Reviews and Testimonials

9.9

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 15 reviews

Review submitted by Anne B (Next of Kin) on Saturday 28 May 2022. Review relates to May 2022.

My uncle arrived at Fernhill Care Home in April from another care home where he was quite unhappy. The care he has received at Fernhill has been outstanding and the friendliness, attention to detail and professionalism shown by the staff is wonderful. His lovely room is kept spotlessly clean by the very friendly housekeeper and everyone works hard to help him to join in with activities. He particularly loves the beautiful garden and is much calmer and happier now. We have been very impressed with the flexible visiting arrangements and the helpfulness of all the staff at every level. They have always made time to listen and respond to my queries. My professional background includes working in dementia services and it is lovely to see how well all the staff understand the needs of people with dementia while treating each person as a unique individual. We are completely satisfied with our choice of Fernhill and would have no hesitation in recommending it for short or long-term care.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S P (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 25 May 2022. Review relates to May 2022.

My father, and us, his family, have been very warmly welcomed into Fernhill. We cannot speak highly enough of the care, support, energy and compassion shown by all members of the team. Staff are always there to answer questions, and their dementia training is evident in how they care for residents. A big thank you!

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Karen B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 11 March 2022. Review relates to January 2022.

My mother needed urgent support and the staff stepped in and looked after her wonderfully and in turn helped me. I can’t praise the home and the staff enough for the caring and professional care they provide. Physically and mentally my mother is the best she has been for years. Every need of hers has been met in such an exceptional way, from her meals to the cleanliness of her room to the speediness and thoroughness of her medical needs. I would highly recommend Fernhill for respite or long term care. I have huge respect for the staff there and all they do to ensure your loved one is safe and cared for in all ways. Thank you

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M C (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 22 February 2022. Review relates to February 2022.

In August '21 after a difficult year and after much soul-searching the family took the decision to move our very elderly father into a care home, and for a number of reasons we chose Fernhill. We are delighted to say we are very pleased with our choice and have absolutely no regrets. It has been like a new lease of life for him. The home lives and breathes care of the highest quality and we have nothing but praise for the wonderful caring staff. We really like the general ambience of the home, and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The wellbeing of the resident is very much at the forefront of everything they do whether it's just talking to them, involving them in activities, taking them on trips, providing companionship or even simply putting an arm around them and making them feel wanted, and cared for. Our father seems very content and happy which is all we could have hoped for at his time of life.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by K G (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 15 October 2021. Review relates to October 2021.

My mother has been a resident here for over a year. I am very happy with her care. All of the staff/careers, nurses and admin staff work so hard to make and succeed in improving my mum's life. They have treated her with great care and support. They have also helped myself to come to terms with my mum's Alzheimer's.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by T D (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 15 October 2021. Review relates to October 2021.

We feel very lucky to have found such a lovely care home for our mother. The staff here are all excellent and really go out of their way to help mum in every way they can. The staff are so genuine and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. We feel very happy with the difficult choice we had to make, in deciding that mum needed extra help that we couldn't provide.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by C D (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 15 October 2021. Review relates to October 2021.

Staff are very caring and attentive, and they hosted a lovely party today and went to a lot of effort. Special mention to the chefs who ensure mum has vegetarian food.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by A C (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 22 September 2021. Review relates to August 2021.

Following extensive research, we moved our father to Fernhill from another provider. Fernhill had the specialised care and environment to meet his dementia needs. Fernhill staff also went above and beyond to enable him to attend his granddaughter's wedding. Staff are approachable and the care is obvious. He has settled in well and we are confident we have made the right choice for him.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Satisfactory
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Claire S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 10 September 2021. Review relates to August 2021.

My mother moved into Fernhill in June 2021 when we could no longer provide the care she required. The staff there helped her to settle in very quickly and they were very supportive to both her and her family. Her health declined very quickly and we sadly lost her at the beginning of August 2021. All the staff during the final week were so supportive to us and the caring and compassion they gave to my mother was excellent.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Don't Know
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by James L (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 30 June 2021. Review relates to June 2021.

Very efficient and caring people.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by N S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 21 May 2021. Review relates to May 2021.

The care home has provided my mother with amazing nursing and companionship support during this difficult year. The home is a happy, relaxed place where all the staff are so kind and thoughtful. It is lovely to be able to join my mum on trips out in the mini-bus and to sit outside with her in the beautiful gardens which I know she appreciates. There are also lots of activities available which is great for socialising. It is so wonderful to be back visiting again - this care home is all about the great people who work there.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Hazel G (Granddaughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 7 May 2021. Review relates to May 2021.

Since my nan's arrival, she seems very settled - and the family can rest easy knowing my nan's care requirements are being very well tended to. She has a wonderful large, light and airy room overlooking the well-kept gardens. The staff are truly amazing and make everyone smile, welcome and giggle like one big family.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Mike H (Son of Resident/Service User) on Friday 9 October 2020. Review relates to September 2020.

A wonderful caring team of people that take the time to make life that much better for my mother.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Tony C (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 6 October 2020. Review relates to October 2020.

This is an excellent care home. Mum is in her late 80's and has advanced dementia and lacks mobility. She moved here at the beginning of April 2020. Mum has been well looked after, and the staff treat her with plenty of dignity and respect. There are lots of different organised activities in the home. The staff have managed to get Mum up and into her wheelchair most days. In these Covid times, I have been able (with prior arrangement) to visit Mum in the reception area behind a perspex screen and also been able to interact with her on numerous Skype calls with care staff in attendance. There are regular newsletters, and I've been able to join the relatives meeting on Zoom video conferencing. I've been impressed with the management and caring staff over the past 6-months - thank you. Highly recommended.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jo B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 1 October 2020. Review relates to July 2020.

The best decision we have ever made is to move my lovely Dad to this Nursing Home. Dad has advanced dementia, and is unable to do anything whatsoever for himself, and is unable to talk. However, we can see that he is immediately responsive to care staff, smiling and chuckling. It is plain for all to see that Dad is very happy and very well cared for both physically and mentally at this lovely Nursing Home. The food too is delicious. And the home is beautiful. And there is always something going on - so plenty of stimulation. And, importantly and reassuringly, if there is the slightest hiccup with Dad's health, then a Member of the Fernhill Team calls immediately to let us know and discuss a way forward. Staff are highly professional, extremely experienced, and readily available to chat at any time. We are very, very, grateful for all the care Dad is receiving and this Nursing Home definitely deserves the CQC rating of Outstanding - because it truly is outstanding.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Fernhill
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • My father and us, his family, have been very warmly welcomed into Fernhill.  We cannot speak highly enough of the care, support, energy and compassion shown by all members of the team.  Staff are always there to answer questions and their dementia training is evident in how they care for residents.  A big thank you.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    09 June 2022
  • Thank you to the wonderful Nursing Team for all the fantastic support given to me and the care, kindness and respect shown to my Dad in his brief but wonderful stay in your home.  He was at last able to have peace he so deserved on his journey through his dementia. I will always be so grateful for his stay which has helped me face up to some of my grief without anger. Many thanks.
    Family of Resident at Fernhill

    01 June 2022
  • My mother needed urgent support and the staff stepped in and looked after her wonderfully and in turn helped me.  I can't praise the home and the staff enough for the caring and professional care they provide.  Physically and mentally my mother is the best she has been for years.  Every need of hers has been met in such an exceptional way, from her meals to the cleanliness of her room to the speediness and thoroughness of her medical needs.  I would highly recommend Fernhill for respite or long term care.  I have huge respect for the staff there and all they do to ensure your loved one is safe and cared for in all ways. Thank you.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    14 March 2022
  • After a difficult year and much soul searching the family took the decision to move our father into a care home.  We are very pleased with our choice and have absolutely no regrets with choosing Fernhill.  It has been like a new lease of life for our father. The home lives and breathes care of the highest quality and we have nothing but praise for the wonderful caring staff.  We really like the general ambience of the home and nothing seems to be too much trouble.  The wellbeing of the resident is very much at the forefront of everything they do whether it's just talking to them, involving them in activities, taking them on trips, providing companionship or even simply putting an arm around them and making them feel wanted and cared for.  Our father seems very content and happy, which is all we could have hoped for at his time of life.
    Son of Resident at Fernhill 

    28 February 2022
  • I must say on behalf of all my family, a huge thank you to you and all your staff for the marvellous work you all do.  We have our dear sister at your lovely Fernhill home and we know she is safe, comfortable and well looked after.  Even when we have been unable to visit her due to Covid we were assured of your constant, vigilant care and attention.  We thank you so much from the bottom of our hearts.  You do amazing work.
    Sister of Resident at Fernhill 

    02 February 2022
  • Thank you to all the team at Fernhill for the fantastic care they have given to my Dad and also for the wonderful support they provided for my Step-mum.
    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    26 January 2022
  • I just wanted to take the time to voice our heartfelt thanks and appreciation for the wonderful care that you all give Mum.  It has been another really tough year, yet you coped marvellously and did your utmost to ensure that Mum was happy, safe and well cared for at all times. We are all so grateful. 
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    06 December 2021
  • Thank you so much for all the loving care you have given Violet over the last two years.  For treating her with the respect and dignity that she deserved.  All the team at Fernhill have ensured that Violet's final years have been in a safe, comfortable and happy environment.  Thank you all for your patience and dedication in such challenging times. I appreciate the kindness and support you have given me during Violet's stay. With much love and gratitude.
    Family of Resident at Fernhill

    17 November 2021
  • It was a true blessing to find you and Fernhill back in January 2018.  The daily love, kindness and excellent care mum is shown has given her such happiness and purpose to her life.  We cannot thank you enough.
    Daughters of Resident at Fernhill

    10 November 2021
  • My mother has been a resident here for over a year.  I am very happy with her care. All of the staff/carers, nurses and admin staff work so hard to make and succeed in improving my mum's life.  They have treated her with great care and support. 
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    18 October 2021
  • We feel very lucky to have found such a lovely care home for our mother.  The staff here are all excellent and really go out of their way to help mum in every way they can.  The staff are so genuine and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.  We feel very happy with the difficult choice we had to make, in deciding that mum needed extra help that we couldn't provide. 
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhil

    18 October 2021
  • Following extensive research, we moved our father to Fernhill from another provider.  Fernhill had the specialised care and environment to meet his dementia needs. Fernhill staff also went above and beyond to enable him to attend his granddaughter's wedding.  Staff are approachable and the care is obvious.  He has settled in well and we are confident we have made the right choice for him.
    Son of Resident at Fernhill 

    06 October 2021
  • Thank you so much for all the care that was given to Gail.  From the day that she moved into your care home she was treated with care, compassion and dignity.  With assistance, support and guidance given when required.  She was made to feel welcome and the staff spent time getting to know her, to learn who she was previous to her advancement of dementia as well as the person she had become. Thank you for all you did for her.
    Family of Resident at Fernhill

    25 August 2021
  • We thank you for all your generous and loving care of our mother.  Your kindness was second to none. We have never had to worry about any aspect of her care.  We felt she was in a safe place with staff who treated her well and showed her respect.  We always felt welcome as visitors and very much enjoyed the ambience of your home.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    09 August 2021
  • We thank you for all your generous and loving care of our mother, Sylvia.  Your kindness was second to none.  We have never had to worry about any aspect of her care.  We felt she was in a safe place with staff who treated her well and showed her respect.  We always felt welcome as visitors and very much enjoyed the ambience of your home. 
    Family of Resident at Fernhill

    09 August 2021
  • The staff at Fernhill are all very caring and professional, nothing is too much trouble.  They made our mother's birthday very special with a beautiful cake and a personal gift.  The standard of catering is that of a premium restaurant. The Fernhill Home is very welcoming and homely with beautifully kept gardens. Mum is so happy here and we feel lucky to have found such a lovely place for her to be.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    03 June 2021
  • The care home has provided my mother with amazing nursing and companionship support during this difficult year.  The home is a happy, relaxed place where all the staff are so kind and thoughtful.  It is lovely to be able to join my mum on trips out in the minibus and to sit outside with her in the beautiful gardens which I know she appreciates.  There are also lots of activities available which is great socialising.  It is so wonderful to be back visiting again this care home is all about the great people who work there.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    03 June 2021
  • Big thanks and debt of gratitude to all your staff that looked after mum during her stay with you.  I know you gave my mum the highest possible standard of care and I know she was very happy living there.  
    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    29 May 2021
  • Since my nan's arrival she seems very settled and the family can rest easy knowing my nan's care requirements are being very well tended to.  She has a wonderful large, light and airy room overlooking the well kept gardens.  The staff are truly amazing and make everyone smile, welcome and giggle like one big family.
    Granddaughter of Resident at Fernhill

    19 May 2021
  • We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks to Gina and all the exceptional staff at Fernhill Care Home.  Mum was cared for with endless patience, love, kindness, empathy and dignity, qualities they extended to us as a family too. In the time mum was at Fernhill the care was exceptional and mum felt she belonged there, an amazing achievement in itself. The team made mum's final days dignified, comfortable and as pain free as possible. They did all this, after enduring a year of enormous and exhausting pressure. 
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    11 May 2021
  • My welcome to Fernhill was warm and professional, the atmosphere relaxed and happy and what I saw of the home was so calm and ordered, fragrant, bright and cheerful. The staff we passed on the way all greeted me, smiling and Ann Marie was quite spectacular with Betty for the duration of my stay.  All the staff were so gentle, helpful and supportive. She was afforded great dignity and I was so glad of that.   A profound thank you to everyone involved in looking after my lovely Auntie with such kindness and special care since she joined you.  The affection staff seem to have for Betty and I am sure all other residents too is quite palpable.  It is obvious to me that she is in just the right environment for her needs.
    Niece of Resident at Fernhill

    13 April 2021
  • Please accept my most sincere thanks for all your hard work and dedication to keep not only my Mum but all residents safe and well over the past months. 
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    03 April 2021
  • Our heartfelt thanks to you all for the kindness, care and support that Mum received over the last 12 months.  Over this very difficult and challenging year it was very reassuring for us to know that Mum was in your care and in your very safe hands.  We are so very grateful for all the love and respect you showed Ros during her time at Fernhill.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    26 March 2021
  • I wanted to say thank you so much for all you do for Nan and it helps us so much to know that she is so well cared for.  You are all amazing.  Special mentions to Kate, Anne-Marie, Miezy and Chris who show such kindness to Nan and to all our family.
    Granddaughter of Resident at Fernhill

    25 March 2021
  • We would like to thank the whole team for the care shown to Mother all the time she was with you and to us while we were visiting and awaiting the end of her life here.  Every one of your staff showed exceptional kindness and gentleness and all our contacts with your home have been a very reassuring experience.
    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    18 March 2021
  • Thanks so much for the very kind letter you sent me regarding Mum.  I don't think that she could have received better care than that provided at Fernhill and I am sure that the rest of the family agree.
    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    11 March 2021
  • I am most grateful for all the warmth and kind attention I have received from you and other members of your staff.  I am glad that I decided to let John remain permanently with you after his periods of respite, as I know that he was content, happy and very well cared for in his last months.  Please pass on my gratitude to all those concerned with his care.  The work that you all do is exceptional.
    Wife of Resident at Fernhill

    06 March 2021
  • On behalf of SPRING, please accept our heartfelt thanks for choosing us as your fundraising charity in what was a challenging 2020.  Despite these difficult times you have raised a wonderful amount, which is so very much appreciated.   Without such incredible support from the local community we wouldn't be able to continue to offer the services that we do, so thank you so very much indeed.
    SPRING, a charity supported by Fernhill

    04 March 2021
  • Thank you to you and all the staff for your care, kindness and respect given to Ivor during his short time at Fernhill.  Special mention must be given to Rose and Georgia but everyone else from Adam the Chef to the cleaning staff are worthy of note.  
    Wife of Resident at Fernhill

    28 February 2021
  • Please accept my thanks for the kindness Dad was shown while at Fernhill. From, not just the carers and nurses but the reception staff, cleaning staff and yourselves.
    Residents at Fernhill

    05 February 2021
  • I would just like to take time out to pass on my sincere thanks to you and your wonderful team for taking excellent care of my dearest grandmother for the past 12 months throughout an incredibly challenging year for us all, especially the care sector. 
    Granddaughter of Resident at Fernhill

    23 December 2020
  • Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for all you do, particularly during this very difficult year.  You are all great and we appreciate your dedication to all the residents of Fernhill.
    Daughters of Resident at Fernhill

    22 December 2020
  • Thank you so much for everything you do and have done to keep such a beautiful home going especially during these awful times.  It is still such a very happy place to visit and I thank you for keeping Mum safe and well through these awful times.  You have a great team.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    21 December 2020
  • We want to give you our heartfelt thanks for all the time, patience and love you gave to Mum during her time at Fernhill.  We know in her final year that she was happy and well cared for.   
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill  

    25 October 2020
  • This is an excellent care home.  Mum is in her late 80's and has advanced dementia and lacks mobility.  She moved here at the beginning of April 2020.  Mum has been well looked after and the staff treat her with plenty of dignity and respect.  There are lots of different organised activities in the home.  The staff have managed to get Mum up and into her wheelchair most days.  In these Covid times, I have been able (with prior arrangement) to visit Mum in the reception area behind a Perspex screen and also been able to interact with her on numerous Skype calls with care staff in attendance.  There are regular newsletters and I've been able to join the relatives meetings on Zoom.  I've been impressed with the management and caring staff over the past 6 months, thank you.  Highly recommended.
    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    07 October 2020
  • The best decision we have ever made is to move my lovely Dad to this Nursing Home.  Dad has advanced dementia and is unable to do anything whatsoever for himself and is unable to talk.  However, we can see that he is immediately responsive to care staff, smiling and chuckling.  It is plain for all to see that Dad is very happy and very well cared for both physically and mentally at this lovely Nursing Home.  The food too is delicious and the home is beautiful.  There is always something going on, so plenty of stimulation.  Importantly and reassuringly, if there is the slightest hiccup with Dad's health then a member of the team calls immediately to let us know and discuss a way forward.  Staff are highly professional, extremely experienced and readily available to chat at any time.  We are very, very grateful for all the care Dad is receiving and this Nursing Home definitely deserves the CQC rating of Outstanding because it truly is outstanding.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    06 October 2020
  • Thank you to all the nursing staff, carers and everyone who looked after mum.  She was very content during the time she was with you and we were glad to know she was happy and safe.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    27 September 2020
  • Many thanks again to you and all the staff in Cedar for the fantastic care given to Mum. I know she was very happy there, which is a great comfort to us.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    20 August 2020
  • Just a note to thank you for all the care, kindness and support you have given Mum since she joined Fernhill. It has been greatly appreciated. Thanks again.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    30 July 2020
  • Just a HUGE thank you for being so wonderful. You've been amazing and we are so happy that Dad is coming to live with you and I'm sure Dad is too!
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    21 July 2020
  • Just to say a massive "Thank You" to each and every one of you for looking after and keeping mum safe during what must have been very challenging times for you all, so very well done. As always you do it with care and passion for all your residents and also making the relatives feel very reassured. There is no way I could ever have chosen a better home than Fernhill. The staff, cleanliness and food are all excellent. You should all feel very proud of what you do and achieve. I've not seen mum look so well for a long time and she is also much happier. Thank you all.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    21 July 2020
  • Many thanks for sending this photo through. Nice to see Mum smiling.
    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    07 July 2020
  • Aww that’s fab for Saturday, thank so much Kate, I miss Mum so much. Through the good & bad day’s it makes it worth while to see Mum so happy.

    Family of Resident at Fernhill

    02 July 2020
  • Really excellent care home. Moved mum here a year ago as it was thought she would benefit from a home that specialises in dementia care. The standard of care and facilities has been first class and the staff deserve a special mention as they do an absolutely fantastic job. It is really good to know that in the current situation that loved ones are in the best/safest possible place with the highest standard of care. The ability to have facilitated skype calls during the lockdown has been absolutely brilliant and the home has always seemed to be well ahead of the curve in implementing any measures to keep residents safe. Facilities are all excellent with nice gardens, a cafe, a new roof garden and minibus trips out etc. Highly recommended.

    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    24 June 2020
  • My mother has been a resident here for the last 3 years. From day one they have made her life much more comfortable and safe. This is an expertly run care home - it's purpose-built building to the highest standards. There is an exceptional range of activities that are organised for the residents and published in the calendar - relatives are strongly encouraged to attend these. Also worth noting that day trips our (prior to COVID) are arranged - they have their own minibus, plus hairdresser and chef! Best of all is the team that runs this place - that makes all the difference to the quality of life for the residents - they are all truly amazing and dedicated people - thank you so much for caring for my mum.

    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    22 June 2020
  • My Dad went to stay at Fernhill in Nov 2018. We were so fortunate in finding such a lovely home. All the staff are so caring. Dad is looked after extremely well, both physically and the companionship which is so important. He loves the food which is always of a high quality. The home provides many opportunities for residents to enjoy interests such as music and art and also activities to encourage movement, games and to celebrate special days such as Xmas, Easter, sporting events, VE Day to mention just a few. I am confident that Dad is in a safe home in these difficult times which is such a comfort for me. The management and staff are always supportive to the residents and their families. Seeing Dad on Skype in these COVID times is such a plus, he looks so well. The roof garden completed late last year has been such a boon when going out has not been possible, Dad loves that. Overall Standard

    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    22 June 2020
  • We see from the newsletters that Fernhill is managing Covid very well and we understand zero infections to date. Brilliant news that must reflect so well on you and all the team and is very reassuring for us. It is difficult not being able to visit but at least we know Mum is safe and well looked after. We do enjoy seeing the photos of the Cedar residents.

    Son of Resident at Fernhill

    18 June 2020
  • “Yesterday I had a wonderful long- awaited visit to see mum, who looked happy and contented. It was a unique experience sitting behind the glass screen but mum wasn’t fazed at all! We filled those 30 minutes chatting and smiling at each other. I left with a feeling of warmth in my heart which will keep me going until my next visit. Thank you for the love and kindness you always give to mum especially in these difficult times. You’re an amazing team.”

    Daughter of Resident at Fernhill

    15 June 2020
  • My husband has been a resident at Fernhill for two years. From the moment he arrived there he has been treated with utmost kindness and dignity. All the staff greet every resident by name and with smiles. The personal care given is exemplary. Their health is looked after by a fully qualified nursing team. The meals are very good, with a choice of menu and suitable for their needs. There is a variety of activities on offer and something happening every day. The home is kept very clean. The gardens are beautifully kept. Recently a lovely roof garden has been added. Most importantly the families of the residents are kept well informed and are welcomed when visiting. It is so hard to realise that you are unable to care for the one you love. At Fernhill, I have found a place where I know he will be safe and cared for.

    Wife of Resident at Fernhill

    10 June 2020
  • It was with great pleasure that I received from you personally, the gift box of treasures, especially the CD of the Fernhill choir – beautiful. I fully appreciate the fact that you all have kept my husband safe and well during this COVID-19 horror while he is in respite with you at Fernhill.
    Wife of Respite Resident at Fernhill

    02 June 2020