Reviews and Testimonials

carehome.co.uk - Review score - 10 out of 10

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 13 reviews

Review submitted by Jill H (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 22 June 2020. Review relates to May 2020.

I have been amazed at how well all the staff have looked after the residents during such a difficult time during the COVID-19 pandemic. It has been a worrying time for both residents and staff but the staff has always gone the extra mile - reassuring the residents about the virus and their concerns about their families, arranging extra activities and adapting to the new clinical advice. Enquiries after residents are always answered positively and cheerfully, whether it be via the nurse or reception taking mobile phones to a resident. The management have taken every care to keep residents’ families up to date with the government and the company’s response to the pandemic which has been both honest and reassuring. Amongst all this my mother’s 101st Birthday was celebrated with balloons, a special cake and a Skype call to us. Although we couldn’t visit due to government restrictions then, we all felt we had shared her special day. A big thank you to every member of staff at Belmore.

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Don't Know
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M G (Partner of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 6 May 2020. Review relates to March 2020.

We knew three people who'd been here and who all recommended it, so when care was needed we went to visit and liked it immediately. It is clean and well cared for and had no smell of urine. The staff are extremely kind and caring not just to my partner but me as well. His room was bright and cheerful with lovely patio doors and his own bathroom. I was able to visit whenever I wanted, so stayed with him for many hours and was always served tea/coffee with him. There is a lovely lounge on the top floor where family members in larger groups were happy to join us. He was very comfortable and content and I would highly recommend it here to everyone.

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Teresa N (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 28 April 2020. Review relates to March 2020.

We have had family members in Belmore Lodge for several years and we have always found the staff and management friendly, helpful and efficient. There are normally many and varied activities to keep all residents occupied and happy and this has been maintained during the current coronavirus pandemic. Rooms are kept extremely clean and tidy and the food is always good.

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Mark U (Son of Resident/Service User) on Monday 27 April 2020. Review relates to April 2020.

At the time of writing this review, I have been unable to enter the home for just over five weeks on account of the Coronavirus lockdown. Accordingly, I speak to my mother on the phone every day, and despite the fact that we have very little news to discuss, her spirits remain high, and she is always full of praise for the staff who look after her. Fortunately, it has been possible to drop items off for her during this period, and this is done at the entrance porch where a member of staff will pick them up once I have retreated to a safe distance, and I understand that those items are then cleaned before being taken up to her room. The only negatives that I can ever comment on are the occasional lack of parking spaces. Otherwise, the daily activities seem to continue without too much disruption, and she clearly enjoys those which she attends. She rarely complains about anything at the home, so if you are considering a care home for a loved one, do pay a visit to Belmore Lodge. It’s a lovely home with really helpful and super friendly staff, and it always has a wonderful atmosphere.

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by John N (Son of Resident/Service User) on Monday 20 April 2020. Review relates to March 2020.

My mother has been in Belmore Lodge for over three years, and I have always been impressed with the care she has received. The staff and management give a professional service and are always cheerful and helpful. The home has a variety of activities which the residents can join in. The room is always clean and tidy, and the food is good.

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S I (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 11 February 2020. Review relates to January 2020.

My brother and I viewed this care home for our Mother. We were extremely impressed with all the staff and rooms and knew this would be the one that she would be happy in for some respite.

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J G (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 5 July 2019. Review relates to March 2019.

My mother was diagnosed with cancer and was admitted to Belmore Lodge for palliative care. My father was also admitted so that he could be with my mother during her final days. Belmore Lodge were wonderful, extremely caring and very professional. My mother died on March 23rd whilst in care and we could not have wished for a nicer, more loving and caring environment for her final days.

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by R F (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 31 January 2019. Review relates to January 2019.

Belmore Lodge really is the most marvellous home and I would have no hesitation in recommending to others. Very friendly and attentive staff, extremely comfortable, lots of activities, a good selection of food and extremely well run.

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Clive B (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 22 January 2019. Review relates to December 2018.

The Belmore Lodge has been very welcoming with all members of staff giving a happy smile and saying hello when I visit. They have been very receptive to any concerns that we have and dealt with them in the appropriate, professional manner. We are always kept informed of the current wellbeing of our mother. The medical nursing team have dealt with any health issues in a positive manner.

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Pauline A (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 19 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

My mother moved into Belmore Lodge just over 2 months and has settled very quickly. I have been very impressed with the level of care and kindness she has been shown by staff of all levels. The home manager shows strong leadership, with the result that any issues are dealt with quickly and positively. I can thoroughly recommend the excellence of this care home.

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Barbara P (Respite Resident/Service User) on Monday 1 October 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

I have just had a wonderful stay at Belmore Lodge. It is so friendly and welcoming. It has been a long time since I have eaten so well. My skirts are now too tight. I have been involved in a wide variety of activities and trips. I never knew a care home could be so much fun.

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Lee R (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 5 September 2018. Review relates to May 2018.

Thank you, I can’t praise the staff enough at Belmore Lodge, My father moved here from a very poor Nursing Home where he was not looked after, moving him here was the best move we ever made “it was like moving him into the Chewton Glen” he was so well looked after and received the treatment and care he needed. At the time of his end of life, we were kept well informed on what was going on. We are a large family and many times we were all here sometimes all night. The staff not only looked after Dad but looked after us too with a constant supply of tea, coffee, sandwiches snacks etc. They even gave us a room to go and relax in and sleep in if we required it. Belmore Lodge completely exceeded our expectations and highly recommend to anyone looking for a HOME!! and a place where you will be cared for. 5 stars?? ????????

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Adrienne M (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Monday 13 August 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

I have been very satisfied with the care given to my husband on his short stay with you.

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Ed H (Power of Attorney of Resident/Service User) on Friday 13 July 2018. Review relates to June 2018.

I visited Belmore Lodge only once before asking Colten Care to accommodate the lady I act for. I have been extremely pleased with the professional, relaxed way ALL the staff carry out their duties. It starts at reception when all queries are dealt with a smile. Cleaners, carers, caterers, nurses are all brilliant, with the VERY helpful manager co-ordinating things. Entertainment including trips out is all included! Better than a 5-star hotel!

How likely would you be to recommend Belmore Lodge? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Belmore Lodge
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • To Mark Aitchison CEO of Colten Care Ltd. Thank you for everything you are doing to keep the residents safe during the coronavirus crisis.
    Niece of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    02 June 2020
  • To all the staff at Belmore Lodge, thank you for all you do in looking after my Mum and everyone there.
    Daughter of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    01 June 2020
  • Thank you for making Mums 101st birthday such a lovely day for her, balloons, flowers, cake, cards and even skype. She was amazed that we could see and talk to each other and someone had even given her a shampoo, so she looked her best. We hear from the news bulletin how hard all the staff are working and under such difficult circumstance. We do think of you while we are in lockdown. That is easy to do – you are the stars.
    Family of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    01 June 2020
  • Just a quick note to pass on our sincere thanks to all the nursing and care team who looked after Mum, during her stay, particularly during the last few weeks when she was confused. A carer who’s name I have forgotten was regaling me with conversations she had with Mum about the war, ironic bearing in mind where we are at the moment. Thank you for your support.
    Daughter of Ex resident at Belmore Lodge

     


    26 May 2020
  • To all the staff at Belmore. Thank you for looking after Mum at this difficult time. I hope you are all well.
    Daughter of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    26 May 2020
  • We knew three people who’d been here and who all recommended it, so when care was needed, we went to visit and liked it immediately. The staff are extremely kind and caring not just to my partner but me as well. His room is bright and cheerful with lovely patio door and his own bathroom. I was able to visit whenever I wanted and stayed with him for many hours and always served with tea/coffee with him.
    Partner of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    26 May 2020
  • Due to lockdown I speak to my mother on the phone every day, and despite the fact that we have very little news to discuss, her spirits remain high, and she is always full of praise for the staff who look after her. She rarely complains about anything at the home, so if you are considering a care home for a loved one, do pay a visit to Belmore Lodge. It’s a lovely home with helpful and super friendly staff, and it always has a wonderful atmosphere.
    Daughter of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    26 May 2020
  • We have had family members in Belmore Lodge for several years and we have always found the staff and management friendly, helpful and efficient. There are normally many and varied activities to keep all the residents occupied and happy, this has been maintained during the current coronavirus pandemic. Rooms are kept extremely clean and tidy, the food is always good.
    Daughter of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    26 May 2020
  • My mother has been in Belmore Lodge for over three years, and I have always been impressed with the care she has received. The staff and management give a profession service and are always cheerful and helpful, The home has a variety of activities which the residents join in.
    Daughter of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    26 May 2020
  • From the moment I visited Belmore Lodge and was shown around I knew that Dad would like it. I cannot that you enough for his excellent care. Everyone I met and talked with was so pleasant and helpful. My family were always made to feel welcomed, even our lively grandchildren.
    Daughter of ex residents at Belmore Lodge

    28 April 2020
  • A big thank you to all the staff who worked at Belmore Lodge on Christmas Day and making Christmas lunch so special. The dining room looked lovely with tables festively decorated and the turkey dinner was delicious, and all the staff were attentive. A memorable occasion enjoying Christmas with father and our family. Also thank you to the chef and his team for making a wonderful Birthday cake for father who celebrated his 90th Birthday on Christmas Eve.
    Son and family of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    11 March 2020
  • Thank you and all the staff at Belmore Lodge for looking after my Mother with such kindness and care
    Son of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    20 November 2019
  • Thank you to all who took such great care of my Aunt for so many years, I know she was very happy and comfortable
    Nephew of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    19 September 2019
  • Thank you all for the wonderful care given to our relative, thanks to you all she has regarded Belmore Lodge as her 'home'
    Family of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    01 August 2019
  • I would like to thank all the staff at Belmore Lodge for the care and kindness given to our relative
    Family of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    17 July 2019
  • Belmore Lodge were wonderful, extremely caring and very professional, we could not have wished for a nicer, more loving and caring environment for my Mother in her final days
    Daughter of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    05 July 2019
  • Thank you all so much for making the last few months of life for my Mother so comfortable and supportive
    Family of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    25 June 2019
  • Thank you for all your kindness and care it was very much appreciated
    Friend of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    12 June 2019
  • The good humour, patience and immense kindness that was shown to our Father in your care and every contact is enormously appreciated. We wanted, above anything else, for him to be somewhere where people would look after him and be kind and that is what we found at Belmore Lodge.
    Sarah, daughter of resident at Belmore Lodge

    23 April 2019
  • Thank you so much for caring for our lovely Mum, she was very happy at Belmore Lodge  and it was comforting to know how well she was looked after 
    Janet, daughter of resident at Belmore Lodge

    05 March 2019
  • Belmore Lodge really is the most marvellous home and I would have no hesitation in recommending to others. Very friendly and attentive staff, extremely comfortable, lots of activities, a good selection of food and extremely well run
    Daughter of resident at Belmore Lodge

    31 January 2019
  • The Belmore Lodge has been very welcoming with all members of staff giving a happy smile and saying hello when I visit, they have been very receptive to any concerns that we have and dealt with them in the appropriate, professional manner

    Clive, son of resident at Belmore Lodge

    22 January 2019
  • For the real care, concern and kindness you have consistently shown to me throughout my time at Belmore Lodge
    Pamela, respite resident at Belmore Lodge

    14 January 2019
  • The warmth and individuality have so greatly contributed to my Mother's recovery, and this combined with the high standard of care has had a significant impact on my Mother's overall well being. I would also like to thank for the friendly welcome I have been given whenever I have visited. This has been just one outstanding aspect out of the many things which combine to make Belmore Lodge such a special place
    Daughter of respite resident at Belmore Lodge

    14 January 2019
  • Thank you and all the lovely, polite, hardworking staff for a wonderful Christmas Day lunch, you all made us feel very welcome and it was great to spend this special day with my Father
    Penny, daughter of resident at Belmore Lodge

    01 January 2019
  • I would just like to thank you and all of your staff for the lovely care that you gave not only to Mum but to me as well, she was very happy and felt very secure and safe with you all
    Alison, daughter of resident at Belmore Lodge

    21 December 2018
  • Thank you all for the love and care you gave our relative during her stay
    Relative of resident at Belmore Lodge

    10 December 2018
  • We were very impressed with Belmore Lodge and always received a warm welcome, please pass on our thanks to the staff who were always polite, helpful and cheerful
    Clare, daughter of resident at Belmore Lodge

    04 December 2018
  • We would like to express our sincere gratitude for all that you have done for our Mum, she could not have been in kinder or more professional hands. The cheerfulness and personal contact meant a lot to Mum 
    Peter, son of resident at Belmore Lodge

    05 November 2018
  • A big thank you for our relatives 90th Birthday, every effort was made to accommodate us all 
    Thelma, relative of resident at Belmore Lodge

    30 October 2018
  • I have been very impressed with the level of care and kindness my Mother has been shown by staff of all levels, the home manager shows strong leadership, with the result that any issues are dealt with quickly and positively. I can thoroughly recommend the excellence of this care home
    Pauline, daughter of resident at Belmore Lodge

    19 October 2018
  • Thank you all for your loving care, it was greatly appreciated and comforting to know
    Rosalie, relative of resident at Belmore Lodge

    02 October 2018
  • Thank you for all the love and support you have shown my family and I
    Friends of Belmore Lodge

    01 October 2018
  • I have just had a wonderful stay at Belmore Lodge, it is so friendly and welcoming - it has been a long time since I have eaten so well. I have been involved in a wide variety of activities and trips, I never knew a care home could be so much fun!
    Barbara, respite resident at Belmore Lodge

    01 October 2018
  • To all the staff at Belmore Lodge, thank you for making my birthday so lovely, the card you gave me, gift, cake and singing of happy birthday - I will never forget 
    Mary, resident at Belmore Lodge

    27 September 2018
  • Deepest thanks to the team at Belmore Lodge for taking Mum into your family and caring for her, I am grateful knowing she was safe, warm and cared for 
    Pam, daughter of resident at Belmore Lodge

    15 September 2018
  • Thank you for all the love and support you have shown my family and I 
    Kelly, friend of Belmore Lodge

    03 September 2018
  • You were all so kind and helpful to us
    Hilary, relative of resident at Belmore Lodge

    01 September 2018
  • Thank you for all the care given to our relative, I know he was happy with you and everything was just right and in particular I thought the staff were excellent, the small touches were very nice - like the flowers in the room
    Adrienne, relative of resident at Belmore Lodge

    06 August 2018
  • I have been extremely pleased with the professional, relaxed way all the staff carry out their duties. It starts at reception when all queries are dealt with a smile, cleaners, carers, caterers, nurses are all brilliant, with the very helpful Home Manager co-ordinating things. Entertainment including trips out is all included! Better than a 5-star hotel!
    Solicitor of Resident at Belmore Lodge

    13 July 2018
  • Thank you to the carers and nurses who looked after my relative so well, he was happy and comfortable as he could be at Belmore Lodge
    Relative at Belmore Lodge

    25 June 2018
  • I cannot speak highly enough about this nursing home and the staff that work there. For the time my Dad was at Belmore Lodge, the staff were excellent, they maintained his dignity and went that extra mile to ensure Dad was comfortable, safe and well looked after - nothing was too much trouble.
    Kirstie, daughter of resident at Belmore Lodge

    04 June 2018
  • How thankful my husband and I have been for the fantastic service and care from all the lovely staff, the manager and her team were so very helpful to us, especially as we live overseas, we thank them from the bottom of our hearts
    Elaine, daughter-in-law of resident at Belmore Lodge

    10 May 2018
  • My respite care stay is coming to an end and I will definitely miss this place, all the staff have been so friendly and kind, nothing is too much trouble and they are truly
    wonderful people. The whole experience was like staying in a top class hotel with care
    Respite resident at Belmore Lodge

    05 May 2018
  • Thank you for the wonderful send off you organised on our behalf for Mum, who was there commented on what a lovely facility you run and how well you and the team had looked after Mum, I will be eternally grateful for how she turned around in these preceding months and that she was able to live out her end days at Belmore Lodge which was her home
    Paul, son of resident at Belmore Lodge

    01 May 2018
  • I found the staff to be very friendly, approachable, thoughtful and caring, I could not have been made more welcome. Belmore Lodge and its staff made a very good impression on me and on leaving I felt confident in knowing that my relative is now living in a very happy, caring community
    Sheila, relative of resident at Belmore Lodge

    26 April 2018
  • We cannot thank you enough for the way you have cared for Mum, on one could have asked for more, the care and attention and communication with myself made it so much easier for me, knowing she was in the best of hands 
    Daughter of resident at Belmore Lodge

    23 April 2018
  • You have all been an exemplary group of people from beginning to end
    Relative of resident at Belmore Lodge

    17 April 2018
  • The staff are caring, professional, emphatic and compassionate. They are friendly and engaging all of the time, they are kind to each other which means staff morale is high. Our expectations of Belmore Lodge were that our dad is warm, cared for and safe - they have exceeded our expectations.
    Kirstie, daughter of resident at Belmore Lodge

    03 April 2018
  • Thank you most sincerely for the generous donation of £377.05 collected during your year of sponsorship towards St Mark’s Church, by residents and staff holding various fundraising events during that time.

    We do appreciate the fact that you think of us and care for the work that we are trying to do, and your donation will, with your permission, go towards meeting the costs we have in the restoration of the organ.

    Once more thanks for your generosity.


    Maureen, Church Warden at St Mark’s Church

    30 March 2018