Reviews and Testimonials

9.8

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 50 reviews

Review submitted by Margaret M (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 29 August 2019. Review relates to May 2019.

An extremely high level of professional care and consideration was shown to my mother until the time of her death. All staff members involved in her care worked efficiently and sympathetically as a team. We moved Mum to Woodpeckers from another home where the quality of care was variable. At Woodpeckers, she was cared for with care and kindness!

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J P (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 23 July 2019. Review relates to July 2019.

My husband has now been here for 2 and a half years and cannot speak too highly of the care he receives. As a visiting wife, I have received nothing but welcome and hospitality - also given to family and friends who all comment on the nice friendly atmosphere on arrival.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Donald J (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Sunday 14 July 2019. Review relates to June 2019.

My wife is looked after with great care, kindness and consideration in all respect - care, medical attention an sustenance in a well kept home with a lovely garden.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Derrick K (Son of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 1 May 2019. Review relates to April 2019.

Everyone is friendly and caring. Our mother has settled in well and has put on much-needed weight. The idea of lunching with her is excellent, as is the food. Today, a Friday, we were most impressed with the therapeutic effect of visiting groups of schoolchildren (including preschool).

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Suzy B (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 14 December 2018. Review relates to December 2018.

From the moment I first contacted Woodpeckers to request respite care for my mother, we experienced nothing but kindness, warmth and a lovely welcome. Without exception, the staff have been professional, gentle, kind, considerate and hugely caring. They were attentive to my mother's needs and ensured she was settled, comfortable and content. My heart sang when I witnessed just how caring, patient and respectful they were with the residents, particularly those who needed additional attention at meal times. The food was plentiful, varied and cooked nicely. The bedroom was comfortable and had a beautiful view. All the staff - from reception to cleaners, to nursing care to food provision and service, through to management were welcoming, friendly, approachable, attentive and kind. I was impressed not only by the thoroughness with which my mother was assessed medically but also the communication from the nursing staff to keep myself updated and aware of her medical situation. My only sadness was the limit of activities available - many activities appeared to have been planned but frequently they were cancelled and intellectual stimulation very limited. That aside, should my mother require further respite care in the future, I would not hesitate to approach Woodpeckers again. Thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Satisfactory
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Poor
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M P (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 26 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

This is a care home where I can visit and walk away knowing my dad has the best care possible. There is always a cheery word as you walk in. Every member of the staff is kind and friendly, not only to the residents but also to their families. All Dad's needs are catered for with respect and kindness. Thank you all.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Maggie H (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 17 October 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

Very caring and supportive staff, especially during the first few weeks when my mother found the transition into care very disorientating, where she became very confused. Over the last few months, she has settled well and loves all the care, attention and good humour shown by all. She enjoys the atmosphere in the activities and has made many friends. The constant battle with memory loss is dealt with reassurance and constant kindness. A special place.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P H (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 10 October 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

Warm reception, friendly attention to visitors. Evidence of well-trained staff from procedures in all aspects of care in place. A warm feeling that one is well.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Audrey M (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 10 October 2018. Review relates to September 2018.

Very well looked after. Everyone is extremely friendly.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by G C (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 22 August 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

From day one when our mother was very reluctant, all the staff have shown a great deal if care and understanding. There is a very positive atmosphere and this is evident through all the levels of what makes Woodpeckers not just a care home but a home. We had tried to keep our mother in her own home but this is the next best place. They are very professional, alongside a high degree of personal care. It is light and bright with access to the lovely garden, all of which is maintained at a high level. There is no pressure on residents to join in a very food variety of activities, yet there is still a sense of inclusivity if they choose not to take part. Attention is there if needed but low key when not required. Well done Woodpeckers.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J C (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 22 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

When arriving, after checking who we were and whom we were visiting, a warm and friendly smile and words were directed at us and to who we were visiting. All staff encountered were very friendly and courteous, again with a smile. We clearly observed our friend, who was in a wheelchair, being very well looked after with gentle, caring patience and understanding from the staff. Finally, after visiting various homes, Woodpeckers stood out to be the best!

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by W D (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 24 July 2018. Review relates to July 2018.

An excellent care home, especially for short-term care as was mine.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Satisfactory
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J K (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 11 May 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

My overall experience of Wookpeckers is excellent. The staff are all very friendly and kind. My Mothe is happy and well cared for and that is a great relief to me.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by T H (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 31 January 2018.

Woodpeckers has a wonderful, friendly, caring, warm yet still very professional atmosphere wholly as a result of the superb quality of their staff. Although not purpose built the limitations of the build are never a limit to the imagination or effort of the staff, and I mean all the staff whether nursing, maintenance cleaning, reception activities, food and beverage. They show a personal interest in my father and the family and have 100% improved his quality of life.

How likely would you be to recommend Woodpeckers? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at woodpeckers
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • Thank you to all you lovely people at Woodpeckers, we have made friends with everyone over the years and we will miss you all. Thank you for the care, love and companionship you all gave to Dad, it has been much appreciated by the family
    Family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    31 October 2019
  • I will always be very grateful for all the patience and care you showed towards Mum, she could not have been in a better place
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    08 October 2019
  • Thank you so much for making a memorable and happy day for our Diamond Wedding Anniversary - we enjoyed every minute, we really appreciate all you do, love, friendship, encouragement and endeavour
    Wife of Resident at Woodpeckers

    20 September 2019
  • I was so pleased to see how settled my Mum was in Woodpeckers, I thought the home was lovely and all the staff very friendly, caring and helpful
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    22 September 2019
  • Woodpeckers is such a lovely home and my sister and I are very grateful to all for the care given to both mother and especially father
    Son of Resident at Woodpeckers

    19 September 2019
  • Special love to all your staff who made me feel so welcome
    Respite Resident at Woodpeckers

    29 August 2019
  • Your care and attention was outstanding, I cannot thank you enough
    Respite Resident at Woodpeckers

    27 August 2019
  • We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to all of the wonderful staff at Woodpeckers, for their good-natured care and kindness to our beloved husband/father
    Family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    31 July 2019
  • My wife is looked after with great care, kindness and consideration in all respect - care, medical attention an sustenance in a well kept home with a lovely garden
    Husband of Resident at Woodpeckers

    14 July 2019
  • I cannot speak too highly of the care my Husband receives. As a visiting wife, I have received nothing but welcome and hospitality - also given to family and friends who all comment on the nice friendly atmosphere on arrival
    Wife of Resident at Woodpeckers

    23 July 2019
  • Just to say a huge heartfelt thank you for taking such care of Mum, it was important to feel confident in her care as we are a fair distance away, we were always made to feel welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble 
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    26 June 2019
  • Thank you so much from the bottom of our hearts, for the care and attention you have given Mum, you have been an enormous support to the whole family and we have all enjoyed the family atmosphere created by the Woodpeckers community
    Family of Resident at Woodpeckers

    03 July 2019
  • You made my stay at Woodpeckers so comfortable and with love and great caring
    Respite Resident at Woodpeckers

    10 June 2019
  • Thank you for your kindness, Woodpeckers have been brilliant all the way through my Mum stay. We have all come to the conclusion that it was the community of Woodpeckers that Mum didn't want to leave behind
    Daughter of Resident at Woodpeckers

    27 June 2019
  • You made my stay at Woodpeckers so comfortable and with love and great caring
    James, respite resident at Woodpeckers

    10 June 2019
  • We are so very blessed that Mum was so well cared for by you all at Woodpeckers. Having worked in the health industry all my career and I honestly cannot believe how wonderful you all were all of the time, it gave me great peace knowing that when I was not able to be around
    Wendy, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    24 May 2019
  • Everyone is friendly and caring and our Mother has settled in well. The idea of lunching with her is excellent, as is the food. Today, a Friday, we were most impressed with the therapeutic effect of visiting groups of schoolchildren (including preschool)


    Derrick, son of resident at Woodpeckers

    01 May 2019
  • Very many thanks to the carers who looked after my husband, we especially appreciated the fondness displayed in their caring duties
    Ruth, wife of resident at Woodpeckers

    11 April 2019
  • Thank you all for lunch and the friendly 'Woodpecker' hospitality, you were all so cheerful, so many thanks
    Gilly, relative of resident at Woodpeckers

    20 February 2019
  • My gratitude for the love and attention you gave to my Father, I could not have wanted a better home for him. You all cheerfully cared for him, made him feel at home and never minded what you did to help him. The level of care you gave him was immense and I am so grateful 
    Jane, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    16 January 2019
  • A huge thank you for the care which Dad received at Woodpeckers, he could not have been better cared for, and I am immensely, hugely grateful. All your staff are just so lovely, cheerful, friendly and caring, and I think we are proud here in Brockenhurst to have such a wonderful home in our midst
    Jane, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    10 January 2019
  • I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at Woodpeckers for the kindness they give to me and all the residents, they are very patient and caring to those that need so much care
    Resident at Woodpeckers

    13 December 2018
  • Woodpeckers is such a friendly place and I felt very privileged to be able to observe and help out your brilliant, compassionate and respectful staff 
    Oxford University Student

    14 December 2018
  • Thank you for all the loving and caring of our relative whilst at Woodpeckers
    Relative of resident at Woodpeckers

    26 November 2018
  • Just wanted to say what a great home Woodpeckers and thank you for looking after our friend so well and also for your welcome and efficiency with visitors
    Veronica, friend of resident at Woodpeckers

    07 November 2018
  • Our relative certainly recalls having a 'super' bath at Woodpeckers!!!! As well as engaging in many activities. Woodpeckers is the friendliest and most welcoming home there is!
    Brian, relative of resident at Woodpeckers

    08 November 2018
  • Nursing care of a high-quality and the care staff are courteous and kind
    Donald, husband of resident at Woodpeckers

    10 October 2018
  • A warm reception, friendly attention to visitors with evidence of well-trained staff from procedures in all aspects of care
    Friend of resident at Woodpeckers

    10 October 2018
  • Very caring and supportive staff and my Mother has settled well and loves all the care, attention and good humour shown by all. She enjoys the atmosphere in the activities and has made many friends
    Maggie, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    17 October 2018
  • Thank you all for looking after my Mum so well and making her time with you a happy one
    Jill, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    04 October 2018
  • Thank you for all the excellent attention I received - until next time!
    Audrey, respite resident at Woodpeckers

    01 October 2018
  • There is a very positive atmosphere and this is evident through all the levels of what makes Woodpeckers not just a care home but a home. The staff are very professional, alongside a high degree of personal care. It is light and bright with access to the lovely garden, all of which is maintained at a high level. There is no pressure on residents to join in with the variety of activities, yet there is still a sense of inclusivity if they choose not to take part. Attention is there if needed but low key when not required. Well done Woodpeckers!
    Daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    22 August 2018
  • When arriving, after checking who we were and whom we were visiting, a warm and friendly smile and words were directed at us and to who we were visiting. All staff encountered were very friendly and courteous, again with a smile. We clearly observed our friend, who was in a wheelchair, being very well looked after with gentle, caring patience and understanding from the staff
    Friend of resident at Woodpeckers

    22 August 2018
  • Thank you so much for making Daphne's birthday last week such a happy occasion for all of us. Lunch was excellent, as usual, and tea was superlative! Just filling in my review has really made me realise how lucky we have been to have chosen to place Mum in your care. She seems happy, settled and well, thank you to everyone, at all levels:- carers, nurses, cleaners, housekeepers, cooks, administrators, managers, gardeners, handymen, residents - you are so cheerful, efficient and supportive
    Alison, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    20 August 2018
  • I just wanted to thank all of you for making Mums Birthday such a special day, right from the beginning of the day - you were brilliant. We very much appreciate just how much you put in to making it all work so well 
    Cilly, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    14 August 2018
  • I would like to say the biggest thank you for the exemplary care that you gave to my Mother, your kindness and care was exceptional and could not have been bettered in any way
    Anne, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    26 June 2018
  • A very big thank you for the wonderful care and wonderful life our Mum enjoyed with you, we as a family will really miss seeing each and every one of you, never a visit went by when we didn't pass a pleasant or lighted joke with you
    Pam, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    20 June 2018
  • Many thanks to you and your staff for the lovely flowers I received today, I enjoyed my stay in Woodpeckers very much - it was nice to be spoilt!
    Betty, respite resident at Woodpeckers

    19 June 2018
  • Thank you for all the care Mum is receiving from you at all levels! Leaving Mum behind and driving home has become so much easier, she has relaxed and therefore we have relaxed, thank you!
    Gilly, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    11 May 2018
  • Thank you for all the kind care and consideration you gave my Mother whilst she was with you at Woodpeckers
    Caroline, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    21 May 2018
  • My overall experience of Woodpeckers is excellent, the staff are all very friendly and kind. My Mother is happy and well cared for and that is a great relief to me
    Daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    11 May 2018
  • Thank you for all the great care and attention provided to my Father 
    Relative of resient at Woodpeckers

    11 April 2018
  • Thank you for looking after me so well and for continuing your excellent care 
    Sheila, respite resident at Woodpeckers

    30 March 2018
  • What a lovely surprise to receive that bouquet of flowers. I must thank you all too for looking after me so well – we, the family, appreciate all you do for us.


    Sheila, respite resident at Woodpeckers

    28 March 2018
  • With many thanks for the wonderful care, attention and support Mum had over her thirteen years as a resident.


    Eileen, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    16 March 2018
  • Thank you all for being so cheerful and running up and down the flights of stairs checking we are all fed and watered.


    Betty, resident at Woodpeckers

    20 February 2018
  • I am writing to congratulate you on Woodpeckers’ recent ‘outstanding’ CQC rating. It’s a fantastic achievement and a real testament to the hard-work and dedication of all who work there. Keep up the amazing work!


    Amy, visitor to Woodpeckers

    23 February 2018
  • Thank you so much for making my dad’s birthday so special. Special thanks in particular to the chef for making such lovely food and cake.


    Margaret, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    31 January 2018
  • I would like to thank you all for the very nice lunches we enjoyed on Saturday and Sunday when my husband’s relatives came to visit. I have no doubt it made for extra work at a very busy time, and it was very much appreciated.


    Joan, wife of resident at Woodpeckers

    16 January 2018
  • My mum has been with you for over six months now and we have had nothing but kindness all the way. You have been so welcoming and inclusive to all of us, and it is such a relief to know she is safe and well cared for.


    Janet, daughter of resident at Woodpeckers

    11 January 2018