Reviews and Testimonials

9.8

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 14 reviews

Review submitted by Irene W (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 13 May 2020. Review relates to May 2020.

I am very satisfied with the care and attention I receive from all the staff. They are all so friendly and supportive. I am very happy here.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Barry B (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Saturday 29 February 2020. Review relates to February 2020.

I am now in my fourth consecutive year of visiting Avon Cliff several times each week. The aunt of my partner is nearly 100 years old. She is well cared for in every respect of her daily and medical needs, and with dignity and respect. Every member of the carer and nursing team is very professional, friendly and welcoming on each occasion, always working with a quiet sense of efficiency. Any enquiries, even if trivial, are given full consideration and taken seriously by the management, who operate an 'open door' policy. Any issues are acted upon as swiftly as possible. Daytime activities are varied and inclusive. Friends and family members are encouraged to visit and attend 'open' events. The gardens are very pleasant in warmer weather. Indoors, the cafe is always a great place to meet and chat with residents, relatives, friends and team members. As a former fully trained chef, I confirm the food and beverages to be of a very high standard. Every visit to Avon Cliff is a real pleasure.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Hilary O (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 7 January 2020. Review relates to November 2019.

My parents were very fortunate to stay at Avon Cliff for 9 weeks to recover from a spell of illness. Throughout their stay, the level of care they received was excellent. My parents were treated with total respect and their dignity was maintained at all times. The care team were wonderful, so attentive, cheerful, polite and welcoming. My parents also enjoyed the impressive range of outings that were organised by the home. Thank you to the care team who took my mother to a keep fit class.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sylvia P (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 19 December 2019. Review relates to November 2019.

We had excellent care and treated with complete respect. Staff were outstanding, their patience was unbelievable.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S W (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 13 December 2019. Review relates to November 2019.

My father stayed at Avon Cliff for some respite care following a few serious medical issues. My family and I can't thank the whole team enough for their care, kindness, support and patience at what was a difficult time for our dad and for us. He enjoyed his brief stay but often asks to visit to see everyone again and to help him to remember the lovely times he shared with both the staff and residents. Avon Cliff will always have a special place in our hearts for all that they did for him and for us. Thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S H (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 19 November 2019. Review relates to November 2019.

Friendly, conscientious, kind, caring and considerate. Nothing is too much trouble at Avon Cliff. Food is always well presented and there is plenty of choice. Would definitely recommend.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Roger I (Nephew of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 12 November 2019. Review relates to November 2019.

My initial review here for Avon Cliff, dated 25 April 2017, found excellence with the care of my aunt. Every word remains true. After several visits each week continuously since April 2017, I have no hesitation now in confirming that the standard of care and excellence then observed by myself has, if anything, even improved. Avon Cliff remains, in all aspects of caring and service, an exemplary example of a residential and nursing home. There is dignity and respectful, friendly support for all residents, from every single member of a cheerful, enthusiastic and extremely considerate team. A warm and welcoming atmosphere, with varied and interesting activities, yet peace may always be found. The cuisine is freshly prepared and both varied and delicious. Every single member of the Avon Cliff team acts professionally at all times, especially notable if health and dietary issues become of concern. What each Avon Cliff team member gets, is a living. What each one gives, is life itself.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M D (Sister of Resident/Service User) on Friday 4 October 2019. Review relates to October 2019.

It's a perfect facility for someone in need of medical care and mobility assistance. I felt my sister's needs were well attended. The staff are genuine and caring all the way around. My sister needed socialisation and this was perfect even when she needed some nudging. I found the nurses to be very competent and on top of things. The gardens provided some nice downtime. Being a health professional I really appreciate Avon Cliff, good management and health care team.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Andrew G (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 13 August 2019. Review relates to August 2019.

My mother has been a resident for over a year. The care home is well run efficient, caring and the team really care about the residents. Nothing here is too much trouble, the attitude is caring and a "can-do" policy. Food is excellent. The minute you walk into the front door you feel at home. In my experience it's brilliant.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sandra T (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Friday 9 August 2019. Review relates to August 2019.

My friend was welcomed straight away and has been very well cared for. As her health deteriorates, her needs are definitely being met. All staff are so friendly and helpful and it is a pleasure to visit. We are kept informed of her care and the manager is happy to talk through any concerns. As her friends, we are being supported too, which is so important.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Don't Know
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Rachael W (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 29 May 2019. Review relates to May 2019.

My mother has been a resident of Avon Cliff for nearly three years. She receives kind and compassionate care from all the staff. Her needs and wishes are at the centre of everything. We are welcomed whenever we visit and supported by the staff. Hospitality is excellent. The cafe is open to have drinks and homemade cakes at any time of day. The restaurant serves delicious food. The home manager and nurses have an "open door" policy and encourage residents and family to chat about anything they wish to raise. A wonderful, happy home, well led with amazing dedicated staff. Impossible to better!

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by G C (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 7 March 2019. Review relates to February 2019.

Food and accommodation was satisfactory. All staff were very helpful and answer all questions promptly and accurately. The activities were well conducted.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by A K (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 9 October 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

Modern care facility, well maintained and welcoming. Staff are friendly, experienced and conscientious. Decor is contemporary. Services provided includes quality care and medical needs support. Daytime activities are varied and inclusive. Friends and family actively encouraged to visit and attend "open" events. I am so pleased that my family found this residential facility. I feel comfortable knowing my relative is being well cared for here.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Cliff? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Satisfactory
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Good
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Avon Cliff
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • Thank you so much for the care that you gave to Mum (Sheila) over the past three years. We know that she appreciated your kindness and patience, particularly in the past few months.
    Family of Resident at Avon Cliff

    21 July 2020
  • Just to say the biggest "Thank You" to the team there at Avon Cliff. I hope they already know how much their consistently upbeat support of Betty has been appreciated over the last three and half years. Also, just how much their friendly responses on every single visit (1,000+) have meant to me personally.
    Nephew of Resident at Avon Cliff

    10 July 2020
  • All of you have done a wonderful job looking after Peter and I am very grateful to you all. It is all of you who have kept our loved ones safe, every single one of you. Thanks again for everything.
    Partner of Resident at Avon Cliff

    07 July 2020
  • I have just returned from seeing my mum in Avon Cliff for the first time since lock down. I would like to thank the whole team for keeping her and all the residents safe these past few months. I was a bit worried beforehand as she has dementia and I was concerned she would have forgotten me. I needn't have worried as she was bright and happy and recognised me straight away. Can you pass on my thanks to all the team at Avon Cliff for all their hard work.

    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    15 June 2020
  • Thank you for everything you are doing for everyone at Avon Cliff
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    29 May 2020
  • I’ve just watched the video from you. I loved the dance moves. If strictly need any more dancers I’m sure you can supply them. Thank you for all the wonderful work you are doing.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    29 May 2020
  • I am very satisfied with the care and attention I receive from all the staff. They are all so friendly and supportive. I am happy here.
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    29 May 2020
  • We just wanted to thank every member of staff at Avon Cliff for their hard work in what is a very difficult time. We are particularly grateful to receive the emails from yourself and Mark Aitchison giving us updates and details of all the planning and measure being taken. Our gratitude and thanks to the whole Avon Cliff family.
    Family of Resident at Avon Cliff

    27 May 2020
  • To all the staff at Avon Cliff, thank you so much for making my mothers birthday extra special for her. All of the family were obviously most upset about not being able to spend her birthday with her. However, when I spoke to her on the phone, she told me what a lovely day she had with all her Avon Cliff family! The folks at Colten Care are the best! Mum told me all about the garden parties you have been having with music and dancing. It is much appreciated.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    27 May 2020
  • A small token for you all to share, just to say thank you to each and every one of you for all that you are doing during this crisis. Your dedication is wonderful and very much appreciated and admired.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    27 May 2020
  • I wanted to thank each one at Avon Cliff who under difficult circumstances are doing their best to take care of us, it is much apricated.
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    28 April 2020
  • Thank you for all your support to me over the years, you are always caring and welcoming I cannot speak highly enough of you all.
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    26 March 2020
  • Thank you all for looking after me during the last 2 months, you have built me back up again! I miss you all very much.
    Ex-Resident Of Avon Cliff 

    26 March 2020
  • We had excellent care and treated with complete respect, the staff were outstanding and their patience was unbelievable
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    02 January 2020
  • Thank you to everyone for the wonderful afternoon tea on the occasion of my 90th Birthday! It was enjoyed by all
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    24 December 2019
  • My father stayed at Avon Cliff for some respite care, my family and I can't thank the whole team enough for their care, kindness, support and patience at what was a difficult time for our dad and for us. Avon Cliff will always have a special place in our hearts for all that they did for him and for us
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    17 December 2019
  • Thank you for your care, kindness and support - we are very grateful for your patience, understanding and thoughtfulness in our time of need
    Relative of Resident at Avon Cliff

    28 November 2019
  • Friendly, conscientious, kind, caring and considerate. Food is always well presented and there is plenty of choice. Nothing is too much trouble at Avon Cliff!
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    21 November 2019
  • After several visits each week continuously since 2017, I have no hesitation in confirming that the standard of care and excellence then observed by myself has, if anything, even improved. Avon Cliff remains, in all aspects of caring and service, an exemplary example of a residential and nursing home. There is dignity and respectful, friendly support for all residents, from every single member of a cheerful, enthusiastic and extremely considerate team
    Nephew of Resident at Avon Cliff

    12 November 2019
  • I would like to say a huge thank you to you all for your great kindness and generosity on our spectacular appeal
    ACI

    22 October 2019
  • Staff always helpful and there with a smile
    Resident at Avon Cliff

    12 September 2019
  • Our deepest appreciation for all your extreme kindness, dedication, support and help 
    Family of Resident at Avon Cliff

    09 September 2019
  • You are all a fantastic team and nothing ever seems too much for you as everyone could not be more helpful and kind
    Respite Resident at Avon Cliff

    06 September 2019
  • I am extremely impressed with how the care home is managed, the staff are friendly and helpful and put the residents first
    Visitor to Avon Cliff

    19 August 2019
  • The care home is well run, efficient, caring and the team really care about the residents. Nothing here is too much trouble, the attitude is caring and a "can-do" policy, the food is excellent and the minute you walk into the front door you feel at home
    Son of Resident at Avon Cliff

    13 August 2019
  • The staff made our Mum so happy - I will forever be eternally grateful to Avon Cliff for making Mum so relaxed and happy
    Son of Resident at Avon Cliff

    12 August 2019
  • My friend was welcomed straight away and has been very well cared for, all staff are so friendly and helpful and it is a pleasure to visit. We are kept informed of her care and the manager is happy to talk through any concerns. As her friends, we are being supported too, which is so important
    Friend of Resident at Avon Cliff

    09 August 2019
  • From the minute you walk into reception you feel at home, Mum has been here over a year and feels its the Team caring - a brilliant caring care home
    Son of Resident at Avon Cliff

    08 August 2019
  • Thank you for the care and support you gave my Father, it was greatly appreciated by myself and our family
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Cliff

    10 July 2019
  • The family and I would like each one of you to know how much we valued your kindness and care to our relative during her time at Avon Cliff - you always tried to make every day special
    Family of Resident at Avon Cliff

    25 June 2019
  • Thank you for the extra special care our Dad received at Avon Cliff
    Son of Resident at Avon Cliff

    18 June 2019
  • My mother receives kind and compassionate care from all the staff, her needs and wishes are at the centre of everything. We are welcomed whenever we visit and supported by the staff. The home manager and nurses have an "open door" policy and encourage residents and family to chat about anything they wish to raise
    Rachael, daughter of resident at Avon Cliff

    29 May 2019
  • How do we begin to put into words the care and excellence we have experienced at Avon Cliff, we have been given personal support and the team have constantly sought to put my Mother's needs at the centre of all decisions. Nothing has been too much trouble, your value of 'cherishing you' is carried out by all staff, with difficult care needs met with kindness, patience and a genuine desire to achieve the very best possible
    Rachael, daughter of resident at Avon Cliff

    24 May 2019
  • Very helpful, friendly staff and very efficient
    Visitor at Avon Cliff

    14 May 2019
  • The Team at Avon Cliff look after our relative so well
    Andrew, relative of resident at Avon Cliff

    14 May 2019
  • I would like to express my particular appreciation of the nurses and carers who are daily at the forefront of care and maintain their good humour and kindness under demanding circumstances 
    Relative of resident at Avon Cliff

    11 April 2019
  • In Avon Cliff it is hard to imagine a kinder, warmer more caring environment. Often, we under estimate the importance of making the final few years matter, as though somehow the race is run.  It is not.  They matter and the team at Avon Cliff knew it.
    Ann, relative of resident at Avon Cliff

    09 April 2019
  • I cannot thank everyone enough for the excellent care that my relative has been receiving, the staff are wonderful and friendly
    Relative of resident at Avon Cliff

    15 March 2019
  • I thank you for the good care which my relative received whilst with you, and making me feel so welcome
    Mervyn, relative of resident at Avon Cliff

    08 March 2019
  • The food and accommodation was satisfactory and all the staff were very helpful and answer all questions promptly and accurately
    Friend of resident at Avon Cliff

    07 March 2019
  • Thank you to the carers who assist my sister, not only with her basic care needs, but also the maintenance of her appearance, there is a notable difference for me sister in her morale - this extra touch is much appreciated 
    Ann, sister of resident at Avon Cliff

    15 February 2019
  • Thank you so much for making my week of respite care so very enjoyable! It was very heart warming to be welcomed back by so many of you who remembered my previous stay with you
    Daphne, respite resident at Avon Cliff

    04 December 2018
  • Thank you very much indeed for the kindness and care all of you have shown to my relative during his stay with you, you have made him well again for which I am very grateful
    Elle, relative of resident at Avon Cliff

    09 November 2018
  • Many thanks for the kindness and support, Mum was happy at Avon Cliff and I am grateful to you all for looking after her
    Janet, daughter of resident at Avon Cliff

    14 October 2018
  • Modern care facility, well maintained, welcoming with the staff friendly, experienced and conscientious. Friends and family are actively encouraged to visit and attend "open" events, I am so pleased that my family found this residential facility as I feel comfortable knowing my relative is being well cared for
    Son of resident at Avon Cliff

    09 October 2018
  • A very caring and welcoming atmosphere
    David, resident at Avon Cliff

    20 September 2018
  • Thank you for the love and care so freely extended to our relative, and it is typical of the skill and professionalism of the nursing and caring staff at Avon Cliff that kept our relative so comfortable, we are quite certain that no care home in Bournemouth could have looked after our relative to a higher standard
    John, relative to resident at Avon Cliff

    17 September 2018
  • The premises, activities on offer and the standard of food are exemplary. However, what makes Avon Cliff special are the people, absolutely everyone was wonderfully kind as well as professional. The care my ailing mother received was top notch and I would not hesitate to recommend Avon Cliff for respite, assisted care or nursing care
    Lorraine, daughter of resident at Avon Cliff

    14 September 2018
  • Thank-you so much for finding space for my Dad at Avon Cliff, I really don’t know what I would have done without you. I know that he appreciated the attention he received from so many of your staff. He was also very pleased with the food! He has certainly been able to rest and recuperate and he is in much shape now than when he arrived. It is instantly obvious to any visitor that the entire Avon Cliff team works incredibly hard and you have some truly wonderful people in your line-up!
    James, son of resident at Avon Cliff

    28 August 2018
  • Thank you all for the wonderful care you have given Mum, you have made her feel at home and have been her family
    Jennifer, daughter of resident at Avon Cliff

    17 August 2018