Reviews and Testimonials

9.7

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 69 reviews

Review submitted by M D (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 12 February 2019. Review relates to February 2019.

I came here after an operation and found the staff very caring and friendly and the food delicious.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Philip C (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 22 January 2019. Review relates to January 2019.

The care that my mum is getting is fantastic and my mum is very happy.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by B P (Brother of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 10 January 2019. Review relates to January 2019.

Really pleased with the care provided. Staff are friendly and would recommend without hesitation.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by G I (Son of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 3 January 2019. Review relates to December 2018.

Although my mother had a place at Abbotts Barton, due to a deterioration of her condition she was unable to leave the hospice. The arrangements for making her welcome at the setting were first class. The team could not have been more caring, welcoming and genuine in their approach and the dignity with which they dealt with our family We would not hesitate to recommend Abbotts Barton.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jean M (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 11 December 2018. Review relates to December 2018.

Always very helpful and friendly. Food excellent, everybody is very kind.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by David S (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 11 December 2018. Review relates to December 2018.

Very enjoyable and carefree and enjoyable stay. Had some laughs too!

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Dorothy F (Respite Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 27 November 2018. Review relates to November 2018.

I have received excellent care here from all the staff, carers, nurses and the whole team. This is my second visit.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Alan B (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 13 November 2018. Review relates to November 2018.

I am very happy and content. I am so pleased with Abbotts Barton and look forward to the rest of my stay. A lovely home, excellent!

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by H L (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 7 November 2018. Review relates to November 2018.

Excellent home.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by James C (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 17 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

Excellent experience from 1st contact prior to check in through to resolving any minor requirements. Lovely room, good food and the staff show a real interest in mum and that includes me.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by B L M (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 10 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

My respite care has been a pleasurable break due to the welcome, attention and fun received here. We feel we all matter.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J W (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 10 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

I find the home very comfortable and the staff very helpful. I always enjoy the food.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by K H (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 18 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

I have deep founded concerns that the staffing levels do not meet the needs of vulnerable bed-bound residents; to the extent my mother has been at risk of isolation in her room for months. The Nurses and Carers are good and I hold a lot of respect for them, but they are run off their feet, often unable to meet all the demands of their roles. It is obvious money is being directed to the wrong places. A case review last month, with two members of staff, neither of who knew my mother, revealed a series of errors, pen-pushing and medical misinformation; therefore as the Management Team filled me with no confidence I detailed my issues of complaint to the Chairman and CEO at Head Office - who have promised a full investigation within 28 days! That long.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Unlikely

  • Care / Support: Poor
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Poor
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Satisfactory
  • Value for Money: Poor
  • Overall Standard: Poor
  • Treated with Dignity: Poor

Review submitted by J B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 18 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

All aspects of mum's care have been excellent but special mention must go to the staff who recognised that she was reticent about going to the dining room and made efforts to encourage her. Also, I was impressed that the nursing staff managed to secure an urgent dermatology appointment for my mum.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jill G (Resident / Service User) on Friday 14 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

I was very unsure what to expect when I arrived but was very pleasantly surprised how welcoming, caring and cheerful everyone was. That has continued. There is excellent communication between staff and they work efficiently and cheerfully always checking I am alright and happy that I have all I need. My room is very comfortable and the food excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Tony W (Son of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 6 September 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

Very high quality residence in every way: - - It smells good. - Staff greet everyone by name and smile. - Staff always look you in the eye. - Constant attention to residents' needs. - Food is good. - Very careful monitoring residents. Clearly, this place is very well managed. Great staff are hired and training and operation standards are excellent. A very caring home.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Brian W (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 24 July 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

My experience has been excellent. Staff are all very helpful.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Mary S (Respite Resident/Service User) on Thursday 19 July 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

I think my answers below cover everything. Nevertheless, I have been in Abbotts many times and always find it has been very efficiently run and every care is given to all residents and respite.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by John H (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 27 June 2018. Review relates to June 2018.

A very refreshing change after a long period of ill health involving hospital spells.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Joan M (Respite Resident/Service User) on Monday 8 January 2018. Review relates to December 2017.

I have been very well looked after during my stay here. I would highly recommend this respite care home to anyone. It feels like a first class hotel.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Penelope (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Sunday 3 December 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

Sadly my mother was not a resident at Abbott’s Barton for very long, I wish she had been able to have had more time there. She would have loved the comfortable sitting rooms, the dining room and the gardens. The team looked after her so well and made her room a real home from home for her. She was very comfortable, at ease and felt surrounded by love as the team were so kind and thoughtful towards her.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Charlie H (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 15 November 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

Excellent quality throughout.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by T W (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 8 November 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

Whilst overall, Abbotts Barton Nursing Home is still better than many homes in the area. It is noticeable that many long-standing staff have left recently, or are still in place but are voicing concerns about the home. In particular, both staff and the relatives of residents have made comments to me that the staffing levels are not sufficient. Only today I was visiting my father to find that at 3pm his lunch tray was still not cleared.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Neither unlikely or likely

  • Care / Support: Satisfactory
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Satisfactory
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Satisfactory
  • Cleanliness: Satisfactory
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Satisfactory
  • Value for Money: Poor
  • Overall Standard: Satisfactory
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Clare F (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 7 November 2017.

We are very happy with the care mummy is being given. The staff are kind and friendly - the home is always clean and tidy and there is always a friendly greeting in reception.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Janine A (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 17 October 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

A friend and I have just visited your home in Abbotts Barton. We were both very impressed with our welcome in the home. Your staff were all very polite and all said hello. There was a happy atmosphere. The resident we visited wasn't able to see us straight away so were shown into the 'cafe' room which was very nice indeed.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Dorothy H (Respite Resident/Service User) on Monday 16 October 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

Excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Zaya F (Great-Niece of Resident/Service User) on Friday 22 September 2017. Review relates to September 2017.

I highly recommend this home. Since my great aunt moved to Abbots Barton she has looked increasingly well with visible differences such as glowing skin, improved mood and her feet less prone to swelling. I called this morning and it was heartwarming to hear how cheerful she was, in particular, because she said she had a fabulous day out yesterday to the coast. My aunt has really settled in (which took a little time after being independent for almost 100 years!) and developed some lovely friendships with both staff and residents, and she really cherishes the bus trips out! What a difference to a year ago, when she lived at home alone and was looking poorly and calling me frequently feeling lonely. I'd also like to thank the team for being so responsive to any requests, such as going for walks, checking on fluid intake and making sure my aunt has regular hair appointments. Whenever I've emailed the team has always acted swiftly.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by David T (Son of Resident/Service User) on Friday 25 August 2017. Review relates to July 2017.

My wife and I found the initial introductory visits to arrange 2-week respite care for my 96-year-old mother very welcoming and informative, it provided a good vibe to the place, especially as we arranged this at fairly short notice. Further, follow up contacts with the management were also helpful and friendly. The stay was more beneficial to my mother than she probably wants to admit. The prompt arrangements of a visiting physio, chiropodist and to have a blood test on site, were certainly a plus. Mum founding the nursing and caring staff very friendly, helpful and patient - the biggest plus over the two weeks. Although the food was generally good, there were occasions when her requested options were not able to be met. It was a shame the weather was not better over the 2 weeks, as she would have enjoyed spending more time out in the lovely gardens. Overall, the staff made my mother's stay comfortable and highly supportive with the management also being very approachable during the stay.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by I T (Resident / Service User) on Monday 7 August 2017. Review relates to July 2017.

I found the care home comfortable and welcoming. Every member of staff was most helpful, willing and friendly - I could not fault anyone. The food was tasteful, varied and presented nicely. My room was cosy and clean. My only criticism is the bedding. The covers were inadequate in size and warmth. In all other respects, I was quite satisfied.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Mrs J (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Friday 30 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

This was the first time that we have visited our friend and we were passing and called in unexpectedly. We were given tea and sandwiches whilst we waited for him which was very kind. We feel he is well looked after.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Marguerite (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Monday 26 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

I have known my friend and neighbour for over 40 years. Lately, she had become forgetful to some degree and seemed to find it difficult to manage her house and her food intake etc. On visiting for the first time in Abbots Barton I was delighted to see how she seemed to have settled in and was relaxed and released from her everyday cares. The staff are very friendly and the lunch was excellent. There was a very pleasant, calm and caring atmosphere.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by David B (Son of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 15 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

Mum has been very happy with all aspects of care and service at Abbot's Barton. Many friendly staff members, nursing and care staff, lovely fresh bright decor, always very clean. Catering is good and entertainment is varied, from singers to quizzes, so a positive overall recommendation.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Lou L (Cousin of Resident/Service User) on Monday 12 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

The staff are exemplary. My cousin requires special attention and they do their very best to ensure that she is comfortable at all times. In particular, she has bonded well with a number of the carers and nurses which has made her more confident to take on life’s challenges.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Josephine B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 12 June 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

The friendly and welcoming atmosphere at the home was evident from the moment we walked through the entrance door. My mother is a permanent resident and happy to be in a home where she is allowed to keep her independence while at the same time having the support and help she needs. The carers and staff are very helpful when I visit too and take my queries about her care seriously. I notice smiling faces everywhere when I visit and I like the fact that I can eat the occasional meal with her in the dining room so I can get to know some of the other residents too.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Keith B (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 8 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

Good home. Lovely staff and generally a pleasant place to be.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Deborah G (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 6 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

My mother was so well looked after during her four-week stay. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Visitors are welcomed at any time of day. The food is very good and the chefs take the trouble to make sure the meals are to everyone's liking. The gardens are lovely and all the rooms are a good size. There are sitting rooms on each floor and a cafe where you can have coffee or tea anytime during the day. A wide variety of activities is organised. My mother enjoyed her stay at Abbots Barton and benefitted from the rest and care. It was just what she needed.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by John W (Brother-in-law of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 1 June 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

The care and attention given to my sister-in-law by the staff of Abbotts Barton Nursing Home has been outstanding and coupled with the excellent rooms and other facilities available, she is very happy there. Unfortunately she needs regular medical care, but this is provided with a qualified nurse always available, and as a result, my wife and I have no concerns on this point. All staff, whether carers, medical, cleaning, reception or catering are well trained and very supportive to the residents, and I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this home.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Roger H (Nephew of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 1 June 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

A well run, lovely and caring establishment. The staff are friendly and take good care of the residents. This home is of a high standard and the quality of the home is very good, one must expect to pay a premium for this.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Ruth S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 1 June 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

The home is kept very clean and well-staffed. My mother is generally well cared for physically. We have had one or two problems over the two and half years she has lived there, but these have been resolved satisfactorily by dialogue with Colten Care. The home is very expensive but it was my mother's choice to stay in Winchester and it is her money.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Satisfactory
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Mary S (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 27 April 2017. Review relates to April 2017.

This is my third visit to Abbotts Barton after having had 3 major operations over the years. I have also recommended several people to the residence. The staff that are employed here are 2nd to none. Brilliant.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by D T (Son of Resident/Service User) on Friday 21 April 2017. Review relates to April 2017.

My mother recently moved from hospital into Abbotts Barton Nursing Home. She suffered a stroke about a month ago and also has heart failure, rendering her bedridden. There is no prospect that her condition will significantly improve. I have found this nursing home to be clean, well equipped and well run. Staff are efficient and caring and I really don't think that we could have found our dear mother a better home.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P C (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 11 April 2017. Review relates to March 2017.

I was not aware of my surroundings on arrival and was upset and confused. The staff were supportive but I took a while to settle into a routine. The food was good and served with a smile. The garden was delightful, beautifully planted and a joy to walk around. I found the 5.30pm supper rather early. Most residents returned to their rooms by 6.30pm, making it a very long night. Night staff were attentive but rather noisy. I left after six weeks feeling well and my old self again.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Abbotts Barton
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • Really pleased with the care provided, the staff are friendly and would recommend without hesitation
    Brother of resident at Abbotts Barton

    10 January 2019
  • The team could not have been more caring, welcoming and genuine in their approach and the dignity with which they dealt with our family
    Son of resident at Abbotts Barton

    03 January 2019
  • Always very helpful and friendly, the food is excellent and everybody is very kind
    Jean, resident of Abbotts Barton

    11 December 2018
  • Very enjoyable, carefree and enjoyable stay - had some laughs too!
    Husband of resident at Abbotts Barton

    11 December 2018
  • I am very happy and content. I am so pleased with Abbotts Barton and look forward to the rest of my stay. A lovely home, excellent!
    Alan, resident at Abbotts Barton

    13 November 2018
  • I just wanted to write to thank you and the team at Abbotts Barton for all your help in getting my mother transferred from Southampton General Hospital to Abbotts Barton. I know that you have all put in a great deal of time and effort on her behalf.  My mother is happy at Abbotts Barton and it is a huge relief to see that
    Diana, daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    31 October 2018
  • Your staff treated my relative with respect, you all ensured he was comfortable, well fed, watered and encouraged to join in as much as he was able
    Denise, relative of resident at Abbotts Barton

    23 October 2018
  • I would like to express my sincere thanks for the care and attention both my parents received from all of the staff at Abbott's Barton while they were resident at the home. I have the greatest professional respect and admiration for the standard of nursing care you and your staff have delivered
    Nick, son of residents at Abbotts Barton

    18 October 2018
  • Lovely room, good food and the staff show a real interest in mum and that includes me
    James, son of resident at Abbotts Barton

    17 October 2018
  • I find the home very comfortable, the staff very helpful and I always enjoy the food
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    10 October 2018
  • My respite care has been a pleasurable break due to the welcome, attention and fun received here - we feel we all matter
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    10 October 2018
  • We had a super Harvest Lunch and received a warm welcome on arrival, we all had a very enjoyable time
    Barbara, neighbour of Abbotts Barton

    26 September 2018
  • All aspects of mum's care have been excellent but special mention must go to the staff who recognised that she was reticent about going to the dining room and made efforts to encourage her!
    Daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    18 September 2018
  • I was very unsure what to expect when I arrived but was very pleasantly surprised how welcoming, caring and cheerful everyone was. That has continued. There is excellent communication between staff and they work efficiently and cheerfully always checking I am alright and happy that I have all I need. My room is very comfortable and the food excellent!
    Jill, resident st Abbotts Barton

    14 September 2018
  • So often I have been very well helped and supported without letting you know, today I wish to put this right with regard to three members of your staff - their insights and close observations are much appreciated
    John, resident at Abbotts Barton

    13 September 2018
  • Just to say a BIG thank you for the excellent care I have received, I couldn't have done better and so near my home too - I shall look forward to seeing some of you again at the Harvest Lunch!
    Christine, respite resident at Abbotts Barton

    10 September 2018
  • Very high quality residence in every way, it smells good, the staff greet everyone by name and smile and always look you in the eye, there is a constant attention to residents' needs with careful monitoring of residents. The food is good, so clearly, this place is very well managed. There are great staff hired, and training and operation standards are excellent - a very caring home.
    Tony, son of resident at Abbotts Barton

    06 September 2018
  • Your facility is very well managed. Clearly, your hire well, train well and have clear, detailed operating procedures. This shows in the consistency of very high quality of care - and the constant greetings and smiles by all staff well done to you all!
    Tony, relative of resident at Abbotts Barton

    27 August 2018
  • We would like to say a big thank you to you and all your wonderful staff for the tremendous care and compassion you all showed to our relative. She felt very much at home, which is testimount to the warm welcome you gave her and your professionalism 
    Alexandra, relative of resident at Abbotts Barton

    06 August 2018
  • A big thank you to all the staff who have been so kind and caring 
    John, relative of resident at Abbotts Barton

    25 July 2018
  • My experience has been excellent and the staff are all very helpful
    Brian, resident at Abbotts Barton

    24 July 2018
  • I have been in Abbotts Barton many times and always find it has been very efficiently run and every care is given to all the residents
    Mary, respite resident at Abbotts Barton

    19 July 2018
  • The first class support was much appreciated
    John, respite resident at Abbotts Barton

    21 June 2018
  • I have been impressed by the kindness and support of all the staff - day and night 
    Respite Resident at Abbotts Barton

    21 June 2018
  • I should be grateful if you would thank everyone on my behalf for their kind birthday wishes on my 90th Birthday and for the cake that looked beautiful!
    Hermione, resident of Abbotts Barton

    09 May 2018
  • We are both very grateful for the help and support we got from the lovey staff at Abbotts Barton
    Marie & Peter, respite residents at Abbotts Barton

    04 May 2018
  • I cannot thank you and all the staff enough for all the care and consideration. We are truly grateful for all the kindness, support and courtesy we have received as a family. You have all exceeded expectations by far and have provided a really outstanding service. 
    Kate, relative of resident at Abbotts Barton

    09 April 2018
  • We would like to say a huge thank you to everyone who cared for and assisted my mum during her four years at Abbotts Barton. She was treated with respect and dignity, and your kindness will always be remembered and appreciated.


    Alison, daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 March 2018
  • Thank you so much for looking after Mum so beautifully; she has so enjoyed being here in your lovely home. You are all so kind, caring (everyone we come across stops to speak) and operate to a very high standard, keeping the rooms, bathrooms and corridors immaculate. You do a very worthwhile job and we are so grateful.


    Debbie, daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    03 March 2018
  • The care all the staff at Abbotts Barton gave to my father was exemplary. My family and I will be forever grateful.


    Family of resident at Abbotts Barton

    26 January 2018
  • I would like to offer a huge thank you to all the staff involved in organising yesterday’s 84th birthday party for Mum. There was lots of laughter and the conversation did not stop, and that was all thanks to the preparation behind the scene to make us all feel totally at home and relaxed. A big thanks especially to the catering staff – I was in awe of the quality and presentation. 


    Alison, daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    19 January 2018
  • I wanted to write to send my sincerest thanks to the amazing team at Abbotts Barton. Although Mum was only with you for a short period of time, it was long enough for us to appreciate and respect the huge support and help that you all gave Mum and I. I sincerely believe that she could not have been in a better place; she was with people who genuinely cared for her welfare and gave her the dignity she deserved.


    Louise, daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 January 2018
  • I would like to say a very big thank you to all the staff for the care you have given me since my arrival. It has been like a first class hotel, and I would highly recommend it for respite care to anyone.


    Respite resident at Abbotts Baton

    03 January 2018
  • All the staff at Abbotts Barton are so caring and we know our relative was well looked after. We enjoyed sitting in the garden with her (she was always a sun lover!) and having a little walk round showing her the different plants. Thank you for your patience and kindness.


    Roger, relative of resident at Abbotts Barton

    02 January 2018
  • A big thank you for working so hard and making it look so easy over the Christmas period. It brought back many memories of time we spent in ‘far away places’, but we always celebrated Christmas knowing there was no place like home. I had a lovely time with the family visiting, but made a big mistake on Christmas morning telling the small grandchildren I had just seen Santa Claus in the lift. I had a job getting out of that one.


    Joy, resident at Abbotts Barton

    28 December 2017
  • Thank you for looking after my sister so well over the last four years. I hope you know how much we appreciated everything you did.


    Gwen, sister of resident at Abbotts Barton

    14 December 2017
  • Thank you all for the lovely present and card, and for making such a lovely 99th birthday possible.


    Joyce, resident at Abbotts Barton

    08 December 2017
  • Thank you all for the kindness and care shown to our mum and dad. We are hugely grateful.


    Paul, son of residents at Abbotts Barton

    15 November 2017
  • We would like to express our enormous gratitude for the warmth and loving care you all gave my husband. For us, it was an enormous relief to come into such a haven of peace and tranquility, where we were able to offload any pain and distress.

    Thank you all so very much.


    Anne, wife of resident at Abbotts Barton

    09 November 2017
  • My sister and I would like to thank you all so much for the care and kindness you showed our Mum. It made all the difference to her, and to us too.


    Gillian, daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    05 November 2017
  • A big thank you for looking after our Mum. You are all kind, and that’s why you’re appreciated very, very much.


    Connie, daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    20 October 2017
  • What a wonderful lunch my daughter and I had with Mum and her fellow residents, and a fair number of friends and staff, last Thursday. With really special food, wine, excellent live musical entertainment, balloons, table decorations, and the raffle (we won three lovely prizes!), the lunch had a real party atmosphere.

    The social aspect of what is laid on at Abbotts Barton, from quizzes to talks and trips out, is quite splendid. We can see that all residents are treated with respect and nothing seems too much trouble – yet me know how much work goes on behind the scenes every day, whether it’s getting food on the table, or running a successful activities programme.

    I am very relieved it has worked out so well for Mum. She can live in the moment now, without any worries.

    Thank you to you all for all you are doing to give Mum a new lease of life.


    Alison, daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    10 October 2017
  • On behalf of my mum, I can’t thank you and your staff enough for the kindness, care and respect you have shown her. After her time with you, she was stronger, had an improved appetite, and was walking with greater confidence. You also made her feel very welcome and I know she felt very much at home. 


    Judith, daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    10 October 2017
  • Thank you so much for looking after my father. You showed both him and I exactly what care looks, feels, tastes and sounds like.

    I really can’t thank you all enough.


    Katy, daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    05 October 2017
  • I’m just writing to say a huge thank you for looking after my great great auntie so well. Since she moved to Abbotts Barton, she has looked increasingly well with visible differences such as glowing skin, improved mood and her feet less prone to swelling.

    It’s heartwarming to hear how cheerful she is – she said she’d had a fabulous day out yesterday to the coast! She seems to have really settled in and has developed some lovely friendships with both staff and residents, and she really cherishes the bus trips out! What a difference to a year ago, when she lived at home and was both poorly and lonely.

    I’d also like to thank the team for being so responsive to any requests, such as going for walks, checking on fluid intake, and making sure she makes her hair appointments. Whenever I’ve emailed, your team has always acted swiftly.

    Thank you again.


    Zaya, great great niece of resident at Abbotts Barton

    22 September 2017
  • I just wanted to say a huge thank you to everyone at Abbotts Barton who made my mother feel so welcome. The staff showed her such compassion and warmth.


    Penelope, daughter of resident at Abbotts Barton

    08 September 2017
  • Well what can we say – you are all simply the best! The arrangements you made for our relative to have a celebration and watch her granddaughters wedding via live-link to Tuscany were awesome. She was so overwhelmed by being able to see her beautiful granddaughter in her full glory, as she made her vows under the Tuscan skies. It made her day.

    May I also say the sandwiches, cakes, decorations and iced champers were fantastic, and very much enjoyed.

    I cannot say how much this means, not just to our relative, but to the whole family. We cannot thank you enough, and the tears in our relative’s eyes said it all.

    Thank you with all our hearts.


    Family of relative at Abbotts Barton

    15 July 2017
  • I know the family will agree when I say that all the staff at Abbotts Barton were so very kind to my mum, as well as to her visitors. You made your care so personal to her, and that made such a difference to all of us. The way you explained her ongoing care, the trouble you took to ensure that her dignity was preserved, and your unswerving professionalism at all times is a credit to your organisation.


    Paul, son of resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 July 2017
  • I so admire your dedication, warmth and professionalism when caring for the elderly. Thank you too for making us so welcome whenever we came to visit.


    Family of resident at Abbotts Barton

    30 June 2017
  • We just want to thank you for the care and attention you gave our relative whilst she was at Abbotts Barton. We were so impressed with how kind every member of staff was, and how you took the time to get to know our relative as a person – not just as a patient. 


    Relative of resident at Abbotts Barton

    30 June 2017