Reviews and Testimonials

9.4

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 11 reviews

Review submitted by Mary S (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 23 June 2021. Review relates to June 2021.

I have spent many happy days in Abbots Barton over the past few years. Although I'm going home next week, but due to my current problems with balance etc I really feel I will come back permanently quite soon.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Peter R (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 23 June 2021. Review relates to June 2021.

Abbotts Barton tops all items. Activities super plus.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by C H (Niece of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 15 June 2021. Review relates to June 2021.

Since arriving at Abbots Barton my uncle has consistently received quality care, his original plan was to stay for two weeks respite. However, he has been so happy with the home and staff he has decided to stay permanently. He found the staff to be courteous, compassionate and caring. What could have been an anxious, stressful time for him was made easier, as a result of the support he received. We are very happy that he is in good hands. Rooms are clean, bright and airy with plenty of room and daily activities and entertainment that are fantastic. The excellent menu he's found to be an added bonus.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Mary H (Respite Resident/Service User) on Saturday 8 May 2021.

To some extent, it is hard to judge as we have nothing to compare it with, and because of isolation, we were unable to join in any of the activities or explore the facilities. I have enjoyed my stay here and am very impressed with the physical care I have received, especially as you have achieved so much more contact than I have with my GP in years! I know lockdown did not help but the respite care has been a marvellous help to me.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by D F (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 9 March 2021. Review relates to November 2020.

Care excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P V (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 12 January 2021. Review relates to December 2020.

Without exception, everyone has been efficient, kind, empathetic give in extremely difficult circumstances of emergency admittance over the Christmas period from a different county and Covid-19 complication

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by K H (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 15 May 2020. Review relates to March 2020.

My mother has been a resident of this Care Home for over four years. I rang on 17.03.2020, to ask for an update from the Nursing team about my mother's current health status, to be told: "she didn't complain of no pain or anything" (quote). As my dear mother has been in a vegetative state for many many months with absolutely no verbal communication, no eye contact, no signing; this was nothing but a casual uninformed comment, in essence, a fob off! How a member of the Nursing team at Abbotts Barton Care Home, Winchester thought I would find a guesstimate reply sufficient hurts, it was and still is deeply unacceptable and insulting. If your Nursing staff are uniformed, they should refer to the individuals' medical notes. You are Service Providers, charging 'some' a lot of money for Care and a Service, this is yet another issue. Your motto 'Cherishing You' requires room for improvement. Internally generated postal card reviews are likely to follow 'a complaint'.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Unlikely

  • Care / Support: Satisfactory
  • Staff: Satisfactory
  • Management: Very Poor
  • Rooms: Satisfactory
  • Facilities: Satisfactory
  • Cleanliness: Satisfactory
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Don't Know
  • Safety / Security: Poor
  • Value for Money: Poor
  • Overall Standard: Satisfactory
  • Treated with Dignity: Very Poor

Review submitted by P C (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 10 March 2020. Review relates to February 2020.

I had two weeks of respite care after three weeks in hospital. I was very well looked after.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by R S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 6 December 2019. Review relates to November 2019.

All the staff have been wonderful in helping Mum get back on her feet.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by D S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 21 November 2019. Review relates to October 2019.

After our elderly mum had a hospital stay, nursing care was needed for several weeks before she was able to get back home. Not only has she been cared for very well they have also cared for our dad during his extensive visiting time which we have greatly appreciated. Many thanks to all staff from management to the lovely ladies encouraging activities, the nursing staff were kind and considerate of mum's needs and they both enjoyed the meals. A superb home and we as a family thank you all.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by R T (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 3 September 2019. Review relates to August 2019.

Very welcoming on admission to redecorated attractive room with flowers and a welcome card - appreciated! Came in on respite care now permanent and finding it difficult to settle. The staff are very friendly and caring, but sometimes the wait when needing the toilet is difficult but realise many residents need 2 carers at a time as my husband does and have complex medical needs. Lovely not to hear continuous bell ringing all day as can happen in other homes. The garden and "garden club" we used and enjoyed by ourselves and other residents. Usually a quiet, friendly atmosphere. Thank you to all the management and staff.

How likely would you be to recommend Abbotts Barton? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Abbotts Barton
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • Since arriving at Abbotts Barton my uncle has consistently received quality care, his original plan was to stay for two weeks respite.  However, he has been so happy with the home and staff he has decided to stay permanently.  He found the staff to be courteous, compassionate and caring.  What could have been an anxious, stressful time for him was made easier, as a result of the support he received.  We are very happy that he is in good hands. Rooms are clean, bright and airy with plenty of room and daily activities and entertainment that are fantastic. The excellent menu he's found to be an added bonus.
    Niece of Resident at Abbotts Barton 

    17 June 2021
  • Thank you so much to you all for the wonderful care that you all provided to Mum over the last three and half years.  Abbotts Barton was her home and she loved being in the sitting room with the other residents and amongst the team.  There are so many of you all to be thanked.  Bless you all for the wonderful work you do.
    Family of Resident at Abbotts Barton 

    01 June 2021
  • I have enjoyed my stay here and am very impressed with the physical care I have received, especially as you have achieved so much more contact than I have with my GP in years.  I know lockdown did not help but the respite care has been a marvellous help to me.
    Respite Resident at Abbotts Barton 

    01 June 2021
  • Thank you so much for all you do for our mother, especially during the pandemic.
    Family of Resident at Abbotts Barton 

    31 May 2021
  • Thank you so much for all your care and commitment during what has been an increasingly difficult time for everybody. 
    Daughters of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    19 March 2021
  • Without exception, everyone has been efficient, kind, empathetic given extremely difficult circumstances.
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    20 January 2021
  • Please do ensure that everyone knows how much effort, care, support and attention is deeply appreciated by both Dad and I towards his living at Abbotts Barton, especially during the bulk of last year. Many challenges and changes were faced and dealt with efficiently.  It certainly felt that the upmost was being done to ensure minimum disruption to residents. Thank everyone for their commitment and expertise throughout it all.  I know Dad very much enjoys the comforts of Abbotts Barton, the delicious food he receives and also the joys from going into the garden when he can.  The "red team" have done such a sterling job with ensuring regular Skype calls between us and also continuing with their activity schedule.  The medical and personal care teams are wonderful, the regular updates about his general (or indeed specific) health status is very much appreciated.  The cleaning staff continue to do an amazing job at keeping the bedrooms, communal rooms and areas spotless. The incredible team of receptionists, with all the extra work, which has been handled in a very pleasant and professional manner. Finally yourself, keeping all these balls juggling throughout.  They say an efficient and effective operation comes from the top and I can certainly agree with this with you at the helm.  Thank you so much for remaining steadfast and consistent when some of us (me) were not.  Thanks again.
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    11 January 2021
  • Please share with all your team my thanks for the excellent job you have all done in very challenging circumstances this year.  You are all consistently warm, friendly, supportive and compassionate.  I'm sure you have had some difficult times this year on the front line, but it doesn't show.  With thanks for all your support.
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    24 December 2020
  • Thank you all for your hard work keeping the residents safe and happy. I think Colten Care as a whole has been doing an amazing job. I am fortunate enough to see Mum behind the screen and talk on the phone but I have missed sitting in your beautiful garden and certainly missed chatting with residents and staff.
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    05 October 2020
  • Over the past few years I have been a returning respite client and have always enjoyed it at Abbotts Barton.  I know when the time is right and I need more support this is the home I would eventually choose.
    Respite Resident at Abbotts Barton

    01 October 2020
  • I can't thank you enough for taking such excellent care of my Great Aunt and all being so kind and welcoming.
    Niece of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 September 2020
  • Thank you so much for all the hard work and care you have put in to keeping Mummy (and all the other residents) safe in these very testing times.
    Daughters of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    21 July 2020
  • Firstly may I thank you for the kind way you approached the subject of my mothers passing away yesterday. This can never be an easy part of your role but your handling of it was lovely.

    Son of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    29 June 2020
  • My four Children join me in extending a heart felt thank you to you and the wider Abbotts baton team for your professionalism and care of Jo. Mum was with you for a bit longer than expected at the beginning of her stay and initially she enjoyed many activities and bus trips that where organised. She particularly enjoyed the Abbotts Barton garden and frequently admired the tulips and of course the Judas tree. I have now planted a Judas tree in the garden here. And many more tributes to mum will follow over the months ahead. If they are scented mum will certainly approve. The last few years have been very hard as you are aware, as mum steadily drifted away from her family. I would particularly like to thank you for your help and support during this time. The advise and reassurance was very much appreciated by us all. I still maintain that I hope mum knew members of your team, so well by the time that she was helped along this final journey. This is to me a tremendous comfort during these difficult months. Thank you for looking after JoJo!

    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    14 June 2020
  • I am writing on behalf of my mother June and myself to thank you and your staff for providing her with such a wonderful birthday on Friday, in spite of the difficult circumstances. It started before the day itself with her hair being given attention, so she looked her best in the absence of the hairdresser and made her feel special for her special day. Then she was so impressed that someone came to fetch her for our visit, in a timely and caring manner so that she could relax and enjoy what was for her such an important visit, after all this time and on her birthday. This care and attention continued through the day with a Skype call organised for my sister culminating in a Birthday Cake and sing song from a number of the staff. She says she was made to feel really cared for and as you will know this counts for a lot for someone of her age. We appreciate that times are particularly difficult at the moment with all the extra precautions you need to take as well as the fact that you are inevitably short staffed for a variety of reasons. However it seems that the staff you have are instilled with a very caring approach with so much attention to detail where it really matters. Well done for managing what for us is a wonderful place to see Mum spending her advancing years enjoying and please pass on our congratulations and grateful thanks to all the wonderful staff.

    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    14 June 2020
  • I cannot tell you how the arrival and surprise of your box of goodies touched me. My ten plus weeks of living alone flew away. It was such a lovely unexpected thought, why then are there tear drops on this paper? I’d already had a call in the morning from you enquiring if all was well. No wonder I know where I shall go in a few years. Thank you so much and the lovely staff who greet me as I push my trolly round your car park daily. Trembly hands and paper that I have used since the pad was used up, forgive both. Two very happy stays with you have turned me into a real Colten Care fan. And now wonderful thought. Thank you so very much, I couldn’t ask for more, except for this to be over.

    Respite Resident at Abbotts Barton

    13 June 2020
  • Thank you for all you have done and continue to do, to look after Margaret.

    Family of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    06 June 2020
  • I just wanted to tell you how proud I’ve been to be part of the amazing team that makes up Abbotts Barton Care Home. It is by far the nicest place I’ve ever worked and the best job I’ve ever had! There have been good times, bad times, happy times and sad times. But there has always been friendship, love and laughter.
    Bank worker at Abbotts Barton

    27 May 2020
  • My relative was well looked after at Abbotts Barton for four and half years. She was always treated with respect and with genuine kindness and affection by all members of the team. I will always remember you all with gratitude.
    Relative of Ex-Resident at Abbotts Barton

    27 May 2020
  • My son works for public health England in Yorkshire and has a lot of involvement with care homes. He said “the way Colten Care & Abbotts Barton are dealing with the current challenges is exemplary”
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    27 May 2020
  • I am so grateful for all the care you are showing to my mother at this stressful time for you all. You are doing an amazing job for so many peoples loved ones. Thank you.
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    27 May 2020
  • Dear Chef. So sorry I cannot live up to what I said when we had our chat. I seem to be changing by the day as the wine does not seem to suit me anymore. Sorry! I appreciated all your efforts for me. Thank you.
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    27 May 2020
  • I just wanted to say thank you to all the staff at Abbotts Barton for caring for our relative and a special thanks to the restaurant team for providing me with daily tasting meals. Thank you all so much.
    Family member of ex resident At Abbotts Barton

    28 April 2020
  • Thank you for everything you are doing for me during this difficult time. It’s very much appreciated. Hope your day goes well.
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    28 April 2020
  • I had two weeks of respite care after three weeks in hospital. I was very well looked after.
    Ex respite resident at Abbotts Barton

    28 April 2020
  • Thank you so much for the meticulous care you gave to our relative. Your kindness and endless patience made a difference. You gave him such a special day on his birthday which was amazing he loved being out in the fresh air and always needed a bit of spoiling. Stay safe
    Family member of ex resident At Abbotts Barton

    28 April 2020
  • All your team have been wonderful to us during difficult days for us and we would like to thank you all.
    Son of Resident At Abbotts Barton

    26 March 2020
  • Thank you for taking the time to show me around the Abbotts Barton Care Home, my husband and I were very impressed with the facilities, location and atmosphere.
    Visitor To Abbotts Barton 

    26 March 2020
  • I would like to say a huge thank you to all the staff who have looked after my mother over the past four years, everyone has shown her kindness, respect, compassion and patience. I very much appreciated always being greeted in reception by staff with lovely smiles.
    Daughter Of Resident at Abbotts Barton 

    26 March 2020
  • Thank you so much for being the best team and soklind and patient with our Great Aunt
    Great Niece of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    15 December 2019
  • All the staff have been wonderful in helping Mum get back on her feet
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    11 December 2019
  • Thanks to you and your staff for making possible our family celebration of Mum’s 99th birthday. Mum is really happy and secure at Abbotts Barton
    Son of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    10 December 2019
  • Not only was our Mum cared for very well, they have also cared for our dad during his extensive visiting time which we have greatly appreciated. Many thanks to all staff from management to the lovely ladies encouraging activities and nursing staff who were kind and considerate
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    22 November 2019
  • Thank you for the superb care and friendship you showed to Dad, he viewed his time at Abbotts Barton as his 'bonus years'
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    05 November 2019
  • Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the wonderful love and care you gave our relative, she enjoyed all the lovely people, staff and residents - you are all truly 'angels' in disguise
    Family of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 November 2019
  • Thank you for the superb care you gave our Mother, she was happy and settled. Your staff were caring and gentle and infinitely patient
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    10 October 2019
  • A sincere thank you to everyone who cared for our sister at Abbotts Barton and showed so much compassion
    Brother of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    30 August 2019
  • There is always such a warm welcome at Abbotts Barton
    Visitor of Abbotts Barton

    27 August 2019
  • Thank you to all the staff who looked after our relative with such care, professionalism and kindness - you are a wonderful team
    Relative of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    21 August 2019
  • I marvel at the patience of the staff and the care they give
    Relative of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    21 August 2019
  • Nothing has ever been too much trouble at Abbotts Barton, our warmest gratitude for all the love and care afforded to our Mum
    Son of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 July 2019
  • I am contented and have become used to the routine and the staff who are helpful, cheerful and discreet, visitors are always made welcome and my daughter is pleased I am in a safe place. The team in charge of entertainment work hard to find ways to keep residents happy
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 July 2019
  • Thank you for all your care with our Mum
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 July 2019
  • I thought it would be difficult for you to live up to the glowing recommendations I had heard from people whose parents are with you. In fact, you have exceeded our expectations. My mother arrived at Abbotts Barton lonely, exhausted and stressed and after just a few weeks, she's back to her old self!
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    02 July 2019
  • I had a nice stay with great care
    Respite Resident at Abbotts Barton

    11 June 2019
  • All members of staff are true professionals in their individual roles and all duties are carried out in such a dedicated way with attention to detail in all aspects of care
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 June 2019
  • Very impressed with every aspect from first impression to accommodation and lovely gardens. All the staff and management are friendly and caring. Lovely that residents can invite visitors for meals and coffee/tea. The activities are very good, Mum particularly enjoyed the outings and the hair salon is also excellent
    Daughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    04 June 2019
  • I much enjoyed meeting many great carers from overseas who are so content to work in this occupation and very gentle and cheerful
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    29 May 2019
  • Being a resident here for a few weeks has been a very pleasant experience. I would not hesitate to recommend it to my friends - absolutely excellent!
    Resident at Abbotts Barton

    30 April 2019
  • Staff are always friendly, kind and caring towards my Gran and all our family - we all feel supported and that she is getting the best care and attention she can
    Granddaughter of Resident at Abbotts Barton

    30 April 2019