Reviews and Testimonials

9.9

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 13 reviews

Review submitted by P T (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 16 June 2022. Review relates to June 2022.

A wonderful home.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S S (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 16 June 2022. Review relates to June 2022.

Since moving into Woodpeckers, I've felt really happy as the carers make me feel at ease and are always attentive, sometimes they may talk a bit quiet for me to understand them, but they do repeat and we eventually understand each other. I do like it with the different types of activities and I do try to go as much as possible. When my family visit, they are always made to feel welcome.

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by M D (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 9 June 2022. Review relates to June 2022.

Arrived 31/03/2022 and to date very satisfied with all aspects of Woodpeckers.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Shirley J (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 26 May 2022.

Nothing is too much trouble for the care staff, they are always so polite and helpful. Home-cooked food is excellent. Beautiful gardens, I have valued from being pushed around them.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Janet S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 19 January 2022. Review relates to January 2022.

I am speaking on behalf of my mother; she/I cannot fault the loving care she is receiving. I am confident that she is receiving the best possible care, and all staff have treated her with dignity and gentleness at all times.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M M (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 14 December 2021. Review relates to December 2021.

Enjoying my time here. Entertained most days. A very caring staff.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Molly W (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 28 July 2021. Review relates to July 2021.

The area is beautiful and lovely to look out on. Watching the wildlife is very interesting. The gardens are very well kept and lovely to sit out in. The care staff are all very friendly and helpful, a good choice of food.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Hilary N (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 27 July 2021. Review relates to July 2021.

It's wonderful to know that my mum is in such safe, kind and capable hands at Woodpeckers. Everyone there has made my mother feel very welcome and their attentiveness is outstanding.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jean W (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 8 July 2021. Review relates to July 2021.

Very happy and completely satisfied.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by I G (Resident / Service User) on Friday 6 November 2020. Review relates to November 2020.

Staff very kind and helpful. Food very good, I like stew and dumplings are my favourite meal. Gardens are lovely, flowers beautiful.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Elspeth (Resident / Service User) on Friday 2 October 2020. Review relates to September 2020.

We can spend a lot of time in the garden, which is very well kept. The food is very good and pays attention to tastes. A wide range of activities for all of us. All the staff are kindly and look after us well.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Ian W (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 9 September 2020. Review relates to September 2020.

My mother has been a resident in Woodpeckers since January 2020 and although reluctant at first she cannot praise the home enough now. She is well looked after, all medical needs are taken care of, food and room of a high standard and activities daily for her needs. Things have obviously been difficult over the last few months due to the virus and visiting very restricted. This has been done for the benefit of the residents and the absence of COVID which has proven successful. Even throughout this, I have spoken every day by phone to my mother and staff have also kept me up to date with her medical changes and also let me know any activities she has taken part in. I cannot speak highly enough of Woodpeckers and if anyone has any doubt about putting a member of there family in a care home I would recommend an appointment to have a look inside and talk to the residents to see how well this one is run. Thanks again to all staff and manager here.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by I P (Resident / Service User) on Saturday 22 August 2020. Review relates to August 2020.

A warm welcome. Staff acted with confidence and support at all times. I am having a successful stay.

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Experience: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at woodpeckers
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • Nothing is too much trouble for the care staff, they are always so polite and helpful. Home-cooked food is excellent.  Beautiful gardens, I have valued from being pushed around them.
    Resident at Woodpeckers

    15 July 2022
  • Since moving into Woodpeckers I've felt really happy, as the carers make me feel at ease and are always attentive. I do like the different types of activities and I do try to go as much as possible.  When my family visit they are always made to feel welcome.
    Resident at Woodpeckers

    29 June 2022
  • I am speaking on behalf of my mother, she/I cannot fault the loving care she is receiving.  I am confident that she is receiving the best possible care and all staff have treated her with dignity and gentleness at all times.
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    20 January 2022
  • To all the staff at Woodpeckers.  My family and I can't say thank you enough times for everything you've done for dad over this year.  You've brought him back from being in a horrible state and kept him safe. 
    Family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    21 December 2021
  • Thank you so much to each and every one of the team for your care and professionalism in making mum's stay comfortable and happy.  She couldn't have been in a better place and enjoyed some good times with you, as I did.
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    01 December 2021
  • Thank you to you all for making my Mum's 101st Birthday so special.  Seeing Mary at her door singing "Happy Birthday" with a birthday cake was brilliant.  She really enjoyed her day and I could see she was spoilt.  Thank you to all of you for being so kind and caring.
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    28 March 2021
  • I am writing on behalf of all Mum's family to say a massive thank you for making the final months of her life the best they could possibly be.  The progress she made was huge and she was healthier and happier than she had been in years.  She was always treated with great respect and dignity. The care she had after her stroke was exemplary and we are so grateful to all the staff for making her final days so peaceful and comfortable. 
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers 

    10 March 2021
  • A big thank you to all at Woodies for the friendship, care and attention you gave to Mum and to us.  You have become a big part of our lives over the past 5 1/2 years and we will miss our visits, sing songs and chats.  We know Mum has been well looked after during her time living with you and for that we are truly grateful.  Thank you Martin for your kind letter and card, they mean a lot.  Thank you Peaches, you kept me sane in these past few weeks.
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    01 March 2021
  • I would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere gratitude to all the team at Woodpeckers for their care, support and kindness shown to my Mum during her stay at Woodpeckers. Mum lived at Woodpeckers for 2 years and 8 months, everyone there always did their upmost to make her life as enjoyable and happy as it could be given her circumstances and for that I can never thank them enough. As for me I have always been made extremely welcome and felt like part of "the family", I will miss you all. I know that you can appreciate that at this time my heart is broken but my head knows that Mum is now at peace.
    Residents at Woodpeckers

    09 February 2021
  • Thank you so much for huge amount of care and support you have given Mum.  She is the happiest and most well she has been in years.  We really appreciate all your hard work and dedication.
    Family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    22 December 2020
  • Staff very kind and helpful.  Food very good.  Gardens are lovely, flowers beautiful.
    Resident at Woodpeckers

    20 November 2020
  • We can spend a lot of time in the garden, which is very well kept.  The food is very good and pays attention to taste.  A wide range of activities for all of us.  All the staff are kind and look after us well.
    Resident at Woodpeckers

    12 October 2020
  • My mother has been a resident at Woodpeckers since January 2020 and although reluctant at first she cannot praise the home enough now.  She is well looked after, all medical needs are taken care of, food and room of a high standard and activities daily for her needs.  Things have obviously been difficult over the last few months due to the virus and visiting restricted.  This has been done for the benefit of the residents and the absence of Covid which has proven successful.  Even throughout this, I have spoken every day by phone to my mother and staff have also kept me up to date with her medical changes and also let me know any activities she has taken part in.  I cannot speak highly enough of Woodpeckers and if anyone has any doubt about putting a member of their family in a care home, I would recommend an appointment to have a look inside and talk to the residents to see how well this one is run.  Thanks again to all staff and the manager here.
    Son of Resident at Woodpeckers

    11 September 2020
  • I'm looked after extremely well here at Woodpeckers and have settled in very well. I have no worries at all and all is taken care of. Thank you very much indeed.
    Resident at Woodpeckers

    17 July 2020
  • I have Parkinson's I came here to be looked after. I have been well looked after and I feel very secure here. I and the family are very happy that I made the move her and intend to stay for the foreseeable future. The staff are excellent and treat me very well.

    Resident at Woodpeckers

    19 June 2020
  • Thinking of you all during this challenging time for you all. I often think about you and cannot imagine the stress you must all be under. Thank you all for your efforts.
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    29 April 2020
  • A thousand thank you’s to all at Woodpeckers!! We are grateful for your care and kindness to our relative. Complaints were made by him over the quiz being too easy!! And someone took all the crayons!!
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    29 April 2020
  • I want to say a huge thanks to everyone at Colten Care and in particular to everyone at Woodpeckers for all the hard work I know you are putting into looking after all the residents and yourselves as well. The regular updates are excellent, and it is so fantastic to see you are doing such a wonderful job of keeping everyone safe and entertained as you always do!
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    29 April 2020
  • I do enjoy the activities, and I will try to do most of these, I have a “have-a-go” attitude and do enjoy these and the company. I find the meals presented; extremely appealing.
    Resident At Woodpeckers

     


    26 March 2020
  • It was so good to see such a good team working together.
    Son Of Resident At Woodpeckers

     


    26 March 2020
  • Thank you for the lovely card you sent, I just wanted to thank you all for all the love and care you gave mum during her 4 ½ year stay with you. She always commented on how all her girls and boys looked after her and fed her delicious food, she felt very privileged, she said to be in such a lovely place. It never seemed a problem to you to accommodate us with cups of tea. Meals etc.
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    11 March 2020
  • A year on, we are still looking back with such fond memories of the care and love you gave to mum & dad during their final years. We remain hugely grateful that they are so were so well looked after and that we could all spend quality time with them.
    Daughter and family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    11 March 2020
  • I wanted to thank every single member of staff at Woodpeckers for all you have done for mum over the years, and especially in the last 2 weeks. The care she received was delivered with such genuine kindness and love, which has been absolutely outstanding. You have looked after me too! in so many ways not just the accommodation and meals but the emotional support too.
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    11 March 2020
  • Thank you to all you lovely people at Woodpeckers, we have made friends with everyone over the years and we will miss you all. Thank you for the care, love and companionship you all gave to Dad, it has been much appreciated by the family
    Family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    31 October 2019
  • I will always be very grateful for all the patience and care you showed towards Mum, she could not have been in a better place
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    08 October 2019
  • Thank you so much for making a memorable and happy day for our Diamond Wedding Anniversary - we enjoyed every minute, we really appreciate all you do, love, friendship, encouragement and endeavour
    Wife of Resident at Woodpeckers

    20 September 2019
  • I was so pleased to see how settled my Mum was in Woodpeckers, I thought the home was lovely and all the staff very friendly, caring and helpful
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    22 September 2019
  • Woodpeckers is such a lovely home and my sister and I are very grateful to all for the care given to both mother and especially father
    Son of Resident at Woodpeckers

    19 September 2019
  • Special love to all your staff who made me feel so welcome
    Respite Resident at Woodpeckers

    29 August 2019
  • Your care and attention was outstanding, I cannot thank you enough
    Respite Resident at Woodpeckers

    27 August 2019
  • We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to all of the wonderful staff at Woodpeckers, for their good-natured care and kindness to our beloved husband/father
    Family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    31 July 2019
  • My wife is looked after with great care, kindness and consideration in all respect - care, medical attention an sustenance in a well kept home with a lovely garden
    Husband of Resident at Woodpeckers

    14 July 2019
  • I cannot speak too highly of the care my Husband receives. As a visiting wife, I have received nothing but welcome and hospitality - also given to family and friends who all comment on the nice friendly atmosphere on arrival
    Wife of Resident at Woodpeckers

    23 July 2019
  • Just to say a huge heartfelt thank you for taking such care of Mum, it was important to feel confident in her care as we are a fair distance away, we were always made to feel welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble 
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    26 June 2019
  • Thank you so much from the bottom of our hearts, for the care and attention you have given Mum, you have been an enormous support to the whole family and we have all enjoyed the family atmosphere created by the Woodpeckers community
    Family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    03 July 2019
  • You made my stay at Woodpeckers so comfortable and with love and great caring
    Respite Resident at Woodpeckers

    10 June 2019
  • Thank you for your kindness, Woodpeckers have been brilliant all the way through my Mum stay. We have all come to the conclusion that it was the community of Woodpeckers that Mum didn't want to leave behind
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    27 June 2019
  • You made my stay at Woodpeckers so comfortable and with love and great caring
    James, respite resident at Woodpeckers

    10 June 2019
  • We are so very blessed that Mum was so well cared for by you all at Woodpeckers. Having worked in the health industry all my career and I honestly cannot believe how wonderful you all were all of the time, it gave me great peace knowing that when I was not able to be around
    Wendy, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    24 May 2019
  • Everyone is friendly and caring and our Mother has settled in well. The idea of lunching with her is excellent, as is the food. Today, a Friday, we were most impressed with the therapeutic effect of visiting groups of schoolchildren (including preschool)


    Derrick, son of resident at Woodpeckers

    01 May 2019
  • Very many thanks to the carers who looked after my husband, we especially appreciated the fondness displayed in their caring duties
    Ruth, wife of resident at Woodpeckers

    11 April 2019
  • Thank you all for lunch and the friendly 'Woodpecker' hospitality, you were all so cheerful, so many thanks
    Gilly, relative of resident at Woodpeckers

    20 February 2019
  • My gratitude for the love and attention you gave to my Father, I could not have wanted a better home for him. You all cheerfully cared for him, made him feel at home and never minded what you did to help him. The level of care you gave him was immense and I am so grateful 
    Jane, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    16 January 2019
  • A huge thank you for the care which Dad received at Woodpeckers, he could not have been better cared for, and I am immensely, hugely grateful. All your staff are just so lovely, cheerful, friendly and caring, and I think we are proud here in Brockenhurst to have such a wonderful home in our midst
    Jane, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    10 January 2019
  • I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at Woodpeckers for the kindness they give to me and all the residents, they are very patient and caring to those that need so much care
    Resident at Woodpeckers

    13 December 2018
  • Woodpeckers is such a friendly place and I felt very privileged to be able to observe and help out your brilliant, compassionate and respectful staff 
    Oxford University Student

    14 December 2018
  • Thank you for all the loving and caring of our relative whilst at Woodpeckers
    Relative of resident at Woodpeckers

    26 November 2018
  • Just wanted to say what a great home Woodpeckers and thank you for looking after our friend so well and also for your welcome and efficiency with visitors
    Veronica, friend of resident at Woodpeckers

    07 November 2018
  • Our relative certainly recalls having a 'super' bath at Woodpeckers!!!! As well as engaging in many activities. Woodpeckers is the friendliest and most welcoming home there is!
    Brian, relative of resident at Woodpeckers

    08 November 2018
  • Nursing care of a high-quality and the care staff are courteous and kind
    Donald, husband of resident at Woodpeckers

    10 October 2018