Reviews and Testimonials

10

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 15 reviews

Review submitted by B R (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 10 May 2022. Review relates to May 2022.

Lovely welcome. Room lovely - garden views. Everyone is so friendly.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M R (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 10 May 2022. Review relates to May 2022.

I am looked after well. Clean and welcoming home. Visitors welcomed well. Food good and restful at night.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by F D (Resident / Service User) on Friday 6 May 2022. Review relates to April 2022.

Lovely home. I'm well looked after here. Staff are kind and the new manager is very helpful and has time for us all.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sandra N (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 26 April 2022. Review relates to April 2022.

My mum spent the last 2 years at Canford Chase. It’s the hardest thing choosing a home for a parent but we definitely made the best choice. She really enjoyed her time here joining in with the crafts, baking and singing which was her favourite. The staff are all so kind and friendly and you have such peace of mind that your loved one is being so well cared for. Thank you so much to all of the staff. You are all amazing.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Frances M (Day Care Service User) on Tuesday 22 March 2022. Review relates to March 2022.

My mum is 95 and often tells me "they're very, very kind here", I looked up her word "kind", these are some of the wonderful qualities it describes...affectionate, compassionate, considerate, gentle, sympathetic, tender-hearted, thoughtful, understanding. This perfectly describes the truly exceptional team at Canford Chase Care Home. Mum is as precious to them as she is to me! A special day when I walked in to ask if they might care for my parents back in 2017! My experience is one of true vocation and never-ending kindness from all the staff. Thank you.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by B O (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 16 March 2022. Review relates to March 2022.

Everyone is so very kind. I highly recommend.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Y P (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 16 March 2022. Review relates to March 2022.

It's home from home.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Renee T (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 11 March 2022. Review relates to March 2022.

My father came to Canford Chase at the end of January after a fall and a week in hospital. The first few weeks were a period of adjustment for him, but he is settling in well now and feels safe and secure and is being beautifully cared for in very comfortable surroundings. He is enjoying his food, and I am also made welcome with tea and cake. Thank you to everyone at Canford Chase for your kindness and patients - you are all amazing!

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by R K (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 8 March 2022. Review relates to February 2022.

My huge thanks to all the people at Canford Chase Care Home for looking after my mother so wonderfully well for four years. It is impossible to list everyone who was kind to my mum as it applied really to everyone who had anything to do with her. Every member of staff I interacted with was very professional and had plenty of time for me and my mother. A fantastic team of carers, nurses, all support staff and management. I couldn’t have wished for a better care setting for her.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M T (Resident / Service User) on Friday 4 February 2022. Review relates to January 2022.

Lovely home. Great food. Made to feel like part of a family.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Norah H (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 23 June 2021. Review relates to June 2021.

Cannot say a bad word, everyone is very helpful. The food is very good and the service excellent.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Andrew R (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 23 June 2021. Review relates to June 2021.

The staff are caring, professional and friendly. The home is very well equipped and they provide all the adaptations I need.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Pamela T (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 23 June 2021. Review relates to June 2021.

First-rate, personally i wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by June D (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 23 June 2021. Review relates to June 2021.

Perfect for me.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Alison T (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 26 October 2020. Review relates to September 2020.

My mother arrived after almost five weeks in the hospital. She told me the home was 10/10 after her first night and always says how kind the staff are. The food is excellent, she is not an easy person to please, so I’m so happy she is safe and well and nothing I ask for is too much trouble. The first 2 weeks for new residents is hard without being able to visit, but my sister and I spoke to her every day and now she is so active downstairs. It was definitely worth keeping everyone safe by having this restriction in place so don’t be put off choosing Canford Chase because of this. Thank you to all the team - you are amazing.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Canford Chase
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • It is a lovely home.  I am well looked after here.  The staff are kind and the manager is very helpful and has time for us all.
    Resident at Canford Chase

    16 May 2022
  • My mum spent the last 2 years at Canford Chase.  It's the hardest thing choosing a home for a parent but we definitely made the best choice.  She really enjoyed her time here joining in with the crafts, baking and singing, which was her favourite.  The staff are all so kind and friendly and you have such peace of mind that your loved one is being so well cared for.  Thank you so much to all of the staff.  You are all amazing.
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    03 May 2022
  • My mum is 95 and often tells me "they're very, very kind here".  I looked up her word "kind" and these are some of the wonderful qualities is describes - affectionate, compassionate, considerate, gentle, sympathetic, tender-hearted, thoughtful, understanding.  This perfectly describes the truly exceptional team at Canford Chase.  Mum is as precious to them as she is to me. A special day when I walked in to ask if they might care for my parents back in 2017.  My experience is one of true vocation and never-ending kindness from all the staff.  Thank you.
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    28 March 2022
  • My father came to Canford Chase at the end of January after a fall and a week in hospital. The first few weeks were a period of adjustment for him but he is settling in well now and feels safe and secure and is being beautifully cared for in very comfortable surroundings. He is enjoying his food and I am also made welcome with tea and cake.  Thank you to everyone at Canford Chase for your kindness, you are all amazing. 
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    17 March 2022
  • My huge thanks to all the people at Canford Chase for looking after my mother so wonderfully well for four years.  It is impossible to list everyone who was kind to my mum as it applied really to everyone who had anything to do with her.  Every member of staff I interacted with was very professional and had plenty of time for me and my mother.  A fantastic team of carers, nurses, all support staff and management.  I couldn't have wished for a better care setting for her.
    Son of Resident at Canford Chase

    16 March 2022
  • I should like to pass on my huge thanks to all the people at Canford Chase for looking after my mother so wonderfully well for 4 years.  It is impossible to list everyone but I must thank especially Shaun who had so much time for mum and Jane who was a real favourite with mum showing so much kindness and care.  There are many, many more I could mention, really everyone that had anything to do with mum's care.  A fantastic team.  We couldn't have wished for a better care environment than Canford Chase.  
    Family of Resident at Canford Chase

    28 February 2022
  • To all the staff at Canford Chase. An enormous thank you for everything you all did for Norah.  She was very very happy.  A special thank you to Abner who played guitar for her.  To all the carers who helped her during her time will you.  I am exceedingly grateful for all you did. Please be proud of the difference you make.
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    15 February 2022
  • A note to thank you and all the staff for your care and kindness in looking after Mum during her time with you.  As you know she was very frail and poorly when she came to you and is now much better and brighter to the extent that she now feels able to go home! I believe she enjoyed this stay with you and will return if things do not work out at home.
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    05 September 2021
  • We want to say a very big thank you to all the staff at Canford Chase for looking after Dee over the last three years.  She received a lot of care and attention for which we are very grateful.  Thank you.
    Family of Resident at Canford Chase

    18 August 2021
  • I cannot say a bad word, everyone is very helpful. The food is very good and the service excellent.
    Resident at Canford Chase

    25 June 2021
  • First rate, personally I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.
    Resident at Canford Chase

    25 June 2021
  • The staff are caring, professional and friendly. The home is very well equipped and they provide all the adaptations I need.
    Resident at Canford Chase

    25 June 2021
  • I wanted to thank you and all your team for the way you have looked after my Auntie in her final days.  I know she wasn't with you very long but she was very comforted knowing she was coming to such a lovely home with kind people looking after her.  Please pass on my thanks to your team, in particular, a special thank you to Hayley McEvoy. You are graded outstanding.  That is thoroughly deserved.  Whoever I dealt with at Canford Chase performed at this level. I wanted you to know.  You should be very proud. 
    Nephew of Resident at Canford Chase

    21 May 2021
  • Thank you for all your help and for looking after Beryl in her final hours.  Your whole organisation has been first class to deal with, whoever one speaks to.  You are very worthy of your outstanding grading.  Please pass on my sincere thanks to all the team.
    Godson of Resident at Canford Chase

    14 May 2021
  • A huge thank you to you all for your kindness day.  You are all so compassionate and wonderful.  It is a true vocation you all have.  I know how much time, thought and kindness goes into everything you do and I'll never find words to explain how grateful I am that my dear Mum is in your care.  Many many thanks as always.
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    24 March 2021
  • Just to say a big thank you for all the wonderful care given to Ghislane during her stay with you.  She was very happy and we have been reassured throughout that she has been in very good hands.
    Granddaughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    18 February 2021
  • Dear wonderful staff at Canford Chase.  Six years ago my mother came to live in your beautiful home where she found comfort and care from each one of you.  She loved you all, enjoying everyday with so much to offer.  We have many photos of her to remember her by. She loved her bible times and looked forward to "Songs of Praise" and Holy Communion too.  You all made this possible even our family visits.  When the cloud of Covid descended you all rallied to bring about safety measures for everyone.  My mother ended her days not alone but in the safety and knowledge of you all.  She was a beautiful mother who we shall miss very much.  Special love to you all.
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    13 February 2021
  • Thank you so much Abby x So lovely to see the photo of Mum and that she’s able to be in the lounge again I had a wonderful chat with Evelyn and Julie on Thursday , can’t actually put into words what a relief it is to know Mum has had the vaccine ! I’ve been on ‘cloud 9’ ever since !! Also just to think of Julie reading her Beatrix Potter books to her and playing special music You are an incredible team ! I’m grateful every day that Mum is being cared for by all of you . I couldn’t wish for a better family for her to be with I think I’ve said it before but you really are “Simply The Best” Many thanks as always
    Residents at Canford Chase

    23 January 2021
  • Thank you so much for your lovely card and pictures. I so loved receiving them, they have been a comfort to me. How lucky I was to have all those happy years with my darling and I missing him so much. I keep remembering all the happy times we had and many laughs. You all looked after him so well and thank you for the wonderful kindness. Take care.
    Canford Chase

    19 January 2021
  • Thank you for responding so quickly when I telephoned to ask whether Mum could come back to you for respite care.  Your prompt help was much appreciated.  I should be grateful if you would convey my thanks to your staff for the way they have welcomed Mum back and for their help in unpacking etc. given that I was unable to do it this time.  it is reassuring that she is being cared for in such a friendly home with staff she knows. 
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    04 January 2021
  • Just to say a big thank you for all the wonderful care given to my Grandmother during her stay with you.  She was very happy and we have been reassured throughout that she has been in very good hands.
    Granddaughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    21 December 2020
  • Thank you to everyone who looked after mum in her 4 years at Canford Chase, who made her feel special and loved and particularly those of you who comforted her in her last days and hours. You have all been wonderful and she was in the best hands possible right to the end. It is a testament to your care and diligence also that Canford Chase remains Covid free. Well done to all of you.
    Son of Resident at Canford Chase

    30 August 2020
  • I just wanted to thank you and all the team for making my Mum and Dad's 70th Wedding Anniversary so special. All the family realise how busy to all are but everyone took time out to do everything they could to make Mum and Dad's day so very special. We couldn't be more grateful, especially at the moment, for all the team's support and care, not only for Mum and Dad but also for all of all. So please thank everyone for us, it means a huge amount to our whole family. We are very lucky that Mum and Dad have you all to provide that feeling of family and care. We know you all work very hard every day to provide this to all of your residents and it shines a spotlight on just how good you all are at working together to both make, and also be, a real family.
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    07 August 2020
  • Mum always looks so happy in all the photos I see on your website, it’s lovely to see. Thank you and all the staff for taking such good care of her.

    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    16 June 2020
  • Just a short note to say a huge thank you for all that you did for my Mum. I will always be grateful for the kid way in which you cared for her.
    Daughter of resident at Canford Chase

    01 June 2020
  • I have welcomed your regular “Covid updates” and clearly your management of the situation is proving, so far, to be very successful. I know, from personal experience, how much work will have gone into this planning process and still is going into it.
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    01 June 2020
  • What a lovely surprise I had when I received dad’s birthday photos. He looked so well and happy. Thank you so much for all your wonderful kindness to him. He made not recognise me when I come as I have not been to the hairdressers, it will cause a laugh!
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

     


    27 May 2020
  • To all the lovely, kind and brave staff at Canford Chase, what a team you are. Thank-you so much for everything you are doing for all the lucky residents at Canford Chase. They may not be able to realise how lucky they are but those of us on the outside do. God bless you all.
    Friends of Resident at Canford Chase

     


    27 May 2020
  • Thank you so very much for the lovely Birthday present from all at Canford Chase. I loved the colour and style of the hat. I was also thrilled with the really beautiful & delicious cakes & sweets. In fact it was one of the nicest Birthdays I’ve had for several years. I had my own garden party!!
    Resident at Canford Chase

    27 May 2020
  • I can’t recommend Canford Chase Home highly enough. My mother has been looked after here for 7 years. She is always treated with respect, and I know she is so safe and secure especially at this challenging time, I am 100% confident in Canford Chase that everything is being done to ensure the residents safety, every single need is taken care of.
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    27 May 2020
  • Canford Chase is very efficiently run. All the staff are kind, caring and always with a smile. I am very happy here. I have enjoyed the garden as well as the comfort of the home.
    Resident at Canford Chase

    27 May 2020
  • It is my pleasure to give a review for Canford Chase. My experience, from day one, has been 100% positive with all the staff. They pay special attention to the details of my mum’s needs and so many times I have seen such extra acts of kindness and care for her. Mum often mislays things, and the carers make such an effect to check everything and find them for her. To date, they have found everything! Wonderful!
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    27 May 2020
  • Thank you all so much for taking care of our mother during these difficult times. We really appreciate your work and look forward to being able to thank you in person soon.
    Daughter of Residents at Canford Chase

    29 April 2020
  • A very big thank you for everything you are doing to make all the residents comfortable during difficult times! It was such a surprise to receive the lovely card from my mother. She looks so well in the photo. All the family shared it online and were amazed.
    Daughter of resident at Canford Chase

    29 April 2020
  • Our family member had not wanted to go into a nursing home, but due to the friendly and welcoming atmosphere at Canford Chase I think she enjoyed it more than she showed. I know she particularly loved the garden as it reminded her of her own. She was always keen for her visitors to take her into “Our Garden”
    Family of Resident at Canford Chase

    11 March 2020
  • Thank you for the wonderful event that you put on to celebrate our relatives 102nd Birthday - all was beyond the call of duty and is a lovely example of the love and kindness that the Team at Canford Chase shows to its residents and their families
    Relative of Resident at Canford Chase

    02 January 2020
  • I appreciate all the staff who make my Mum feel that she is part of the family, the love and concern expressed is very impressive - the staff share common values of Canford Chase and I hope you are very proud of them
    Son of Resident at Canford Chase

    29 December 2019
  • The home and the excellent nursing team have been key to Mum recovering her health and fitness. The staff were superb, taking time with her, and the family to ensure that the care package they put together was tailored to her specific needs. I really can't praise the home and the quality of the carers highly enough - Mum couldn't be better looked after
    Son of Resident at Canford Chase

    17 December 2019
  • It is very reassuring to have the excellent nursing team on hand, something other homes don't seem to offer. This gives a peace of mind that all Mum's care needs can and will be met by the home's team. It really feels that Canford treat mum as an individual, they know her well and she has the choice to do and eat what she wants, there isn't a better home for her.
    Son of Resident at Canford Chase

    17 December 2019
  • Thank you not only for the beautiful care you gave to Mum and Dad but also to the rest of the family at times when we really needed your support and kindness
    Family of Resident at Canford Chase

    05 December 2019
  • Thank you to all at Canford Chase for making my 102 birthday such a happy time - the lunch was wonderful and enjoyed by everyone. We were all so touched by your generosity and thoughtfulness
    Resident & Family at Canford Chase

    05 December 2019
  • Many thanks to you and everyone in your team who helped make Dad's party such a success, the party involved a lot of work and everyone come along to sing 'Happy Birthday'
    Son of Resident at Canford Chase

    25 November 2019
  • The first thing you notice is how caring and friendly the carers are - this makes all the difference to your entire lifestyle. All the staff are handpicked for their efficiency and dependency. The chefs are superb and I now feel that all members of staff are my family
    Resident at Canford Chase

    06 November 2019
  • We would like to thank everyone most sincerely for the help, support, assistance and compassion you have all shown to my Mother. Her wish was granted to have her remaining years with you at Canford Chase, a place which was truly home for her and a place where she was very happy
    Family of Resident at Canford Chase

    17 October 2019
  • Thank you for the wonderful care given to my Brother and for giving me and my family such a wonderful lunch for my birthday
    Sister of Resident at Canford Chase

    04 October 2019
  • The love and care you all showed to our Mum and Wife was amazing
    Family of Resident at Canford Chase

    10 July 2019
  • Thank you for your kind words yesterday and the care, kindness and professionalism that was extended to my Father during his time with you
    Son of Resident at Canford Chase

    10 July 2019
  • Constant care and attention at Canford Chase - the nearest to being in your own home except without the loneliness. There is privacy when required but also companionship, friendliness and comfort, you are never far from a member of staff in all areas, who strive to keep a well-balanced environment
    Daughter of Resident at Canford Chase

    09 July 2019
  • Thank you and to your staff for the attention and care you gave our Mother, it was so re-assuring to know that her latter days and years were spent in such lovely surroundings and we know she especially liked the garden at Canford Chase
    Family of Resident at Canford Chase

    28 June 2019
  • The food is excellent and service is caring and thoughtful throughout
    Relative of Resident at Canford Chase

    17 June 2019