Reviews and Testimonials

9.9

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 24 reviews

Review submitted by Niki S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 20 May 2020. Review relates to May 2020.

My late father was a resident at Fernhill for two years until he passed away peacefully at the end of March. I can not recommend Fernhill highly enough for the level of care and attention that was given to both my father and my family over the past few years. Everyone, from the people who clean to the people who cook and serve, the smiling girls on reception, the hardworking nurses, the incredible carers and the outstanding management team is at the top of their game. This is an outstanding home at every level and my Dad was loved, cared for and respected during his time there. I visited every two months with my daughter from Italy where we live and we stayed every time in the suite. We were treated like family every time we came and I will greatly miss our visits there. I know they have had no Covid cases at all because of strict measures so please do not worry about leaving your loved ones there. They will indeed continue to be loved and cared for and you will have peace of mind.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jane L (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 8 May 2020. Review relates to May 2020.

My mum is a resident at Fernhill and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Mum had been living in sheltered accommodation, but in February 2019 her Alzheimer's became dramatically worse. I had recently been seriously unwell and it was a very difficult time with difficult choices to make, but we were lucky enough to find Fernhill quite soon and, once we had met the staff, walked around and taken in the special atmosphere, I realised that it was a place where Mum would be cherished. Mum is now very happily settled there. The staff are so warm and kind to Mum and very informative to us, any issues are discussed and quickly dealt with. There are trips and also lots of activities which we join in if we are visiting at the time. There is a lovely little 'cafe' which has recently been extended that is lovely to go to for family time, and in November on Mum's birthday, we were able to have sole use of it for a family gathering which was wonderful.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Nicky S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 7 May 2020. Review relates to May 2020.

Fernhill is a wonderful care home, with excellent facilities, beautiful gardens and outdoor space which mum really appreciates. It is always a lovely place to visit and the ladies on reception are most welcoming. But it's all the staff that make this home so special, they are so friendly, kind and really care about the residents. It is good to be able to join in with the social activities and to accompany trips out in the minibus. The whole atmosphere in the home is happy and relaxed with a very professional medical team at hand. At this very challenging time in our lives, it is such a relief to know mum is in such a safe environment receiving the best care possible.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Gemma N (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 6 March 2020. Review relates to February 2020.

My mother was at this care home for a number of years until she passed away in February. Throughout the whole time that she was a resident, I felt that she was cared for in the most dignified and professional manner and the kindness shown to her was wonderful. The staff did not just look after my mum amazingly, they also were exceptionally kind to us as a family. This truly is one of the best care homes.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sarah M (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 25 February 2020. Review relates to February 2020.

My mother was a resident for over three years and just passed away this week. Words cannot express the unbelievable kindness and genuine love and affection that the remarkable and dedicated staff at the home showed to my mother and to us in her final days. The most dreadful of times was made bearable for us (especially my dad) because of their professionalism and dedication. The dread and guilt felt by loved ones when they put a family member into residential care do not apply to this home - and a home it is. The facilities are incredible, immaculately clean and beautifully presented. It is, however, the staff that need to be most highly commended - from the trainee nurse to the manager - all of them, without exception, have created a magnificent and truly welcoming place for beloved family members to be touchingly cared for. Thank you so much to everyone at Fernhill for everything that you have done for my mum and for us.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M W (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 20 February 2020. Review relates to February 2020.

Delighted my friend has found a real home. I have never seen her so contented and trying to do things she has not been able to do for months. She is genuinely cared for and happy.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Elizabeth H (Sister-in-law of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 19 December 2019. Review relates to December 2019.

The home was clean and well furbished with a good attention to detail. The very caring staff are welcoming to visitors, lovely.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Michael F (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 5 November 2019. Review relates to October 2019.

My wife has been attending Fernhill Care Home for two days a week for more than two years to have daycare. In order for us to have building work on our property, my wife has attended for a ten-day period of respite. During all of this time, we have been extremely pleased with her treatment. The home itself is of the highest quality and with kind, caring and professional staff.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S J (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 10 September 2019. Review relates to August 2019.

Mum came for a week's respite. All the staff were extremely kind and friendly. The rooms were lovely and clean and a card for Mum welcoming her was a lovely touch. No more marking clothes as this was done at the home. Mum had her hair done during the week, offered a trip out, all in a lovely week for Mum and a well-deserved break for myself and daughter knowing Mum was safe and well looked after.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 28 August 2019. Review relates to July 2019.

Taking Mum from her own home to Fernhill was emotionally difficult for me, although I knew it was by far the best for her. The staff at the home were kind, understanding and very patient with me, more especially the two ladies in the reception area. They ensured the transition went as smoothy as possible taking mine and mums feelings into great consideration. I can not thank them enough. Mum has now settled and is happy. I know she is being well looked after. Thank you so much to the Fernhill Staff.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Hazel G (Granddaughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 26 June 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

Nan was moved this year to Fernhill and this place is truly wonderful - the staff and facilities are all to a very high standard and Nan with complex needs has been made to feel very welcome and has settled in well very early on. She is now like a new lady with her chirpy sense of humour back and the right level of dignified independence. She is very happy here, lots of day trips and activities to keep her stimulated. The place feels like a hotel, clean, homely and welcoming, with amazing staff keeping the place going. This place is truly wonderful, highly recommend to those that sadly need it.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jenny B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 14 May 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

My mother is happier and more active than she has been in years. The staff cannot be praised too much.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Alan G (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 7 May 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

Made welcome on arrival take to relative and explained facilities. Encouraged to make use of all the facilities and felt free to wander around at mothers pace. It was apparent from chatty staff and mothers response she is very happy and cared for. Mother even said she is happy and loves her surroundings, she is more active than she would have been at home.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Judy F (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 6 May 2019. Review relates to July 2018.

All the staff are extremely professional. Fernhill is well led and well run. The activities are exceptional. The environment is homely. I would highly recommend.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Elaine W (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 2 May 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

I had to make a decision to place my mum in a permanent care home, well I certainly could have not picked one any better. Mum seems to have settled well and is joining in with the activities (something at home on her own she would never have enjoyed). I cannot praise the staff from the carers, admin staff etc enough as they are all so kind and caring to us all and we are always greeted with a smile and a chat.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Pamela C (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 30 April 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

Everyone is so friendly and helpful, greeted us like old friends when we returned! The residents seem to be very happy as they are treated so well by the staff. The residents are taken out on interesting bus rides etc and they enjoy the visiting entertainers - especially the musical ones.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sue K (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 2 April 2019. Review relates to March 2019.

The moment we walked in my mother was welcomed and treated with respect. Management and staff very very helpful.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jane C (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 12 February 2019. Review relates to January 2019.

Fabulous, caring staff. Kind and generous. Dad is very happy and it is a relief to know he is well cared for.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J A (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 18 December 2018.

This was my husband's second visit for respite care. I feel confident leaving him there so that I can have a break. It is not easy to walk away even if it is only for two weeks but he does enjoy himself and loves all the good food that is available. I can also be included in some events and the coffee shop is a great place to have a chat.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by D D (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 26 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

All the staff were supportive and caring throughout her stay. Excellent communication with the family throughout her stay and short hospital stays. Plenty of activities and staff actively engaged

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Paul H (Son of Resident/Service User) on Monday 24 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

With only 3 weeks in care the difference is amazing considering my mother has not left her own home in over 3 years! She is now connecting with people and indeed going out on social outings with other residents and 1-1 carers and companions. I would recommend Fernhill highly.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J J (Relative of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 18 September 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

On 1st November 2017, my sister went into Fernhill for respite care. She enjoyed being there so much she asked to stay and has thus been resident since then. Sadly, my sister was diagnosed with an inoperable tumour and died in August. During all the time my sister spent at Fernhill she was treated with both kindness and dignity and all the staff went above and beyond what might be expected to keep her comfortable and pain-free during her last days.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Caroline B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 2 August 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

Since my mother’s move to Fernhill, I have felt confident that she is being well looked after in a genuinely caring environment. All the staff are very friendly, professional and supportive towards both Mum and me and any new situation that has arisen has quickly been addressed to ensure Mum’s safety and comfort. Whenever I speak to staff, I have the sense that they really know Mum, understand the issues that affect her and by finding out more about her life, are keen to treat her as the individual she is. Thought is also clearly being given to how she is dressed each day, something that would matter to her. The home has a calm, relaxed atmosphere and always looks clean and well presented. The decision to move a loved-one into a care home is never straightforward but having found Fernhill I have been much reassured.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Don't Know
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Wendy L (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 5 June 2018. Review relates to May 2018.

I wanted Mum to live closer to me now that she needed full-time care. After a long search. I chose Fernhill as Mum's new home. From the first moment I walked in, met the team, I knew Mum would be safe, treated with dignity, supported and encouraged to be her best self to enjoy life. I can truly say Mum has been the happiest I have seen her in years. Mum and I have always been treated with respect, listened to and action taken on any concerns or worries we have had.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Fernhill
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • Thank you for a lovely card and really warm welcome from everyone. It is a pleasure to join such a lovely team.
    Staff member at Castle View

    28 May 2020
  • As you know I am so thankful that we found Fernhill, you have all been absolutely wonderful and I cannot thank you all enough especially at this difficult time. Its been hard not visiting but I speak to Mum often and know that she is being so well looked after which means the world.
    Daughter of Resident at Castle View

    28 May 2020
  • Thank you for the photos of Dad, so lovely to see him, we do miss him and I miss my visits to the home and seeing everybody. I hope you are keeping safe and well, it seems a long time before I am able to visit. Love to you all.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

     


    28 May 2020
  • We often reflect on the wonderful care you gave to my father. The job you have currently is so much harder. Just be aware that people will be willing you on to get through the crisis.
    Son of Ex Resident at Fernhill

    28 May 2020
  • I just wanted to send a note to you to say how much I appreciate all the wonderful work you and your staff have done in the past and are currently doing during a really difficult time. It is such a help to know that my Mum and all the other residents are being well cared for. Its lovely to see the photos on your website and to receive the email from Mark Aitchison detailing exactly what the situation.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    28 May 2020
  • Thank you for sending me the gorgeous pics of mum. Mum looks so happy to get the flowers and her favourite sweets! Cannot wait to see mum and you all as soon as we are allowed!!
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    28 May 2020
  • For every member of staff working at Fernhill, caring for the residents and involved in running the home, including those providing catering, cleaning and maintaining the grounds. We thank you all that you are doing. Being unable to visit Mum is only bearable because we know that you are taking such good care of her.
    Daughter & Family of Resident at Fernhill

    28 May 2020
  • I would like to thank all of you for the love and care that you are giving to Mum at this present time. It is so reassuring that you are keeping Dad and I in contact with Mum via skype and over the telephone. Mum looks so happy; I’m longing for the day to see her again in person again.
    Daughter & Family of Resident at Fernhill

    28 May 2020
  • Dear Mr Aitchison, many thanks for you latest newsletter, very informative and interesting. I share your view that the media is portraying the care home sector as a disaster area which is patently not true, particularly at Colten Care Homes.
    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    28 May 2020
  • I just wanted to let you all know how much we, as a family, have appreciated you and everyone at Fernhill. Thank you is just not enough for all the care you have given and all the things you did for Dad and Mum over the last few years. We wouldn’t have got through all of this without your amazing and wonderful support.
    Daughter of Residents at Fernhill

    28 May 2020
  • Many thanks to you and your team for arranging the transfer for Mum so smoothly. Everyone has been very kind and supportive, which has been greatly appreciated, particularly as I know it is a busy and challenging time
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    29 April 2020
  • I just wanted to give a HUGE thank you for you and all the team at Fernhill for coming in every day and taking such great care of my uncle and all the other residents during this  period in our lives. Words don’t seem adequate at this time, I just cannot thank you all enough and hope we can see you soon.
    Niece of Resident at Fernhill

    29 April 2020
  • Thank you very much for taking photos and for the video, we all really appreciate the extra effort for my grandad’s birthday.
    Granddaughter of Resident at Fernhill

    29 April 2020
  • I am writing to say that I am thinking about you all at what must be a very difficult time in the life of a Care Home. I am confident you are all doing your very best for all the residents in your care. It’s difficult not being able to see mum at the moment but I was very grateful for the three photographs that I was sent. Thank you for everything that you all do. Staff are always cheerful and there is always a calm atmosphere.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    29 April 2020
  • Thank you so much for sending me photos of Mum on her birthday, and also to see her outside on the new terrace, she loves being outdoors in the garden. Thank you for taking such good care of her, you are all amazing for what you do and we are very appreciated, even if we don’t say that often enough!
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    29 April 2020
  • Words cannot express the unbelievable kindness and genuine love and affection that the remarkable and dedicated staff at the home.
    Daughter Of Resident At Fernhill

    26 March 2020
  • A very special thank you for all the care and attention you gave to our relative and also to the family on our visits.
    Daughter and family of a Resident

    26 March 2020
  • My mother lived at Fernhill for a number of years, throughout the whole time I felt that she was cared for in the most dignified and profession manner and the kindness show to her was wonderful. This truly is one of the best care homes.
    Daughter Of Resident At Fernhill 

    26 March 2020
  • Thank you so much for the effort put in to making my uncle’s birthday so special today.  From the decorations in the guest room... the party poppers ... the balloons... the table decoration... the food... to the best of all the homemade cake and his presents.  What a spoiling he had! What a wonderful day for him!  Such a special treat and great memory for us of him laughing and having fun.
    Family of Resident at Fernhill 

    11 March 2020
  • Thank you so much for the effort and hard work the staff put into our visit, the staff were fabulous, nothing was too much trouble and, as always, making us feel so welcome
    Relative of Resident at Fernhill

    30 December 2019
  • The home was clean and well furbished with a good attention to detail, the very caring staff are welcoming to visitors
    Sister-in-law of Resident at Fernhill

    02 December 2019
  • My wife has been attending Fernhill to have daycare, we have been extremely pleased with her treatment. The home itself is of the highest quality and with kind, caring and professional staff
    Husband of Resident at Fernhill

    06 November 2019
  • Thank you to all the staff who made our relatives birthday so special, it was especially nice to see how everyone we saw during the day wished him happy birthday, it just emphasises how much you all care for everyone as individual people


    Relative of Resident at Fernhill

    04 September 2019
  • All your staff were superb and showed a real and genuine care and interest in our relatives well-being
    Relative of Resident at Fernhill

    07 August 2019
  • Thank you for all the good care and kindness our relative received during his recent respite visit
    Relative of Resident at Fernhill

    22 July 2019
  • A very big thank you from me and my family for all the wonderful care you gave our relative whilst he was with you in our 'second home'. We were welcomed straight away and always felt part of the family. He was always treated with dignity and respect and I shall be forever grateful for the love and care he received
    Family of Resident at Fernhill

    06 July 2019
  • Fernhill is truly wonderful - the staff and facilities are all to a very high standard and Nan with complex needs has been made to feel very welcome and has settled in well very. She is now like a new lady with her chirpy sense of humour back and the right level of dignified independence. She is very happy here, lots of day trips and activities to keep her stimulated. The place feels like a hotel, clean, homely and welcoming, with amazing staff keeping the place going
    Granddaughter of Resident at Fernhill

    26 June 2019
  • We have enjoyed so many very good experiences with the Fernhill team during Mums residence. It was a lifesaver for us and showed that we were dealing with a very professional and efficient organisation. The care and compassion demonstrated by the whole team during Mum's admission, reassured us that she was in very safe hands. The care team are wonderful and so focused on the physical and emotional needs of the residents. It is so clear that this is not just a job to them, its a vocation that they find very rewarding and they always go that extra mile to help a residents
    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    20 June 2019
  • My experience arriving at Colten Care with Dad felt like relaxing into a cosy chair after months of pain, anxiety and effort. We were welcomed with enthusiasm, made to feel special and that there were many positive things to look forward to. Even now nothing has changed. Every time you meet anyone at Fernhill they give a cheery ‘hello’, ask how Dad is and have time to stop and chat
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    19 June 2019
  • My mother is happier and more active than she has been in years, the staff cannot be praised too much
    Jenny of daughter at Fernhill

    14 May 2019
  • We were made welcome on arrival and encouraged to make use of all the facilities and felt free to wander around at my Mother's pace. It was apparent from chatty staff and my Mother's response she is very happy and cared for
    Alan, son of resident at Fernhill

    07 May 2019
  • You literally 'rescued' our Dad and took him under your kind care, we were all comforted that you cared for him 
    Judy, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    07 May 2019
  • All the staff are extremely professional and Fernhill is well led and well run, with the activities being exceptional.
    Judy, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    06 May 2019
  • My Mother lived at Fernhill, we 'loved' the time we had with Mum in her lovely room or enjoying coffee and cakes from the tea room. You made my Mother both happy and proud, dignified, appreciated. You put our minds at rest when we could not be there
    Mike, son of resident at Fernhill

    22 April 2019
  • The moment we walked in my mother was welcomed and treated with respect. The management and staff were very helpful
    Sue, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    02 April 2019
  • A massive thank you for caring for our relative - he may have been one of your longest residents at Fernhill
    Mark, relative of resident at Fernhill

    20 March 2019
  • We appreciated the kindness and wonderful care my Mother received, the nurses and carers were simply amazing and so compassionate to us all 
    Claire, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    20 March 2019
  • Fabulous, caring staff who are kind and generous. Dad is very happy and it is a relief to know he is well cared for
    Jane, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    12 February 2019
  • Thank you for the wonderful care and love you give Mum every day 
    Wendy, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    26 December 2018
  • Thank you as always for looking after my Uncle so well, there is no longer any worry about him, we know he is in very safe hands, he is happy and being so well cared for
    Julie, niece of resident at Fernhill

    26 November 2018
  • A massive thank you for the fantastic care our Father received whilst in your care, everyone made us feel so welcome and gave 100% to their job. We felt we were part of the Fernhill family and couldnt have chosen a better place for our Father
    John, son of resident at Fernhill

    18 November 2018
  • I was very impressed by the high standard of care at Fernhill and the effort to which staff had gone to ensure that the residents past achievements were recognised and celebrated
    Claire Harrhy, Somerset Partnership NHS

    09 November 2018
  • Thank you to the whole team at Fernhill for not only looking after my Mum, with such skill, care and kindness but also my Dad. Fernhill was 'family' to him whilst he spent time with Mum and we were very thankful for the support given to him
    Anne, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    08 November 2018
  • It is hard to put into words just how much we, as a family, appreciate the wonderful, consistent and tentative care that our relative received, we would take this opportunity to recognise how hard you all work 
    Relative of resident at Fernhill

    05 November 2018
  • All the staff were supportive and caring throughout our relatives stay with excellent communication with the family
    Son of resident at Fernhill

    26 September 2018
  • With only three weeks in care the difference is amazing considering my mother has not left her own home in over three years! She is now connecting with people and indeed going out on social outings with other residents and 1-1 carers and companions. I would recommend Fernhill highly!
    Paul, son of resident at Fernhill

    24 September 2018
  • Thank you for the support, both professional and empathetic care given to our relative, the warmth shared by the staff is most apparent, not only by us the family, but also visiting friends who have expressed their opinions in a very positive way
    Joyce, relative of resident at Fernhill

    19 September 2018
  • My sister went into Fernhill for respite care and she enjoyed being there so much she asked to stay. During all the time my sister spent at Fernhill she was treated with both kindness and dignity and all the staff went above and beyond what might be expected to keep her comfortable and pain-free
    Relative of resident at Fernhill

    18 September 2018
  • Thank you so much for everything you have done for us, for your unceasing care of our relative, from the moment she joined your 'family', we were lucky to find such a caring place
    Jean, relative of resident at Fernhill

    06 September 2018
  • May thanks for Mums wonderful 80th Birthday celebrations, we appreciate everything you do for Mum and us on a daily basis and this party was a fabulous example
    Kate, daughter of resident at Fernhill

    25 August 2018