Reviews and Testimonials

9.9

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 11 reviews

Review submitted by I G (Resident / Service User) on Friday 6 November 2020. Review relates to November 2020.

Staff very kind and helpful. Food very good, I like stew and dumplings are my favourite meal. Gardens are lovely, flowers beautiful.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Elspeth (Resident / Service User) on Friday 2 October 2020. Review relates to September 2020.

We can spend a lot of time in the garden, which is very well kept. The food is very good and pays attention to tastes. A wide range of activities for all of us. All the staff are kindly and look after us well.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Ian W (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 9 September 2020. Review relates to September 2020.

My mother has been a resident in Woodpeckers since January 2020 and although reluctant at first she cannot praise the home enough now. She is well looked after, all medical needs are taken care of, food and room of a high standard and activities daily for her needs. Things have obviously been difficult over the last few months due to the virus and visiting very restricted. This has been done for the benefit of the residents and the absence of COVID which has proven successful. Even throughout this, I have spoken every day by phone to my mother and staff have also kept me up to date with her medical changes and also let me know any activities she has taken part in. I cannot speak highly enough of Woodpeckers and if anyone has any doubt about putting a member of there family in a care home I would recommend an appointment to have a look inside and talk to the residents to see how well this one is run. Thanks again to all staff and manager here.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by I P (Resident / Service User) on Saturday 22 August 2020. Review relates to August 2020.

A warm welcome. Staff acted with confidence and support at all times. I am having a successful stay.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jean W (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 7 July 2020. Review relates to June 2020.

I'm looked after extremely well here at Woodpeckers and have settled in very well. I have no worries at all and all is taken care of. Thank you very much indeed.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by F C (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 16 June 2020. Review relates to June 2020.

I have Parkinson's I came here to be looked after. I have been well looked after and I feel very secure here. I and the family are very happy that I made the move her and intend to stay for the foreseeable future. The staff are excellent and treat me very well.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely unlikely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jim R (Son-in-law of Resident/Service User) on Friday 7 February 2020. Review relates to January 2020.

Very caring and attends to the needs of my mother in law. Excellent staff attitude and welcoming atmosphere. Its always a pleasure to visit and my mother in law is happy and has got involved with activities. Excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Margaret M (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 29 August 2019. Review relates to May 2019.

An extremely high level of professional care and consideration was shown to my mother until the time of her death. All staff members involved in her care worked efficiently and sympathetically as a team. We moved Mum to Woodpeckers from another home where the quality of care was variable. At Woodpeckers, she was cared for with care and kindness!

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J P (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 23 July 2019. Review relates to July 2019.

My husband has now been here for 2 and a half years and cannot speak too highly of the care he receives. As a visiting wife, I have received nothing but welcome and hospitality - also given to family and friends who all comment on the nice friendly atmosphere on arrival.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Donald J (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Sunday 14 July 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

My wife is looked after with great care, kindness and consideration in all respect - care, medical attention an sustenance in a well kept home with a lovely garden.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Derrick K (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 1 May 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

Everyone is friendly and caring. Our mother has settled in well and has put on much-needed weight. The idea of lunching with her is excellent, as is the food. Today, a Friday, we were most impressed with the therapeutic effect of visiting groups of schoolchildren (including preschool).

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at woodpeckers
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • I would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere gratitude to all the team at Woodpeckers for their care, support and kindness shown to my Mum during her stay at Woodpeckers. Mum lived at Woodpeckers for 2 years and 8 months, everyone there always did their upmost to make her life as enjoyable and happy as it could be given her circumstances and for that I can never thank them enough. As for me I have always been made extremely welcome and felt like part of "the family", I will miss you all. I know that you can appreciate that at this time my heart is broken but my head knows that Mum is now at peace.
    Residents at Woodpeckers

    09 February 2021
  • Thank you so much for huge amount of care and support you have given Mum.  She is the happiest and most well she has been in years.  We really appreciate all your hard work and dedication.
    Family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    22 December 2020
  • Staff very kind and helpful.  Food very good.  Gardens are lovely, flowers beautiful.
    Resident at Woodpeckers

    20 November 2020
  • We can spend a lot of time in the garden, which is very well kept.  The food is very good and pays attention to taste.  A wide range of activities for all of us.  All the staff are kind and look after us well.
    Resident at Woodpeckers

    12 October 2020
  • My mother has been a resident at Woodpeckers since January 2020 and although reluctant at first she cannot praise the home enough now.  She is well looked after, all medical needs are taken care of, food and room of a high standard and activities daily for her needs.  Things have obviously been difficult over the last few months due to the virus and visiting restricted.  This has been done for the benefit of the residents and the absence of Covid which has proven successful.  Even throughout this, I have spoken every day by phone to my mother and staff have also kept me up to date with her medical changes and also let me know any activities she has taken part in.  I cannot speak highly enough of Woodpeckers and if anyone has any doubt about putting a member of their family in a care home, I would recommend an appointment to have a look inside and talk to the residents to see how well this one is run.  Thanks again to all staff and the manager here.
    Son of Resident at Woodpeckers

    11 September 2020
  • I'm looked after extremely well here at Woodpeckers and have settled in very well. I have no worries at all and all is taken care of. Thank you very much indeed.
    Resident at Woodpeckers

    17 July 2020
  • I have Parkinson's I came here to be looked after. I have been well looked after and I feel very secure here. I and the family are very happy that I made the move her and intend to stay for the foreseeable future. The staff are excellent and treat me very well.

    Resident at Woodpeckers

    19 June 2020
  • Thinking of you all during this challenging time for you all. I often think about you and cannot imagine the stress you must all be under. Thank you all for your efforts.
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    29 April 2020
  • A thousand thank you’s to all at Woodpeckers!! We are grateful for your care and kindness to our relative. Complaints were made by him over the quiz being too easy!! And someone took all the crayons!!
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    29 April 2020
  • I want to say a huge thanks to everyone at Colten Care and in particular to everyone at Woodpeckers for all the hard work I know you are putting into looking after all the residents and yourselves as well. The regular updates are excellent, and it is so fantastic to see you are doing such a wonderful job of keeping everyone safe and entertained as you always do!
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    29 April 2020
  • I do enjoy the activities, and I will try to do most of these, I have a “have-a-go” attitude and do enjoy these and the company. I find the meals presented; extremely appealing.
    Resident At Woodpeckers

     


    26 March 2020
  • It was so good to see such a good team working together.
    Son Of Resident At Woodpeckers

     


    26 March 2020
  • Thank you for the lovely card you sent, I just wanted to thank you all for all the love and care you gave mum during her 4 ½ year stay with you. She always commented on how all her girls and boys looked after her and fed her delicious food, she felt very privileged, she said to be in such a lovely place. It never seemed a problem to you to accommodate us with cups of tea. Meals etc.
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    11 March 2020
  • A year on, we are still looking back with such fond memories of the care and love you gave to mum & dad during their final years. We remain hugely grateful that they are so were so well looked after and that we could all spend quality time with them.
    Daughter and family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    11 March 2020
  • I wanted to thank every single member of staff at Woodpeckers for all you have done for mum over the years, and especially in the last 2 weeks. The care she received was delivered with such genuine kindness and love, which has been absolutely outstanding. You have looked after me too! in so many ways not just the accommodation and meals but the emotional support too.
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    11 March 2020
  • Thank you to all you lovely people at Woodpeckers, we have made friends with everyone over the years and we will miss you all. Thank you for the care, love and companionship you all gave to Dad, it has been much appreciated by the family
    Family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    31 October 2019
  • I will always be very grateful for all the patience and care you showed towards Mum, she could not have been in a better place
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    08 October 2019
  • Thank you so much for making a memorable and happy day for our Diamond Wedding Anniversary - we enjoyed every minute, we really appreciate all you do, love, friendship, encouragement and endeavour
    Wife of Resident at Woodpeckers

    20 September 2019
  • I was so pleased to see how settled my Mum was in Woodpeckers, I thought the home was lovely and all the staff very friendly, caring and helpful
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    22 September 2019
  • Woodpeckers is such a lovely home and my sister and I are very grateful to all for the care given to both mother and especially father
    Son of Resident at Woodpeckers

    19 September 2019
  • Special love to all your staff who made me feel so welcome
    Respite Resident at Woodpeckers

    29 August 2019
  • Your care and attention was outstanding, I cannot thank you enough
    Respite Resident at Woodpeckers

    27 August 2019
  • We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to all of the wonderful staff at Woodpeckers, for their good-natured care and kindness to our beloved husband/father
    Family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    31 July 2019
  • My wife is looked after with great care, kindness and consideration in all respect - care, medical attention an sustenance in a well kept home with a lovely garden
    Husband of Resident at Woodpeckers

    14 July 2019
  • I cannot speak too highly of the care my Husband receives. As a visiting wife, I have received nothing but welcome and hospitality - also given to family and friends who all comment on the nice friendly atmosphere on arrival
    Wife of Resident at Woodpeckers

    23 July 2019
  • Just to say a huge heartfelt thank you for taking such care of Mum, it was important to feel confident in her care as we are a fair distance away, we were always made to feel welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble 
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    26 June 2019
  • Thank you so much from the bottom of our hearts, for the care and attention you have given Mum, you have been an enormous support to the whole family and we have all enjoyed the family atmosphere created by the Woodpeckers community
    Family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    03 July 2019
  • You made my stay at Woodpeckers so comfortable and with love and great caring
    Respite Resident at Woodpeckers

    10 June 2019
  • Thank you for your kindness, Woodpeckers have been brilliant all the way through my Mum stay. We have all come to the conclusion that it was the community of Woodpeckers that Mum didn't want to leave behind
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    27 June 2019
  • You made my stay at Woodpeckers so comfortable and with love and great caring
    James, respite resident at Woodpeckers

    10 June 2019
  • We are so very blessed that Mum was so well cared for by you all at Woodpeckers. Having worked in the health industry all my career and I honestly cannot believe how wonderful you all were all of the time, it gave me great peace knowing that when I was not able to be around
    Wendy, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    24 May 2019
  • Everyone is friendly and caring and our Mother has settled in well. The idea of lunching with her is excellent, as is the food. Today, a Friday, we were most impressed with the therapeutic effect of visiting groups of schoolchildren (including preschool)


    Derrick, son of resident at Woodpeckers

    01 May 2019
  • Very many thanks to the carers who looked after my husband, we especially appreciated the fondness displayed in their caring duties
    Ruth, wife of resident at Woodpeckers

    11 April 2019
  • Thank you all for lunch and the friendly 'Woodpecker' hospitality, you were all so cheerful, so many thanks
    Gilly, relative of resident at Woodpeckers

    20 February 2019
  • My gratitude for the love and attention you gave to my Father, I could not have wanted a better home for him. You all cheerfully cared for him, made him feel at home and never minded what you did to help him. The level of care you gave him was immense and I am so grateful 
    Jane, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    16 January 2019
  • A huge thank you for the care which Dad received at Woodpeckers, he could not have been better cared for, and I am immensely, hugely grateful. All your staff are just so lovely, cheerful, friendly and caring, and I think we are proud here in Brockenhurst to have such a wonderful home in our midst
    Jane, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    10 January 2019
  • I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at Woodpeckers for the kindness they give to me and all the residents, they are very patient and caring to those that need so much care
    Resident at Woodpeckers

    13 December 2018
  • Woodpeckers is such a friendly place and I felt very privileged to be able to observe and help out your brilliant, compassionate and respectful staff 
    Oxford University Student

    14 December 2018
  • Thank you for all the loving and caring of our relative whilst at Woodpeckers
    Relative of resident at Woodpeckers

    26 November 2018
  • Just wanted to say what a great home Woodpeckers and thank you for looking after our friend so well and also for your welcome and efficiency with visitors
    Veronica, friend of resident at Woodpeckers

    07 November 2018
  • Our relative certainly recalls having a 'super' bath at Woodpeckers!!!! As well as engaging in many activities. Woodpeckers is the friendliest and most welcoming home there is!
    Brian, relative of resident at Woodpeckers

    08 November 2018
  • Nursing care of a high-quality and the care staff are courteous and kind
    Donald, husband of resident at Woodpeckers

    10 October 2018
  • A warm reception, friendly attention to visitors with evidence of well-trained staff from procedures in all aspects of care
    Friend of resident at Woodpeckers

    10 October 2018
  • Very caring and supportive staff and my Mother has settled well and loves all the care, attention and good humour shown by all. She enjoys the atmosphere in the activities and has made many friends
    Maggie, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    17 October 2018
  • Thank you all for looking after my Mum so well and making her time with you a happy one
    Jill, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    04 October 2018
  • Thank you for all the excellent attention I received - until next time!
    Audrey, respite resident at Woodpeckers

    01 October 2018
  • There is a very positive atmosphere and this is evident through all the levels of what makes Woodpeckers not just a care home but a home. The staff are very professional, alongside a high degree of personal care. It is light and bright with access to the lovely garden, all of which is maintained at a high level. There is no pressure on residents to join in with the variety of activities, yet there is still a sense of inclusivity if they choose not to take part. Attention is there if needed but low key when not required. Well done Woodpeckers!
    Daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    22 August 2018
  • When arriving, after checking who we were and whom we were visiting, a warm and friendly smile and words were directed at us and to who we were visiting. All staff encountered were very friendly and courteous, again with a smile. We clearly observed our friend, who was in a wheelchair, being very well looked after with gentle, caring patience and understanding from the staff
    Friend of resident at Woodpeckers

    22 August 2018
  • Thank you so much for making Daphne's birthday last week such a happy occasion for all of us. Lunch was excellent, as usual, and tea was superlative! Just filling in my review has really made me realise how lucky we have been to have chosen to place Mum in your care. She seems happy, settled and well, thank you to everyone, at all levels:- carers, nurses, cleaners, housekeepers, cooks, administrators, managers, gardeners, handymen, residents - you are so cheerful, efficient and supportive
    Alison, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    20 August 2018
  • I just wanted to thank all of you for making Mums Birthday such a special day, right from the beginning of the day - you were brilliant. We very much appreciate just how much you put in to making it all work so well 
    Cilly, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    14 August 2018