Reviews and Testimonials

9.8

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 35 reviews

Review submitted by V T (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 8 October 2019. Review relates to September 2019.

Happy in my new room, met lots of friends.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Violet T (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 20 August 2019. Review relates to August 2019.

Everyone has been kind.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Doreen T (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 20 June 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

Very happy being at Whitecliffe House.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M S (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 11 April 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

When the "boss" is away fishing, I come to Whitecliffe. I am treated as one of the family.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P R (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 11 April 2019. Review relates to March 2019.

I felt that everyone cared and the general atmosphere was warm and happy.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J V (Resident / Service User) on Friday 15 March 2019. Review relates to March 2019.

Very helpful and friendly staff.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Irene A (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 5 December 2018. Review relates to November 2018.

Happy with everything.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Gerald M (Resident / Service User) on Monday 12 November 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

Happy with stay. Friendly.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Mary M (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 4 September 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

A very pleasant experience. The home is clean and fresh, the food good, the staff kind and efficient.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Eddie S (Son of Resident/Service User) on Monday 20 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

Both from a caring on a daily basis and nursing the standard and performance is excellent. Communication from the home to affected family is extremely good. There is a great friendly atmosphere at all times which enhances the feeling between all parties. There is a very high degree of consideration for well being and continuous discussion with close family members leading to a high degree of confidence in all staff and services. Would recommend this to all. Has a very high reputation in town.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Peter M (Son of Resident/Service User) on Monday 20 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

My mother has excellent care over the last 5 years. Recently when she suffered a stroke this was effectively dealt with throughout. The first class staff conducted themselves in an exemplary manner with love and care always shown. It would be very hard to beat the team working at Whitecliffe they are outstanding.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Norma C (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 15 May 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

Kinds and friendly staff. Good choice of food and entertainment.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Mkhael H (Son of Resident/Service User) on Friday 20 April 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

My father was taken in by Whitecliffe on 20th February on respite care after the hospital failed to establish a care package within 2 weeks of his recovery. From the start, they catered to his every need and almost brought him back to his pre-hospitalisation state. After two weeks he went into terminal decline and I cannot fault the care and attention he received over the following month, until his death on 29th March. I am so grateful for this. He finally died in their company even with one of his nurses singing to him! I have always been against nursing homes but Whitecliffe House has changed my mind. Thank you all (expensive but worth it!).

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Graham L (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 21 March 2018. Review relates to February 2018.

Staff are very good.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by C G (Son of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 18 January 2018. Review relates to January 2018.

All the staff seem friendly and efficient and have dealt with all my father's problems very well. It must be difficult to comply with his wishes, as due to dementia, they are not always in his best interests (eg nothing to eat) but despite these issues, I have noticed a marked improvement in his condition in the last two days. The acid test of any organisation is "Are the staff good at what they do?" in the month that I have been visiting my father at this establishment, I would answer with an empathic "yes".

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Imelda R (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 10 January 2018. Review relates to December 2017.

Very clean and most welcoming by all the staff. The rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished to the highest standard. The food is exceptional the menu is varied and imaginary.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Roy C (Respite Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 22 November 2017. Review relates to November 2017.

My stay at Whitecliffe House is very short only two weeks. I found everything most satisfactory the food is excellent the staff most caring and helpful at all times.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Satisfactory
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Claire P (Granddaughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 9 November 2017. Review relates to October 2017.

We could not have wished for better care. The warmth of this home should not be underestimated. The dignity provided was outstanding. All staff from the cleaners, carers, office staff to senior management really care for residents. There is true emotion in this home, which makes it very special. My Grandmother spent many happy moments in their expert care and we as a family were welcomed into the Whitecliff fold. Her final weeks were spent here, care and dignity were so evident, staff went out of their way to make sure she was loved and comfortable at the end of her life. As a family, we could not have asked for more. We all have many memories of our time at Whitecliff that we will cherish forever.

How likely would you be to recommend Whitecliffe House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Whitecliffe House
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • I was so impressed with the staff and the surroundings and change in my relative and her family, now that at long last she is getting the care she needs - well done Colten Care 
    Friend of Resident at Whitecliffe House

    07 July 2019
  • You and your whole team have been wonderful...so thank you to you all, from me and all my family
    Relative of Resident at Whitecliffe House

    04 July 2019
  • Thank you for the loving care that you gave to my Dad
    Son of Resident at Whitecliffe House

    03 July 2019
  • Best Home in the area - what a lovely home Whitecliffe House is!
    Blandford Area Ambulance Crew

    12 June 2019
  • What kind, compassionate staff, from the receptionist to the cleaning team, to the nurses and carers - thank you every so much 
    Resident at Whitecliffe House

    12 June 2019
  • Thank you so much for all the kindness you showed to my Mother during her time at Whitecliffe House
    Peggy, daughter of resident at Whitecliffe House

    04 June 2019
  • My Mum is so happy and well looked after, she cant tell me often enough how happy and wonderful all the staff are and how much she loves it here!
    Louise, daughter of resident at Whitecliffe House

    10 May 2019
  • When the "boss" is away fishing, I come to Whitecliffe - I am treated as one of the family!
    Resident at Whitecliffe House

    11 April 2019
  • All the staff are so helpful and willing to support me in everything at Whitecliffe House
    Resident at Whitecliffe House

    19 March 2019
  • Thank you for looking after our Mother and supporting us, she felt safe and reassured by your kindness and your professional care
    Hilary, daughter of resident at Whitecliffe House

    05 March 2019
  • Thank you all very much for your kind and sensitive care whilst our Mother lived at Whitecliffe House
    Brian, son of resident at Whitecliffe House

    15 January 2019
  • My huge thanks to everyone at Whitecliffe House for looking after me for so many months, my stay has truly been amazing, I feel much stronger and ready now to attempt solo living!
    Mandy, respite resident at Whitecliffe House

    04 September 2018
  • A very pleasant experience, the home is clean and fresh, the food good, the staff kind and efficient
    Mary, resident at Whitecliffe House

    04 September 2018
  • My mother has excellent care, the first class staff conduct themselves in an exemplary manner with love and care always shown. It would be very hard to beat the team working at Whitecliffe House - they are outstanding
    Peter, son of resident at Whitecliffe House

    20 August 2018
  • Both from caring on a daily basis and nursing, the standard and performance is excellent. the communication from the home to family is extremely good. There is a great friendly atmosphere at all times which enhances the feeling between all parties. There is a very high degree of consideration for well being and continuous discussion with close family members leading to a high degree of confidence in all staff and services
    Eddie, son of resident of Whitecliffe House

    20 August 2018
  • Thank you for giving my Mother such a lovely 94th Birthday, she really enjoyed the special treat of dressed crab lunch with birthday cake, flowers and card - all so thoughtful
    Philippa, daughter of resident at Whitecliffe House

    07 August 2018
  • I want to thank you all from the bottom of my heart for your contribution to making my Nainnie's last years comfortable and for making her feel cared for and safe. You have gone above and beyond to look after someone I care about deeply and I feel you should know how much that is appreciated. You run a wonderful, clean, caring home and I hope when it is eventually my turn I am looked after by a team as dedicated and skilled as you.
    James, grandson of resident at Whitecliffe House

    07 July 2018
  • Kind and friendly staff with a good choice of food and entertainment
    Norma, resident at Whitecliffe House

    15 May 2018
  • From the start, Whtecliffe House catered to my Fathers every need, I cannot fault the care and attention he received, I am so grateful for this. I have always been against nursing homes but Whitecliffe House has changed my mind! Thank you all
    Mkhael, son of resident at Whitecliffe House

    20 April 2018
  • To you and all your colleagues whose patience and gentle care was always very touching
    Anne, daughter of resident at Whitecliffe House

    12 April 2018
  • Thank you so much to all you wonderful people at Colten Care for supporting the Community Kitchen over the last two weeks. We were so grateful for the cheese and the home made cakes! We sincerely hope to continue our partnership with you, we look forward to welcoming residents to lunches in the summer!
    Juliet Wareham, Community Kitchen

    11 April 2018
  • I have seen quite a few nursing homes, but none have impressed me as much as Whitecliffe House, your care standards are superb. all the staff used t greet us with a smile and went out of their way to be courteous and helpful
    Robert, son-in-law of resident at Whitecliffe House

    03 April 2018
  • I would like to express my heartfelt thanks to all the staff at Whitecliffe House for the care of my Father
    Chad, son of resident at Whitecliffe House

    31 March 2018
  • Thank you so very much for all the wonderful help you gave my husband. All your kindness has helped him on the road to recovery, and we appreciate all you have done very much. You are all so very, very friendly and caring.

    We would recommend you to everyone – so superb!


    Margaret, wife of resident at Whitecliffe House

    22 February 2018
  • A huge thank you to every member of staff who supported Dad during his respite stay with you. Your genuine interest in his needs and care helped tremendously. He has settled happily into life back at home and he is more independent than we could have wished for! Thank you also for the warm welcome provided by everyone during our visits; the lovely atmosphere came as a great comfort for us as a family.


    Michelle, daughter of resident at Whitecliffe House

    21 February 2018
  • We want to thank you very much for all the thought and kindness that went into making Dad’s 99th birthday such a great day. We all appreciate it very much indeed.


    Family of resident at Whitecliffe House

    14 February 2018
  • The celebratory tea party held for my husband’s 100th birthday, held at Whitecliffe House, was a lovely occasion. Delicious food, smooth administration, and a very happy afternoon. We were so impressed.


    Josephine, wife of resident at Whitecliffe House

    07 February 2018
  • I would like to sincerely thank everyone at Whitecliffe House so very much for the most wonderful care my mother received over the last two years from all the dedicated, friendly and ever-cheerful staff. It made such a huge difference knowing she was looked after in such a caring way.


    John, son of resident at Whitecliffe House

    16 January 2018
  • I am writing to express my thanks and gratitude to you for the support and generous contributions that Colten Care gave to the Community Kitchen last week. It really did make a difference and the event was a huge success! 


    Revd. Canon Jonathan Triffitt, Blandford Forum Parish Church

    22 December 2017
  • Thank you all very much for the lovely gala lunch. It was all very enjoyable and had a great atmosphere.


    Betty and Bill, residents at Whitecliffe House

    09 December 2017
  • We would like to thank all the staff at Whitecliffe House for looking after our mum so caringly. Knowing she was in such loving hands made our lives peaceful, but more importantly, you made Mum’s life so much brighter and more worthwhile. We thank you all – nurses, carers, receptionists, and the kitchen, cleaning and laundry staff. We can honestly say Mum had an exceptional team looking after her in a beautiful, warm and friendly environment.

    We cannot thank you enough.


    Denise, daughter of resident at Whitecliffe House

    27 November 2017
  • Thank you to everyone who was involved in our good day out on Tuesday: the Colten Companions for helping us, the staff at Bryanston School for kindly inviting us, and the students for their excellent production and for treating us with such courtesy and warmth.

    It was a huge task, but I don’t think the British Army could have overcome the logistical problems any better. In fact, I think this team could probably organise a retreat from Dunkirk with flair and aplomb!


    Jean, resident at Whitecliffe House

    16 November 2017
  • One year on…

    I will never forget your care and love for my husband.


    Frances, wife of relative at Whitecliffe House

    27 October 2017
  • Thank you very much for making my mum’s stay with you such a happy one. I’m sure she will want to come back again!


    Barbara, daughter of respite resident at Whitecliffe House

    15 September 2017
  • A heartfelt thank you to all the staff at Whitecliffe House. It gives us great comfort knowing that Mum was happy and settled, surrounded by people who so obviously cared about her. 


    Chris, daughter of resident at Whitecliffe House

    26 August 2017
  • Thank you to all the lovely staff at Whitecliffe House for making Mum’s life so comfortable, and for the kind and loving spirit in which you did everything.


    David, son of resident at Whitecliffe House

    25 July 2017
  • My sincere thanks to all the staff for such an enjoyable day – it was a winner and ticked all the boxes! All your efforts were much appreciated.


    Tessa, resident at Whitecliffe House

    05 July 2017
  • My brothers and I wish to convey our sincere thanks for everything all the staff at Whitecliffe House did to make my father’s time with you as comfortable and enjoyable as it could be. We could not have asked for a better standard of care and we knew that he was warm, safe, well fed and extremely well looked after.


    Charles, son of resident at Whitecliffe House

    15 March 2017
  • I would like to thank the friendly, dedicated and ever-cheerful staff so very much for the wonderful care you have all given to my mother over the last year.

    My family and I are so very grateful. 


    John, son of relative at Whitecliffe House

    19 December 2016
  • We would like to thank you all so much for all the care, help and support you gave our family member over the time he spent with you. He was very happy and we know how much he enjoyed being at Whitecliffe House.


    Family of resident at Whitecliffe House

    07 December 2016
  • My sisters join me in thanking you and your staff for looking after Mum so well. Although we had visited lots of houses in Wiltshire, Somerset and Dorset for Mum, in the end we had to choose quite quickly and we were so pleased with Whitecliffe House. The staff are so friendly and welcoming, providing care, activities, excellent food and the essential other extras that make it such a good home from home.


    Josephine, daughter of resident at Whitecliffe House

    04 November 2016
  • Thank you for helping to make Mum’s birthday such a happy time.

    Best wishes to you all.


    Philippa, daughter of resident at Whitecliffe House

    10 August 2016
  • I would like to thank all the staff for our lovely street party. The staff were very kind, and I would like to add special thanks to the chef for my lovely salad – it was appreciated.


    Kit, resident at Whitecliffe House

    06 August 2016
  • Just a few words to thank you all for making such a fuss of my husband and I on the occasion of our 65th wedding anniversary last week. The whole day was a great success and I am most grateful to everyone for their kind thoughts, love and patience. The celebration cake was delicious – please pass on our thanks to both chefs as this was a very kind thought and greatly appreciated. The bouquet of flowers were also completely unexpected and have been greatly admired by everyone. 


    Della, wife of resident at Whitecliffe House

    20 June 2016
  • My brothers and I were overwhelmed by the kindness shown by your staff in the preparations for my father’s 97th birthday on Wednesday last week. Everything from the decorating of his room, the splendid birthday cake prepared by the chef, the magnificent bouquet of flowers and the bottle of bubbly, to the fuss you all made over him, succeeding in making him feel so special.  We are all most grateful and offer you our heartfelt thanks.


    Charles, son of resident at Whitecliffe House

    08 May 2016