Reviews and Testimonials

10

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 14 reviews

Review submitted by Michael B (Respite Resident/Service User) on Thursday 18 March 2021. Review relates to March 2021.

I have been delighted with the care and support I received from all of the staff I received in the home. Everybody has been most attentive and nothing has been too much trouble. In addition, the home has the benefit of excellent facilities and a lovely garden. The food has also been exceptional including delicious curries and other dishes. The desserts are very naughty but very nice.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Helen E (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 4 February 2021. Review relates to January 2021.

My mother spent the last few months of her life at Castle View and I cannot thank the staff enough for the care and kindness that they showed Mum during that time. All the staff were approachable, friendly, always there to help and support and were clearly dedicated to their work and the care and wellbeing of the residents.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by G C (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 9 December 2020. Review relates to December 2020.

I have enjoyed my stay at Castle View, which I have found a very friendly and efficient place.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by E R (Resident / Service User) on Friday 20 November 2020. Review relates to November 2020.

I'm very happy staying in this home and it has been very safe during this time. The staff are excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by D A (Respite Resident/Service User) on Friday 2 October 2020.

I entered Castle View, Poundbury, for respite care with some trepidation because, apart from a spell in hospital following a major stroke, I have not been apart from my wife in all our years of marriage. But having done so I found from the beginning that the staff was most friendly and helpful in all my requirements. My fortnight in Castle View was a very happy experience. The nursing care was excellent and all meals were varied and of a high standard. All in all a happy experience.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by R S (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 19 May 2020. Review relates to May 2020.

Brilliant all over.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Hazel W (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 10 March 2020. Review relates to February 2020.

My mother has been at Castle View for 4 years and I cannot praise the staff enough for their dedication to their positions and to the residents. They go the extra mile to ensure the residents are happy. As a relative it is very reassuring. I find all staff approachable, very friendly and always happy to assist if needs be.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by L B (Goddaughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 3 March 2020. Review relates to February 2020.

The care home has a very positive atmosphere. All the staff including handymen, cleaners, carers, nurses, kitchen staff, receptionists, admin staff and managers are all extremely cheerful, welcoming and helpful. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and they go out of their way to resolve any problems or issues. Everyone you meet greets you and are genuinely caring.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Joyce C (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 25 February 2020. Review relates to February 2020.

The care I receive at Castle View is more than excellent. The staff in all departments are very friendly, caring and cannot do enough for me.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by I H (Respite Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 10 December 2019. Review relates to November 2019.

Everything about this home has been marvellous.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by K B (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 12 November 2019. Review relates to November 2019.

My wife enjoyed herself in respite care in very good company and good service through all her staff-connection and services.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Rod C (Power of Attorney of Resident/Service User) on Friday 25 October 2019. Review relates to July 2019.

I was delighted that my dear friend was able to have been provided with the high level of care as provided by all members of staff during the three months spent at Castle View. The ability to review changing degrees of health was extremely helpful. The professionalism of the organisation is to be commended. Many thanks.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by K M (Son-in-law of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 12 September 2019. Review relates to September 2019.

A very well run care home that comes highly recommended by all, including my local GP. The staff are very friendly, courteous and professional. The care home is immaculate, every member of the staff goes about their day with a smile and it is obvious that they great a great deal of pride in their work.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S L (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 12 September 2019. Review relates to September 2019.

The staff at Castle View are so kind, polite, helpful and welcoming. Everyone is well cared for and individual residents' needs are met with consideration and patience. The home and gardens are maintained to an extremely high standard. The food is fresh, well cooked and well presented. I would have no hesitation recommending Castle View to others.

How likely would you be to recommend Castle View? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Castle View
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • I have been delighted with the care and support I received from all of the staff in the home.  Everybody has been most attentive and nothing has been too much trouble.  In addition, the home has the benefit of excellent facilities and a lovely garden.  The food has also been exceptional including delicious curries and other dishes.  The desserts are very naughty but very nice.  
    Resident at Castle View

    23 March 2021
  • We have become so impressed by the utterly flawless care you have given our Mother/Grandma.  You are a remarkable team.  You have turned what could have been a grim stage of her life to one she has enjoyed and valued.  She has loved all the chats, the love and genuine warmth of each interaction with you all.  There are too many people to thank you all individually and in a way that would not be fair as it is your teamwork that makes this wonderful home special.  We cannot thank you all enough.
    Family of Resident at Castle View

    22 February 2021
  • I just wanted to thank you all so much on behalf of my family for the care, kindness and attention you have given my mother.  This care has been consistent over the years she has been with you and has been very much noted and appreciated.  Over the last year of Covid and the difficulties of visiting you have been there for her and have given us reassurance.  So thank you all for everything.
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    12 February 2021
  • My mother spent the last few months of her life at Castle View and I cannot thank the staff enough for the care and kindness that they showed Mum during that time.  All the staff were approachable, friendly, always there to help and support and were clearly dedicated to their work and the care and wellbeing of the residents.
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    09 February 2021
  • Again, thank you from the bottom of our hearts for all the help and kindness you gave Dad over the last 10 years, and also for everything you have done for us. We will be sending a gift to all the staff fund in due course. I know Dad thought the world of each and every one of you and he would have loved you to treat yourselves with what we send. With our love
    Residents at Castle View

    01 February 2021
  • To everyone at Castle view. Thank you for the excellent care and support and kindness you all gave to our mum, whilst she was at Castle view. Even with the challenges of the pandemic, you made time to insure that mum felt included. The last few months of her life with you were happy ones. We both very much appreciate everything you did for mum and we are only sorry that her time with you wasn’t longer. With our very best wishes and heart felt thanks to you all.
    Residents at Castle View

    27 January 2021
  • Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for all the wonderful care and attention you gave to our dear Dad, Father-in-law, Grandad.  We wanted to tell you that together you gave him a lovely home and a happy final 10 years of life. We are honestly beyond words in trying to express our gratitude.  We are indebted to you also for keeping him safe from Covid during all these terrible months and for supporting him when he was brought low by this crisis.  Dad was enormously appreciative of all you did for him and regarded you as his family.  Thanks to you he became very content, happy and secure and felt loved by you all. 
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View 

    11 January 2021
  • I have enjoyed my stay at Castle View, which I have found a very friendly and efficient place. 
    Resident at Castle View

    07 January 2021
  • I entered Castle View for respite care with some trepidation because, apart from a spell in hospital following a major stroke, I have not been apart from my wife in all our years of marriage but having done so, I found from the beginning that the staff were most friendly and helpful in all my requirements.  My fortnight in Castle View was a very happy experience.  The nursing care was excellent and all meals were varied and of a high standard.  All in all a happy experience.
    Respite Resident at Castle View

    13 October 2020
  • I would like to thank you for taking such good care of my mum.  She loved living at Castle View and especially loved the bus trips and the activities.
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    27 September 2020
  • I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Castle View and was very well looked after by your excellent staff so a very big "Thank you" to them all.
    Resident at Castle View

    27 August 2020
  • Thank you very much for everything you have been doing during the extraordinary lock down period. We really appreciate you!

    Family of Resident at Castle View

    17 June 2020
  • I thought the procedures for the visit were excellent. I'd like to thank everybody, especially Becky for making it run smoothly.

    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    16 June 2020
  • Thank you so much for the lovely photos! So glad Dad has been out and about, as I do worry about him but we know he is in very good hands. Thanks to skype too!
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    02 June 2020
  • Thank you so much for the most acceptable and extremely useful present. I am most grateful for your kindness.
    The Rev. Visitor to Castle View

    28 May 2020
  • The care, support, activities all ensured that her time was safe and enjoyable. I always found it a joy to visit Castle View. I am only sorry that I cannot thank each and everyone personally at this difficult time. That’s for the future!! But I have written to each of your departments. Thank you for your kind letter.
    Daughter of Ex Resident at Castle View

    28 May 2020
  • Just a quick word of thanks on behalf of our relative for all you are doing in these hard times. A huge thank you for taking such good care of our dad. We appreciate every single one of you.
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    28 May 2020
  • To the administration staff. At this sad time, I want to give my thanks to your all the friendly and helpful assistance you have given in the front office and elsewhere. My visits to Castle View were always a joy and I am only sorry I cannot thank you personally at this difficult time. We will correct that on another future day.
    Son of Ex Resident at Castle View

    28 May 2020
  • At this time of ‘lockdown’ we wanted you all to know that you are in our thoughts and prayers. We trust that you are all keeping safe and look forward to meeting up again, hopefully before too long.
    Poundbury Group, Friends of Castle View

    28 May 2020
  • Hope you know how much you’re appreciated for everything you do. Your kindness was very much appreciated.
    Daughter of ex resident at Castle View

     


    29 April 2020
  • I shall never forget the respect shown by everyone when mum left Castle View for the last time. It was very beautifully and thoughtfully done and we found it all very touching. It helped our emotions enormously. I glad that we chose Castle View for mum as it is such a special place.
    Daughter of ex resident at Castle View

    29 April 2020
  • Thank you for all the care given in the past 2 years during her stay at Castle View. You have shown such dedication and kindness towards her. (and sometimes great patience!) we have always felt very reassured that she has been in such good hands.
    Daughter of ex resident at Castle View

     


    29 April 2020
  • My mother has been a Castle View for 4 years and I cannot praise the staff enough for their dedication to their positions and to the residents. They go the extra mile to ensure the residents are happy. As a relative it is very reassuring. I find all staff approachable, very friendly and always happy to assist if needs be.
    Daughter of resident at Castle View

    29 April 2020
  • Thank you all for helping me to enjoy my birthday with the gift card (as well as the song!) Thank you for all the work done for me during the year it is most apricated.
    Resident At Castle View 

    26 March 2020
  • My mother has been at Castle View for 4 years and I cannot praise the staff enough for their dedication to their positions and to the residents. They do the extra mile to ensure the residents are happy. As a relative it is very reassuring. I find all staff approachable, very friendly and always happy to assist if needs be.
    Daughter Of Resident At Castle View
      

    26 March 2020
  • Thank you for looking after dad whilst I was away, it made the trip so mush easier knowing he was going to be so well looked after
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    11 March 2020
  • Thank you for your patience, kindness and gentleness
    Relative of Resident at Castle View

    31 December 2019
  • We would like to express our gratitude and thanks to all the staff who made our relatives stay so special for her - keep up the good work
    Relative of Resident at Castle View

    31 December 2019
  • Everything about this home has been marvellous
    Respite Resident at Castle View

    12 December 2019
  • My wife enjoyed herself in respite care in very good company and good service through all the staff
    Husband of Resident at Castle View

    13 November 2019
  • We would like to express our thanks and kindness given by all the staff, the very high standards of care and friendliness was very much appreciated
    Family of Resident at Castle View

    11 November 2019
  • I was delighted that my dear friend was able to have been provided with the high level of care as provided by all members of staff, the professionalism of the organisation is to be commended
    Power of Attorney of Resident at Castle View

    04 November 2019
  • Thank you for making our relatives birthday such a delightful day - the cake was quite superb - we are so grateful to you all
    Family of Resident at Castle View

    23 October 2019
  • We would like to express our thanks and appreciation for all the effort that Castle View team put into our relatives 100th Birthday! From our point of view, it went perfectly! Thank you for providing lunch for us all, ensuring that our relatives birthday message from the Queen was kept safely at reception, for providing us with a private room (beautifully decorated for the occasion), for the birthday cake and afternoon tea - and for all the human kindness shown to us
    Family of Relative at Castle View

    04 October 2019
  • We cannot even begin to thank you enough for your care, that has gone way beyond the professional - you have no idea how many times our relative thanked me for finding such a wonderful last home for her
    Family of Resident at Castle View

    17 September 2019
  • Thank you for giving our Dad a home, it was not something we were prepared for so thank you for guiding us through this part of his life - I will hold many memories of Dad spent at Castle View
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    01 September 2019
  • We would like to thank all the staff for the kindness and patience you gave to Mum, special thanks to the night staff who showed us such compassion
    Son of Resident at Castle View

    26 August 2019
  • Thank you so much for all the care and support you gave to my Father, I could not have asked for more - we will hold you all in a special place in our hearts
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    19 August 2019
  • To all the wonderful staff that cared so compassionately and professionally towards my Brother - a massive thank you
    Sister of Resident at Castle View

    19 August 2019
  • We were delighted to gain the impressive that Castle View is up there with the very best care homes
    Visitor to Castle View

    19 August 2019
  • Our relative could not have concluded her life’s journey in a better suited environment in Dorchester than was provided to her by you and all your Castle View Team. We, family and friends, evidenced the exceedingly high level of respect, care and attention to detail, provided to both our relative and visitors alike
    Relative of Resident at Castle View

    26 July 2019
  • To all the wonderful staff who cared so compassionately and professionally towards my brother - a massive thank you
    Sister of Resident at Castle View

    22 July 2019
  • The staff were wonderfully kind and supportive - we could not have asked for more
    Sister of Resident at Castle View

    08 July 2019
  • No words are enough to thank you for the care you showed our Mum. You showed me and Mum great care, kindness, palliative care, understanding and gave Mum great dignity
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    03 July 2019
  • Thank you so much for 'putting me on my feet again', I have enjoyed my time with you
    Mary, respite resident at Castle View

    28 May 2019
  • I was very touched to have such a wonderful Birthday over the last few days! Thank you so much for all the treats, food, entertainment and wonderful company!
    Claire, resident at Castle View

    07 May 2019
  • The staff have been exemplary of the care of my Mother and myself, they have been very supportive, helpful and kind
    Amanda, daughter of resident at Castle View

    02 May 2019
  • A very big thank you for looking after my Dad, he very much enjoyed his time with you. You gave him some fantastic care which I very much thank you all for
    Margaret, daughter of resident at Castle View

    31 March 2019
  • From very small pups do great Hearing Dogs and partnerships grow - but only with a great deal of support. There would be no partnerships without wonderful people like you at Castle View
    Deb from Hearing Dogs

    31 March 2019
  • Thank you to all the staff for the care and attention you have given to Mum. She settled quickly into the warm, caring and safe environment that you have all provided. There are so many 'personal' touches evident in the care that you give, this is what makes Castle View special
    Debbie, daughter of resident at Castle View

    29 March 2019