Reviews and Testimonials

9.8

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 52 reviews

Review submitted by Noeleen B (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 1 October 2019. Review relates to September 2019.

In the recent past, my husband has used a different care home and so I will write from the experience of his being there and the comparison of which I am aware of. Avon Reach offers everything I would wish for my husband's care. The staff all kind, empathetic and willing to do whatever is asked of them with good heart. Importantly there is consistency of staff so we get to know the carers. The response to an alarming episode when my husband collapsed was immediate and professional. I was greatly reassured. Avon Reach provides delicious food. There is choice and variety. There is an impressive range of activities. None of this could happen without the particular people-centred management style. Well done Avon Reach.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by E I (Respite Resident/Service User) on Thursday 8 August 2019. Review relates to July 2019.

A very pleasant experience.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by I C (Son of Resident/Service User) on Friday 19 July 2019. Review relates to July 2019.

My parents came to Avon Reach for 4 weeks respite care. They found the level of care to be of the highest standard and said the staff to be extremely kind and helpful. In their own words "they could not have done more for you". The food was excellent. Avon Reach went the extra mile. Thanks to all the staff. You were brilliant and Dad looked so well at the end of the 4 weeks.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Margverita S (Respite Resident/Service User) on Friday 31 May 2019. Review relates to May 2019.

I have had 2 stays in the home when my daughter was on holiday and found everything very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the food and variety of menu. My room was very comfortable and a variety of activities always. I live near and visit one or two times a week and am always welcomed and I have made many friends.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Doris W (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 28 May 2019. Review relates to May 2019.

I have been satisfied with my treatment and the care I have received since living here. This applies to all aspects of life.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Russell K (Son of Resident/Service User) on Friday 8 March 2019. Review relates to December 2018.

Mum went into Avon Reach in January 2010 after having her second stroke. She was bedridden, peg fed and unable to speak or communicate in any traditional ways. She died in January 2019 having been in the same room and bed for 9 years other than her tremendous will to live the outstanding care and commitment to mum was excellent. The staff never neglected her and would inform the family of any instances that affected her and this gave the family great peace of mind.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by A D (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 27 November 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

Dad was a resident for 4+ years. Everything was always excellent but in his final week the love, care and support for him, and also me, was outstanding.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M S (Son of Resident/Service User) on Friday 16 November 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

On arrival, we were made to feel very welcome. Mum enjoyed the varied activities that were provided daily including trips out. Mum liked that her family could visit freely and join her for lunch or supper by prior arrangement. Any little issues were very quickly dealt with and resolved by the care staff. Overall a very successful respite visit for 2 weeks. Happy to book Mum in again in future.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Sarah P (Respite Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 7 November 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

I stayed at Avon Rech for 4 weeks (24/7/18 - 21/8/18) for respite care after serious rheumatoid arthritis flare-up made it impossible for me to stay at home. I had a lovely room and en-suite wet room, bed with adjustments. I ate well and was looked after, so was in better condition when I went home. Staff were nice. The only problem really is that I couldn't get a mobile signal.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Anthony B (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 6 November 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

As being from out of the country, finding a place for my mother would be a daunting experience. As soon as I met the staff of Avon Reach I knew this was her home. The home was warm, with a beautiful view of the garden and lots of sun. The respect, dignity and care they gave my mum was wonderful. The staff is special, actually, I would use the word "angels"!

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Michael R (Son of Resident/Service User) on Friday 26 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

Have always regarded Avon Reach as a superb care home. The staff are brilliant, caring and totally understanding. You are met with a smile and feel totally at home. The facilities are excellent and everything is always spotlessly clean. This is a great care home with the highest standards.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M C (Respite Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 17 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

Fantastic level of care from all the staff. No pressure put on me. After a prolonged stay in hospital, the respite was a great healer before heading home.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Joan G (Respite Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 1 August 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

I had a marvellous 2 week stay at Avon Reach, made many new friends. My room had all the amenities you could require. All the staff are more than excellent. They look after everyone with the highest esteem. The food is excellent. Several choices at each mealtime for all diets. Activities are varied, taking places each day, if you wish to partake. Everything is kept so clean. Room, bathroom, bedding and towels and building. Its very good value for the excellent service you receive from everyone at Avon Reach.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Susan B (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 1 August 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

Everyone was very cheerful, helpful and caring. The residents are looked after very well. The entertainments staff work very hard to keep the residents entertained and taking part. The meals were excellent despite the kitchen being renovated.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Royston O (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 19 July 2018. Review relates to May 2018.

Sympathetic care, friendliness coupled with total professionalism in all aspects.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J D (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 26 June 2018. Review relates to June 2018.

Having followed the development of Colten Care and similar organisations for many years, I am sure there is not a better home in this category and in this area. The food is very good, the staff kind and efficient. For instance, they go out of their way to help you with the smallest problem and I admire their patience when they have to deal with irrational residents.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by M J (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 12 June 2018. Review relates to May 2018.

I have been here over a year. I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. The care and staff are very good and friendly.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Staff: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Don't Know
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Susan G (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 9 May 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

Visiting Avon Reach for the first time, we knew mother would be happy to live there. The staff were very welcoming and the tour of the ground floor and bedrooms showed a lovely environment. This is the third year mother has been at Avon Reach and she continues to thrive and most importantly, be happy and content.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by John R (Son of Resident/Service User) on Sunday 11 March 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

I can not recommend Avon Reach highly enough. My father spent his last few years there in total comfort with amazing care. All the staff and the 24/7 nursing care was of the highest standard.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Justin R (Son of Resident/Service User) on Saturday 10 March 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

My father spent the last two years of a long and happy life at Avon Reach and he loved living there. They are an absolutely fabulous team of professional, caring and lovely people. They were attentive and supportive of my father and all his family throughout his time there and when the sad day came they were fantastic; making a sad occasion pass with dignity and love. I will be eternally grateful to all of the staff at Avon Reach for looking after my father with such care and being so helpful to us as a family.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by R O (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 1 March 2018. Review relates to February 2018.

I was made very welcome and very well looked after.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P H (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 21 February 2018. Review relates to January 2018.

While my father was living at Avon Reach, initially for respite and then gradually progressing into nursing care, he was treated with utmost courtesy and kindness, always considering his opinions first. He became iller after Christmas and we were kept informed of any changes immediately. We would definitely recommend this home from home.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Avon Reach
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • A very pleasant experience
    Respite Resident at Avon Reach

    08 August 2019
  • My parents came to Avon Reach for 4 weeks respite care, they found the level of care to be of the highest standard and said the staff to be extremely kind and helpful. In their own words "they could not have done more for you"
    Son of Respite Residents at Avon Reach

    19 July 2019
  • The staff were very friendly and helpful and I enjoyed the food and variety of menu. My room was very comfortable and a variety of activities always
    Margverita, respite resident at Avon Reach

    31 May 2019
  • To all at Avon Reach who treated me with such loving kindness,I am so glad that I chose to stay with you
    Brenda, respite resident at Avon Reach

    27 March 2019
  • The outstanding care and commitment to mum was excellent
    Russell, son of resident at Avon Reach

    08 March 2019
  • You all made the last remaining years of Mum's life as good as it could be, a very big thank you to you all
    Jacqui, daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    18 January 2019
  • Thank you for all the love and care that you show Mum 
    Valerie, daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    15 December 2018
  • Thank you to everyone for giving mum a new lease of life - and for the care given to both my mum and dad during their new life at Avon Reach
    Liz, daughter of residents at Avon Reach

    07 December 2018
  • Thank you so much for all the care and attention you have given my Grandad, the care and love you give to the residents shows everyday - you put a smile on everyone's faces
    Caroline, granddaughter of resident at Avon Reach

    27 November 2018
  • Everything was always excellent but in his final week the love, care and support for him, and also me, was outstanding
    Daughter of Resident at Avon Reach

    27 November 2018
  • On arrival, we were made to feel very welcome. Mum enjoyed the varied activities that were provided daily including trips out and liked that her family could visit freely and join her for lunch or supper. Any little issues were very quickly dealt with and resolved by the care staff. Overall a very successful respite visit and happy to book Mum in again in future
    Son of Resident at Avon Reach

    16 November 2018
  • I stayed at Avon Reach for respite care, I had a lovely room, I ate well and was looked after, so was in better condition when I went home
    Sarah, respite resident at Avon Reach

    07 November 2018
  • As being from out of the country, finding a place for my mother would be a daunting experience, as soon as I met the staff of Avon Reach I knew this was her home - the home was warm, with a beautiful view of the garden and lots of sun. The respect, dignity and care they gave my mum was wonderful. The staff is special, actually, I would use the word "angels"!
    Anthony, son of resident at Avon Reach

    06 November 2018
  • Thank you for the care you gave to my Aunt, you were all amazing and thank you to all the trained staff for your support and continual updates
    Pam, niece of resident at Avon Reach

    05 November 2018
  • Thank you to everyone who cared for my friend through her final journey, you have all been so kind and thoughtful
    Jan, friend of resident at Avon Reach

    26 October 2018
  • Thank you for looking after Mum and Dad, we came to think of you all as part of a big family 
    Frances, daughter of residents at Avon Reach

    26 October 2018
  • Thank you for your wonderful care and compassion, it meant a lot to us that our Aunt's time at Avon Reach was comfortable and enjoyable 
    Sophie, niece of resident at Avon Reach

    26 October 2018
  • Have always regarded Avon Reach as a superb care home, the staff are brilliant, caring and totally understanding and you are met with a smile and feel totally at home. The facilities are excellent and everything is always spotlessly clean, this is a great care home with the highest standards
    Michael, son of resident at Avon Reach

    26 October 2018
  • Your kindness, care and compassion has been outstanding 
    Alison, daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    23 October 2018
  • Fantastic level of care from all the staff with no pressure put on me. After a prolonged stay in hospital, the respite was a great healer before heading home
    Respite resident at Avon Reach

    17 October 2018
  • We appreciated the care that our relative was given and the friendliness and welcome given to us on all occasions, we couldn't have found better facilities and surroundings in which to receive care
    Alison, relative of resident at Avon Reach

    25 August 2018
  • I had a marvellous stay at Avon Reach, made many new friends. My room had all the amenities you could require and all the staff are more than excellent - they look after everyone with the highest esteem. The food is excellent, the activities are varied and everything is kept so clean.
    Susan, respite resident at Avon Reach

    01 August 2018
  • Everyone was very cheerful, helpful, caring and the residents are looked after very well. The entertainments staff work very hard to keep the residents entertained and taking part
    Susan, resident at Avon Reach

    01 August 2018
  • Sympathetic care, friendliness coupled with total professionalism in all aspects
    Royston, husband of resident at Avon Reach

    19 July 2018
  • Thank you for my 5 star treatment - everyone was so kind, polite and helpful - all recruited from a charm school. I feel sure that nothing was too much trouble!
    Sylvia, resident at Avon Reach

    29 June 2018
  • I am sure there is not a better home in this category and in this area. The food is very good, the staff kind and efficient. For instance, they go out of their way to help you with the smallest problem and I admire their patience
    Resident of Avon Reach

    26 June 2018
  • have been here over a year and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else - the care and staff are very good and friendly
    Resident at Avon Reach

    12 June 2018
  • Visiting Avon Reach for the first time, we knew mother would be happy to live there. The staff were very welcoming and the tour of the ground floor and bedrooms showed a lovely environment. This is the third year mother has been at Avon Reach and she continues to thrive and most importantly, be happy and content
    Susan, daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    09 May 2018
  • A most significant aspect of Avon Reach is the total commitment of everyone there, including the unsung support teams, what is more, I was most impressed by the attitude and energy of the younger members
    Trevor, son of resident at Avon Reach

    18 April 2018
  • On behalf of the family, I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at Avon Reach for the fantastic care they have given our Mother
    Sue, daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    16 April 2018
  • I want to thank every one of you for the wonderful care you gave Dad - you really are all angels in disguise!
    Annette,daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    13 April 2018
  • Thank you all so much for the amazing way you all coped during the snow. Medicines and treatment as usual. Meals on time, tea at usual times, rooms cleaned. Cheerful faces. It was only when looking out of the window that the view was not usual!
    Freddie, resident at Avon Reach

    06 April 2018
  • The family would like to thank you all for the loving care and devotion, there is such a homely atmosphere at Avon Reach and we felt that not one of you treated it as 'just a job'.
    Relative of resident at Avon Reach

    27 March 2018
  • Thank you all for making our dad’s time with you so comfortable and pleasant. It is very much appreciated.


    Nigel, son of resident at Avon Reach

    23 March 2018
  • It was most kind of you to invite me to the Mayor’s Charity Dinner last night – my first experience of such an event. I very much appreciated the delicious food and drink, the excellent company and interesting chats, and the generally happy atmosphere. It was most enjoyable and a real treat for me. 


    Jean, resident at Avon Reach

    12 March 2018
  • Thank you all for the lovely flowers you sent me on my return home. 


    Dennis, respite resident at Avon Reach

    24 February 2018
  • Thank you for looking after my relative and giving me a well-earned rest.


    Beryl, relative of resident at Avon Reach

    15 February 2018
  • I wish to thank every one of you for all the help and kindness during my short stay. I am deeply grateful.


    Brenda, respite resident at Avon Reach

    01 February 2018
  • I am writing to thank everyone for such a lovely lunch yesterday for my friend’s 85th birthday. It really was first class.


    Madeleine, friend of resident at Avon Reach

    29 January 2018
  • A really big thank you to you all for the way you looked after my mum. She couldn’t have asked for better care than that she received during her stay with you and all your efforts are greatly appreciated by her family. Thank you all also for the support you gave me.


    Yvonne, daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    04 January 2018
  • We would like to thank you all for the care and respect you showed our relative. Although he was only at Avon Reach for a short time, you all made a big difference to his life and we cannot thank you enough.


    Jean, relative of resident at Avon Reach

    29 December 2017
  • The whole family is most grateful to all the staff for the wonderfully understanding and professional care my sister received at Avon Reach. She took a little time to settle in, hoping to be able to return to her own home, but when I organised a trial period for her to return to her house with a carer, she changed her mind - she said she would be happier to remain at Avon Reach where she had made many friends, there was always so much going on, and where she was being looked after so well.


    Peter, brother of resident at Avon Reach

    30 October 2017
  • I just wanted to say how lovely it was to be able to have lunch with our relative in your private dining room when we visited. What a lovely idea and it made spending precious time with our relative feel extra special. The food was delicious, the staff were attentive and it was much appreciated after our journey.

    Thank you to all concerned.


    Jo, relative of resident at Avon Reach

    16 October 2017
  • I wanted to put in writing my appreciation of the staff who were on duty when a very upsetting incident happened directly outside Avon Reach care home. I arrived early evening to visit my mother and was unaware that such a difficult event had taken place. The staff were calm and supportive to residents and visitors, and continued to pop in with everyday conversations, tea, and care.

    My mother has an anxiety condition, but because her questions were met with such reassuring responses, she was fine. Without exception, staff from all teams (nursing, caring, housekeeping, catering, and of course, reception) are extraordinary on an everyday basis, but to provide such service with the knowledge they had was remarkable. Colten Care are very lucky indeed to have such high-quality employees. 


    Mrs Cothay, daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    15 October 2017
  • Thank you to the staff and residents at Avon Reach for the beautiful bouquet – what a lovely surprise! We will miss you all.


    Brenda, visitor to Avon Reach

    12 September 2017
  • (Poems by one of our residents about some new friendships she has made)

    There is a lady called Peggy

    There is a lady called Peggy,
    So happy and glad to be here.
    Her previous home was not happy,
    But now she has nothing to fear!

    “I’m permanent, I’m permanent”,
    Her lovely Welsh accent so very clear.
    “I’m permanent, I’m permanent,
    and so glad to be here!”

    She says she has learned to laugh again,
    It was a long-lost treasure.
    The discovery that you wish to laugh,
    Can be a lifetime’s pleasure.

    We find we both have decisions to make,
    About our previous homes.
    But we both are very happy here,
    And have no further wish to moan.

    Peggy is determined,
    Her piano to bring.
    So we hope that before long,
    Out its mellow tones will ring.

    So welcome, welcome Peggy,
    I’m so happy that we’ve met.
    And I know that we…
    In time…
    May be…
    Even friendlier yet!

    Another side to a friendship

    Oh thank you Barbara for calling,
    To chat the other day.
    I am so glad you and Peggy,
    Have now found a special way
    To be friends together,
    After Peggy’s comparatively short stay.

    Peggy asked me,
    If I knew Barbara too,
    I had to say that I did not,
    But this week…
    Oh I do!
    We had a long conversation,
    When she came to call,
    And I feel so privileged,
    That she bothered with me at all.

    Two very determined Welsh ladies,
    Have found each other here.
    And I do so hope the friendship,
    Will last for many a year!

    We can wave across the car park,
    If we feel inclined so to do,
    For we are often within sight of each other,
    And that is a pleasure too!

    I hope we can get together,
    Every now and then.
    And have a good laugh together,
    And can call each other ‘friends”.


    Margaret, resident at Avon Reach

    21 August 2017
  • Thank you so much for the lovely bunch of pink and white flowers. They hardly needed any arranging and are giving me much pleasure in the corner of my lounge in a prominent position.

    I am very grateful for all that was done for me during my stay at Avon Reach.


    Jean, respite resident at Avon Reach

    09 August 2017
  • Thank you very much for the care and love you showed our loved one. The family are very grateful that she was looked after so well by you all.


    Reg, friend of resident at Avon Reach

    17 July 2017
  • We just wanted to say a huge thank you to all of you for looking after our family member. You all made her years with you happy ones, and for that we can’t thank you enough. All of you were so caring towards her and she was fond of you all.


    Dave, relative of resident at Avon Reach

    17 July 2017
  • We wanted to say a big thank you to you all for looking after Mum so well on her birthday. The cake was beautiful (and delicious!), the gift was very thoughtful, but best of all was everyone’s care and concern for Mum on her special day.


    Kath, daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    14 July 2017