Reviews and Testimonials

9.7

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 80 reviews

Review submitted by R T (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 3 September 2019. Review relates to August 2019.

Very welcoming on admission to redecorated attractive room with flowers and a welcome card - appreciated! Came in on respite care now permanent and finding it difficult to settle. The staff are very friendly and caring, but sometimes the wait when needing the toilet is difficult but realise many residents need 2 carers at a time as my husband does and have complex medical needs. Lovely not to hear continuous bell ringing all day as can happen in other homes. The garden and "garden club" we used and enjoyed by ourselves and other residents. Usually a quiet, friendly atmosphere. Thank you to all the management and staff.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Eric T (Respite Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 10 July 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

A very helpful and pleasant stay. Would consider becoming a permanent resident.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by R S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 5 July 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

My mother has lived at this care home since 2014. The standard of comfort and care has mostly been excellent. The few problems that have arisen over the years have been swiftly resolved.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J M (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 4 July 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

I have been here for 2 1/2 years and in that time this has been my home. I am contented and have become used to the routine and the staff who are helpful, cheerful and discreet. Visitors are always made welcome and my daughter is pleased I am in a safe place. The team in charge of entertainment work hard to find ways to keep residents happy. My pre-lunch sherry is something I enjoy with the opportunity to meet other residents, mid-morning and afternoons, tea and coffee are provided. I consider myself lucky to be here in my old age.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S M (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 2 July 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

I thought it would be difficult for you to live up to the glowing recommendations I had heard from people whose parents are with you. In fact, you have exceeded our expectations. My mother arrived at Abbotts Barton lonely, exhausted and stressed and after just a few weeks, she's back to her old self. She's eating better, enjoying the company and keen to join in with the activities and repeatedly stresses how kind all the staff are. Thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Natalie C (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 4 June 2019. Review relates to May 2019.

Very impressed with every aspect from first impression to accommodation and lovely gardens. All staff and management friendly and caring. Lovely that residents can invite visitors for meals and coffee/tea. The newspaper service is a good idea. The welcome flowers followed by the "thank you for staying" flowers are a joy. The activities are very good and mum particularly enjoyed the outings with picnic provided. Hair salon is also excellent. Do good to have lovely baths. Wonderful.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by A W (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 29 May 2019. Review relates to May 2019.

I first came to Abbots Barton after a serious operation. I liked it so much I've come back for respite.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by E L (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 29 May 2019. Review relates to May 2019.

I much enjoyed meeting many great carers from overseas who are so content to work in this occupation and very gentle and cheerful. The garden is so enjoyable and you care for the local bird population (see blue tit babies!).

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jane M (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 8 May 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

We were invited to lunch with a resident and were delighted to be served in the sitting room so we had privacy. Our 'waiter' was extremely attentive to us all and took particular care of our friend. The meal was superb and an excellent choice was available. Our friend is very happy living there. Thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by R V (Granddaughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 30 April 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

Staff are always friendly, kind and caring towards my gran and all our family - we all feel supported and that she is getting the best care and attention she can. Thank you!

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J H (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 30 April 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

Being a resident here for a few weeks has been a very pleasant experience. I would not hesitate to recommend it to my friends - absolutely excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sue W (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 19 March 2019. Review relates to March 2019.

Food excellent. Care fabulous and I used to be a district nurse. I'm booking a room!

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Betty G (Respite Resident/Service User) on Friday 8 March 2019. Review relates to February 2019.

My stay at Abbotts Barton nursing home was a very good experience. I made some new friends that I will return to visit soon. We had enjoyable quizzes etc. with lovely gardens to stroll in and delicious food. Now to save for my next visit, which I hope is for a longer stay.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Barry P (Brother of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 19 February 2019. Review relates to February 2019.

All members of staff are pleasant and very caring, they are extremely helpful at all times. My sister received excellent care throughout her stay.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by T M (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 19 February 2019. Review relates to February 2019.

I come here every day for activities and meals and I find everything excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M D (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 12 February 2019. Review relates to February 2019.

I came here after an operation and found the staff very caring and friendly and the food delicious.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Philip C (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 22 January 2019. Review relates to January 2019.

The care that my mum is getting is fantastic and my mum is very happy.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by G I (Son of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 3 January 2019. Review relates to December 2018.

Although my mother had a place at Abbotts Barton, due to a deterioration of her condition she was unable to leave the hospice. The arrangements for making her welcome at the setting were first class. The team could not have been more caring, welcoming and genuine in their approach and the dignity with which they dealt with our family We would not hesitate to recommend Abbotts Barton.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jean M (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 11 December 2018. Review relates to December 2018.

Always very helpful and friendly. Food excellent, everybody is very kind.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by David S (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 11 December 2018. Review relates to December 2018.

Very enjoyable and carefree and enjoyable stay. Had some laughs too!

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Dorothy F (Respite Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 27 November 2018. Review relates to November 2018.

I have received excellent care here from all the staff, carers, nurses and the whole team. This is my second visit.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Alan B (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 13 November 2018. Review relates to November 2018.

I am very happy and content. I am so pleased with Abbotts Barton and look forward to the rest of my stay. A lovely home, excellent!

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by H L (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 7 November 2018. Review relates to November 2018.

Excellent home.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by James C (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 17 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

Excellent experience from 1st contact prior to check in through to resolving any minor requirements. Lovely room, good food and the staff show a real interest in mum and that includes me.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by B L M (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 10 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

My respite care has been a pleasurable break due to the welcome, attention and fun received here. We feel we all matter.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J W (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 10 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

I find the home very comfortable and the staff very helpful. I always enjoy the food.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by K H (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 18 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

I have deep founded concerns that the staffing levels do not meet the needs of vulnerable bed-bound residents; to the extent my mother has been at risk of isolation in her room for months. The Nurses and Carers are good and I hold a lot of respect for them, but they are run off their feet, often unable to meet all the demands of their roles. It is obvious money is being directed to the wrong places. A case review last month, with two members of staff, neither of who knew my mother, revealed a series of errors, pen-pushing and medical misinformation; therefore as the Management Team filled me with no confidence I detailed my issues of complaint to the Chairman and CEO at Head Office - who have promised a full investigation within 28 days! That long.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Unlikely

  • Care / Support: Poor
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Poor
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Satisfactory
  • Value for Money: Poor
  • Overall Standard: Poor
  • Treated with Dignity: Poor

Review submitted by J B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 18 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

All aspects of mum's care have been excellent but special mention must go to the staff who recognised that she was reticent about going to the dining room and made efforts to encourage her. Also, I was impressed that the nursing staff managed to secure an urgent dermatology appointment for my mum.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jill G (Resident / Service User) on Friday 14 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

I was very unsure what to expect when I arrived but was very pleasantly surprised how welcoming, caring and cheerful everyone was. That has continued. There is excellent communication between staff and they work efficiently and cheerfully always checking I am alright and happy that I have all I need. My room is very comfortable and the food excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Tony W (Son of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 6 September 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

Very high quality residence in every way: - - It smells good. - Staff greet everyone by name and smile. - Staff always look you in the eye. - Constant attention to residents' needs. - Food is good. - Very careful monitoring residents. Clearly, this place is very well managed. Great staff are hired and training and operation standards are excellent. A very caring home.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Brian W (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 24 July 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

My experience has been excellent. Staff are all very helpful.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Mary S (Respite Resident/Service User) on Thursday 19 July 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

I think my answers below cover everything. Nevertheless, I have been in Abbotts many times and always find it has been very efficiently run and every care is given to all residents and respite.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by John H (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 27 June 2018. Review relates to June 2018.

A very refreshing change after a long period of ill health involving hospital spells.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Joan M (Respite Resident/Service User) on Monday 8 January 2018. Review relates to December 2017.

I have been very well looked after during my stay here. I would highly recommend this respite care home to anyone. It feels like a first class hotel.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Penelope (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Sunday 3 December 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

Sadly my mother was not a resident at Abbott’s Barton for very long, I wish she had been able to have had more time there. She would have loved the comfortable sitting rooms, the dining room and the gardens. The team looked after her so well and made her room a real home from home for her. She was very comfortable, at ease and felt surrounded by love as the team were so kind and thoughtful towards her.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Charlie H (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 15 November 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

Excellent quality throughout.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by T W (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 8 November 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

Whilst overall, Abbotts Barton Nursing Home is still better than many homes in the area. It is noticeable that many long-standing staff have left recently, or are still in place but are voicing concerns about the home. In particular, both staff and the relatives of residents have made comments to me that the staffing levels are not sufficient. Only today I was visiting my father to find that at 3pm his lunch tray was still not cleared.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Neither unlikely or likely

  • Care / Support: Satisfactory
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Satisfactory
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Satisfactory
  • Cleanliness: Satisfactory
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Satisfactory
  • Value for Money: Poor
  • Overall Standard: Satisfactory
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Clare F (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 7 November 2017.

We are very happy with the care mummy is being given. The staff are kind and friendly - the home is always clean and tidy and there is always a friendly greeting in reception.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Abbotts Barton
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • A sincere thank you to everyone who cared for our sister at Abbotts Barton and showed so much compassion
    Brother of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    30 August 2019
  • There is always such a warm welcome at Abbotts Barton
    Visitor of Abbotts Barton

    27 August 2019
  • Thank you to all the staff who looked after our relative with such care, professionalism and kindness - you are a wonderful team
    Relative of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    21 August 2019
  • I marvel at the patience of the staff and the care they give
    Relative of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    21 August 2019
  • Nothing has ever been too much trouble at Abbotts Barton, our warmest gratitude for all the love and care afforded to our Mum
    Son of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 July 2019
  • I am contented and have become used to the routine and the staff who are helpful, cheerful and discreet, visitors are always made welcome and my daughter is pleased I am in a safe place. The team in charge of entertainment work hard to find ways to keep residents happy
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 July 2019
  • Thank you for all your care with our Mum
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 July 2019
  • I thought it would be difficult for you to live up to the glowing recommendations I had heard from people whose parents are with you. In fact, you have exceeded our expectations. My mother arrived at Abbotts Barton lonely, exhausted and stressed and after just a few weeks, she's back to her old self!
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    02 July 2019
  • I had a nice stay with great care
    Respite Resident at Abbotts Barton

    11 June 2019
  • All members of staff are true professionals in their individual roles and all duties are carried out in such a dedicated way with attention to detail in all aspects of care
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 June 2019
  • Very impressed with every aspect from first impression to accommodation and lovely gardens. All the staff and management are friendly and caring. Lovely that residents can invite visitors for meals and coffee/tea. The activities are very good, Mum particularly enjoyed the outings and the hair salon is also excellent
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 June 2019
  • I much enjoyed meeting many great carers from overseas who are so content to work in this occupation and very gentle and cheerful
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    29 May 2019
  • Being a resident here for a few weeks has been a very pleasant experience. I would not hesitate to recommend it to my friends - absolutely excellent!
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    30 April 2019
  • Staff are always friendly, kind and caring towards my Gran and all our family - we all feel supported and that she is getting the best care and attention she can
    Granddaughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    30 April 2019
  • Thank you for the amazing support, guidance and patience, Abbotts Barton has been such an amazing placement and you've created such a welcoming and beautiful home
    Student Nurse at Abbotts Barton

    05 April 2019
  • Thank you for the care and kindness you gave to our sister-in-law whilst at Abbotts Barton
    Relative of resident at Abbotts Barton

    26 March 2019
  • Can you please pass on our thanks from all the the family to everyone for their help in organising dad's birthday. We all thoroughly enjoyed it and I know it meant a lot to Mum
    Andrew, son of resident at Abbotts Barton

    20 March 2019
  • Thank you for the dedicated care and concern which you showed to my Mother, she received only kindness and love
    Anne, daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    14 March 2019
  • My stay at Abbotts Barton nursing home was a very good experience, I made some new friends, had enjoyable quizzes etc. with lovely gardens to stroll in and delicious food
    Betty, respite resident at Abbotts Barton

    08 March 2019
  • To all who cared for our relative at Abbotts Barton, she enjoyed the five star treatment, excellent food, varied outings, lounge activities and events and even found a new treasured friend
    Ian, relative of resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 March 2019
  • Thank you for all your efforts on my Dad's 90th Birthday, it was so lovely to see the lounge decorated with balloons and banner, everyone enjoyed his landmark celebration
    Anita, daughter of residents at Abbotts Barton

    27 February 2019
  • All members of staff are pleasant and very caring, they are extremely helpful at all times
    Barry, brother of resident at Abbotts Barton

    19 February 2019
  • All members of staff are pleasant and very caring, they are extremely helpful at all times. My sister received excellent care throughout her stay
    Barry, brother of resident at Abbotts Barton

    19 February 2019
  • I come here every day for activities and meals and I find everything excellent
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    19 February 2019
  • I came here after an operation and found the staff very caring and friendly and the food delicious
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    12 February 2019
  • The care that my mum is getting is fantastic and my mum is very happy
    Philip, son of resident at Abbotts Barton

    22 January 2019
  • Really pleased with the care provided, the staff are friendly and would recommend without hesitation
    Brother of resident at Abbotts Barton

    10 January 2019
  • The team could not have been more caring, welcoming and genuine in their approach and the dignity with which they dealt with our family
    Son of resident at Abbotts Barton

    03 January 2019
  • Always very helpful and friendly, the food is excellent and everybody is very kind
    Jean, resident of Abbotts Barton

    11 December 2018
  • Very enjoyable, carefree and enjoyable stay - had some laughs too!
    Husband of resident at Abbotts Barton

    11 December 2018
  • I am very happy and content. I am so pleased with Abbotts Barton and look forward to the rest of my stay. A lovely home, excellent!
    Alan, resident at Abbotts Barton

    13 November 2018
  • I just wanted to write to thank you and the team at Abbotts Barton for all your help in getting my mother transferred from Southampton General Hospital to Abbotts Barton. I know that you have all put in a great deal of time and effort on her behalf.  My mother is happy at Abbotts Barton and it is a huge relief to see that
    Diana, daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    31 October 2018
  • Your staff treated my relative with respect, you all ensured he was comfortable, well fed, watered and encouraged to join in as much as he was able
    Denise, relative of resident at Abbotts Barton

    23 October 2018
  • I would like to express my sincere thanks for the care and attention both my parents received from all of the staff at Abbott's Barton while they were resident at the home. I have the greatest professional respect and admiration for the standard of nursing care you and your staff have delivered
    Nick, son of residents at Abbotts Barton

    18 October 2018
  • Lovely room, good food and the staff show a real interest in mum and that includes me
    James, son of resident at Abbotts Barton

    17 October 2018
  • I find the home very comfortable, the staff very helpful and I always enjoy the food
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    10 October 2018
  • My respite care has been a pleasurable break due to the welcome, attention and fun received here - we feel we all matter
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    10 October 2018
  • We had a super Harvest Lunch and received a warm welcome on arrival, we all had a very enjoyable time
    Barbara, neighbour of Abbotts Barton

    26 September 2018
  • All aspects of mum's care have been excellent but special mention must go to the staff who recognised that she was reticent about going to the dining room and made efforts to encourage her!
    Daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    18 September 2018
  • I was very unsure what to expect when I arrived but was very pleasantly surprised how welcoming, caring and cheerful everyone was. That has continued. There is excellent communication between staff and they work efficiently and cheerfully always checking I am alright and happy that I have all I need. My room is very comfortable and the food excellent!
    Jill, resident st Abbotts Barton

    14 September 2018
  • So often I have been very well helped and supported without letting you know, today I wish to put this right with regard to three members of your staff - their insights and close observations are much appreciated
    John, resident at Abbotts Barton

    13 September 2018
  • Just to say a BIG thank you for the excellent care I have received, I couldn't have done better and so near my home too - I shall look forward to seeing some of you again at the Harvest Lunch!
    Christine, respite resident at Abbotts Barton

    10 September 2018
  • Very high quality residence in every way, it smells good, the staff greet everyone by name and smile and always look you in the eye, there is a constant attention to residents' needs with careful monitoring of residents. The food is good, so clearly, this place is very well managed. There are great staff hired, and training and operation standards are excellent - a very caring home.
    Tony, son of resident at Abbotts Barton

    06 September 2018
  • Your facility is very well managed. Clearly, your hire well, train well and have clear, detailed operating procedures. This shows in the consistency of very high quality of care - and the constant greetings and smiles by all staff well done to you all!
    Tony, relative of resident at Abbotts Barton

    27 August 2018
  • We would like to say a big thank you to you and all your wonderful staff for the tremendous care and compassion you all showed to our relative. She felt very much at home, which is testimount to the warm welcome you gave her and your professionalism 
    Alexandra, relative of resident at Abbotts Barton

    06 August 2018
  • A big thank you to all the staff who have been so kind and caring 
    John, relative of resident at Abbotts Barton

    25 July 2018
  • My experience has been excellent and the staff are all very helpful
    Brian, resident at Abbotts Barton

    24 July 2018
  • I have been in Abbotts Barton many times and always find it has been very efficiently run and every care is given to all the residents
    Mary, respite resident at Abbotts Barton

    19 July 2018
  • The first class support was much appreciated
    John, respite resident at Abbotts Barton

    21 June 2018
  • I have been impressed by the kindness and support of all the staff - day and night 
    Respite Resident at Abbotts Barton

    21 June 2018