Reviews and Testimonials

9.8

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 41 reviews

Review submitted by K M (Son-in-law of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 12 September 2019. Review relates to September 2019.

A very well run care home that comes highly recommended by all, including my local GP. The staff are very friendly, courteous and professional. The care home is immaculate, every member of the staff goes about their day with a smile and it is obvious that they great a great deal of pride in their work.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S L (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 12 September 2019. Review relates to September 2019.

The staff at Castle View are so kind, polite, helpful and welcoming. Everyone is well cared for and individual residents' needs are met with consideration and patience. The home and gardens are maintained to an extremely high standard. The food is fresh, well cooked and well presented. I would have no hesitation recommending Castle View to others.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M G (Respite Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 14 November 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

I spent a week in Castle View to convalesce following a back operation. The staff were all friendly, caring and professional. Nothing was too much trouble. The home is well run and more like a nice hotel. It wasn't the cheapest, but you get what you pay for and I wouldn't hesitate to use it again should the need arise.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S L (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 23 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

The staff and management at Castle View are like a family. It does not matter if you are speaking to cleaners, laundry, nursing staff, activities staff, catering or admin. They always know who you are and check if there is anything they can do. I know my mother is getting the best care possible and she is safe and secure 24/7. I have recommended Castle View to my friends who are looking for residential care.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Nicholas A (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 17 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

It is nice to know that Mum is safe and happy and being very well cared for. All the staff are extremely caring and nothing is too much trouble for them. Mum enjoys going out on the organised activities. The food is very good, especially the puddings! Overall I find the home is run to a very high standard and all the staff work to an extremely high standard. I can't imagine Mum living anywhere else.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sally R (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 17 October 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

My mother went into Castle View for palliative care. The home was where I wanted her to be, as I have been to the home on many occasions. Everything was as I anticipated. The staff were all amazing - friendly and caring from the management, administrators, nursery, HCS's, kitchen and domestic staff. I could not fault them in any way.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M N (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 3 October 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

We have found all the staff to be most polite and welcoming. They cannot do enough to help and provide for all needs of my friend who is a resident here. The quality of food is excellent with little expense spared. The gardens offer a beautiful space in which to relax.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Rick P (Son-in-law of Resident/Service User) on Monday 3 September 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

The staff at Castle View were incredibly good. Nothing was too much trouble and they demonstrated unbelievable patience and professionalism at difficult times. We could not fault the quality of care and I would recommend them to anyone.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Don't Know
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Vivien F (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 22 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

I am extremely grateful to all the staff for the expertise skills, patience and kindness I have received since 4th April this year. They have all enabled me to return to good health. I am leaving with reluctance as I shall miss every aspect of my care but know that I shall return one day (please) when I am even older.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by C S (Resident / Service User) on Monday 20 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

I came about three years ago, after suffering a broken hip. As I lived alone, I was very grateful to have good and knowledgeable company and care and came to the conclusion that, as I am widowed and living alone, a move to Castle View could be beneficial at some point. This point was reached recently - I'm 88 and I can tell that my very caring neighbours (who have been extremely helpful - and CONCERNED when I've been needing care) are very relieved that I am at Castle View (a very short distance from my home in Poundbury).

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jane W (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 8 August 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

Ever since I arrived at the end of February 2018 I have been shown the utmost care from members of the staff. Nothing seems to be too much for them and they have been so kind, friendly and cheerful and always there to give one a hug on the few days I have felt a bit down. As I can no longer live on my own I can't think of a better place to be. Thank you all so much for the support you have given me.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Judith H (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 8 November 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

My mother has been a resident at Castle View care home for over 5 years. She has received excellent care from a dedicated and professional staff. The standards of cleanliness, furnishings, catering and social activities are very high. There is a friendly atmosphere and visitors are always made very welcome.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Adrian S (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 1 November 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

From introduction to our first visit when my father moved into the residence I have been extremely impressed with the excellence of staff, their professionalism and compassion. It is a very welcoming place and I was happy to learn that my father is also very content and pleased with his "home from home"!

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by L W (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 31 October 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

The staff at the care home take excellent care of my mother. Her dietary needs are known and catered for. I am particularly pleased with the wide range of activities on offer. It is good to see crosswords and word games were given such high priority - very important to help keep elderly brains active!

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by C O (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 24 October 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

I came here from hospital with breast cancer and have been wonderfully cared for the past three years. I intend to remain here for the rest of my life. I have made lots of friends here as all are friendly. The food is excellent and resident's friends are always made welcome. My only sadness is the absence of animals but I can understand the attitude re this. I find it a most comfortable and friendly home.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J C (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 24 October 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

Castle View is an outstanding nursing/assisted living residential home. All members of staff are friendly and helpful and try to ensure that all requests are met. I cannot fault the care I receive, the standards are extremely high in all departments.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Pamela C (Respite Resident/Service User) on Thursday 19 October 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

Very happy to return to Castle View. I'm so well looked after and everyone is so kind and friendly.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Patrick B (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 17 October 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

When we moved Mum into Castle View care home the whole family was apprehensive. However, the moment we walked through the door we knew we had made the right decision. All the staff were friendly and professional, our family could not be happier with the care our dear mother is getting. Knowing she is in safe hands has given us peace of mind.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Castle View
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • Thank you for giving our Dad a home, it was not something we were prepared for so thank you for guiding us through this part of his life - I will hold many memories of Dad spent at Castle View
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    01 September 2019
  • We would like to thank all the staff for the kindness and patience you gave to Mum, special thanks to the night staff who showed us such compassion
    Son of Resident at Castle View

    26 August 2019
  • Thank you so much for all the care and support you gave to my Father, I could not have asked for more - we will hold you all in a special place in our hearts
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    19 August 2019
  • To all the wonderful staff that cared so compassionately and professionally towards my Brother - a massive thank you
    Sister of Resident at Castle View

    19 August 2019
  • We were delighted to gain the impressive that Castle View is up there with the very best care homes
    Visitor to Castle View

    19 August 2019
  • Our relative could not have concluded her life’s journey in a better suited environment in Dorchester than was provided to her by you and all your Castle View Team. We, family and friends, evidenced the exceedingly high level of respect, care and attention to detail, provided to both our relative and visitors alike
    Relative of Resident at Castle View

    26 July 2019
  • To all the wonderful staff who cared so compassionately and professionally towards my brother - a massive thank you
    Sister of Resident at Castle View

    22 July 2019
  • The staff were wonderfully kind and supportive - we could not have asked for more
    Sister of Resident at Castle View

    08 July 2019
  • No words are enough to thank you for the care you showed our Mum. You showed me and Mum great care, kindness, palliative care, understanding and gave Mum great dignity
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    03 July 2019
  • Thank you so much for 'putting me on my feet again', I have enjoyed my time with you
    Mary, respite resident at Castle View

    28 May 2019
  • I was very touched to have such a wonderful Birthday over the last few days! Thank you so much for all the treats, food, entertainment and wonderful company!
    Claire, resident at Castle View

    07 May 2019
  • The staff have been exemplary of the care of my Mother and myself, they have been very supportive, helpful and kind
    Amanda, daughter of resident at Castle View

    02 May 2019
  • A very big thank you for looking after my Dad, he very much enjoyed his time with you. You gave him some fantastic care which I very much thank you all for
    Margaret, daughter of resident at Castle View

    31 March 2019
  • From very small pups do great Hearing Dogs and partnerships grow - but only with a great deal of support. There would be no partnerships without wonderful people like you at Castle View
    Deb from Hearing Dogs

    31 March 2019
  • Thank you to all the staff for the care and attention you have given to Mum. She settled quickly into the warm, caring and safe environment that you have all provided. There are so many 'personal' touches evident in the care that you give, this is what makes Castle View special
    Debbie, daughter of resident at Castle View

    29 March 2019
  • Thank you so much for your care and kindness, we are so grateful for all you did and reassured us as well
    Ed, relative of resident at Castle View

    21 March 2019
  • Thank you for providing a very high standard of medical and support care in a professional and friendly environment
    Resident at Castle View

    18 March 2019
  • The food and company was excellent and your organisation was faultless 
    Relative of resident at Castle View

    05 February 2019
  • We have appreciated the way in which you have looked after our relative, in both a caring and professional manner
    Charles, relative of resident at Castle View

    05 February 2019
  • A big thank you, for not only the care and kindness you showed our relative, but the welcome you gave to us her family and friends 
    Jo, relative of resident at Castle View

    24 December 2018
  • My wholehearted thanks to you and all your team at Castle View for the outstanding care you gave our Mum
    Tim, son of resident at Castle View

    06 December 2018
  • I spent a week in Castle View to convalesce, the staff were all friendly, caring, professional and nothing was too much trouble. The home is well run and more like a nice hotel, I wouldn't hesitate to use it again should the need arise
    Respite Resident at Castle View

    14 November 2018
  • Thanks again for your kind welcome and for all the staff who played a part in looking after Mary at Castle View
    Steve, son of relative at Castle View

    29 October 2018
  • The staff and management at Castle View are like a family, it does not matter if you are speaking to cleaners, laundry, nursing staff, activities staff, catering or admin - they always know who you are and check if there is anything they can do. I know my mother is getting the best care possible and she is safe and secure 24/7
    Daughter of resident at Castle View

    23 October 2018
  • Thank you so much for your great kindness and excellent care, it has been a sad time but your support has been amazing
    Leonard, relative of resident at Castle View

    18 October 2018
  • It is nice to know that Mum is safe and happy and being very well cared for, all the staff are extremely caring and nothing is too much trouble for them. Mum enjoys going out on the organised activities. The food is very good, especially the puddings! Overall I find the home is run to a very high standard and all the staff work to an extremely high standard, I can't imagine Mum living anywhere else
    Nicholas, son of resident at Castle View

    17 October 2018
  • My mother went into Castle View for palliative care. The home was where I wanted her to be, as I have been to the home on many occasions. Everything was as I anticipated - the staff were all amazing, friendly and caring from the management, administrators, nursery, HCS's, kitchen and domestic staff, I could not fault them in any way
    Sally,daughter of resident at Castle View

    17 October 2018
  • We have found all the staff to be most polite and welcoming, they cannot do enough to help and provide for all needs of my friend who is a resident here. The quality of food is excellent with little expense spared and the gardens offer a beautiful space in which to relax
    Friend of resident at Castle View

    03 October 2018
  • Thank you and to the entire staff at Castle View for the way you looked after our Mother 
    Tim, son of resident at Castle View

    22 September 2018
  • Thank you everyone for your gentle care and compassion towards our Mother
    Hilary, daughter of resident at Castle View

    12 September 2018
  • Thank you so much for making my stay a happy one and for helping me back on my feet - I have enjoyed being with you all
    Mary, respite resident at Castle View

    11 September 2018
  • The staff at Castle View were incredibly good and nothing was too much trouble. They demonstrated unbelievable patience and professionalism at difficult times. We could not fault the quality of care and I would recommend them to anyone
    Rick, son-in-law of resident at Castle View

    03 September 2018
  • The words thank you don't seem enough for the incredible care and dignity all of you showed our beloved Mother
    Relative of resident at Castle View

    03 September 2018
  • I am extremely grateful to all the staff for the expertise skills, patience and kindness I have received. They have all enabled me to return to good health. I am leaving with reluctance as I shall miss every aspect of my care but know that I shall return one day
    Vivien, respite resident at Castle View

    22 August 2018
  • I find all the staff at the home very kind and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. Mum calls her room her home and it is good to know that she is safe and there are people keeping an eye on her. The activities are very good and the team work very hard to keep the residents interested. The home is always nice and clean so all the domestic staff must work very hard
    Son of resident at Castle View

    22 August 2018
  • Thank you so much for the care and love you gave my sister, the whole family are happy and relieved to see her recovery
    David, brother of resident at Castle View

    22 August 2018
  • All my family join me in expressing tremendous gratitude to you all - for each one of you who played a part in restoring me to health, so that I am able to return home - very well done Castle View! I shall miss the daily care and attention, each one of you has shown patience, kindness and friendship, alongside professional skills. I have been very happy here and see myself returning one day
    Vivien, respite resident at Castle View

    21 August 2018
  • I came about three years ago, after suffering a broken hip. As I lived alone, I was very grateful to have good and knowledgeable company and care and came to the conclusion that, as I am widowed and living alone, a move to Castle View could be beneficial at some point. This point was reached recently - I'm 88 and I can tell that my very caring neighbours are very relieved that I am at Castle View
    Resident at Castle View

    20 August 2018
  • Ever since I arrived I have been shown the utmost care from members of the staff, nothing seems to be too much for them and they have been so kind, friendly and cheerful and always there to give one a hug on the few days I have felt a bit down. As I can no longer live on my own I can't think of a better place to be
    Jane, resident at Castle View

    08 August 2018
  • Thank you for your kindness and care, nothing was too much trouble and we are so grateful. There was always another kind face popping their head round the door and always with time to listen, share and chat - you all are very special people indeed
    Lynda, relative of resident at Castle View

    01 August 2018
  • Thank you to Castle View for the exemplary care my Mother received, it was a pleasure to sew her re-engage with life again, she got something of her mental 'spark' back
    Simon, son of resident at Castle View

    26 July 2018
  • Thank you for the care you provided to our relative, we are very grateful for everything you did, your friendliness, smiles and excellent care was exemplary and put our minds at peace, knowing she was in good hands 
    Marie-Jo, relative of resident at Castle View

    23 June 2018
  • Thank you to all the fantastic caring staff who looked after our Mum
    Val, daughter of resident at Castle View

    22 May 2018
  • Thank you all for your dedication and continued care for our relative - you are all superstars!
    The Ford Family at Castle View

    19 May 2018
  • Thank you for the wonderful, exceptional care given to my husband, this goes for all your staff - they have made us feel like family
    Rosemary, wife of resident at Castle View

    15 May 2018
  • Thank you to you and all your staff for the wonderful care and affection that you showed to Mum while she was with you
    Val, daughter of resident at Castle View

    13 May 2018
  • Thank you one and all for making my birthday such a very memorable one!
    Claire, resident at Castle View

    09 May 2018
  • Thank you for all that you do for my mum, I can sleep at night knowing that we are looking after her so well
    Pauline, daughter of resident at Castle View

    02 May 2018
  • Thank you so much for everything that you did for our Mum, she was very happy with you
    Mary, daughter of resident at Castle View

    25 April 2018
  • A thank you goes out to absolutely everyone at Castle View. You have a great team and especially those who went the extra mile for Mum
    Daughter of resident at Castle View

    11 April 2018