Reviews and Testimonials

9.9

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 19 reviews

Review submitted by A C (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 22 September 2021. Review relates to August 2021.

Following extensive research, we moved our father to Fernhill from another provider. Fernhill had the specialised care and environment to meet his dementia needs. Fernhill staff also went above and beyond to enable him to attend his granddaughter's wedding. Staff are approachable and the care is obvious. He has settled in well and we are confident we have made the right choice for him.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Satisfactory
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Claire S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 10 September 2021. Review relates to August 2021.

My mother moved into Fernhill in June 2021 when we could no longer provide the care she required. The staff there helped her to settle in very quickly and they were very supportive to both her and her family. Her health declined very quickly and we sadly lost her at the beginning of August 2021. All the staff during the final week were so supportive to us and the caring and compassion they gave to my mother was excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Don't Know
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by James L (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 30 June 2021. Review relates to June 2021.

Very efficient and caring people.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Tina D (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 21 May 2021. Review relates to May 2021.

The staff at Fernhill are all very caring and professional - nothing is too much trouble. They made our mothers birthday very special with a beautiful cake and a personal gift. The standard of catering is that of a premium restaurant. The Fernhill Home is very welcoming and homely with beautifully kept gardens. Mum is so happy here and we feel lucky to have found such a lovely place for her to be.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by N S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 21 May 2021. Review relates to May 2021.

The care home has provided my mother with amazing nursing and companionship support during this difficult year. The home is a happy, relaxed place where all the staff are so kind and thoughtful. It is lovely to be able to join my mum on trips out in the mini-bus and to sit outside with her in the beautiful gardens which I know she appreciates. There are also lots of activities available which is great for socialising. It is so wonderful to be back visiting again - this care home is all about the great people who work there.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Hazel G (Granddaughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 7 May 2021. Review relates to May 2021.

Since my nan's arrival, she seems very settled - and the family can rest easy knowing my nan's care requirements are being very well tended to. She has a wonderful large, light and airy room overlooking the well-kept gardens. The staff are truly amazing and make everyone smile, welcome and giggle like one big family.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Mike H (Son of Resident/Service User) on Friday 9 October 2020. Review relates to September 2020.

A wonderful caring team of people that take the time to make life that much better for my mother.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Tony C (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 6 October 2020. Review relates to October 2020.

This is an excellent care home. Mum is in her late 80's and has advanced dementia and lacks mobility. She moved here at the beginning of April 2020. Mum has been well looked after, and the staff treat her with plenty of dignity and respect. There are lots of different organised activities in the home. The staff have managed to get Mum up and into her wheelchair most days. In these Covid times, I have been able (with prior arrangement) to visit Mum in the reception area behind a perspex screen and also been able to interact with her on numerous Skype calls with care staff in attendance. There are regular newsletters, and I've been able to join the relatives meeting on Zoom video conferencing. I've been impressed with the management and caring staff over the past 6-months - thank you. Highly recommended.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jo B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 1 October 2020. Review relates to July 2020.

The best decision we have ever made is to move my lovely Dad to this Nursing Home. Dad has advanced dementia, and is unable to do anything whatsoever for himself, and is unable to talk. However, we can see that he is immediately responsive to care staff, smiling and chuckling. It is plain for all to see that Dad is very happy and very well cared for both physically and mentally at this lovely Nursing Home. The food too is delicious. And the home is beautiful. And there is always something going on - so plenty of stimulation. And, importantly and reassuringly, if there is the slightest hiccup with Dad's health, then a Member of the Fernhill Team calls immediately to let us know and discuss a way forward. Staff are highly professional, extremely experienced, and readily available to chat at any time. We are very, very, grateful for all the care Dad is receiving and this Nursing Home definitely deserves the CQC rating of Outstanding - because it truly is outstanding.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Andy (Son of Resident/Service User) on Monday 22 June 2020. Review relates to June 2020.

Really excellent care home. Moved mum here a year ago as it was thought she would benefit from a home that specialises in dementia care. The standard of care and facilities has been first class and the staff deserve a special mention as they do an absolutely fantastic job. It is really good to know that in the current situation that loved ones are in the best/safest possible place with the highest standard of care. The ability to have facilitated skype calls during the lockdown has been absolutely brilliant and the home has always seemed to be well ahead of the curve in implementing any measures to keep residents safe. Facilities are all excellent with nice gardens, a cafe, a new roof garden and minibus trips out etc. Highly recommended.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Susan S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 18 June 2020. Review relates to June 2020.

My Dad went to stay at Fernhill in Nov 2018. We were so fortunate in finding such a lovely home. All the staff are so caring. Dad is looked after extremely well, both physically and the companionship which is so important. He loves the food which is always of a high quality. The home provides many opportunities for residents to enjoy interests such as music and art and also activities to encourage movement, games and to celebrate special days such as Xmas, Easter, sporting events, VE Day to mention just a few. I am confident that Dad is in a safe home in these difficult times which is such a comfort for me. The management and staff are always supportive to the residents and their families. Seeing Dad on Skype in these COVID times is such a plus, he looks so well. The roof garden completed late last year has been such a boon when going out has not been possible, Dad loves that.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Nicola C (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Monday 8 June 2020. Review relates to June 2020.

My husband has been a resident at Fernhill for two years. From the moment he arrived there he has been treated with utmost kindness and dignity. All the staff greet every resident by name and with smiles. The personal care given is exemplary. Their health is looked after by a fully qualified nursing team. The meals are very good, with a choice of menu and suitable for their needs. There is a variety of activities on offer and something happening every day. The home is kept very clean. The gardens are beautifully kept. Recently a lovely roof garden has been added. Most importantly the families of the residents are kept well informed and are welcomed when visiting. It is so hard to realise that you are unable to care for the one you love. At Fernhill, I have found a place where I know he will be safe and cared for.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Niki S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 20 May 2020. Review relates to May 2020.

My late father was a resident at Fernhill for two years until he passed away peacefully at the end of March. I can not recommend Fernhill highly enough for the level of care and attention that was given to both my father and my family over the past few years. Everyone, from the people who clean to the people who cook and serve, the smiling girls on reception, the hardworking nurses, the incredible carers and the outstanding management team is at the top of their game. This is an outstanding home at every level and my Dad was loved, cared for and respected during his time there. I visited every two months with my daughter from Italy where we live and we stayed every time in the suite. We were treated like family every time we came and I will greatly miss our visits there. I know they have had no Covid cases at all because of strict measures so please do not worry about leaving your loved ones there. They will indeed continue to be loved and cared for and you will have peace of mind.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jane L (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 8 May 2020. Review relates to May 2020.

My mum is a resident at Fernhill and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Mum had been living in sheltered accommodation, but in February 2019 her Alzheimer's became dramatically worse. I had recently been seriously unwell and it was a very difficult time with difficult choices to make, but we were lucky enough to find Fernhill quite soon and, once we had met the staff, walked around and taken in the special atmosphere, I realised that it was a place where Mum would be cherished. Mum is now very happily settled there. The staff are so warm and kind to Mum and very informative to us, any issues are discussed and quickly dealt with. There are trips and also lots of activities which we join in if we are visiting at the time. There is a lovely little 'cafe' which has recently been extended that is lovely to go to for family time, and in November on Mum's birthday, we were able to have sole use of it for a family gathering which was wonderful.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Gemma N (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 6 March 2020. Review relates to February 2020.

My mother was at this care home for a number of years until she passed away in February. Throughout the whole time that she was a resident, I felt that she was cared for in the most dignified and professional manner and the kindness shown to her was wonderful. The staff did not just look after my mum amazingly, they also were exceptionally kind to us as a family. This truly is one of the best care homes.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sarah M (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 25 February 2020. Review relates to February 2020.

My mother was a resident for over three years and just passed away this week. Words cannot express the unbelievable kindness and genuine love and affection that the remarkable and dedicated staff at the home showed to my mother and to us in her final days. The most dreadful of times was made bearable for us (especially my dad) because of their professionalism and dedication. The dread and guilt felt by loved ones when they put a family member into residential care do not apply to this home - and a home it is. The facilities are incredible, immaculately clean and beautifully presented. It is, however, the staff that need to be most highly commended - from the trainee nurse to the manager - all of them, without exception, have created a magnificent and truly welcoming place for beloved family members to be touchingly cared for. Thank you so much to everyone at Fernhill for everything that you have done for my mum and for us.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M W (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 20 February 2020. Review relates to February 2020.

Delighted my friend has found a real home. I have never seen her so contented and trying to do things she has not been able to do for months. She is genuinely cared for and happy.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Elizabeth H (Sister-in-law of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 19 December 2019. Review relates to December 2019.

The home was clean and well furbished with a good attention to detail. The very caring staff are welcoming to visitors, lovely.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Michael F (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 5 November 2019. Review relates to October 2019.

My wife has been attending Fernhill Care Home for two days a week for more than two years to have daycare. In order for us to have building work on our property, my wife has attended for a ten-day period of respite. During all of this time, we have been extremely pleased with her treatment. The home itself is of the highest quality and with kind, caring and professional staff.

How likely would you be to recommend Fernhill? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Fernhill
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • Thank you so much for all the care that was given to Gail.  From the day that she moved into your care home she was treated with care, compassion and dignity.  With assistance, support and guidance given when required.  She was made to feel welcome and the staff spent time getting to know her, to learn who she was previous to her advancement of dementia as well as the person she had become. Thank you for all you did for her.
    Family of Resident at Fernhill

    25 August 2021
  • We thank you for all your generous and loving care of our mother.  Your kindness was second to none. We have never had to worry about any aspect of her care.  We felt she was in a safe place with staff who treated her well and showed her respect.  We always felt welcome as visitors and very much enjoyed the ambience of your home.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    09 August 2021
  • We thank you for all your generous and loving care of our mother, Sylvia.  Your kindness was second to none.  We have never had to worry about any aspect of her care.  We felt she was in a safe place with staff who treated her well and showed her respect.  We always felt welcome as visitors and very much enjoyed the ambience of your home. 
    Family of Resident at Fernhill

    09 August 2021
  • The staff at Fernhill are all very caring and professional, nothing is too much trouble.  They made our mother's birthday very special with a beautiful cake and a personal gift.  The standard of catering is that of a premium restaurant. The Fernhill Home is very welcoming and homely with beautifully kept gardens. Mum is so happy here and we feel lucky to have found such a lovely place for her to be.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    03 June 2021
  • The care home has provided my mother with amazing nursing and companionship support during this difficult year.  The home is a happy, relaxed place where all the staff are so kind and thoughtful.  It is lovely to be able to join my mum on trips out in the minibus and to sit outside with her in the beautiful gardens which I know she appreciates.  There are also lots of activities available which is great socialising.  It is so wonderful to be back visiting again this care home is all about the great people who work there.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    03 June 2021
  • Big thanks and debt of gratitude to all your staff that looked after mum during her stay with you.  I know you gave my mum the highest possible standard of care and I know she was very happy living there.  
    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    29 May 2021
  • Since my nan's arrival she seems very settled and the family can rest easy knowing my nan's care requirements are being very well tended to.  She has a wonderful large, light and airy room overlooking the well kept gardens.  The staff are truly amazing and make everyone smile, welcome and giggle like one big family.
    Granddaughter of Resident at Fernhill

    19 May 2021
  • We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks to Gina and all the exceptional staff at Fernhill Care Home.  Mum was cared for with endless patience, love, kindness, empathy and dignity, qualities they extended to us as a family too. In the time mum was at Fernhill the care was exceptional and mum felt she belonged there, an amazing achievement in itself. The team made mum's final days dignified, comfortable and as pain free as possible. They did all this, after enduring a year of enormous and exhausting pressure. 
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    11 May 2021
  • My welcome to Fernhill was warm and professional, the atmosphere relaxed and happy and what I saw of the home was so calm and ordered, fragrant, bright and cheerful. The staff we passed on the way all greeted me, smiling and Ann Marie was quite spectacular with Betty for the duration of my stay.  All the staff were so gentle, helpful and supportive. She was afforded great dignity and I was so glad of that.   A profound thank you to everyone involved in looking after my lovely Auntie with such kindness and special care since she joined you.  The affection staff seem to have for Betty and I am sure all other residents too is quite palpable.  It is obvious to me that she is in just the right environment for her needs.
    Niece of Resident at Fernhill

    13 April 2021
  • Please accept my most sincere thanks for all your hard work and dedication to keep not only my Mum but all residents safe and well over the past months. 
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    03 April 2021
  • Our heartfelt thanks to you all for the kindness, care and support that Mum received over the last 12 months.  Over this very difficult and challenging year it was very reassuring for us to know that Mum was in your care and in your very safe hands.  We are so very grateful for all the love and respect you showed Ros during her time at Fernhill.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    26 March 2021
  • I wanted to say thank you so much for all you do for Nan and it helps us so much to know that she is so well cared for.  You are all amazing.  Special mentions to Kate, Anne-Marie, Miezy and Chris who show such kindness to Nan and to all our family.
    Granddaughter of Resident at Fernhill

    25 March 2021
  • We would like to thank the whole team for the care shown to Mother all the time she was with you and to us while we were visiting and awaiting the end of her life here.  Every one of your staff showed exceptional kindness and gentleness and all our contacts with your home have been a very reassuring experience.
    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    18 March 2021
  • Thanks so much for the very kind letter you sent me regarding Mum.  I don't think that she could have received better care than that provided at Fernhill and I am sure that the rest of the family agree.
    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    11 March 2021
  • I am most grateful for all the warmth and kind attention I have received from you and other members of your staff.  I am glad that I decided to let John remain permanently with you after his periods of respite, as I know that he was content, happy and very well cared for in his last months.  Please pass on my gratitude to all those concerned with his care.  The work that you all do is exceptional.
    Wife of Resident at Fernhill

    06 March 2021
  • On behalf of SPRING, please accept our heartfelt thanks for choosing us as your fundraising charity in what was a challenging 2020.  Despite these difficult times you have raised a wonderful amount, which is so very much appreciated.   Without such incredible support from the local community we wouldn't be able to continue to offer the services that we do, so thank you so very much indeed.
    SPRING, a charity supported by Fernhill

    04 March 2021
  • Thank you to you and all the staff for your care, kindness and respect given to Ivor during his short time at Fernhill.  Special mention must be given to Rose and Georgia but everyone else from Adam the Chef to the cleaning staff are worthy of note.  
    Wife of Resident at Fernhill

    28 February 2021
  • Please accept my thanks for the kindness Dad was shown while at Fernhill. From, not just the carers and nurses but the reception staff, cleaning staff and yourselves.
    Residents at Fernhill

    05 February 2021
  • I would just like to take time out to pass on my sincere thanks to you and your wonderful team for taking excellent care of my dearest grandmother for the past 12 months throughout an incredibly challenging year for us all, especially the care sector. 
    Granddaughter of Resident at Fernhill

    23 December 2020
  • Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for all you do, particularly during this very difficult year.  You are all great and we appreciate your dedication to all the residents of Fernhill.
    Daughters of Resident at Fernhill

    22 December 2020
  • Thank you so much for everything you do and have done to keep such a beautiful home going especially during these awful times.  It is still such a very happy place to visit and I thank you for keeping Mum safe and well through these awful times.  You have a great team.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    21 December 2020
  • We want to give you our heartfelt thanks for all the time, patience and love you gave to Mum during her time at Fernhill.  We know in her final year that she was happy and well cared for.   
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill  

    25 October 2020
  • This is an excellent care home.  Mum is in her late 80's and has advanced dementia and lacks mobility.  She moved here at the beginning of April 2020.  Mum has been well looked after and the staff treat her with plenty of dignity and respect.  There are lots of different organised activities in the home.  The staff have managed to get Mum up and into her wheelchair most days.  In these Covid times, I have been able (with prior arrangement) to visit Mum in the reception area behind a Perspex screen and also been able to interact with her on numerous Skype calls with care staff in attendance.  There are regular newsletters and I've been able to join the relatives meetings on Zoom.  I've been impressed with the management and caring staff over the past 6 months, thank you.  Highly recommended.
    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    07 October 2020
  • The best decision we have ever made is to move my lovely Dad to this Nursing Home.  Dad has advanced dementia and is unable to do anything whatsoever for himself and is unable to talk.  However, we can see that he is immediately responsive to care staff, smiling and chuckling.  It is plain for all to see that Dad is very happy and very well cared for both physically and mentally at this lovely Nursing Home.  The food too is delicious and the home is beautiful.  There is always something going on, so plenty of stimulation.  Importantly and reassuringly, if there is the slightest hiccup with Dad's health then a member of the team calls immediately to let us know and discuss a way forward.  Staff are highly professional, extremely experienced and readily available to chat at any time.  We are very, very grateful for all the care Dad is receiving and this Nursing Home definitely deserves the CQC rating of Outstanding because it truly is outstanding.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    06 October 2020
  • Thank you to all the nursing staff, carers and everyone who looked after mum.  She was very content during the time she was with you and we were glad to know she was happy and safe.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    27 September 2020
  • Many thanks again to you and all the staff in Cedar for the fantastic care given to Mum. I know she was very happy there, which is a great comfort to us.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    20 August 2020
  • Just a note to thank you for all the care, kindness and support you have given Mum since she joined Fernhill. It has been greatly appreciated. Thanks again.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    30 July 2020
  • Just a HUGE thank you for being so wonderful. You've been amazing and we are so happy that Dad is coming to live with you and I'm sure Dad is too!
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    21 July 2020
  • Just to say a massive "Thank You" to each and every one of you for looking after and keeping mum safe during what must have been very challenging times for you all, so very well done. As always you do it with care and passion for all your residents and also making the relatives feel very reassured. There is no way I could ever have chosen a better home than Fernhill. The staff, cleanliness and food are all excellent. You should all feel very proud of what you do and achieve. I've not seen mum look so well for a long time and she is also much happier. Thank you all.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    21 July 2020
  • Many thanks for sending this photo through. Nice to see Mum smiling.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    07 July 2020
  • Aww that’s fab for Saturday, thank so much Kate, I miss Mum so much. Through the good & bad day’s it makes it worth while to see Mum so happy.

    Family of Resident at Fernhill

    02 July 2020
  • Really excellent care home. Moved mum here a year ago as it was thought she would benefit from a home that specialises in dementia care. The standard of care and facilities has been first class and the staff deserve a special mention as they do an absolutely fantastic job. It is really good to know that in the current situation that loved ones are in the best/safest possible place with the highest standard of care. The ability to have facilitated skype calls during the lockdown has been absolutely brilliant and the home has always seemed to be well ahead of the curve in implementing any measures to keep residents safe. Facilities are all excellent with nice gardens, a cafe, a new roof garden and minibus trips out etc. Highly recommended.

    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    24 June 2020
  • My mother has been a resident here for the last 3 years. From day one they have made her life much more comfortable and safe. This is an expertly run care home - it's purpose-built building to the highest standards. There is an exceptional range of activities that are organised for the residents and published in the calendar - relatives are strongly encouraged to attend these. Also worth noting that day trips our (prior to COVID) are arranged - they have their own minibus, plus hairdresser and chef! Best of all is the team that runs this place - that makes all the difference to the quality of life for the residents - they are all truly amazing and dedicated people - thank you so much for caring for my mum.

    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    22 June 2020
  • My Dad went to stay at Fernhill in Nov 2018. We were so fortunate in finding such a lovely home. All the staff are so caring. Dad is looked after extremely well, both physically and the companionship which is so important. He loves the food which is always of a high quality. The home provides many opportunities for residents to enjoy interests such as music and art and also activities to encourage movement, games and to celebrate special days such as Xmas, Easter, sporting events, VE Day to mention just a few. I am confident that Dad is in a safe home in these difficult times which is such a comfort for me. The management and staff are always supportive to the residents and their families. Seeing Dad on Skype in these COVID times is such a plus, he looks so well. The roof garden completed late last year has been such a boon when going out has not been possible, Dad loves that. Overall Standard

    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    22 June 2020
  • We see from the newsletters that Fernhill is managing Covid very well and we understand zero infections to date. Brilliant news that must reflect so well on you and all the team and is very reassuring for us. It is difficult not being able to visit but at least we know Mum is safe and well looked after. We do enjoy seeing the photos of the Cedar residents.

    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    18 June 2020
  • “Yesterday I had a wonderful long- awaited visit to see mum, who looked happy and contented. It was a unique experience sitting behind the glass screen but mum wasn’t fazed at all! We filled those 30 minutes chatting and smiling at each other. I left with a feeling of warmth in my heart which will keep me going until my next visit. Thank you for the love and kindness you always give to mum especially in these difficult times. You’re an amazing team.”

    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    15 June 2020
  • My husband has been a resident at Fernhill for two years. From the moment he arrived there he has been treated with utmost kindness and dignity. All the staff greet every resident by name and with smiles. The personal care given is exemplary. Their health is looked after by a fully qualified nursing team. The meals are very good, with a choice of menu and suitable for their needs. There is a variety of activities on offer and something happening every day. The home is kept very clean. The gardens are beautifully kept. Recently a lovely roof garden has been added. Most importantly the families of the residents are kept well informed and are welcomed when visiting. It is so hard to realise that you are unable to care for the one you love. At Fernhill, I have found a place where I know he will be safe and cared for.

    Wife of Resident at Fernhill

    10 June 2020
  • It was with great pleasure that I received from you personally, the gift box of treasures, especially the CD of the Fernhill choir – beautiful. I fully appreciate the fact that you all have kept my husband safe and well during this COVID-19 horror while he is in respite with you at Fernhill.
    Wife of Respite Resident at Fernhill

    02 June 2020
  • To all care staff, nurses & Reception. A small gift with a great big “Thank you” for being there for Mum especially during these times. Much love & appreciation
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    01 June 2020
  • We appreciated the way you all work together and showed your love and care. We felt comfortable that mum was in safe hands and we also appreciated being able to say goodbye to her. Though we did know you all treated her with love and respect throughout her stay with you. Particularly at this strange and challenging time for everyone you still are going the extra mile.
    Family of Resident at Fernhill

    01 June 2020
  • What a lovely photo. Thank you so much, thank you to all of you for looking after the families as well as the residents. It means such a lot.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    01 June 2020
  • Thank you for your condolences. I just wanted it clear how much we appreciated the whole team and I realise I missed a very important person, Your lovely hairdresser. She does such a lot to raise morale with ensuring the residents look their best. I apologize if I have missed anyone else. Please be assured we valued the whole team.
    Daughter of Ex Resident at Fernhill

    01 June 2020
  • It hard to put into words my appreciation for the work Fernhill is doing during this pandemic. I tell everyone how proud I am that Dad is in a safe and happy place, particularly since the dangers in care homes have been highlighted in the news. I know that Mr Aitchison was very much ahead of the curve from the start and Colten Care’s efforts are paying off in actual saved lives.
    Daughter of Ex Resident at Fernhill

    01 June 2020
  • I was blown away by the care given to home during his last few days. A huge thank you to everyone for all that they did. The choir who sang to him, the gardener (with her flute – amazing!), the driver who volunteered to sit with him, to everyone who took the time out to spend time with him and make sure he know he was much loved and cared for and make his last days so special. I will be forever grateful.
    Niece of Ex Resident at Fernhill

    01 June 2020
  • My late father was a resident at Fernhill. I can not recommend Fernhill highly enough for the level of care and attention that was given to both my father and my family over the past few years. Everyone, from the people who clean to the chefs, the smiling girls on reception, the hardworking nurses the incredible carers and the outstanding management team is at the top of their game.
    Daughter of Ex Resident at Fernhill

    01 June 2020
  • My mum is a resident at Fernhill and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Once we had met the staff, walked around, and taken in the special atmosphere, I realised that it was a place where Mum would be cherished. There are trips and lots of activities which we join in if we are visiting at the time. There is a lovely little ‘café’, we were able to have sole use of it for a family gathering which was wonderful.
    Daughter of Ex Resident at Fernhill

    01 June 2020
  • Fernhill is a wonderful care home, with excellent facilities, beautiful gardens and outdoor space which mum really appreciates. It is good to be able to join in with the social activities and to accompany trips out in the minibus. The whole atmosphere in the home is happy and relaxed with a very professional medical team at hand. At this very challenging time in our lives, it is such a relief to know mum is in such a safe environment receiving the best care possible.
    Daughter of Ex Resident at Fernhill

    01 June 2020
  • Thank you for a lovely card and really warm welcome from everyone. It is a pleasure to join such a lovely team.
    Staff member at Fernhill

    28 May 2020
  • As you know I am so thankful that we found Fernhill, you have all been absolutely wonderful and I cannot thank you all enough especially at this difficult time. Its been hard not visiting but I speak to Mum often and know that she is being so well looked after which means the world.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    28 May 2020
  • Thank you for the photos of Dad, so lovely to see him, we do miss him and I miss my visits to the home and seeing everybody. I hope you are keeping safe and well, it seems a long time before I am able to visit. Love to you all.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

     


    28 May 2020