided stimulation and fun and where the gardeners have put endless care into creating gardens the stimulate the senses.

    The ethos of the home is strongly reflected in its physical environment i.e. one that is warm and welcoming, not least through the reception team and in the many ways in which the Manager leads her staff to treat those in their care with dignity and respect, something which is practically manifested in so many ways.

    I struggle to find the words to adequately express just how much care, compassion and respect for my relative’s dignity was shown by each and every member of staff who attended him.

    In addition to those who had cared for him through his time with you, the nursing team became more and more engaged and their professional competence was as outstanding as their emotional intelligence demonstrated through the sensitivity shown both to my relative and to those of us who stayed with him.  That said, the warmth and compassion shown by any and all members of staff who engaged with him at the time was humbling; and we suspect and fear that few relatives can have the experience we had of leaving a nursing home each night exhausted, anxious, yet having every confidence that he was being as well cared for and warmly cared for as any person could be.

    I have expressed my thanks to them but very much hope that all of the team will be commended for all that they have done.  They seem to me to demonstrate on a daily basis and in all that they do, the caring and respectful philosophy of Colten Care for which and of itself, I thank you


    Peter, relative of resident

    28 November 2016
  • How can I ever thank you enough for all that you have done for my mother and I? The entire team gave me such strength and support, and I will always have treasured memories of their smiles, patience and kindness. It has been such a joy to be surrounded by those who are so consistent and passionate about their work. 
    Thank you all.


    Debbie, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    22 November 2016
  • Thank you so much to all the St Catherines View team for everything you did for my lovely dad. I would love to name everyone individually, but there are so many of you who helped make my dad’s stay with you so very special.
    Your professionalism and dedication is amazing, and you have always shown such love and compassion to us as a family - you really do go the extra mile. 

    With heartfelt thanks.
    Linda, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    02 November 2016
  • I just wanted to say a huge thank you to all the staff at St Catherines View for arranging the tea party celebrating my parents’ wedding anniversary. It was a lovely afternoon and lots of thought had obviously gone into it.

    I also wanted to thank everyone for all the wonderful care you have given to Dad. It’s been a difficult time for us as a family with him having to move into care, but knowing he is so well looked after has helped enormously.

    Thank you again for everything you have done.


    Rachel, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    03 October 2016
  • My brother and I covered four counties in our search for the best care home for our father and his dementia. We really feel so lucky to have found St Catherines View, where without exception, every single carer was kind and considerate. 

    We will never forget all that the St Catherines View team gave our family. From the young woman with a hoover in hand taking the time to stop and address our father as she passed, to the warm smile from the lady with the tea trolley, please never underestimate how you made these difficult times so much better. None of these gestures went unnoticed and I can’t thank you enough for making it all as worthwhile, safe and caring as you did. 


    Veronica, daughter of resident at St Catherines View

    22 April 2016