Reviews and Testimonials

9.7

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 38 reviews

Review submitted by Elizabeth H (Respite Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 25 September 2019. Review relates to September 2019.

This home was used to ease me back to normal routine life and it's been successful! Confidence returned. Health improved due to good diet and good company. Staff efficient and thoughtful - friendly.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S E (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 16 July 2019. Review relates to July 2019.

I am reasonably happy.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Olive May L (Respite Resident/Service User) on Thursday 20 June 2019. Review relates to February 2019.

I was so very well looked after when I came for respite care after an operation. Staff are ALL very, very good and the food is excellent. I have already recommended this home to people.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S R (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 20 June 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

On arrival felt beset by attention and requirements and an early questionnaire as to first impressions for what they are worth. I have felt the loss of privacy, not all of it inevitable. Am most disappointed in the standard of the laundry, which results in damage to and loss of clothing, continually. But I am not imagining that there are ideal care homes.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Satisfactory
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Good

Review submitted by Valerie C (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 13 June 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

I think the home is excellent, awaiting a larger room upstairs to become available to accommodate my furniture from my home. I have a special dietary requirement and the home has adapted the food to meet my needs.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Brenda P (Sister of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 11 June 2019. Review relates to March 2019.

My brother was in Abbey View for 18 months. As he increasingly struggled with his mobility and Parkinson's, the staff could not have been more patient, helpful and friendly. When the end came, they were so compassionate and loving towards both him and us as a family, and continue to be so. As his quality of life deteriorated, the staff kept him as cheerful as possible and he referred to it as 'home'. That says it all.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by A S V (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 11 June 2019.

My husband has been in Abbey View for the last 2 weeks respite. I have been very pleased and impressed by the care he has received. The staff were all unfailingly kind and cheerful - also very efficient. His room and bathroom were really lovely and he enjoyed the meals. He will certainly be back there in the future.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Philippa D (Partner of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 11 April 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

Abbey View is a really excellent home and it rightly enjoys a superb reputation from my family and friends who have had parents residing here in the recent past. My partner is so much happier here than in his previous home which was good. Staff are so helpful and food much tastier and more appetising.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by L L (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 14 November 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

All staff have been very welcoming to my father and to me. I have found staff to be knowledgeable and professional. Staff know my father by name and have been very attentive to his needs. He is safe and secure and has very quickly settled.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Bill M (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 16 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

Excellent staff and very friendly atmosphere.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Satisfactory
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Stella E (Resident / Service User) on Monday 1 October 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

This place is fine, because I am not more enthusiastic is entirely my fault, as I prefer to be independent and cannot be.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by June F (Respite Resident/Service User) on Monday 1 October 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

I came here having fractured my 2nd hip. Was in hospital for 10 days. I have had very good care. The food is excellent I have a nice room with a good view over the garden and people coming and going. I am lucky with this. Also, they have been very good about my lactose-free diet.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by David P (Brother of Resident/Service User) on Monday 4 June 2018. Review relates to May 2018.

An outstanding residential home. Brilliant management, constantly positive and cheerful and efficient staff. The daily menu is mouth-watering and food delicious. An excellently organised entertainment programme. After three years of visiting almost daily, it is hard to find fault with staff who are genuinely concerned about care and cleanliness. Everyone outside the home believes it is the best and hope a bed is available when they have need.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Mary G (Respite Resident/Service User) on Friday 1 June 2018. Review relates to May 2018.

My week's respite stay here has been very pleasant. Everybody has been most friendly and I hope to come again in the near future. Owing to osteoarthritis in the spine and the rotten unforgiving mattress my sleeping has been disappointing but all other aspects of my stay have been excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Hetty L (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 2 May 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

Staff and home excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by David C (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 13 March 2018. Review relates to February 2018.

All I can say is that since my father has been in the home, he has improved in health and happiness and is now very content. From the visits I have made, cannot find any complaints. The home is staffed by caring and lovely people and this runs from the management to the cleaning staff, so only praise. When it's my time, it's the place I would be happy in.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M P (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 18 December 2017. Review relates to December 2017.

My father is happy at Abbey View. It took him a while to settle in. The staff are wonderful and we cannot fault anything at this home.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by T S (Resident / Service User) on Monday 18 December 2017. Review relates to December 2017.

Very good service.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Rosemary L (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 24 October 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

I was taken to Abbey View on the 1st October. Several months earlier I had had cellulitis, although this painful infection had gone it had left my leg in bad condition. We rang for a place at another home but they were full up so suggested Abbey View. They could take me straight away, so 2 days later I was a resident at Abbey View. We arrived to a welcoming group and the manager was lovely, I ate tasty tea cakes as I was so hungry. The caring nurses are excellent, nothing was too much trouble but they sometimes took rather a long time to complete a task. They all seem happy and smiled at me often. A happy home.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbey View? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Satisfactory
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Good
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Abbey View
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • Thanks and gratitude to the Abbey View Team who cared for my Father, your wonderful nursing care and unfailing kindness was much appreciated and will always be remembered
    Daughter of Resident at Abbey View

    30 August 2019
  • It is with great gratitude to express my personal thanks to all the nurses and carers who looked after my beloved husband
    Wife of Resident at Abbey View

    30 August 2019
  • I was very touched to receive the lovely flowers that you sent me, I enjoyed my stay at Abbey View and I know my wife appreciated the rest
    Respite Resident at Abbey VIew

    18 July 2019
  • Would you please pass on our sincere thanks to everyone who was involved in organising and preparing Mum's birthday celebration. The food was lovely and everyone commented on how friendly and helpful everyone at Abbey View is. I have always known Abbey View is a special place, but we all came away on Saturday feeling that this truly is now Mum's home and a place where she is part of the family
    Daughter of Resident at Abbey View

    08 July 2019
  • The care assistants are pleasant and consistent, and the nurses communicate their concerns to us reliably and act on our discussions efficiently
    The Apples Medical Centre

    17 June 2019
  • There is no doubt in our minds that the care and attention our Dad received in the early days at Abbey View changed his mind completely about how he should spend his final years
    Family of Resident at Abbey View

    17 June 2019
  • I think the home is excellent, I have a special dietary requirement and the home has adapted the food to meet my needs
    Resident at Abbey View

    13 June 2019
  • I have been very pleased and impressed by the care my husband has received, the staff were all unfailingly kind and cheerful - also very efficient. He will certainly be back there in the future
    Wife of Resident at Abbey View

    11 June 2019
  • The staff could not have been more patient, helpful and friendly with my brother. They were so compassionate and loving towards both him and us as a family, and continue to be so. The staff kept him as cheerful as possible and he referred to it as 'home'. That says it all
    Sister of Resident at Abbey View

    11 June 2019
  • There is no doubt in out minds that the care and attention our Dad received at Abbey View changed his mind completely about how he should spend his final years. We saw how the kindness from all the staff, along with the professional nursing care, Dad gradually improved. We could not be happier with the way that Abbey View made a very special difference 
    Alyson, daughter of resident at Abbey View

    09 May 2019
  • Very grateful thanks you all your care given to our relative, I know he himself always said to anyone who asked that he could not have been better cared for anywhere. From friendly encouragement to such compassionate personal care 
    Brenda, relative of resident at Abbey View

    22 April 2019
  • Abbey View is a really excellent home and it rightly enjoys a superb reputation from my family and friends who have had parents residing here in the recent past. My partner is so much happier here than in his previous home, the staff are so helpful and food much tastier and more appetising
    Philippa, relative of resident at Abbey View

    11 April 2019
  • Thank you for all the love and kindness shown to our Mum
    Family of resident at Abbey View

    10 April 2019
  • Our relative seems to be having a new lease of life at Abbey View under the care of you and the Team
    Relative of resident at Abbey View

    07 April 2019
  • My months at Abbey View were extremely comfortable and I made a lot of rehab progress
    Gerald, respite resident at Abbey View

    09 March 2019
  • We would like to express our thanks for all the care and support you gave our Mum
    Hugh, son of resident at Abbey View

    04 March 2019
  • We would like to express our gratitude for the care that our Mother received, in our view she could not have been looked after better by all who came into contact with her 
    Mark, son of resident at Abbey View

    25 February 2019
  • There arn't enough words to express how appreciative we are of the care you gave Grannie. she was always happy to see you and it was of great comfort to us seeing her huge smile beaming, all of you supported and cared for her in such a unique and gentle way 
    Grandchild of resident at Abbey View

    10 February 2019
  • I am so pleased my father is settling in so well at Abbey View, thank you to you and all your colleagues for making this as easy as possible 
    Sarah, daughter of resident at Abbey View

    08 February 2019
  • Thank you for making our relatives 100th Birthday a real celebration with beautiful flowers, and an excellent birthday cake
    Diane, relative of resident at Abbey View

    01 February 2019
  • All staff have been very welcoming to my father and to me, I have found staff to be knowledgeable and professional and the staff know my father by name and have been very attentive to his needs. He is safe and secure and has very quickly settled
    Daughter of resident at Abbey View

    14 November 2018
  • It is a great comfort to me knowing that Mum is surrounded by so much TLC!
    Caroline, daughter of resident at Abbey View

    29 October 2018
  • We appreciate your help and friendliness - you all do a fantastic job
    Joanna, relative of resident at Abbey View

    28 October 2018
  • Excellent staff and very friendly atmosphere
    Bill, resident at Abbey View

    16 October 2018
  • I have had very good care and the food is excellent! I have a nice room with a good view over the garden and people coming and going, I am lucky with this
    June, respite resident at Abbey View

    01 October 2018
  • We were so lucky that our relative was so loved and cared for by the great staff at Abbey View, they were so supportive
    Claire, relative of resident at Abbey View

    07 August 2018
  • Thank you for all the care and support, your kindness meant so much
    Relative of resident at Abbey View

    08 July 2018
  • Thank you to all your wonderful staff, you have all been so kind, thoughtful and caring, we will always be so grateful to you all - Abbey View became a 'second home' to me and I shall miss seeing you all 
    Brenda, daughter of resident at Abbey View

    17 June 2018
  • Thank you for all the care you kindly gave to our Mum, we know it meant so much to her and we all very much appreciate it
    Paul, son of resident at Abbey View

    08 June 2018
  • An outstanding residential home, brilliant management, constantly positive and cheerful and efficient staff. After three years of visiting almost daily, it is hard to find fault with staff who are genuinely concerned about care and cleanliness.
    David, brother of resident at Abbey View

    04 June 2018
  • Thank you so much for all your kindness, care and friendship to my Mum
    Penny, daughter of resident at Abbey View

    21 May 2018
  • Thank you for your kindness, generosity and support since I have been at Abbey View
    Neville, respite resident at Abbey View

    21 May 2018
  • I wanted to express my thanks for the love and care that you gave my Mother, you were all so kind to her and appreciated the warmth of your care and nursing
    Ian, son of resident at Abbey View

    18 April 2018
  • Thank you for all that you and your strong team have done to make my Mother so settled at Abbey View
    Ian, son of resident at Abbey View

    18 April 2018
  • Thank you to all the staff that cared for my Mother, the love and nursing care was first class
    Ian, son of residnt at Abbey View

    15 April 2018
  • You have been our home for two years and I cannot thank you enough for the love and care you have given us both. With a full heart and ever grateful thoughts, I shall visit again.


    Sue, relative of resident at Abbey View

    23 March 2018
  • You have been our home for two years and I cannot thank you enough for the love and care you have given
    Sue, relative of resident at Abbey View

    23 March 2018
  • Your great kindness and the quality of the care you provided were much appreciated
    Clare, daughter of resident at Abbey View

    19 March 2018
  • Just a note to thank you so much for all you did for my mum during her time at Abbey View. Your great kindness, and the quality of the care you provided, were much appreciated, and I was personally very grateful for the considerable support and time you gave me, and for your sensitive, considerable and thoughtful approach.

    Thank you again for absolutely everything you did.


    Clare, daughter of resident at Abbey View

    19 March 2018
  • My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful lunch with my mother at Abbey View. All the food was excellent and, as a vegetarian, it was a treat to have such a tasty and interesting meal. As always, your staff were friendly and welcoming, and we would be grateful if you would give them our thanks for such a pleasant visit.


    Glenys, daughter of resident at Abbey View

    11 March 2018
  • We had a wonderful lunch with my Mother at Abbey View, all the food was excellent and as a vegetarian it was a treat to have such a tasty and interesting meal. As always your staff were friendly and welcoming 
    Glenys, daughter of resident at Abbey View

    11 March 2018
  • Thank you for my lovely bottle of wine which was much appreciated by all of us. We should be the ones thanking you for taking us under your wing all year.


    Steve, visitor to Abbey View

    22 February 2018
  • A very belated thankyou to you all at Abbey View for caring for my mum so well. She was very happy and well looked after by you all. Everyone we came into contact with was kind and helpful, and the atmosphere in the home reflected that.

    Thank you to each and every one of you who contribute to making Abbey View such a happy home for all your residents.


    Trish, daughter of resident at Abbey View

    15 February 2018
  • There are no words to tell you all how deep my gratitude is for the love, care and compassion you extended to my relative throughout her time with you. She absolutely adored you all. You made her feel loved and cherished – what more can any of us wish for?


    Lavender, relative of resident at Abbey View

    10 February 2018
  • Many thanks for providing a delicious curry for lunch during my visit on Tuesday. I had been told by others how good Abbey View is, but it was great to confirm personally how well my relative is provided for. The whole team were extremely kind and supportive and it is a great comfort to know that my relative is in the best possible hands and so well cared for.

    Thank you again for allowing me to visit; it was a visit I’ve been wanting to make for a long time.


    Relative of resident at Abbey View

    02 February 2018
  • Thank you for all the care and kindness you have shown towards my mother – she has really thrived in your care!


    Daughter of resident at Abbey View

    15 December 2017
  • Thank you for all the loving care you have given my mother – it is always appreciated.


    David, son of resident at Abbey View

    08 December 2017
  • As you know, Sherborne Churches Together provides a free Christmas Day lunch for residents of Sherborne who are without family and friends to enjoy the festivities with. Now in its seventh year, our Christmas lunch is a wonderful community endeavour and shows Sherborne at its best.

    We are extremely grateful to you for donating so many splendid prizes for the raffle, and for all the crackers, napkins and table settings. Thank you for your marvellous generosity.


    Councillor Jill Hogben, Mayor of Sherborne

    05 December 2017
  • I just wanted to thank you all for the way you cared for my aunt during her time with you. It was so reassuring to know she was in such good and kind hands. As for me, it made a very difficult time that bit easier to cope with.


    Julia, niece of resident at Abbey View

    30 November 2017
  • We would like to say a massive thank you for letting the children come to your care home to spend time with the residents. The children seemed to really enjoy themselves and I hope the residents did too! 


    Melissa, Little Gryphons Nursery

    30 November 2017