Reviews and Testimonials

9.9

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 13 reviews

Review submitted by M W (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 9 June 2022. Review relates to May 2022.

Avon Cliff is an amazing home. Mum has thrived since she went in October 2021. All staff have been so genuine and professional and nothing is too much trouble. The entertainment team are such a bonus - giving Mum the friendships and social aspect she loves.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by C R (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 28 April 2022. Review relates to April 2022.

My elderly mother has been a resident at Avon Cliff for more than 4-months now and she is genuinely happy to be there. Both my sister and I are happy with the home too. The staff are experienced and caring and take time to tell us how she is doing. The nurses have been particularly proactive in contacting the doctors to sort out her medical issues and accompanying her to medical appointments. Despite some initial difficulties in visiting because of the pandemic, we have been warmly welcomed and it has been possible to visit whenever we want. She has a beautiful sunny room with plenty of storage space, and access to a delightful area of the garden in addition to the resident's lounge, where the activities take place on a daily basis.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by B L (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 29 March 2022. Review relates to March 2022.

When my hospital team refused to discharge me for safety, due to falls, my daughter went to view several homes and recommended Avon Cliff. I booked for respite care. I was impressed with the home, the staff made me feel so very welcome. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The care teams were great. To sum up, I could not find any reason but to book my stay and I'm still here.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Claire C (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 30 December 2021. Review relates to November 2021.

I feel so very fortunate that my mother was able to spend the last 4 weeks of her life at Avon Cliff. The care she received for her end of life was exceptional. She told me time and time again that "there is nothing they cannot do for me". I met so many members of staff over those weeks and they were all exceptional. Special praise to the wonderful, professional, caring, and highly experienced nursing team, especially over the last few days of her life. Not only did they care for her but they provided huge care and support for us as a family (we are not local so we relied on speaking to them a lot on the phone). She was shown utmost respect at all times which I know mattered to her a lot. The team made a sad and challenging time as easy as it possibly could be. Thank you so much.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Don't Know
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Michelle C (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 16 December 2021. Review relates to July 2021.

Avon Cliff was recommended to me when I was looking for a new care home for my mother in July 21. Avon Cliff feels like a "home" with very friendly staff, and the whole atmosphere is kind and caring. As soon as you enter the home, the receptionist is very helpful and offers a warm welcome. The housekeeping team are wonderful, and every part of the home is kept very, very clean. They label all clothing so that personal belongings do not go missing. The carers provide great care on an individual basis with dignity and respect. The nursing team with the senior nurse are also very approachable. They believe in working together with you for the best outcome for your loved one, which I have not come across before, which has resulted in Mum thriving. Also, supporting me when I need emotional support. The activities team are wonderful. Always something going on and lots of laughter and fun at all times. A full week of activities all varied to fit everyone's needs. The relatives are also welcome to join in! Finally, however importantly, the manager is very kind and empathetic, also very organised. She has an open-door policy, and I have found her to be supportive, calm and very understanding when I have become upset due to my mother's complex mental health needs. 10/10.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Ruth H (Resident / Service User) on Friday 15 October 2021. Review relates to October 2021.

I love being with you all if things were different I would stay. I love you all.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Ross S (Nephew of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 28 September 2021. Review relates to August 2021.

Thank you for the support, care, and love from the whole team at Avon Cliff towards my aunt. Not only did they look after her with such compassion and understanding, but they also looked out for her husband, me, and my wife. Thank you for creating such a phenomenal team, they are to be thanked and congratulated.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Don't Know
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by K M (Respite Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 29 June 2021. Review relates to June 2021.

Avon Cliff is a comfortable and happy place with a pleasant, friendly and lovely atmosphere. This is due in no small part to the kind, caring and obliging staff who work hard for the wellbeing of those in their care. I make special mention of the excellent and varied menus and prompt and efficient service. All in all, I was more than satisfied with my recent stay at Avon Cliff.

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Experience: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Bella K (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 23 June 2021. Review relates to June 2021.

As I have never been in a care home before I feel that Avon Cliff stimulate and rescue my life today.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Lois B (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 23 June 2021. Review relates to June 2021.

I am very happy in Avon Cliff having spent the last 8 years here. The staff and companionship, as my friends and my children, live in the US.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Gladys B (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 23 June 2021. Review relates to June 2021.

I am happy here, because the staff are so wonderful. It feels like home.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by H M (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 8 December 2020. Review relates to September 2020.

A short stay at Avon Cliff in 2016 following an operation and a month in hospital demonstrated the high-quality care and comfort provided here. In 2020 I had an unusual opportunity to return here for 6 weeks to try and deal with a longstanding constipation problem. As I excepted, the customer adviser settled me in a comfortable room with no problems. The clinical head also reassured me about my health problem. The care staff were always attentive to my needs, and the nursing staff took care of my complicated medication and monitored my progress.

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Frances G (Resident / Service User) on Saturday 28 November 2020. Review relates to November 2020.

I have been very well looked after and can am only moving to be nearer to family. I have found the staff caring and helpful.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Avon Cliff
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • My elderly mother has been a resident at Avon Cliff for more than 4 months now and she is genuinely happy to be there.  Both my sister and I are happy with the home too.  The staff are experienced and caring and take time to tell us how she is doing.  The nurses have been particularly proactive in contacting the doctors to sort out her medical appointments.  We have been warmly welcomed.  She has a beautiful sunny room with plenty of storage space and access to a delightful area of the garden in addition to the residents lounge,  where the activities take place on a a daily basis. 
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff 

    03 May 2022
  • My daughter went to view several homes and recommended Avon Cliff.  I booked for respite care.  I was impressed with the home and the staff made me feel so very welcome.  The rooms were clean and comfortable.  The care teams were great.  To sum up, I could not find any reason but to book my stay and I'm still here. 
    Respite Resident at Avon Cliff 

    06 April 2022
  • It was with great consideration that I selected Avon Cliff to take over the care that I have previously provided for my mum.  In the end mum needed a high level of care which you provided in abundance, for which she was truly grateful and appreciative.  In the last few days the whole team showed her and I such consideration that it cannot be expressed in a few words.  She passed away with dignity and comfort for which I will be forever grateful.  My decision to encourage mum to come to you was based on my initial meetings and I hope this letter reflects how right I was in my assessment of how she was going to be looked after.  My sincere thanks to everybody.  You are all indeed champions of champions.
    Son of Resident at Avon Cliff 

    20 March 2022
  • I feel so very fortunate that my mother was able to spend the last 4 weeks of her life at Avon Cliff.  The care she received for her end of life was exceptional. She told me time and time again that there is nothing they cannot do for me.  I met so many members of staff over those weeks and they were all exceptional.  Special praise to the wonderful, professional, caring and highly experienced nursing team.  Not only did they care for her but they provided huge care and support for us as a family.  She was shown utmost respect at all times which I know mattered to her a lot.  The team made a sad and challenging time as easy as it possibly could be.  Thank you so much.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    19 January 2022
  • A belated huge thank you to the wonderful team at Avon Cliff who cared for my mother during the last month of her life.  I feel so very fortunate that she was in your care.  Your team cared for her in an exceptional way.  They also cared for us as a family and provided support that I was not expecting. 
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    01 January 2022
  • Thank you so much for all that you have done to make our mum's stay with you so wonderful.  Your kindness dedication, warmth of affection and care is wonderful and we are so very grateful for all that you have done for her.  Mum's so much better now and more herself.  You are all stars.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    26 November 2021
  • We would like to say thank you so much for all the wonderful care and company you have given our mum over the past 4 years.  You have always made us feel welcome and we appreciate that.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    26 October 2021
  • Thank you for the support, care and love from the whole team at Avon Cliff towards my aunt. Not only did they look after her with such compassion and understanding but they also looked out for her husband, me and my wife.  Thank you for creating such a phenomenal team, they are to be thanked and congratulated.
    Nephew of Resident at Avon Cliff

    28 September 2021
  • To all the staff at Avon Cliff, thank you for your kindness and loving care you gave Peter. He very much appreciated everything you all have done for him.
    Family of Resident at Avon Cliff 

    03 September 2021
  • I write to thank you and all your wonderful staff at Avon Cliff for the love, care and attention shown to my aunt. Without exception every single person I came into contact with at Avon Cliff were so kind, helpful, understanding and professional. Thank you all so much.
    Nephew of Resident at Avon Cliff

    24 August 2021
  • I was met with staff who were very friendly.  I was allowed a choice of rooms. The room was very well presented, airy and light.  The meals were excellent with plenty of choices.  The nursing staff are most efficient, very caring and responsive to my needs.
    Respite Resident at Avon Cliff

    10 August 2021
  • Avon Cliff is a comfortable and happy place with a pleasant, friendly and lovely atmosphere.  This is due in no small part to the kind, caring and obliging staff who work hard for the wellbeing of those in their care.  I make special mention of the excellent and varied menus and prompt and efficient service. All in all, I was more than satisfied with my recent stay at Avon Cliff.
    Respite Resident at Avon Cliff

    14 July 2021
  • Ligia and her colleagues were marvellously kind and I cannot thank you enough for taking care of my mother in her final days.  May I thank all of the staff, carers and nurses, cleaners and chefs who looked after my mother during her time with you.  The care was outstanding and the warmth and kindness shown to me and my mother was brilliant.  I cannot speak too highly.  You are all amazing.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    19 April 2021
  • Thank you and all your team for looking after Mum so well.  She was very happy at Avon Cliff and whilst able to, took part in the daily activities.  It gave me peace of mind knowing she was being so well cared for.  Whenever I spoke to her on facetime she always looked well cared for and comfortable.  Many thanks for everything.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    22 February 2021
  • Thanking you all for the wonderful care and attention that was given to Jean during her stay at Avon Cliff.  It was always a pleasure to visit the home and we were always made very welcome.  Thank you again, we look forward to visiting again when life gets back to normal. 
    Family of Resident at Avon Cliffe

    17 February 2021
  • I wanted to write to say a massive "thank you" for the considerable efforts put into mum's 100th birthday.  So many staff went to great lengths to make it such a special day for her and to try to make up for the fact that she could not share it with family and friends.  The upstairs lounge was decorated beautifully with balloons and banners, her cake was delightful and she enjoyed all the songs and staff visitors wishing her "happy birthday".  We were fortunate to share some of the day with her via Skype.  This meant we all watched on as she opened her incredible number of cards and gifts.  I am also grateful for the transfer of cards etc. to her room for her to continue enjoying them.  Above all, I would like to acknowledge he involvement of Sharon in all this.  Without her orchestrating the whole event it would not have been so joyous or personal.  Thank you so much Sharon.  This has meant the world to her and me.  Having not held her hand for a year now, the separation is so painful but made all the more bearable by the kindness shown to her by your staff.  Please forward this message to your staff with my heartfelt gratitude.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    14 February 2021
  • Many thanks for the care and kindness shown to our mother during her time with you.  We know that she was happy during this period and that her condition until recent weeks showed a great improvement on how it was before she entered your home.  In particular we pass on our thanks for the care and comfort which you provided over the last few weeks as her condition deteriorated.  With grateful thanks.
    Family of Resident at Avon Cliff

    03 February 2021
  • I feel comforted that when the end of mother's life arrived, she was in a loving and safe environment. I have always thought of Avon Cliff as a very pleasant and suitable environment for my mother. Despite her own reservations about a permanent move, I think she found that the staff have always been friendly, helpful, courteous, engaging and dedicated to doing their best for the residents in their care.  I know that my mother felt the affection to her freely by the staff at Avon Cliff.  I send you my heartfelt gratitude for the care that you've all provided, under increasingly challenging circumstances.
    Son of Resident at Avon Cliff

    01 February 2021
  • I would like to thank you for looking after my mum during the years that she has been in your care.  I know that this last year has been particularly difficult owing to the Covid-19 virus and especially since Christmas but thought you have all been wonderful. I particularly remember my mother's 100th birthday, which was a great day plus the many occasions I visited and enjoyed a coffee whilst mum had her pre lunch sherry!
    Son of Resident at Avon Cliff

    01 February 2021
  • A short stay at Avon Cliff in 2016 following an operation and a month in hospital demonstrated the high-quality care and comfort provided here.  In 2020 I had an unusual opportunity to return here for 6 weeks.  The Customer Advisor settled me in a comfortable room with no problems.  The Clinical Lead also reassured me about my health problem.  The care staff were always attentive to my needs and the nursing staff took care of my complicated medication and monitored my progress. 
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    18 December 2020
  • I have been very well looked after and am only moving to be nearer to family.  I have found the staff caring and helpful.
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    10 December 2020
  • Thank you so much for the care that you gave to Mum (Sheila) over the past three years. We know that she appreciated your kindness and patience, particularly in the past few months.
    Family of Resident at Avon Cliff

    21 July 2020
  • Just to say the biggest "Thank You" to the team there at Avon Cliff. I hope they already know how much their consistently upbeat support of Betty has been appreciated over the last three and half years. Also, just how much their friendly responses on every single visit (1,000+) have meant to me personally.
    Nephew of Resident at Avon Cliff

    10 July 2020
  • All of you have done a wonderful job looking after Peter and I am very grateful to you all. It is all of you who have kept our loved ones safe, every single one of you. Thanks again for everything.
    Partner of Resident at Avon Cliff

    07 July 2020
  • I have just returned from seeing my mum in Avon Cliff for the first time since lock down. I would like to thank the whole team for keeping her and all the residents safe these past few months. I was a bit worried beforehand as she has dementia and I was concerned she would have forgotten me. I needn't have worried as she was bright and happy and recognised me straight away. Can you pass on my thanks to all the team at Avon Cliff for all their hard work.

    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    15 June 2020
  • Thank you for everything you are doing for everyone at Avon Cliff
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    29 May 2020
  • I’ve just watched the video from you. I loved the dance moves. If strictly need any more dancers I’m sure you can supply them. Thank you for all the wonderful work you are doing.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    29 May 2020
  • I am very satisfied with the care and attention I receive from all the staff. They are all so friendly and supportive. I am happy here.
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    29 May 2020
  • We just wanted to thank every member of staff at Avon Cliff for their hard work in what is a very difficult time. We are particularly grateful to receive the emails from yourself and Mark Aitchison giving us updates and details of all the planning and measure being taken. Our gratitude and thanks to the whole Avon Cliff family.
    Family of Resident at Avon Cliff

    27 May 2020
  • To all the staff at Avon Cliff, thank you so much for making my mothers birthday extra special for her. All of the family were obviously most upset about not being able to spend her birthday with her. However, when I spoke to her on the phone, she told me what a lovely day she had with all her Avon Cliff family! The folks at Colten Care are the best! Mum told me all about the garden parties you have been having with music and dancing. It is much appreciated.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    27 May 2020
  • A small token for you all to share, just to say thank you to each and every one of you for all that you are doing during this crisis. Your dedication is wonderful and very much appreciated and admired.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    27 May 2020
  • I wanted to thank each one at Avon Cliff who under difficult circumstances are doing their best to take care of us, it is much apricated.
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    28 April 2020
  • Thank you for all your support to me over the years, you are always caring and welcoming I cannot speak highly enough of you all.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    26 March 2020
  • Thank you all for looking after me during the last 2 months, you have built me back up again! I miss you all very much.
    Ex-Resident Of Avon Cliff 

    26 March 2020
  • We had excellent care and treated with complete respect, the staff were outstanding and their patience was unbelievable
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    02 January 2020
  • Thank you to everyone for the wonderful afternoon tea on the occasion of my 90th Birthday! It was enjoyed by all
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    24 December 2019
  • My father stayed at Avon Cliff for some respite care, my family and I can't thank the whole team enough for their care, kindness, support and patience at what was a difficult time for our dad and for us. Avon Cliff will always have a special place in our hearts for all that they did for him and for us
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    17 December 2019
  • Thank you for your care, kindness and support - we are very grateful for your patience, understanding and thoughtfulness in our time of need
    Relative of Resident at Avon Cliff

    28 November 2019
  • Friendly, conscientious, kind, caring and considerate. Food is always well presented and there is plenty of choice. Nothing is too much trouble at Avon Cliff!
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    21 November 2019
  • After several visits each week continuously since 2017, I have no hesitation in confirming that the standard of care and excellence then observed by myself has, if anything, even improved. Avon Cliff remains, in all aspects of caring and service, an exemplary example of a residential and nursing home. There is dignity and respectful, friendly support for all residents, from every single member of a cheerful, enthusiastic and extremely considerate team
    Nephew of Resident at Avon Cliff

    12 November 2019
  • I would like to say a huge thank you to you all for your great kindness and generosity on our spectacular appeal
    ACI

    22 October 2019
  • Staff always helpful and there with a smile
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    12 September 2019
  • Our deepest appreciation for all your extreme kindness, dedication, support and help 
    Family of Resident at Avon Cliff

    09 September 2019
  • You are all a fantastic team and nothing ever seems too much for you as everyone could not be more helpful and kind
    Respite Resident at Avon Cliff

    06 September 2019
  • I am extremely impressed with how the care home is managed, the staff are friendly and helpful and put the residents first
    Visitor to Avon Cliff

    19 August 2019
  • The care home is well run, efficient, caring and the team really care about the residents. Nothing here is too much trouble, the attitude is caring and a "can-do" policy, the food is excellent and the minute you walk into the front door you feel at home
    Son of Resident at Avon Cliff

    13 August 2019
  • The staff made our Mum so happy - I will forever be eternally grateful to Avon Cliff for making Mum so relaxed and happy
    Son of Resident at Avon Cliff

    12 August 2019
  • My friend was welcomed straight away and has been very well cared for, all staff are so friendly and helpful and it is a pleasure to visit. We are kept informed of her care and the manager is happy to talk through any concerns. As her friends, we are being supported too, which is so important
    Friend of Resident at Avon Cliff

    09 August 2019
  • From the minute you walk into reception you feel at home, Mum has been here over a year and feels its the Team caring - a brilliant caring care home
    Son of Resident at Avon Cliff

    08 August 2019
  • Thank you for the care and support you gave my Father, it was greatly appreciated by myself and our family
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    10 July 2019