Reviews and Testimonials

9.8

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 61 reviews

Review submitted by G C (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 7 March 2019. Review relates to February 2019.

Food and accommodation was satisfactory. All staff were very helpful and answer all questions promptly and accurately. The activities were well conducted.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by A K (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 9 October 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

Modern care facility, well maintained and welcoming. Staff are friendly, experienced and conscientious. Decor is contemporary. Services provided includes quality care and medical needs support. Daytime activities are varied and inclusive. Friends and family actively encouraged to visit and attend "open" events. I am so pleased that my family found this residential facility. I feel comfortable knowing my relative is being well cared for here.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Satisfactory
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by David H (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 20 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

A very caring and welcoming atmosphere.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Lorraine S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 14 September 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

The premises, activities on offer and the standard of food are exemplary. However, what makes Avon Cliff special are the people. Absolutely everyone was wonderfully kind as well as professional. The care my ailing mother received was top notch. I would not hesitate to recommend Avon Cliff for respite, assisted care or nursing care.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S Z (Son of Resident/Service User) on Monday 13 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

The comfort and care provided in this care home was all that I could wish for my mother. Nothing was too much to ask. The facilities are excellent and the staff and management could not have done more to take care of my mother during her rehabilitation following her recent heart attack.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jessamine K (Respite Resident/Service User) on Friday 10 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

I am pleased to report that my stay at Avon Cliff has been one of pleasure, care, help to get well and with memories of excellent people.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by James L (Son of Resident/Service User) on Friday 10 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

Avon Cliff was recommended by a receptionist at the hospital. The manager came to meet and at the hospital the next morning. She was charming and very sympathetic to my dad's need (he is 102 years old), recuperating from a leg operation. The care home has been caring and friendly. The nurses are excellent. The food is good. It is kept clean, bright and tidy. Thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Irene Z (Respite Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 8 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

If I had to stay in such a care home, I could not recommend one more than this.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Satisfactory
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Pamela L (Resident / Service User) on Friday 20 July 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

My 2 week stay in Avon Cliff care home was a great experience. Everyone (staff) were most friendly and helpful. It was like being with a family. The ambience was most pleasant with beautiful surroundings which I enjoyed during the 'heat wave'. I would certainly recommend Avon Cliff - food and cleanliness were first class. I would definitely return for another respite.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jill S (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 26 June 2018. Review relates to June 2018.

Every day I was greeted with smiles from all staff nothing seemed too much trouble, even friends who were visiting my husband said how friendly and helpful everyone was, puts you at ease. To begin with they didn't know my husband had to take things very slowly, his breathing etc but they soon had a rapport with him as he settled. A great shame he couldn't take in your activities, confined to the bedroom. Your café was a great hit with me, home from home. Thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P R (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 23 May 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

Mum frequently said how well she was looked after and how pleasant and kind the staff were. My siblings and I were completely satisfied that mum was treated with great care and respect that she deserved. The staff were always welcoming to us as visitors and we were glad that mum spent her last months at Avon Cliff. An excellent care home.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Raymond S (Brother of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 23 May 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

I cannot speak highly enough of the care received by my sister and myself during my sister's time in the home. Everybody was so caring and friendly. Added to this, the staff always had time and there was a quiet sense of efficiency. Thank you all.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Desiree L (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Friday 11 May 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

Friendly, helpful amenable carers. The foreign staff speak better and clearer English than many young English people! Nothing ever appears to be a nuisance or problem.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Maureen R (Resident / Service User) on Monday 23 April 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

I came here to recuperate after major surgery. I am 72 years old, my husband is nearly 80 and our children and grandchildren live overseas. The care and consideration shown to my husband and I from the first contact was beyond reproach. Nothing was too difficult for the staff. They even prepared special meals for us. A very big Thank You!

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Alwyn M (Respite Resident/Service User) on Friday 13 April 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

First impression was of an attractive, bright reception area and smiling, friendly welcome. Room pristine and attractive and comfortably furnished. Every member of staff caring, gentle and patient. All meals excellent, fresh ingredients and delicious variety of meals not to mention homemade cakes with tea every afternoon. Enjoyed the services of experienced chiropodist and hairdresser in salon. Amusing entertainment plus Tai Chi, exercise and enjoyable arts and crafts and general quizzes, etc.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S S R (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 3 April 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

Avon Cliff provides a bright, peaceful place and room to recover or stay. The staff have been excellent. The food choices cater for most all diets, and Chef is always willing to prepare food if its something special to tempt. Rooms and the lounge always clean and good bath facilities. Activities for the residents are varied and fun, to keep involved. My stay at Avon Cliff has been worry free. Thank you all staff.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Violet U (Volunteer) on Tuesday 9 January 2018. Review relates to December 2017.

We have been coming to this home for a few months to the knitting group and have found it to be a very friendly atmosphere. The staff are helpful and we enjoy mixing with the residents and chatting, knitting, tea, cake and friends are the best mix ever. Culminating today with a truly scumptious lunch.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J E (Son-in-law of Resident/Service User) on Sunday 24 December 2017. Review relates to December 2017.

As soon as my wife and I walked through the door of Avon Cliff and were so wonderfully received by the home manager we knew that this was the place we were looking for. On the sudden death of my father-in-law, it was imperative for my mother-in-law to be cared for professionally. The manager organized a direct transfer from Poole Hospital and thanks to all involved at Avon Cliff we could not have wished for a smoother transition. During her seven-month stay, she was exceptionally well cared for and genuinely loved. This was evident to us on our numerous visits. We were also cared for and supported at this difficult and challenging time. Nothing was ever too much trouble. This is perhaps all the more important, not to mention reassuring, as we live abroad. All the staff at Avon Cliff are amazing and the manager is an exceptionally competent and caring Matron. We cannot praise her and her team highly enough. My mother-in-law passed away on 14 December 2017. Thank you all!

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J B (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 21 November 2017. Review relates to November 2017.

My mother is very happy, all staff are very kind and she never feels lonely or unsafe. Because she is content in her home, it gives me and the rest of her family peace of mind.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Maud M (Respite Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 18 October 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

This was a period of 11 nights respite care to enable family carers to attend a wedding in South Africa. Following a warm welcome, we found a beautifully appointed room and this high standard continued throughout the stay. Excellent choice of menus, delicious food, enjoyable entertainment, opportunities for trips to local beauty spots and attentive (not intrusive) care. All of the staff are prepared to "go the extra mile" so dedicated to residents comfort and wellbeing.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sara S (Niece of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 5 October 2017. Review relates to September 2017.

A lovely, bright and clean care home where the staff are kind and friendly and welcoming and there is always lots to do. Everyone is treated with respect - and the lunch is lovely.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S F (Niece of Resident/Service User) on Monday 2 October 2017. Review relates to September 2017.

My very elderly aunt was transferred from Bournemouth Hospital after a stroke and has received excellent care from the team at Avon Cliff.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Don't Know
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P W (Brother of Resident/Service User) on Monday 2 October 2017. Review relates to September 2017.

Avon Cliff is a clean, light and bright environment. It is a happy place and everybody speaks regardless of who they are ir staff, residents and other visitors. The staff and management are all very professional and the nursing care is excellent. Within days of coming to stay, my brother, who previously loved alone, showed a big improvement.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 26 September 2017. Review relates to September 2017.

We are impressed with the excellent level of personal care given every day, 24/7, to our mother. The staff have been very impressive during a recent medical crisis. They handled the situation very professionally, efficiently and sympathetically. We all live overseas and so need to feel reassured and confident about leaving our mother in Avon Cliff's care. We do.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by T D (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 12 September 2017. Review relates to September 2017.

I was delighted to find that the staff are so caring, helpful and professional. They provide an excellent environment which enabled my mother to settle in perfectly. The food is varied, fresh and cooked to a high standard. The facilities and activities are excellent. I am happy to thoroughly recommend this home.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Susan D (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 11 September 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

I am very pleased especially with the care staff. They are always smiling and helpful. The last week mum has had medical needs and hospital treatments. Everything was organised and they were very supportive.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by David S (Son of Resident/Service User) on Monday 24 July 2017. Review relates to July 2017.

The building and facilities are first class and the staff are always very friendly, helpful and attentive to my mother's needs.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by L H (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 18 July 2017. Review relates to July 2017.

Avon Cliff offers a very warm welcome and a lovely and clean environment. The food is excellent as are the care services provided. We are very pleased that we picked Avon Cliff. Thanks to someone from another care home for recommending this care to us.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Pat M (Respite Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 11 July 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

A very pleasant experience, everyone has been most attentive but not overpowering! Excellent choice of food; I enjoyed every meal, as did my guests who were really impressed. I participated in the entertainment programme with great enjoyment and also benefitted from the opportunity to sit outdoors in such pleasant and well-maintained gardens. I was delighted to join the Friday trip to the New Forest.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Kathleen M (Brother of Resident/Service User) on Monday 10 July 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

A very well run and caring home. Each resident is treated very much as an individual. Visitors are very welcome and staff are always pleasant. We are very pleased with the care.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Margaret S (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Monday 10 July 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

Always a very good welcome - happy staff giving great support to my friend.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sue G (Niece of Resident/Service User) on Monday 3 July 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

My aunt has been very well looked after during her time here. It is a relief to know she is 'content' somewhere that is not her own home. She has put on weight and looks better as a result of better nutrition and at 96 has made the transition from fierce independence to a residential/nursing home, much better than hoped.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Eric S (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Friday 30 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

I have no worries about my wife being at Avon Cliff as all the staff are so kind and caring.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Lois E (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 22 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

On the death of my father, and after having been hospitalised, my 92-year-old mother left her own home to join Avon Cliff. Not only my mother but we as a family have been so warmly welcomed here. All the staff here are not only highly competent but so wonderfully caring. There is a genuine feeling of love here. All this is so reassuring for me, especially as I live abroad. I cannot thank the staff enough for taking such care of my mother at this time of her life.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Andrew G (Son of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 15 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

Very pleased with the care shown to my mother. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff in Avon Cliff. They truly are a credit to your organisation.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Judith H (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 6 June 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

This was my first experience of being at the receiving end of a care home and everything surpassed my expectations. Avon Cliff is outstanding in every way. This must be because of the manager (Matron) and senior management team. The home is beautifully appointed and maintained to a high standard. The food is superb. Every member of staff I have encountered is kind, caring and dedicated. They are interested in every resident. My two week stay has been memorable.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Kevin B (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 23 May 2017. Review relates to April 2017.

Avon Cliff is excellent, a real "home from home" for my father. The first moment I walked through the front door I knew that we had made the right choice; clean, friendly, professional, approachable staff, all looking very happy in their work. The standard of care of the residents is first class with their needs always prioritised over any other. The management, clinical lead and administrative staff are very attentive and always helpful and knowledgeable. The care staff look after the residents extremely well. We are so lucky to have found such a wonderful care home. Thanks to everyone.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Avon Cliff
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • I cannot thank everyone enough for the excellent care that my relative has been receiving, the staff are wonderful and friendly
    Relative of resident at Avon Cliff

    15 March 2019
  • I thank you for the good care which my relative received whilst with you, and making me feel so welcome
    Mervyn, relative of resident at Avon Cliff

    08 March 2019
  • The food and accommodation was satisfactory and all the staff were very helpful and answer all questions promptly and accurately
    Friend of resident at Avon Cliff

    07 March 2019
  • Thank you to the carers who assist my sister, not only with her basic care needs, but also the maintenance of her appearance, there is a notable difference for me sister in her morale - this extra touch is much appreciated 
    Ann, sister of resident at Avon Cliff

    15 February 2019
  • Thank you so much for making my week of respite care so very enjoyable! It was very heart warming to be welcomed back by so many of you who remembered my previous stay with you
    Daphne, respite resident at Avon Cliff

    04 December 2018
  • Thank you very much indeed for the kindness and care all of you have shown to my relative during his stay with you, you have made him well again for which I am very grateful
    Elle, relative of resident at Avon Cliff

    09 November 2018
  • Many thanks for the kindness and support, Mum was happy at Avon Cliff and I am grateful to you all for looking after her
    Janet, daughter of resident at Avon Cliff

    14 October 2018
  • Modern care facility, well maintained, welcoming with the staff friendly, experienced and conscientious. Friends and family are actively encouraged to visit and attend "open" events, I am so pleased that my family found this residential facility as I feel comfortable knowing my relative is being well cared for
    Son of resident at Avon Cliff

    09 October 2018
  • A very caring and welcoming atmosphere
    David, resident at Avon Cliff

    20 September 2018
  • Thank you for the love and care so freely extended to our relative, and it is typical of the skill and professionalism of the nursing and caring staff at Avon Cliff that kept our relative so comfortable, we are quite certain that no care home in Bournemouth could have looked after our relative to a higher standard
    John, relative to resident at Avon Cliff

    17 September 2018
  • The premises, activities on offer and the standard of food are exemplary. However, what makes Avon Cliff special are the people, absolutely everyone was wonderfully kind as well as professional. The care my ailing mother received was top notch and I would not hesitate to recommend Avon Cliff for respite, assisted care or nursing care
    Lorraine, daughter of resident at Avon Cliff

    14 September 2018
  • Thank-you so much for finding space for my Dad at Avon Cliff, I really don’t know what I would have done without you. I know that he appreciated the attention he received from so many of your staff. He was also very pleased with the food! He has certainly been able to rest and recuperate and he is in much shape now than when he arrived. It is instantly obvious to any visitor that the entire Avon Cliff team works incredibly hard and you have some truly wonderful people in your line-up!
    James, son of resident at Avon Cliff

    28 August 2018
  • Thank you all for the wonderful care you have given Mum, you have made her feel at home and have been her family
    Jennifer, daughter of resident at Avon Cliff

    17 August 2018
  • The comfort and care provided in this care home was all that I could wish for my mother. Nothing was too much to ask. The facilities are excellent and the staff and management could not have done more to take care of my mother during her rehabilitation
    Son of resident at Avon Cliff

    13 August 2018
  • Thank you for such lovely flowers and the kindness shown to me
    Betty, respite resident at Avon Cliff

    12 August 2018
  • I am pleased to report that my stay at Avon Cliff has been one of pleasure, care, help to get well and with memories of excellent people
    Jessamine, respite resident at Avon Cliff

    10 August 2018
  • Avon Cliff was recommended by a receptionist at the hospital. The manager came to meet and at the hospital the next morning and was charming and very sympathetic to my dad's needs. The care home has been caring and friendly and the nurses are excellent. The food is good and is kept clean, bright and tidy
    James, son of resident at Avon Cliff

    10 August 2018
  • My stay at Avon Cliff was a great experience, everyone were most friendly and helpful - it was like being with a family. The ambience was most pleasant with beautiful surroundings which I enjoyed during the 'heat wave'. I would certainly recommend Avon Cliff - food and cleanliness were first class!
    Pamela, respite resident at Avon Cliff

    20 July 2018
  • A most grateful thanks for my stay at Avon Cliff - short but very sweet!
    Pam, respite resident at Avon Cliff

    16 July 2018
  • You all work so hard, cheerfully and always ready to help when we need you, all of which make Avon Cliff a very happy place to be
    Elaine, resident at Avon Cliff

    03 July 2018
  • Every day I was greeted with smiles from all staff nothing seemed too much trouble, even friends who were visiting my husband said how friendly and helpful everyone was, puts you at ease
    Jill, wife of resident at Avon Cliff

    26 June 2018
  • I cannot speak highly enough of the care received by my sister and myself during my
    sister's time in the home. Everybody was so caring and friendly. Added to this, the
    staff always had time and there was a quiet sense of efficiency.
    Raymond, brother of resident at Avon Cliff

    23 May 2018
  • Mum frequently said how well she was looked after and how pleasant and kind the staff were. My siblings and I were completely satisfied that mum was treated with great care and respect that she deserved
    Daughter of resident at Avon Cliff

    23 May 2018
  • The staff were very good and pleasant
    Colette, friend of resident at Avon Cliff

    14 May 2018
  • Nothing ever appears to be a nuisance or problem
    Desiree, friend of resident at Avon Cliff

    11 May 2018
  • The care and consideration shown to my husband and I from the first contact was beyond reproach, nothing was too difficult for the staff
    Maureen, resident of Avon Cliff

    23 April 2018
  • First impression was of an attractive, bright reception area and smiling, friendly welcome. Room pristine and attractive and comfortably furnished. Every member of staff caring, gentle and patient. All meals excellent, fresh ingredients and delicious variety of meals not to mention homemade cakes with tea every afternoon!
    Alwyn, respite resident at Avon Cliff

    13 April 2018
  • Avon Cliff provides a bright, peaceful place and room to recover or stay. The staff have been excellent and the food choices cater for most all diets - the Chef is always willing to prepare food if its something special to tempt! The activities for the residents are varied and fun, to keep involved. My stay at Avon Cliff has been worry free
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    03 April 2018
  • Thank you to everyone for all the care, patience and friendliness shown to me. Thank you also for the delicious food!


    Henry, resident at Avon Cliff

    27 March 2018
  • For the wonderful care, patience and friendliness shown to me at Avon Cliff
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    27 March 2018
  • Mum was very happy and always told us how well she was looked after - we cannot thank you enough
    Daughter of resident at Avon Cliff

    20 March 2018
  • Thank you for the care you gave our mother. Mum was very happy and always told us how well she was looked after – we can’t thank you enough!


    Geraldine, daughter of resident at Avon Cliff

    20 March 2018
  • I wish to thank all of the members of staff for making my week of respite care such a pleasant time. It was a most welcome break for me and I felt very well cared for at every level. The caring and friendly atmosphere was superb, as was the food and the flowers in my room. I hope to come for respite care again, and eventually would like to stay permanently when the need arises.


    Daphne, respite resident at Avon Cliff

    28 February 2018
  • Thank you to you all at Avon Cliff – all you have done has been greatly appreciated.


    Family of resident at Avon Cliff

    30 January 2018
  • I am writing to thank you for everything you did for my aunt. You all looked after her incredibly well.


    Sheila, niece of resident at Avon Cliff

    29 January 2018
  • We would like to express our warmest thanks for all your dedicated hard work. You are all amazing! We know that our mum was a tricky customer at times, but you were so caring and professional; we were never allowed to feel anything was a problem. Thank you so much for making her time with you peaceful and calm – it made our lives much easier and I cannot express how grateful we are. 


    Rosie, daughter of resident at Avon Cliff

    24 December 2017
  • It’s hard to find the words to thank you for all you’ve done for Mum and Dad. From the very first day I visited to inquire about possible respite for them, I was greeted so warmly by everyone I met and felt immediately it was the right place.

    After a very short time, Mum made the comment: “Everyone here has care running right through them, from head to toe.” Dad followed with: “I’ve stayed in many hotels, but this one is by far the best – and you can leave your door open!”

    Everyone is always so kind and caring; nothing ever seems too much to ask or cause the slightest problem. What an amazing group of people all under one roof!

    All I can say is a huge, sincere thank you to all of you for making my precious parents the happy people they’ve become.


    Relative of respite resident at Avon Cliff

    20 December 2017
  • I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed the nursey children visiting – they were wonderful. After refreshments came the great moment – the paint arrived, and lots of ‘patterns’ were created. But this was not the end – they then found the glitter! No modern artist could compete I’m sure! Thank you for inviting me – it was a day to remember.


    Elaine, resident at Avon Cliff

    10 November 2017
  • May I thank you all for looking after me during my respite stay. Nothing has been too much trouble and I appreciate all you have done for me. Returning to Avon Cliff will be a pleasure, as I know I will be with so many friends.


    Miriam, respite resident at Avon Cliff

    21 September 2017
  • Avon Cliff has such a happy, friendly and caring atmosphere. I am so grateful to you all for the kindness shown to me during my short respite stay.


    Respite resident at Avon Cliff

    25 August 2017
  • We would like to convey our appreciation to you all for helping us to celebrate our relative’s birthday.

    She loved the flowers and, despite not wishing to be the centre of attention, enjoyed blowing the candles out on the magnificent cake. The lunch was delicious and throughout the day all the staff were so attentive and made her feel special.


    Family of resident at Avon Cliff

    08 June 2017
  • Thank you for lunch and the lovely day I had with some of my friends at Avon Cliff. I look forward to the next event!


    Nan, visitor to Avon Cliff

    20 April 2017
  • Thank you to all the wonderful staff at Avon Cliff for looking after Mum for the last five years. You have all been very kind.

    I know she was very happy with the care and attention she received from everyone, and you became her second family. 


    Pauline, daughter of resident at Avon Cliff

    15 March 2017
  • Thanks for looking after me and making my stay with you as pleasant as it could be.

    I became quite fond of you and I will always remember you all.


    Monica, respite resident at Avon Cliff

    11 February 2017
  • Grateful thanks to everyone at Avon Cliff who helped to care for my brother.

    You made a difference to him, and to all his friends and family.


    Jill, sister of resident at Avon Cliff

    09 February 2017
  • We are so thankful to you all at Avon Cliff for taking such good care of our uncle. 


    Deidre, niece of resident at Avon Cliff

    09 February 2017
  • I enjoyed my seven-week stay at Avon Cliff. The ambience and interior décor were impressive, as was the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff.

    I would happily recommend this nursing home.


    Muriel, respite resident at Avon Cliff

    23 January 2017
  • Thank you for everything that you did for Mum. We are very grateful.


    Keith, son-in-law of resident at Avon Cliff

    09 November 2016
  • Thank you for inviting myself and the Mayoress to open your new café. It is a quiet area for all to use and appreciate, and we are sure it will be well used.

    Finally, thank you also for the wonderful afternoon tea that you put on for us. 


    Councillor Edward J Coope, visitor to Avon Cliff

    08 November 2016
  • It was a lovely surprise to receive a wonderful bouquet of flowers from everyone at Avon Cliff – thank you very much for this beautiful present and your kind thoughts. 


    Ian, respite resident at Avon Cliff

    17 July 2016