Reviews and Testimonials

9.8

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 99 reviews.

Review submitted by Edith A (Resident / Service User) on Monday 19 November 2018. Review relates to November 2018.

I am very happy. Proud to be involved in all activities. A whole new way of life has opened up for me.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by V C (Resident / Service User) on Monday 19 November 2018. Review relates to November 2018.

Recently I have been involved with a tea dance competition in Lymington. I am so proud to be a member of the winning team. I had lots of fun and felt as though I was part of the community. I am very happy to be at Kingfishers, as there is so much to look forward to as there is always something being organised for us to take part in.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Mary C (Resident / Service User) on Friday 19 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

I am finding all staff extremely kind, consistent and caring in all ways.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Hayley H (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 26 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

I've been on a long journey with dementia and now I feel I've struck gold my husband deserves the best and boy is he going to have the time of his life. Kingfishers will allow both myself and husband to fulfil our lives without having to worry about a thing. I was disillusioned with care homes but not anymore as I feel I can trust the manager and her staff which means everything to both me and my husband.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Douglas S (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 26 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

I was very pleased with the way all staff welcome my friend to Kingfishers and I know his wife was very moved, the professional way the home is run. From management and all staff. His wife has cared for her husband for 10 years and now she can have her life back. Thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Elizabeth L (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 6 September 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

Fantastic care home. From the first visit, their visit to us to present day we have been so very happy. Communication fantastic, someone will always make time for you for questions and guidance. office staff so helpful, entertainment team so much energy and fun, the carers and nursing staff just fantastic. Event the domestic staff and hostesses so friendly and caring. A real credit to the home that all staff seem fully engaged with residents and take time to talk and interact with them. I'd like to give the nurses on level 2 a special mention. But everyone is great.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Don't Know
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Susan B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 4 September 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

Beautiful care home, excellent staff, food and care My mum enjoys being here and feels safe and looked after which gives me piece of mind The activities organisers are full of enthusiasm

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P A L W (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 22 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

Excellent, all. My 100th birthday was held here and the chef made a beautiful cake for me. My room was decorated beautifully and streamers and balloons, it was a happy day!

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by R K (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 15 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

Having arrived at Kingfishers with much apprehension, I was amazed by the warmth and kindness of my reception. Unfortunately, my stay is too short, but I do feel a little more able to cope with the daily running of our home. I feel more rested, especially my mind, and my body is strong by coming to terms with day to day living. Everyone has been so kind and helpful.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M D (Resident / Service User) on Monday 6 August 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

Remarkably smoothly which was unexpected. I just seem to have merge din with the others. A great relief to have the kind carers as it was impossible to manage at home.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Margaret N (Resident / Service User) on Monday 6 August 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

Like all the activities that Kingfisher provides, the trips, the music, sitting in the gardens. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and they all know my name and helpful to my needs.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Satisfactory
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by L A A (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 25 July 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

My father moved here a year ago. His health has improved and he is very content. The staff are very supportive, competent and caring. He enjoys his trips out organised by the activities team and especially appreciated and was effusive about a recent boat trip from Hythe which was well organised and an excellent day out.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P S (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 20 June 2018. Review relates to June 2018.

It was an initial shock being here and I was very stressed and unhappy. However, the staff helped me to settle in. The food is sometimes not to my taste particularly the suppers which at times look unappetising and seems a strange choice. Having crossword puzzles delivered to our rooms each morning is a welcome extra.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Maria S (Mother of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 9 May 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

My son received 'end of life' care at Kingfishers from January to March 2018. The standard of care and support at Kingfishers is extremely high in every respect and met all of our needs at this very difficult time. Kingfishers is a beautiful environment with a luxury and homely feel and wonderful staff.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Michael T (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Monday 16 April 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

1) Parking is often a problem. Families, friends and older people who cannot walk well often have to park on the road. 2) some rooms/corridors need a paint soon.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P J (Resident / Service User) on Friday 23 March 2018. Review relates to February 2018.

Staff good. Music I enjoy a lot. Overall good.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Susan C (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 21 February 2018. Review relates to January 2018.

I always find my mother very well cared for. I am always welcomed into the home and invited to join in every activity. All the staff are so very caring and cheerful. I am completely confident that my mum has the best possible care and she is in a cheerful environment. It seems that there are interesting activities every day. There are many groups that come into the care home and import their knowledge and talents in a fun way.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sarah R (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 26 January 2018. Review relates to January 2018.

My dad had a fall which fractured his pelvis. He went to hospital by ambulance. The manager and all her team went way beyond hope and expectations in getting dad out of hospital and setting up the correct level of care, however, when discharged everything was completely ready. Clothes moved, pictures up and al personal items placed in a new room in identical places. Every staff member has been professional, caring and extremely kind. I truly believe that the manager and the team are way above outstanding!!

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P W (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 25 January 2018. Review relates to January 2018.

My stay here is made very happy by the staff here. I enjoy the musical events and sing-songs. The place is maintained very well by the staff and there are all amenities to hand.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Susan P (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 17 January 2018. Review relates to January 2018.

I needed temporary respite care following knee surgery. I could not have asked for more. The care has been first class in every way.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Maria N (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 15 January 2018. Review relates to December 2017.

I spend some considerable time at Kingfishers visiting my mother as often as I can and I am delighted with the care she receives. The staff are amazing whether nurses, care, assistants, activity coordinators, catering or reception staff. So friendly, caring and professional. The recent gala lunch was so enjoyable, the effort staff had gone to was very obvious. I feel Kingfishers is my own "home away from home" Thank you to you all.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P J (Resident / Service User) on Saturday 13 January 2018. Review relates to December 2017.

Staff are wonderful to everyone. Food is excellent like a first class hotel in Las Vegas.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Veronica H (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 8 November 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

I stayed at Kingfishers for respite after surgery. What impressed me most was the professionalism, knowledge and dedication of the staff in all areas. They are wonderful! Nothing was too much trouble. There is not one negative comment I can make about my stay, Kingfishers is that good!!

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by David G (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 27 September 2017. Review relates to September 2016.

Mum has now been living at Kingfishers for a year. Before she moved in her health had deteriorated badly and she was no longer able to live independently. Since arriving at Kingfishers her physical and mental wellbeing have improved greatly. The standard of care is first class. As a family, we have been very impressed by the caring and considerate attitude of all the staff, as well as aspects of the community in which Mum now lives. Kingfishers is exceptionally clean; there is a beautiful garden and numerous activities for the residents. Mum particularly enjoys the food. We feel confident that Mum is being very well cared for.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by D G (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Monday 4 September 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

A wonderful home full of caring workers, care girls and men, nurses, activity workers and so on and so forth. Always willing to listen and help. Nothing is ever too much trouble. I have every confidence in them to look after my husband who has Parkinson's and Lewey Body Dementia with great care and affection. The home has a very high ratio which is well deserved and long may they continue to keep it.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by John R (Relative of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 31 August 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

Really excellent day at the barbecue and other visits.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Andrew S (Grandson of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 30 August 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

Every element of this rest home has dramatically exceeded my expectations. The depth of care, love and understanding constantly shown by all members of staff, from the manager, carers, kitchen staff and cleaners and even extending to maintenance men and the apprentices working on the new extension, have been frankly, incredible. This empathy and compassion is extended to all, even when the resident is being erratic or consistently confrontational. I leave for my home in the antipodes happy and secure in the knowledge that my grandmother could not possibly be in a better place. Thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Julia B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 24 August 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

Just to thank everyone at Kingfisher for making my mother so welcome, happy and feeling safe at the end of her life. They all do an amazing job and all the staff are so so happy.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Teresa W (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 23 August 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

CQC rated Outstanding, what more can I say? Friendly, kind, understanding staff. Always time to talk which is so important. Amazing home.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Patricia R (Relative of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 17 August 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

We have visited many times and attended various things. Each time we come away very impressed with staff and managers. Have said to many people of a certain age that when the time occurs. It gives one such a feeling of confidence in all that is here.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by K B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 17 August 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

My dad has lived here for a year. I cannot fault the home, the staff, the food, everything is excellent. I believe it is easily the best home for miles and tell everyone how excellent it is here.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Michael D (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 15 August 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

Very pleased with all aspects. Staff are friendly and very helpful. The food is excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P L (Resident / Service User) on Monday 14 August 2017. Review relates to July 2017.

I moved here on 24th May 2017 having sold my bungalow in order to secure a 'care plan' to enable me to live here for as long as I need. I have a room of my choice and have brought several articles with me so it has helped me to feel that the room is as much like home as possible. I am fortunate since I am mobile so I can get into the lovely gardens. There are a variety of activities but personally, I would like more classes with exercises like Extend. Me being here gives my daughter, son and daughter in law as well as myself, peace of mind.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by June D (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 10 August 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

We have had a bbq today and it was very good. The staff and everybody are fine. We have no grumbles at all.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by B P (Resident / Service User) on Friday 14 July 2017. Review relates to July 2017.

I enjoy life here. The weather was lovely and we have a lovely garden and the entertainment was very good. I am very happy here. The staff are very helpful, we are very lucky the staff keep us busy.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Caroline J (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 13 July 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

From the initial contact, I have been extremely impressed with everything about this care/nursing home. The response to my online enquiry was within 24 hours. My mum was admitted within 4 days of the enquiry. The staff - all of them, are absolutely fantastic, nothing is any trouble and all mum's needs are anticipated. The décor, aroma, gardens, communal areas and private rooms are all amazing. It is really 5 star. Thank you so much for the care you take. I have visited other care homes and Kingfishers is definitely a class above the rest.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by H S (Respite Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 12 July 2017. Review relates to July 2017.

It was wonderful and staff are too. I am happy to have won the big cake - the gardens are beautiful and I really enjoy walking.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by K T (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 29 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

Lovely day starting with trip in the minibus to Hythe where we joined a specially adapted boat to take about 8 residents on a trip up Southampton Water and the Hamble River. The voluntary crew served tea and biscuits and went among the residents chatting. There was also a commentary as we went along pointing out places of interest. On our way back a lunch was provided which we ate at Hatchet Pond. A really lovely day which I think everyone enjoyed. Very well organised.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Tim N (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 29 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

I was totally satisfied with the excellent care and attention provided by all the staff at Kingfishers. My wife was treated with dignity and compassion at all times which I witnessed through my daily visits. I was also very impressed and grateful for all the support and kindness the staff afforded myself and my family.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by B P (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 28 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

I had a wonderful time and were very well looked after. I enjoy the activities here. The garden is beautiful. We are very lucky to be in this home. The staff are very friendly and all very helpful. I feel very much at home here.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by B F (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 28 June 2017. Review relates to June 2017.

The boat trip was absolutely wonderful. My daughter came and she loved it as much as I did. I enjoyed it very much. I'm looking forward to doing it again. I enjoy watching the dog that we share and all love them. This is my forever home now.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Pip T (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 9 June 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

We are visiting from Australia and have been very favourably impressed with the friendliness of staff and quality of care we have witnessed. A lot of effort goes in to providing a good range of entertainment for the residents. On a few occasions we have had lunch in the dining room and have been impressed with the quality and variety of food. We were here for the 100th birthday celebration of our mum and were delighted with the effort gone to by all members of staff. Decorations, food, drink and a beautiful birthday cake were provided by Kingfisher for the occasion. She was also presented with a lovely bouquet of flowers. Catering staff are very accommodating in responding to individual requests.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jacquie C (Sister of Resident/Service User) on Monday 22 May 2017. Review relates to April 2017.

Very positive experience for us as a family and for my sister.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Alison E (Niece of Resident/Service User) on Monday 22 May 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

My aunt found the perfect home for her last years she had dementia which slowly intensified but she was always stimulated, entertained, taken on outings to keep her interested in life. When I visited I always felt I was visiting her home and I was always very well looked after. This is a very positive "can do" place.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Margaret W (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Monday 22 May 2017. Review relates to April 2017.

A very happy and caring home for my husband to end his days.The staff were incredible and made him feel at home which made my life easier knowing that he was in good hands. Thank you for everything.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M H (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Monday 22 May 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

Celebration of life celebration. Congratulations on a wonderful afternoon. Very helpful.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P M (Resident / Service User) on Friday 12 May 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

I am very happy here. The ambience is excellent, a very happy atmosphere and the staff are very good. All activities are of a good standard.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sally W (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 11 May 2017. Review relates to March 2017.

We brought my father here firstly for two-week respite and he ended up staying because he liked it so much. Of course, as a visitor I don't get to see the day to day running of the home but whenever I call I am so impressed by the friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the contemporary environment and my father's repeated comments about how happy he is. There are always lots of activities going on. I know if I can't get to see my father that he is kept entertained, is not lonely and is cared for to a very high standard.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Sara W (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 10 May 2017. Review relates to April 2017.

My mother moved into Kingfishers in October 2016. She was unable to care for herself at home anymore. The staff are lovely and very caring. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Mum was very happy and knowing she was safe and so well looked after was a weight off my shoulders. Unfortunately, Mum passed away recently, the carers at Kingfishers have been amazing and very kind and caring. We had a lovely sympathy card from them with lovely thoughtful words written in. Very comforting.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Siriol S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 8 May 2017. Review relates to April 2017.

My mother has been at Kingfishers for two years and the staff are all very kind and attentive. She is well cared for and the home is always spotlessly clean as is my mother.

How likely would you be to recommend Kingfishers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Kingfishers
  • Read excerpts from letters of thanks sent to Kingfishers
    (Original letters are kept in a book available to visitors at reception)
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • To each and every person who cared for and knew our relative at Kingfishers, we as a family thank you all so very much for all the love and kindness, we appreciated everything you did for him
    June, relative of resident at Kingfishers

    26 October 2018
  • Thank you all so much for the care and love you gave our Father, your kindness and time meant so much to him. Many will say that is what a home should do, but we knew from the time we visited Kingfishers that your staff give so much more than that, everyone who passed took time out to talk and interact and nothing was too much trouble
    Elizabeth, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    26 October 2018
  • I am finding all the staff extremely kind, consistent and caring in all ways
    Mary, resident at Kingfishers

    19 October 2018
  • A big thank you to everyone at Kingfishers for making my Aunt's 90th Birthday such a happy and special occasion
    Julie, niece of resident at Kingfishers

    11 October 2018
  • Just a note to thank you for being so happy and getting Mum involved with everything - keep smiling!
    Nikki, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    09 October 2018
  • I was very pleased with the way all staff welcomed my friend to Kingfishers and the professional way the home is run - from management and all staff
    Douglas, friend of resident at Kingfishers

    26 September 2018
  • I've been on a long journey with dementia and now I feel I've struck gold my husband deserves the best and boy is he going to have the time of his life. Kingfishers will allow both myself and husband to fulfil our lives without having to worry about a thing. I was
    disillusioned with care homes but not anymore as I feel I can trust the manager and her staff which means everything to both me and my husband
    Hayley, wife of resident at Kingfishers

    26 September 2018
  • Kingfishers is a fantastic care home - from the first visit, their visit to us, and to present day we have been so very happy. The Communication is fantastic, someone will always make time for you for questions and guidance. The entertainment team have so much energy and fun, the carers, nursing, domestic staff, hostesses just fantastic. A real credit to the home that all staff seem fully engaged with residents and take time to talk and interact with them
    Elizabeth, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    06 September 2018
  • A beautiful care home with excellent staff, food and care, the activity organisers are full of enthusiasm. My Mum enjoys being here and feels safe and looked after which gives me piece of mind
    Susan, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    04 September 2018
  • My 100th birthday was held here and the chef made a beautiful cake for me. My room was decorated beautifully and streamers and balloons, it was a happy day!
    Resident at Kingfishers

    22 August 2018
  • Having arrived at Kingfishers with much apprehension, I was amazed by the warmth and kindness of my reception. Unfortunately, my stay is too short, but I do feel a little more able to cope with the daily running of our home. I feel more rested, especially my mind, and my body is strong by coming to terms with day to day living. Everyone has been so kind and helpful
    Respite resident at Kingfishers

    15 August 2018
  • My Father moved to Kingfishers a year ago and his health has improved and is very content. The staff are very supportive, competent, caring and my Father enjoys his trips out organised by the activities team
    Daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    25 July 2018
  • I would like to express my heartfelt thanks to all the kind and caring people who looked after our relative whilst at Kingfishers, I have no double that his quality of life was being enhanced by the wonderful care he received
    Rodney, relative of resident at Kingfishers

    13 July 2018
  • To all the nurses, carers and social team, who took such wonderful care of our relative - thank you so much for all your kindness
    Relatives of resident at Kingfishers

    06 July 2018
  • Thank you so much for your dedication and kindness
    Relative of resident at Kingfishers

    06 July 2018
  • Thank you so much for all you did for Mum, she was reluctant to move into a care home at first, but very quickly settled in and and was really happy to make Kingfishers her home
    Relative of resident at Kingfishers

    05 July 2018
  • Thank you all for the love, care and support you gave Mum
    Paula, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    05 July 2018
  • Thank you so much for making Mum's 100th Birthday such a memorable event - you were all amazing!
    Kathryn, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    05 July 2018
  • The activities and carers do extremely well, they obviously enjoy what they do and work heard searching for new ideas
    Pearl, resident at Kingfishers

    25 June 2018
  • I found my stay here very good, everyone is very friendly and the standard of care is excellent, every member of the staff was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The whole atmosphere is more like a hotel rather than a care home, I can't praise it highly enough
    Respite resident at Kingfishers

    20 June 2018
  • Thank you so much for looking after our relative so well, her care was carried out with dignity and so much kindness
    Tony, son of resident at Kingfishers

    13 May 2018
  • The standard of care and support at Kingfishers is extremely high in every respect and met all of our needs, it is a beautiful environment with a luxury and homely feel and wonderful staff.
    Maria, mother of resident at Kingfishers

    09 May 2018
  • Our sincere and warmest thanks to everyone at Kingfishers, for all your kindness, support and wonderful care
    Maria, relative of resident at Kingfishers

    05 April 2018
  • Thank you for our lovely trip out on Tuesday. We were looked after very well and it was very nice to see more of the Hampshire countryside.


    Joan, resident at Kingfishers

    02 April 2018
  • Thank you for the lovely trip out, we were looked after very well and it was very nice to see more of the countryside of Hampshire
    Joan, resident of Kingfishers

    02 April 2018
  • Thank you so much for all your care and kindness. We are all hugely appreciative and feel very lucky Mum is in such a happy and safe environment.


    Betty, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    16 March 2018
  • On behalf of the Bramshaw Riding for the Disabled, I thank you so much for the extremely generous cheque of £967 for our charity. It was also so good of you all to come and visit, especially on such a cold winter’s day. 


    Brenda, Secretary of Bramshaw R.D.A

    24 February 2018
  • Thank you all so much for the wonderful care you gave Mum during her stay with you. We cannot thank you all enough.


    Richard, son of resident at Kingfishers

    22 February 2018
  • I know how much you care for my mum and for all the residents at Kingfishers and I feel so lucky that she is there with you. All the ways you make her days interesting make such a difference.


    Susan, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    09 February 2018
  • I would like to complement Beata Brzozowska and her entire team at Kingfishers for the wonderful home they made for Dad and the amazing care that was so willingly provided for him. I cannot complement the entire team more highly.


    Sarah, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    02 February 2018
  • Thank you to all the staff who have helped make my respite stay so worthwhile. I could not have asked for more; a lovely welcome, good care adapted to my needs, and day-to-day support. You are also providing my husband with excellent ongoing care and my stay here has confirmed my view that Kingfishers is an excellent care home with wonderful, dedicated staff.


    Respite resident at Kingfishers

    10 January 2018
  • Thank you all so much for all you do – we are both so grateful.
    Residents at Kingfishers

    20 December 2017
  • We wish to thank you all for taking care of our relative and for making the last few months as good as they could be! My family, friends and I always felt welcome (like we were coming to our relative’s own home) and staff always made the time and effort to chat. 


    Family of resident at Kingfishers

    14 December 2017
  • Thank you for marking my birthday with flowers, cake and balloons. All were very much appreciated.


    Resident at Kingfishers

    12 October 2017
  • Many thanks to all the staff at this wonderful home for the lovely flowers and wine you gave my husband and I for our 53rd wedding anniversary. It was a lovely surprise and much appreciated by us.


    Wife of resident at Kingfishers

    14 September 2017
  • Thank you so much for looking after Mum so well and for giving her such a good send-off – you did her proud and laid on a lovely spread, which was much appreciated.

    We will always be grateful to you all for treating her with dignity, kindness and friendship. You are all doing very worthwhile jobs, and should be proud of yourselves.


    Sue, relative of resident at Kingfishers

    21 July 2017
  • Thank you for the warm welcome you always give us, and for the care you give to our relative.


    Relative of resident at Kingfishers

    30 June 2017
  • I’ve always known that my mother receives outstanding care and kindness at Kingfishers, so to have it recognised by the CQC is excellent. So congratulations to you, and a massive thank you too, from my sister, brother and I, who truly appreciate all the wonderful work you do. Mum couldn’t be in a nicer home.


    27 June 2017
  • Thank you to all the wonderful staff who looked after my relative. We are very grateful for all your excellent care and attention, and the dignity and compassion you showed towards not only our relative, but also the family too.


    Family of resident at Kingfishers

    25 June 2017
  • Thank you to everyone involved in making my relative’s 100th birthday such an enjoyable success.

    It was greatly appreciated by all the friends and family.


    Sheenagh, relative of resident at Kingfishers

    18 June 2017
  • Mum is happy and settled. She conducted her own research, and knew on her first visit that she wanted to move in. She has not been disappointed – she has been encouraged to make her room her own, and on the two occasions when I visited her, I have felt very much that I am visiting Mum ‘in her own home’.

    The entrance is calm and welcoming – I include the ambience and the greeting in this. These qualities pervade Kingfishers. Mum feels well cared for and met with kindness in a supportive environment – she knows it really is ok to ask. Some of the small touches make such a difference. For example, Mum values being able to pop along the corridor, collecting some fresh milk, and making a cup of tea for a visitor in her room.

    She is enjoying the meals. She had a prior concern about a change of diet, after years of her own choice of balanced and healthy meals, but she need not have worried – she is enjoying not only the variety and quality of the food, but also the service.

    Thank you.


    Relative of resident at Kingfishers

    17 June 2017
  • On behalf of our relative and all his family, thank you all so much for the wonderful birthday party you gave him for his 90th – you really made his day.

    You have given him some wonderful memories to cherish, and the family will always remember how happy he looked – just like his old self. It was like turning the clock back – he even managed a small speech!

    Thank you to each and every one of you – I bless the day I discovered Kingfishers.

    p.s. The cake was gorgeous.


    Relative of resident at Kingfishers

    30 May 2017
  • I just wanted to thank you all for organising last Sunday’s Remembrance Day. It was so lovely to remember our loved ones in this way, and it was very much appreciated.


    Relative of resident at Kingfishers

    22 May 2017
  • I would like to express my thanks to all those who cared for my mother during her seven years at Kingfishers. It was a relief to her family to know that she was well cared for, comfortable and content.

    Thank you also for the care and support I received.


    Angela, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    12 May 2017
  • Thank you so much for the love and care you gave to our mum. She truly enjoyed her time with you and was so well looked after. It was a weight off my shoulders knowing she was safe and secure with you.

    I will be forever grateful.


    Relative of resident at Kingfishers

    18 April 2017
  • I just wanted to say thank you for looking after my relative so well. She has certainly improved since coming to Kingfishers, and seems perfectly happy. 


    Relative of resident at Kingfishers

    12 April 2017
  • Thank you all for my plant and for making my birthday so special.


    Resident at Kingfishers

    04 April 2017
  • On behalf of the family, I would like to thank all the staff who looked after our relative during her seven-year stay with you at Kingfishers.

    Your care, kindness and attention to her needs were exemplary. 


    Elizabeth, relative of resident at Kingfishers

    21 March 2017
  • Thank you so much for the tender, loving care you showed towards Dad, and for helping us all as a family.


    Bizzie, daughter of resident at Kingfishers

    17 March 2017
  • I would like you to know how happy and contented my friend was at Kingfishers. She was very grateful for the care and attention she received, and it was especially comforting for me to know that she was so well looked after.

    Thank you in particular to the reception staff, who would always run up with the phone so I could speak to my friend when I couldn’t visit, and who would also always keep me informed on her situation.


    Pam, friend of resident at Kingfishers

    08 March 2017