Reviews and Testimonials

9.8

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 12 reviews

Review submitted by Daphne J (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 6 January 2021. Review relates to December 2020.

I have just spent 3 weeks including Christmas at Braemar Lodge helping my husband who has had a stroke settle in. From the moment I walked through the door, I felt very welcome. All the staff are so kind, caring, helpful and happy. There is always laughter coming from my husband's room. Our two weeks in isolation were made as easy as possible under the present circumstances. The menu is varied and delicious. There is a beautifully furnished restaurant. Christmas was a wonderful occasion. If the need arose, I would happily book into Braemar Lodge.

How likely would you be to recommend Braemar Lodge ? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M H (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 2 June 2020. Review relates to May 2020.

This is the second time I have been looked after at Braemar Lodge, as it has been a first-class experience. It would be difficult to find anything that could be improved.

How likely would you be to recommend Braemar Lodge ? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by U R (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 6 May 2020. Review relates to May 2020.

Overall my stay here has been a happy and caring experience especially under the present problems of the coronavirus. I cannot speak too highly of all the carers. Just occasionally the service at supper in the restaurant was slow and items shown on the menu were not available. The activities team did their best to keep us all occupied in these difficult times, the classes were nicely varied. The paintbrushes, although plenty, really did need cleaning, some were past their sell-by date and paints needed replacing.

How likely would you be to recommend Braemar Lodge ? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by B D (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 3 March 2020. Review relates to February 2020.

Since my arrival 4 weeks ago, the staff have all gone out of their way to make me feel included and very welcome. I have been unwell and the care and attention to my needs were quickly addressed. Everyone on the team is friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. I am very happy to have made the decision to stay.

How likely would you be to recommend Braemar Lodge ? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Ann P (Respite Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 29 October 2019. Review relates to October 2019.

I have had the most wonderful 11 day respite experience. The carers have been marvellous. The kitchen dining room staff and the food have all been amazing. Everything was wonderful. It is not staff and residents, it is one family. I can't wait to come again.

How likely would you be to recommend Braemar Lodge ? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by A W (Respite Resident/Service User) on Friday 5 July 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

All the staff are kind, welcoming and extremely efficient in a quiet and unassuming manner. I cannot speak too highly of the care I received and leaving feeling refreshed, motivated and optimistic about the future.

How likely would you be to recommend Braemar Lodge ? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sheila W (Resident / Service User) on Friday 26 April 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

Planning ahead, I went to meet the management at Braemar Lodge to see if it would be somewhere to convalesce post a hip operation. From the moment I walked into when I said "goodbye" I was convinced there could be nowhere better to recover. I wasn't wrong and I cannot praise the nursing home enough. I soon found that each and every one of the staff at the home was helpful, friendly, caring and understanding of my needs. I learnt that many of the staff are from the local area and have been employed at Braemar Lodge for many years. Some of them work with their family members and this must produce the family feel to the place. The care home is kept immaculately clean and nothing is too much trouble. The food is delicious and portions are generous. The gardens are a delightful addition and beautifully designed. Most of all there is a real sense of community and dedication throughout the whole house and it honestly feels like a home from home. I wish Braemar Lodge the best of luck as they develop into further accommodation.

How likely would you be to recommend Braemar Lodge ? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by John S (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 23 April 2019. Review relates to March 2019.

This was my third stay at Braemar Lodge. Each of two weeks. I was looked after by the friendly and cheerful staff. The food was excellent and the room comfortable. I am glad it is so near my home and know where I will go when the need is great!

How likely would you be to recommend Braemar Lodge ? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Kevin H (Son of Resident/Service User) on Saturday 20 April 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

My father stayed there for almost a month and he was extremely well cared for. His mood and health improved quickly. All the staff were first class and went out of their way to help my father and the family.

How likely would you be to recommend Braemar Lodge ? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by A H (Son of Resident/Service User) on Friday 12 April 2019. Review relates to March 2019.

My father was treated with great respect and kindness during his stay. Every member of staff was very friendly and showed genuine care for my father. They all worked on their own initiative. I would certainly recommend Braemar Lodge in the future.

How likely would you be to recommend Braemar Lodge ? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Susan B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 20 March 2019. Review relates to January 2019.

Mum's admission was arranged at short notice. There was a genuine interest, concern and welcome when we arrived. The Manager goes the extra mile to support the residents and family carers alike. I, as a concerned carer, particularly appreciated her understanding and empathy as my mother is reluctant to accept the care she needs. A fall necessitated hospital visit and on return, her care was immediately amended giving both of us the reassurance and confidence required - thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend Braemar Lodge ? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Braemar Lodge
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • I just wanted to thank you all sincerely for taking such good care of Dad since March 2020.  It has been such a difficult time for us with restricted visiting.  My brother and I felt comforted that Dad was receiving the best care possible and although his loss is hard to bear we know that we did the best we could for him by arranging for him to have the compassionate and expert care you gave.
    Daughter of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    14 February 2021
  • Thank you so much for looking after my mother.  She enjoyed her time with you. I enjoyed my visits too and it was obvious that Braemar is very well run with wonderful, friendly, joyous staff.  I wish to express my gratitude for your total commitment to the welfare of your residents, at risk to yourselves.  I will have fond memories of Braemar.  With my profound respect to your dedicated team.
    Son of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    13 February 2021
  • Thank you very much for all the love and care mother received while she was with you.  She settled in very happily when she arrived and made many friends.  It was lovely to hear that she had spent more time recently joining in with others.  She couldn't praise your Companionship Team enough. We thank you for making mother comfortable at the end of her life and for allowing me to see her and say my goodbyes. 
    Son of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    12 February 2021
  • I would like to express my thanks to you and all staff at Braemar Lodge who have worked extremely difficult conditions since Covid-19.  I would also like to give an extra thank you to the staff who have worked tirelessly during the outbreak.  I know that amongst the staff and residents there is a family atmosphere.  
    Nephew of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    10 February 2021
  • Sending you a million thanks for your kindness and love caring for our Mum, particularly in her last days.  We were so grateful to be able to spend some time with her and I know you did everything you could to make her comfortable and comforted.  Please look after yourselves. You are doing extraordinary things and are all so special.  
    Daughter of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    09 February 2021
  • I have just spent 3 weeks including Christmas at Braemar Lodge helping my husband settle in.  From the moment I walked through the door, I felt very welcome.  All the staff are so kind, caring helpful and happy.  There is always laughter coming from my husband's room.  Our 2 weeks in isolation were made as easy as possible under the present circumstances.  The menu is varied and delicious.  There is a beautifully furnished restaurant.  Christmas was a wonderful occasion.  If the need arose, I would happily book into Braemar Lodge. 
    Wife of Resident at Braemar Lodge 

    13 January 2021
  • I'd like to thank you and your wonderful team at Braemar Lodge for everything you did for my Mum while she was a resident.  From the day Jackie visited us we knew it was the right time and the right place for her to move to and you never let us down.  Mum had her ups and downs but whenever I was able to visit I always left knowing she was in good hands, being looked after by a professional and loving team.  I'm sure you all know but I'll say it again "that means the world to relatives".  The way you have coped since March has been wonderful to observe. It was hard for us not to see and touch our loved ones but your record speak for itself and I for one know the Colten way was the right way.  Keep up your brilliant work.  With my heartfelt thanks.
    Son of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    11 December 2020
  • I wish to thank each and every one of you for all you did to enable Dora to enjoy the last four years of her life. Your professional care and respectful friendship within such a wonderful community of staff and residents was always much appreciated by her and as she managed to tell me at my final visit and farewell. Thank you also for the thoughtful and caring approach shown to me especially during the last four months.
    Friend of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    21 August 2020
  • I appreciate the assistance you have given during the time Mum was a resident at Braemar. We are so pleased she chose to spend her last years living there. Alison and her team are a great asset to Colten Care.
    Son of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    19 August 2020
  • Just to say thank you so very much for the link-up last Sunday for "The Remember A Life". It was so good to see you again and I really appreciated the lovely service. We will never forget the wonderful care and love mum received at Braemar Lodge, even though it was so short, just 6 weeks. We were also made to feel a part of the "Braemar Family" which meant so much. Please take care all of you.
    Daughter of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    03 August 2020
  • Mum was extremely happy at Braemar Lodge and never regretted her decision to leave her home and move in, and neither did we. The staff at every level are unfailingly caring, kind and friendly, always treating mum with great dignity and respect. She really appreciated the comfort and safety of being looked after. She loved talking to other people, especially to the staff. Indeed, I too felt part of the Braemar Lodge family, getting to know the staff over the years and I will miss them. The surroundings of the home itself are extremely pleasant, well maintained and cared for and the garden is exceptional. Mum was always encouraged to join in activities, of which there is an impressively wide variety, but was never forced to. She was very much treated as an individual, with her own particular likes, dislikes and perhaps even quirks, which were always accommodated. It is not just the high standard of nursing and personal care, the food is very good too and the laundry, cleaning and maintenance services are wonderful. All in all, Braemar Lodge was an excellent place for mum to spend her final years. I was especially grateful for the efforts made to enable me to visit mum during the last month of her life and I realise how fortunate I am that I was able to do so. So thank you to everyone for all that you have done for mum and for us.
    Daughter of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    30 July 2020
  • Just a note to thank you both very much on behalf of my mother, Olive, and the family for being so terrific in helping her with her furniture in her new room recently and supporting her so well in getting it sorted out. She was extremely pleased and grateful and so are we.

    Son of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    26 June 2020
  • Many thanks for looking after auntie and helping to make her 104th birthday a really special occasion. Thank you for helping us set up facetime it was the best thing to actually being with her.
    Niece of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    02 June 2020
  • Thank you for looking after Mum for so long. She had such a good time with you & I couldn’t have been anywhere better!
    Ex Resident at Braemar Lodge

    01 June 2020
  • This comes to thank you all for my birthday present and simply beautiful card. I could not come and see you, but you were all in my thoughts all day. This is a lovely home made up of wonderful people.
    Ex Resident at Braemar Lodge

    01 June 2020
  • My stay here has been a happy and caring experience especially under the present problems of the coronavirus. I cannot speak to highly of all the carers. The activities team did their best to keep us occupied in these difficult times, the classes were nicely varied.
    Ex Resident at Braemar Lodge

    01 June 2020
  • Life plays strange games with you at times, this was my third visit to Braemar for respite. I received my usual warm welcome, due to the virus all the usual visiting entertainers and speakers could no longer enter the building. So! the red shirts put their heads together and we were soon making and painting butterflies for the reception desk and other celebrations. Thank you to the red shirts for coming up with new ideas. The restaurant too, produced first rate food, we were unaware of any shortages. Personally, with all the doom and gloom of the media surrounding us, I feel safe and secure in the little cocoon of Braemar Lodge.
    Respite Resident at Braemar Lodge

    01 June 2020
  • I very much appreciated Colten Cares letters outlining the steps they have taken to prepare for C-19 infection in their homes. This must be a time of unprecedented anxiety for you. I would like you to know that all the residents that I have spoken to are appreciative of all members of staff at Braemar Lodge.
    Daughter of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    27 May 2020
  • I want to thank all those kind people, staff, carers & chef who gave me such a really happy birthday. It was quite unexpected and only goes to show life never turns out as you think it will!
    Residents at Braemar Lodge

    27 May 2020
  • Thank you so very much for your lovely email regarding Mum and a big thank you to all the wonderful staff at Braemar, you and your support is hugely appreciated in these very difficult times. It was kind and considerate of you to write and let me know that Mum was in better spirits and looking forward to a walk and sit down in the garden.
    Daughter of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    27 May 2020
  • Thank you for your letter about Mum, I know she was very happy at Braemar Lodge over the last 5 years. She apricated the care and facilities offered, and it was comforting to know she was in such good hands.
    Son of Ex-Resident at Braemar Lodge

    27 May 2020
  • Thank you so much for all you’ve done for Mum. She has had a wonderful day and thoroughly enjoyed herself. It was quite painful not to be with her but I know she is surround by the wonderful Braemar family.
    Daughter of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    27 May 2020
  • Thank you so much for everything you are doing to look after everyone and keep their spirits up.
    Daughter of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    27 May 2020
  • Dear Friends, residents, and carers. April 14th was a truly wonderful day for me, and I cannot thank you all enough for your cards, gifts and good wishes. Braemar Lodge
    Resident at Braemar Lodge

    27 May 2020
  • Thank you, thank you all for the wonderful birthday celebration you gave my Mother. As you can imagine it was not easy not being able to be a part of Mum’s latest record birthday but as soon as the pandemic started, I rejoiced that Mum was in such a happy, carrying place surround by new friends and the wonderful Braemar family.
    Daughter of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    26 May 2020
  • It was really good to be a participant in the zoom meeting last week. It went well thank you. I’ve enjoyed the newsletters and video footage of the singalong and other photo it is such a helpful way to stay in touch. We are so relieved that Mum is at Braemar during these uncertain times. We know she is well looked after and in lovely surrounding. We are very grateful for that.
    Daughter of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    19 May 2020
  • Thank you very much for everything you are doing to care for and keep safe our parents. Especially now, when we family members are unable to visit. Whenever I have any contact with any of you, I’m blown aware by your incredible spirit and consideration. I hope you’re all keeping well; your hands aren’t cracking up with all the handwashing. Enjoy the sunshine in between shifts.
    Daughter of residents at Braemar Lodge

     


    28 April 2020
  • Dear Alison, I think about you a lot at this really difficult time and wonder how you and your dedicated staff are managing to care for the residents of Braemar Lodge. I am sure you are facing huge challenges. I think running a home like Braemar Lodge is an incredible challenging role and you do a really excellent job. Thank you.
    Daughter of ex resident at Braemar Lodge

    28 April 2020
  • To all the wonderful staff. Thank you for looking after our loved ones. Hope it won’t be long and we can all have tea and cake!
    Family of resident at Braemar Lodge

    28 April 2020
  • We wanted to say how wonderful it was to be able to speak to mum this afternoon on Zoom. You have no idea how much it reassures us to be able to see that she is in such good spirits. She always says she is doing well on the phone but to be able to see her sideways glances and shrugs live is a real boom. You guys are so brilliant with what you do.
    Son of resident at Braemar Lodge 

    28 April 2020
  • I am so grateful that you are all there looking after mum and all the other mums and dads. I called a few days ago, and was informed mum’s ok. I know she is on safe hands. I am sorry we have not been able to skype, but with mum and me being stone deaf, it would be a bit of a farce!!
    Daughter of resident at Braemar Lodge

    28 April 2020
  • This is the third week of shutdown and I assume that all is OK at Braemar Lodge and that all of you are managing to juggle your personal lives with that of caring for all the elderly residents. I have always appreciated the hard and difficult work you all undertake, as it is beyond me now you can all be so patient and maintain such cheerfulness. I could never do what you all do and I am pleased that the country is beginning to show respect, admiration and appreciation for all of those in caring jobs.

    Family of Ex Resident at Braemar lodge


    28 April 2020
  • Thank you so much for the wonderful help you give the Braemar family. I am so relieved that when I phone mum, she is coping well which is due to the care and love you all provide. Take care of yourselves too.
    Daughter of Residents at Braemar Lodge

    28 April 2020
  • Life must be very difficult for you and all the staff at Braemar Lodge who do a splendid and difficult job. I wish you all the best and hope I hope that the coronavirus may make the rest of society give those who work in social care the respect that you have always deserved but have not always received.
    Daughter of Ex resident at Braemar Lodge

    28 April 2020
  • Dear everyone at Braemar Lodge, you all used to look after my twin brother and his friend. I wanted to say that you are all amazing and work so hard. Thank you very much for all you do and all you are still doing in these difficult times.
    Brother of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    28 April 2020
  • I just wanted to let you know I am thinking about you a lot at the moment and really feel for you all. The disruption to normal routines must be difficult. I can imagine how upsetting it must be for many residents not to have their normal regular “face to face” visits from family and friends, and I am sure you are all going above and beyond to make sure they can keep in touch by whatever means possible.
    Daughter of ex resident at Braemar Lodge

    28 April 2020
  • We would like to thank all the staff at Braemar Lodge for the excellent care and nursing that our mother and grandmother have received for the past 3½ years. In addition, you have patience understanding and humour in doing everything possible to facilitate mum’s independence and happiness.
    Daughter of residents at Braemar Lodge

    28 April 2020
  • I just wanted to let you know how much my father enjoyed the ‘secret spitfires’ documentary that was shown recently. He found it fascinating that the spitfire parts had been manufactured in secret in locations in and around Salisbury. Thank you for thinking to show that to the residents.
    Daughter of resident at Braemar Lodge

    28 April 2020
  • A huge thank you to all the residents and staff that have supported Alabare over the past year and welcomed us into your heart and homes.
    Local Charity for the homeless Near Braemar Lodge

    28 April 2020
  • I think you have the most amazing staff – from the tea boy to the carers and management. I very rarely, actually, I never hear mum moan or groan from anybody.
    Daughter of resident at Braemar Lodge

    28 April 2020
  • Thank you for making my birthday a special day with all your good wishes, the lovely cake and present. Thank you so much.
    Resident Of Braemar Lodge

    26 March 2020
  • Thank you for your kind message. It was lovely to see all the staff stop their work to see mum off and brought home how much she had become a part of Braemar Life. The refreshments were lovely.
    Daughter Of Resident At Braemar Lodge

    26 March 2020
  • Since my arrival 4 weeks ago, the staff have all gone out of their way to make me feel included and very welcome. I have been unwell and the care and attention to my needs were quickly addressed. Everyone on the team is friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. I am very happy to have made the decision to stay.
    Resident At Braemar Lodge 

    26 March 2020
  • Thank you to the care you provided mother. As a family we appreciated and were re-assured by the kind and gentle way in which you looked after her.
    Son and family of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    11 March 2020
  • Thank you all so much for making me feel so welcome. You’re a lovely team
    Resident at Braemar Lodge

    11 March 2020
  • Thank you and your wonderful Team at Braemar Lodge - they were amazing. Their kindness and concern for me was beyond the line of duty
    Relative of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    05 January 2020
  • Thank you to you and your staff - seen and unseen for all the kind help and attention with welcoming smiles
    Respite Resident at Braemar Lodge

    20 December 2019
  • Words cannot express how grateful I am to you all for giving Mum the best of times. You have all been so kind, compassionate, gentle and caring
    Daughter of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    18 December 2019
  • Thank you for the care you provided my Mother, we appreciated and were re-assured by the kindness and gentle way in which you looked after her
    Relative of Resident at Braemar Lodge

    05 December 2019
  • Thank you so much for making my birthday such a lovely day. I loved the care which was beautifully made!
    Resident at Braemar Lodge

    29 November 2019