Reviews and Testimonials

9.9

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 117 reviews

Review submitted by P J (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 26 November 2019. Review relates to October 2019.

I would recommend to others.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Trevis J (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 21 November 2019. Review relates to November 2019.

My Wife was taken into Hospital in September 2019 as we were told that she needed an urgent operation, after one month they decided that they could not carry out the operation that was required. At that point she was in a very poor state and was admitted to Kingfishers, within four days she had picked up and was looking like her old self. The care that was given was outstanding and all members of staff could not do enough for her. My Wife was with Kingfishers for four weeks and they were all happy ones. She is now back home with me but in the future, if things get too much we would not hesitate to go back in Kingfishers.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Janet Y (Respite Resident/Service User) on Thursday 17 October 2019. Review relates to October 2019.

Staff are warm and friendly and very nice. The facilities are very good. I enjoyed my stay with you here very much.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by T B (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 1 October 2019. Review relates to September 2019.

The whole atmosphere at Kingfishers was of willingness to help, happiness and friendliness. All staff were competent and trained to the nth degree. They were exemplary in all that they did and should all be complimented on their professionalism. They were a pleasure to be helped by.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by L A (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 10 September 2019. Review relates to August 2019.

Very impressed with the level of care and attention to my mum during her respite care. I loved the way every single member of staff spoke to us as we walked around. My mum was very happy, engaged and stimulated. I could be her daughter again rather than a carer which took such a burden of me! Thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by T W (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 3 September 2019. Review relates to August 2019.

Very supportive and friendly. Management well-led. Excellent facilities. Enjoyable day trips. Very tasty food and drink.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S D (Respite Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 20 August 2019. Review relates to August 2019.

I have enjoyed convalescing at Kingfishers. I was discharged from hospital straight to the home. There was a warm welcome from reception and I was taken to my room and looked after by the staff. The home manager came to my room to welcome me and to see if I had everything I needed and reassured me.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Caroline R (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 13 August 2019. Review relates to August 2019.

I have been a resident for two very happy weeks. I have been glad to join in many activities and everyone has made me so welcome. This is a well-managed home. Highly recommend.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Margaret D (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 30 July 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

I love the staff and everyone is kind and nice.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sheila B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 16 July 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

It was a great comfort to all the family knowing that my father was cared for at Kingfishers for the last few months of his life. He was well fed he loved the food and his room was in a very nice position overlooking the beautiful garden. The staff looked after him exceptionally well and overall he was very contented and in a happy place.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M S (Resident / Service User) on Friday 12 July 2019. Review relates to July 2019.

All good. Better than expected.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Michael U (Respite Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 9 July 2019. Review relates to July 2019.

I stayed at Kingfishers for 2 weeks as a respite resident following hip replacement surgery. My stay was excellent - good food, extremely attentive and jovial staff and a true feeling of being wanted. Well done.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Fiona L (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 2 July 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

A lovely, caring home, staff are very kind and helpful and the garden is a delight.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Mary C (Resident / Service User) on Friday 28 June 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

The staff are all very good. My stay is very good and I'm very happy here.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by June P (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 27 June 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

I was taken by minibus to see my son in Uxbridge as a completely unexpected treat as he cannot get to see me as he is in a wheelchair and has MS. I was very well looked after and I thought it most generous of Kingfishers to organise such an outing.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Patricia J (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 11 June 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

My mother suffers from vascular dementia and has been a resident at Kingfishers since December 2016. The care, physical, emotional, practical, has been outstanding in every way. I cannot fault the establishment in any way from the nursing through activity and entertainment to the catering. My mother has been happy throughout her stay and the recent recognition of her increasing needs has been facilitated in the best possible way. Plus the communication with me is exemplary.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by R D (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 4 June 2019. Review relates to May 2019.

My mother has settled very comfortably into Kingfishers at New Milton. She is delighted with her room and, having spent her life as a nurse, is extremely impressed with the standard of care and concern for her welfare. Her overall feeling about Kingfishers and the staff is that she has made the right choice, at ninety-three, to be there. The only 'query' existing was a) whether it would be beneficial for residents to see a little more of the manager and b) whether knowing the residents by their Christian name would be a good thing.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Bunty P (Resident / Service User) on Friday 17 May 2019. Review relates to May 2019.

Saturday's BBQ and music and dancing was a great event. The weather was perfect and the staff involved deserve a very big 'thank you' for their efforts. What Kingfishers do, others follow!

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Bridget C (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 11 April 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

We had to find a care home for a very good friend. We were more than satisfied with everything that Kingfishers offer to our dear friend. She was always treated with love and respect from your highly qualified staff at all levels and they went over and above in supporting our friend at the final chapter of her life and for that, we are eternally grateful to all the staff thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sheila R (Resident / Service User) on Friday 8 March 2019. Review relates to March 2019.

I came for a two-week stay, I have now extended it for an extra six weeks with the view of staying permanently. Overall I'm happy with all staff and entertainment is varied.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Diana G (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 19 February 2019. Review relates to February 2019.

I wish to thank all the staff on the Lyndhurst Suite for the wonderful care they showed my husband during his long stay at Kingfishers 2 1/2 years. He was suffering with Parkinson's and Dementia and spent the last two months unable to do a thing for himself. The staff treated him with dignity and love. They did everything for him and made the last days of his life as bearable as was possible. They also showed extreme love and kindness to me and the family at this most harrowing of times. On behalf of my husband and daughters, we thank you all from the bottom of our heart. He is at peace now.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by H M (Resident / Service User) on Friday 8 February 2019. Review relates to February 2019.

The experience at Kingfishers is first class and would be hard to beat.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Edith A (Resident / Service User) on Monday 19 November 2018. Review relates to November 2018.

I am very happy. Proud to be involved in all activities. A whole new way of life has opened up for me.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by V C (Resident / Service User) on Monday 19 November 2018. Review relates to November 2018.

Recently I have been involved with a tea dance competition in Lymington. I am so proud to be a member of the winning team. I had lots of fun and felt as though I was part of the community. I am very happy to be at Kingfishers, as there is so much to look forward to as there is always something being organised for us to take part in.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Hayley H (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 26 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

I've been on a long journey with dementia and now I feel I've struck gold my husband deserves the best and boy is he going to have the time of his life. Kingfishers will allow both myself and husband to fulfil our lives without having to worry about a thing. I was disillusioned with care homes but not anymore as I feel I can trust the manager and her staff which means everything to both me and my husband.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Douglas S (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 26 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

I was very pleased with the way all staff welcome my friend to Kingfishers and I know his wife was very moved, the professional way the home is run. From management and all staff. His wife has cared for her husband for 10 years and now she can have her life back. Thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Elizabeth L (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 6 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

Fantastic care home. From the first visit, their visit to us to present day we have been so very happy. Communication fantastic, someone will always make time for you for questions and guidance. office staff so helpful, entertainment team so much energy and fun, the carers and nursing staff just fantastic. Event the domestic staff and hostesses so friendly and caring. A real credit to the home that all staff seem fully engaged with residents and take time to talk and interact with them. I'd like to give the nurses on level 2 a special mention. But everyone is great.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Don't Know
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Susan B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 4 September 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

Beautiful care home, excellent staff, food and care My mum enjoys being here and feels safe and looked after which gives me piece of mind The activities organisers are full of enthusiasm

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P A L W (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 22 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

Excellent, all. My 100th birthday was held here and the chef made a beautiful cake for me. My room was decorated beautifully and streamers and balloons, it was a happy day!

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by R K (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 15 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

Having arrived at Kingfishers with much apprehension, I was amazed by the warmth and kindness of my reception. Unfortunately, my stay is too short, but I do feel a little more able to cope with the daily running of our home. I feel more rested, especially my mind, and my body is strong by coming to terms with day to day living. Everyone has been so kind and helpful.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Margaret N (Resident / Service User) on Monday 6 August 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

Like all the activities that Kingfisher provides, the trips, the music, sitting in the gardens. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and they all know my name and helpful to my needs.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Satisfactory
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by L A A (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 25 July 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

My father moved here a year ago. His health has improved and he is very content. The staff are very supportive, competent and caring. He enjoys his trips out organised by the activities team and especially appreciated and was effusive about a recent boat trip from Hythe which was well organised and an excellent day out.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P S (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 20 June 2018. Review relates to June 2018.

It was an initial shock being here and I was very stressed and unhappy. However, the staff helped me to settle in. The food is sometimes not to my taste particularly the suppers which at times look unappetising and seems a strange choice. Having crossword puzzles delivered to our rooms each morning is a welcome extra.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Maria S (Mother of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 9 May 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

My son received 'end of life' care at Kingfishers from January to March 2018. The standard of care and support at Kingfishers is extremely high in every respect and met all of our needs at this very difficult time. Kingfishers is a beautiful environment with a luxury and homely feel and wonderful staff.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Michael T (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Monday 16 April 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

1) Parking is often a problem. Families, friends and older people who cannot walk well often have to park on the road. 2) some rooms/corridors need a paint soon.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P J (Resident / Service User) on Friday 23 March 2018. Review relates to February 2018.

Staff good. Music I enjoy a lot. Overall good.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Susan C (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 21 February 2018. Review relates to January 2018.

I always find my mother very well cared for. I am always welcomed into the home and invited to join in every activity. All the staff are so very caring and cheerful. I am completely confident that my mum has the best possible care and she is in a cheerful environment. It seems that there are interesting activities every day. There are many groups that come into the care home and import their knowledge and talents in a fun way.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sarah R (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 26 January 2018. Review relates to January 2018.

My dad had a fall which fractured his pelvis. He went to hospital by ambulance. The manager and all her team went way beyond hope and expectations in getting dad out of hospital and setting up the correct level of care, however, when discharged everything was completely ready. Clothes moved, pictures up and al personal items placed in a new room in identical places. Every staff member has been professional, caring and extremely kind. I truly believe that the manager and the team are way above outstanding!!

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P W (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 25 January 2018. Review relates to January 2018.

My stay here is made very happy by the staff here. I enjoy the musical events and sing-songs. The place is maintained very well by the staff and there are all amenities to hand.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Susan P (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 17 January 2018. Review relates to January 2018.

I needed temporary respite care following knee surgery. I could not have asked for more. The care has been first class in every way.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Maria N (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 15 January 2018. Review relates to December 2017.

I spend some considerable time at Kingfishers visiting my mother as often as I can and I am delighted with the care she receives. The staff are amazing whether nurses, care, assistants, activity coordinators, catering or reception staff. So friendly, caring and professional. The recent gala lunch was so enjoyable, the effort staff had gone to was very obvious. I feel Kingfishers is my own "home away from home" Thank you to you all.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P J (Resident / Service User) on Saturday 13 January 2018. Review relates to December 2017.

Staff are wonderful to everyone. Food is excellent like a first class hotel in Las Vegas.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Kingfishers
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • I have found that all your members of staff have been so kind. Kingfishers is an outstanding care home and Colten Care should be very proud of Kingfishers and all of its staff
    Husband of Respite Resident at Kingfishers

    20 November 2019
  • We are ever so grateful to the entire kingfishers staff for all they’ve done for our relative during her entire stay with you
    Family of Resident at Kingfishers

    13 November 2019
  • Staff are warm and friendly and very nice. The facilities are very good and  I enjoyed my stay with you here very much
    Respite Resident at Kingfishers

    18 October 2019
  • I felt very welcomed each time I visited Kingfishers and felt that all staff were very professional
    Senior Case Worker

    15 October 2019
  • The whole atmosphere at Kingfishers was of willingness to help, happiness and friendliness. All staff were competent and trained to the nth degree, they were exemplary in all that they did and should all be complimented on their professionalism


    Resident at Kingfishers

    03 October 2019
  • Thank you all so much for your amazing care and compassion in looking after Mum
    Relative of Resident at Kingfishers

    03 October 2019
  • I have enjoyed convalescing at Kingfishers, there was a warm welcome from reception and I was taken to my room and looked after by the staff
    Respite Resident at Kingfishers

    20 August 2019
  • I have been a resident for two very happy weeks, I have been glad to join in many activities and everyone has made me so welcome
    Resident at Kingfishers

    13 August 2019
  • I love the staff and everyone is kind and nice
    Resident at Kingfishers

    30 July 2019
  • With thanks for the care, attention and friendship given to my Mother during her time with you
    Son of Resident at Kingfishers

    22 July 2019
  • It was a great comfort to all the family knowing that my father was cared for at Kingfishers, he was well fed, he loved the food and his room was in a very nice position overlooking the beautiful garden. The staff looked after him exceptionally well and overall he was very contented and in a happy place
    Daughter of Resident at Kingfishers

    16 July 2019
  • Thank you very much for looking after my Father, the whole family are very grateful for all that you did for him
    Family of Resident at Kingfishers

    11 July 2019
  • My stay was excellent - good food, extremely attentive and jovial staff and a true feeling of being wanted
    Respite Resident at Kingfishers

    09 July 2019
  • We were are all comforted by the fact that our Father was so well looked after by all the staff at Kingfishers. It was such a relief to know that he was being supported 24 hours a day and he was very content with all aspects of his care and particularly he enjoyed his food there!
    Family of Resident at Kingfishers

    18 June 2019
  • The care, physical, emotional, practical, has been outstanding in every way. I cannot fault the establishment in any way from the nursing through activity and entertainment to the catering. My mother has been happy throughout her stay and the recent recognition of her increasing needs has been facilitated in the best possible way
    Daughter of Resident at Kingfishers

    11 June 2019
  • My mother has settled very comfortably into Kingfishers, is delighted with her room and, having spent her life as a nurse, is extremely impressed with the standard of care and concern for her welfare. Her overall feeling about Kingfishers and the staff is that she has made the right choice
    Son of Resident at Kingfishers

    04 June 2019
  • We just wanted to emphasise the care and support given by all your staff at Kingfishers, the care our friend received was second to none. The staff were always very happy and caring, they always had time to stop and chat even though they were busy
    Danny, friend of resident at Kingfishers

    30 May 2019
  • Thank you for your kindness and loving care you gave our dearest brother
    Sue, sister to resident at Kingfishers

    17 May 2019
  • The BBQ, music and dancing was a great event at Kingfishers. The weather was perfect and the staff involved deserve a very big 'thank you' for their efforts. What Kingfishers do, others follow!
    Bunty, resident at Kingfishers

    17 May 2019
  • Thank you all so very much for your wonderful care and kindness in looking after our dear friend. You have an amazing team working at Kingfishers and they all deserve a big thank you  
    Kathleen, friend of resident at Kingfishers

    12 April 2019
  • We would like to express our thanks and appreciation to all the staff associated with the care and well being of our relative 
    Angela, relative of resident at Kingfishers

    12 April 2019
  • We were more than satisfied with everything that Kingfishers offered to our dear friend. She was always treated with love and respect from your highly qualified staff at all levels and they went over and above in supporting our friend


    Bridget, friend of resident at Kingfishers

    11 April 2019
  • Thank you so much for the care and attention you showed to our relative during their time with you at Kingfishers
    Cheryl, relative of resident at Kingfishers

    05 April 2019
  • I would like to place on record our appreciation and thanks for the magnificent donation to our Cat & Kitten Rescue Centre, we are truly overwhelmed and humbled by everyone's generosity at Kingfishers
    Jon, Cat & Kitten Rescue

    22 March 2019
  • I came for a two-week stay, I have now extended it for an extra six weeks with the view of staying permanently! I'm happy with all the staff and the entertainment is varied
    Sheila, resident at Kingfishers

    08 March 2019
  • Thank you so much for the care and support you showed our Dad, he really couldn't have been in better hands
    Jane, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    24 February 2019
  • I wish to thank all the staff on the Lyndhurst Suite for the wonderful care they showed my husband during his long stay at Kingfishers, the staff treated him with dignity and love. They also showed extreme love and kindness to me and the family, we thank you all from the bottom of our heart
    Diana, wife of resident at Kingfishers

    19 February 2019
  • I wish to thank all the staff on the Lyndhurst Suite for the wonderful care they showed my husband, the staff treated him with dignity and love and also showed extreme love and kindness to me and the family. We thank you all from the bottom of our heart
    Diana, wife of resident at Kingfishers

    19 February 2019
  • The experience at Kingfishers is first class and would be hard to beat
    Resident at Kingfishers

    08 February 2019
  • Your kindness meant so very much, thanks for being so giving and caring, and helping me through a difficult time
    Jan, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    08 February 2019
  • Thank you for all your hard work in making Mum's 95th Birthday Party such a success!
    Christine, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    05 February 2019
  • Thank you for all the care, we feel we have our old relative back and he is clearly settled into Kingfishers
    Steve, relative of resident at Kingfishers

    04 February 2019
  • For all your wonderful care, compassion and kindness and making our dearest Aunt's time at Kingfishers as happy as possible
    Keith, nephew of resident at Kingfishers

    24 January 2019
  • Everybody is very helpful and caring and the activities - they think of everything, I enjoy them all!
    June, resident at Kingfishers

    18 December 2018
  • Recently I have been involved with a tea dance competition in Lymington, I am so proud to be a member of the winning team, I had lots of fun and felt as though I was part of the community. I am very happy to be at Kingfishers, as there is so much to look forward to as there is always something being organised for us to take part in
    Resident at Kingfishers

    19 November 2018
  • I am very happy and proud to be involved in all activities - a whole new way of life has opened up for me
    Edith, resident at Kingfishers

    19 November 2018
  • Our relative was loved and well looked after by yourselves and for that I will be ever grateful - our relative is now at peace, I just hope heaven is as nice as Kingfishers
    Hayley, relative of resident at Kingfishers

    15 November 2018
  • For making the Strictly Come Tea Dance such a success - it's all down to your hard work and dedication. The whole Colten Care Team made the whole event such a success, but of course the talents of the Kingfishers Car Wash Girls raising the trophy was so very special
    Bridgett, relative of resident at Kingfishers

    10 November 2018
  • Congratulations and well done to you all for all your hard work in involving the residents of Kingfishers and bringing home two trophies! I haven't seen my sister so happy for a long time - a whole new way of life has opened up to her
    Sheila, sisters of resident at Kingfishers

    10 November 2018
  • To each and every person who cared for and knew our relative at Kingfishers, we as a family thank you all so very much for all the love and kindness, we appreciated everything you did for him
    June, relative of resident at Kingfishers

    26 October 2018
  • Thank you all so much for the care and love you gave our Father, your kindness and time meant so much to him. Many will say that is what a home should do, but we knew from the time we visited Kingfishers that your staff give so much more than that, everyone who passed took time out to talk and interact and nothing was too much trouble
    Elizabeth, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    26 October 2018
  • I am finding all the staff extremely kind, consistent and caring in all ways
    Mary, resident at Kingfishers

    19 October 2018
  • A big thank you to everyone at Kingfishers for making my Aunt's 90th Birthday such a happy and special occasion
    Julie, niece of resident at Kingfishers

    11 October 2018
  • Just a note to thank you for being so happy and getting Mum involved with everything - keep smiling!
    Nikki, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    09 October 2018
  • I was very pleased with the way all staff welcomed my friend to Kingfishers and the professional way the home is run - from management and all staff
    Douglas, friend of resident at Kingfishers

    26 September 2018
  • I've been on a long journey with dementia and now I feel I've struck gold my husband deserves the best and boy is he going to have the time of his life. Kingfishers will allow both myself and husband to fulfil our lives without having to worry about a thing. I was
    disillusioned with care homes but not anymore as I feel I can trust the manager and her staff which means everything to both me and my husband
    Hayley, wife of resident at Kingfishers

    26 September 2018
  • Kingfishers is a fantastic care home - from the first visit, their visit to us, and to present day we have been so very happy. The Communication is fantastic, someone will always make time for you for questions and guidance. The entertainment team have so much energy and fun, the carers, nursing, domestic staff, hostesses just fantastic. A real credit to the home that all staff seem fully engaged with residents and take time to talk and interact with them
    Elizabeth, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    06 September 2018
  • A beautiful care home with excellent staff, food and care, the activity organisers are full of enthusiasm. My Mum enjoys being here and feels safe and looked after which gives me piece of mind
    Susan, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    04 September 2018
  • My 100th birthday was held here and the chef made a beautiful cake for me. My room was decorated beautifully and streamers and balloons, it was a happy day!
    Resident at Kingfishers

    22 August 2018
  • Having arrived at Kingfishers with much apprehension, I was amazed by the warmth and kindness of my reception. Unfortunately, my stay is too short, but I do feel a little more able to cope with the daily running of our home. I feel more rested, especially my mind, and my body is strong by coming to terms with day to day living. Everyone has been so kind and helpful
    Respite resident at Kingfishers

    15 August 2018