A A A

Reviews and Testimonials

9.8

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 30 reviews.

Review submitted by J B (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 12 September 2017. Review relates to September 2017.

I find this care home very homely and staff are all very friendly, the residents are treated as an individual respecting all their needs. I sometimes think there's not enough staff to see to everyone's needs at once but residents look, clean and happy. I was always made to feel very welcome.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Win P (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 12 September 2017. Review relates to September 2017.

I am happy here and I like my room.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Margaret J (Resident / Service User) on Monday 21 August 2017. Review relates to August 2017.

I love it here. It is very enjoyable and helpful.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Moshe A (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 25 July 2017. Review relates to July 2017.

In my experience, this is the very best place I've been.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Judy C (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 15 May 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

My Mother has now been in Avon Reach for three and a half years. We expect her to spend the rest of her life there and would not wish for her to be moved to another home. Firstly because she is so happy there and secondly because all the staff are so amazing with her. I live abroad so only get over twice a year to see her but because she is in such safe hands, I never worry.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Sarah S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 15 May 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

Mummy has been at Avon Reach since December 2013 and cannot be happier with the care she is provided. Everyone is so caring and she feels safe and is very happy. As I am a healthcare professional, I would consider myself more critical than many. They have stayed on top of all of her medical problems, informed myself and sisters promptly of any issues. As all three daughters live abroad it was important that Mummy was in an excellent facility.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M B (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 10 May 2017. Review relates to May 2017.

Excellent care from friendly, cheerful, helpful staff in comfortable rooms with interesting car park/entrance views. I want to come back if the situation permits.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jennifer C (Resident / Service User) on Wednesday 26 April 2017. Review relates to April 2017.

Generally, the whole home is run in a professional manner. Very friendly staff, but personally I feel more are needed. I have self-funded my own physio during my stay and was under the impression that some staff were going to watch what needed doing and assist during days I had no physio visit. This hasn't happened.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Satisfactory
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jennifer D (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 9 March 2017. Review relates to January 2017.

Having a lovely Christmas at the home it was mum's Birthday in January. I was so pleased to see the effort everyone put into making mum's day very special. From a banner on her door to presents, a card, a big Birthday cake, singing happy birthday and a happy birthday message from everyone of the staff we met that day. Thank you to you all.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jane F (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 26 January 2017. Review relates to January 2017.

I have been in Avon Reach for almost 12 months and I have extremely good care and find have no cause for complaint.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J R (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 26 January 2017. Review relates to December 2016.

Very satisfying.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J L (Grandson of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 24 January 2017. Review relates to January 2017.

My grandmother is at Avon Reach and receives an excellent standard of care. The team are very friendly and always have time to help. The manager is always seen speaking to residents and provides a very cheerful and friendly atmosphere.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Peter (Resident / Service User) on Friday 20 January 2017. Review relates to January 2017.

Very good, excellent. Came for respite liked it so much I stayed. Greeted with open arms.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by K B (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 10 January 2017. Review relates to December 2016.

Could not possibly wish for a better place or nicer staff - Very grateful for all they do.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by S M (Relative of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 10 January 2017. Review relates to December 2016.

Staff very welcoming, clean room, enjoyable buffet with a good selection of sandwiches and cakes. Didn't experience activities.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Satisfactory
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by June O (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 11 October 2016. Review relates to September 2016.

Very helpful, caring and positive approach. Always attentive in a pleasant and happy atmosphere a feeling of one to one attention. First rate food and a good spectrum of entertainers outside visits and craft education.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Dawn V (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 4 October 2016. Review relates to September 2016.

My mother fell and broke her hip at the age of 85. After discharge from hospital, she went to Avon Reach. All the staff are very welcoming to her and all own family. She has been cared for very well and has gained confidence again. My father has also been treated well and kept informed of her progress, sharing meals with her from time to time.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Daphne B (Niece of Resident/Service User) on Friday 9 September 2016. Review relates to August 2016.

Having worked in aged care for many years in Australia I was most impressed with the standard of care at Avon Reach. Matron and all her staff have created a wonderful, professional and caring home for all the residents. I have been most impressed with all aspects of the home and truly thank all the staff for the care and empathy shown to my aunt. Keep up the great work.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by B C (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 24 August 2016. Review relates to August 2016.

I always feel welcome when I visit my friend, her room is always very clean and the carers are always happy to serve tea and coffee with biscuits as we require them. I would recommend this home with such high standards to my family and friends.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Paul L (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 16 August 2016. Review relates to July 2016.

Friendly, responsive, professional, clean, efficiently run, good food responsive staff. Pit physiotherapist/occupational therapist could not have visited.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by June L (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Wednesday 10 August 2016. Review relates to June 2016.

My mother is happy and very well looked after. Staff are friendly and helpful. Matron is always available and helpful.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Satisfactory
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Trevor J (Husband of Resident/Service User) on Monday 8 August 2016. Review relates to July 2016.

95% content with generally overall excellent level of care provided, ambience of home is that of a small hotel. Only downside is feeling that staff just do not have the time to devote to feeding and drink supply to my wife who is wheelchair bound and virtually helpless - although they do their best. Having attended nearly every day for a year I have never seen or heard staff treat any resident with less than great courtesy and dignity.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Lynn (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 7 June 2016. Review relates to May 2016.

All the staff were lovely - very caring, nothing is too much trouble. There were two problems, but the home could have done nothing more as this was beyond them. The first was the TV, if a channel button was pressed twice it went through from terrestrial to a sky channel. Mum was too blind and too confused for this and so concluded the TV didn't work. The second was night time incontinence. It sometimes took the carers too long to get to her in time to prevent an accident. However, they did their best to manage this.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jacky R (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 21 March 2016. Review relates to March 2016.

The management were very helpful in finding a respite place for my mother at fairly short notice. All the staff were welcoming when she first arrived and were always very friendly and helpful when I visited. If my mum had any problems with health issues the nurses always called me to let me know. Avon Reach was always homely and welcoming and I would not hesitate to recommend it to any other families.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by M S (Resident / Service User) on Friday 8 January 2016. Review relates to December 2015.

All the staff were very kind and caring, which made me feel very much at home.

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Catherine M (Sister of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 8 December 2015. Review relates to November 2015.

We visited without giving notice and felt very welcomed. The staff were getting my brother washed and dressed and we took him to the lounge where the friendly dog club were having a session with the other residents. Coffee was available as we chatted to my brother and a drink was brought to him. We were offered lunch, though we declined, and planned to come back in the afternoon and had the same good experience and similarly in the evening!

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Geraldine W (Daughter-in-law of Resident/Service User) on Monday 30 November 2015. Review relates to November 2015.

My father-in-law had been here for three and a half years since the early days for which he was very troubled and confused. He has settled and in his words "is very contented". He had caring and good support in the early days which was very difficult for him and for us. We are notified if any change in him, therefore as his family we're happy with his care. We had a family wedding last month, for which they supported wonderfully, allowing him to be present and us to be assured that he was well looked after. Thank you

How likely would you be to recommend Avon Reach? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Avon Reach
  • Read excerpts from letters of thanks sent to Avon Reach
    (Original letters are kept in a book available to visitors at reception)
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • The whole family is most grateful to all the staff for the wonderfully understanding and professional care my sister received at Avon Reach. She took a little time to settle in, hoping to be able to return to her own home, but when I organised a trial period for her to return to her house with a carer, she changed her mind - she said she would be happier to remain at Avon Reach where she had made many friends, there was always so much going on, and where she was being looked after so well.


    Peter, brother of resident at Avon Reach

    30 October 2017
  • I just wanted to say how lovely it was to be able to have lunch with our relative in your private dining room when we visited. What a lovely idea and it made spending precious time with our relative feel extra special. The food was delicious, the staff were attentive and it was much appreciated after our journey.

    Thank you to all concerned.


    Jo, relative of resident at Avon Reach

    16 October 2017
  • I wanted to put in writing my appreciation of the staff who were on duty when a very upsetting incident happened directly outside Avon Reach care home. I arrived early evening to visit my mother and was unaware that such a difficult event had taken place. The staff were calm and supportive to residents and visitors, and continued to pop in with everyday conversations, tea, and care.

    My mother has an anxiety condition, but because her questions were met with such reassuring responses, she was fine. Without exception, staff from all teams (nursing, caring, housekeeping, catering, and of course, reception) are extraordinary on an everyday basis, but to provide such service with the knowledge they had was remarkable. Colten Care are very lucky indeed to have such high-quality employees. 


    Mrs Cothay, daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    15 October 2017
  • Thank you to the staff and residents at Avon Reach for the beautiful bouquet – what a lovely surprise! We will miss you all.


    Brenda, visitor to Avon Reach

    12 September 2017
  • (Poems by one of our residents about some new friendships she has made)

    There is a lady called Peggy

    There is a lady called Peggy,
    So happy and glad to be here.
    Her previous home was not happy,
    But now she has nothing to fear!

    “I’m permanent, I’m permanent”,
    Her lovely Welsh accent so very clear.
    “I’m permanent, I’m permanent,
    and so glad to be here!”

    She says she has learned to laugh again,
    It was a long-lost treasure.
    The discovery that you wish to laugh,
    Can be a lifetime’s pleasure.

    We find we both have decisions to make,
    About our previous homes.
    But we both are very happy here,
    And have no further wish to moan.

    Peggy is determined,
    Her piano to bring.
    So we hope that before long,
    Out its mellow tones will ring.

    So welcome, welcome Peggy,
    I’m so happy that we’ve met.
    And I know that we…
    In time…
    May be…
    Even friendlier yet!

    Another side to a friendship

    Oh thank you Barbara for calling,
    To chat the other day.
    I am so glad you and Peggy,
    Have now found a special way
    To be friends together,
    After Peggy’s comparatively short stay.

    Peggy asked me,
    If I knew Barbara too,
    I had to say that I did not,
    But this week…
    Oh I do!
    We had a long conversation,
    When she came to call,
    And I feel so privileged,
    That she bothered with me at all.

    Two very determined Welsh ladies,
    Have found each other here.
    And I do so hope the friendship,
    Will last for many a year!

    We can wave across the car park,
    If we feel inclined so to do,
    For we are often within sight of each other,
    And that is a pleasure too!

    I hope we can get together,
    Every now and then.
    And have a good laugh together,
    And can call each other ‘friends”.


    Margaret, resident at Avon Reach

    21 August 2017
  • Thank you so much for the lovely bunch of pink and white flowers. They hardly needed any arranging and are giving me much pleasure in the corner of my lounge in a prominent position.

    I am very grateful for all that was done for me during my stay at Avon Reach.


    Jean, respite resident at Avon Reach

    09 August 2017
  • Thank you very much for the care and love you showed our loved one. The family are very grateful that she was looked after so well by you all.


    Reg, friend of resident at Avon Reach

    17 July 2017
  • We just wanted to say a huge thank you to all of you for looking after our family member. You all made her years with you happy ones, and for that we can’t thank you enough. All of you were so caring towards her and she was fond of you all.


    Dave, relative of resident at Avon Reach

    17 July 2017
  • We wanted to say a big thank you to you all for looking after Mum so well on her birthday. The cake was beautiful (and delicious!), the gift was very thoughtful, but best of all was everyone’s care and concern for Mum on her special day.


    Kath, daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    14 July 2017
  • We wanted to say a big thank you to you all for looking after Mum so well on her birthday. The cake was beautiful (and delicious!), the gift was very thoughtful, but best of all was everyone’s care and concern for Mum on her special day.


    Family of resident at Avon Reach

    29 June 2017
  • I would just like to say my two-week stay here has been a lovely experience. I was made very welcome from day one – everyone knew my name (I did try to memorise as many of your names as I could – apologies for the names I forgot!) and I loved joining in with the many activities on offer. There were so many lovely people; both the permanent residents and the short-term ones like myself, and the staff are brilliant and have a caring attitude at all times.

    I shall miss you all. Thank you so very much.


    Anne, respite resident at Avon Reach

    28 June 2017
  • We would like to thank you all most sincerely for the excellent attention and kindness shown towards our mum.

    She very much enjoyed the walks she was given to the Quay, a reminder of the swans and ducks she had seen years before.

    Thank you for making us feel part of the family we call Avon Reach.


    Jan, daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    15 June 2017
  • It was a great pleasure and honour to be asked to the first Community Coffee Morning at Avon Reach. We both thoroughly enjoyed the morning, and it was lovely to meet so many friends there.

    We were both very impressed with the transformation of the two lounge areas, especially the changes to the ground floor, which will greatly benefit the residents. The new windows, doors and patio areas really do help to open the lounge out into the wider community.


    Mayor Councillor Nick Geary

    23 May 2017
  • Thank you for the help and advice you have given me. I have enjoyed my time at Avon Reach, and the staff have been extremely kind.


    June, resident at Avon Reach

    21 May 2017
  • Thank you for the beautiful flower arrangement you sent for my return home.

    It was very much appreciated.


    Jean, resident at Avon Reach

    20 May 2017
  • Thank you for all you did for me during my stay, and also for the lovely flowers – it was most kind of you to send them.


    Maisie, respite resident at Avon Reach

    16 May 2017
  • Just a note to say a huge thank you for looking after our mum over the last few months. From day one with you, she was treated like part of the family. I can’t tell you how much we appreciate it.

    You’re an amazing team.


    Helen, daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    24 April 2017
  • Cars in the car park down below,
    all shades,
    red, black, white and grey.
    Some arrive early each morning,
    and remain there all day!

    They belong to the carers,
    who arrive each day,
    to fill,
    the roles they have been given,
    to make over people’s lives content,
    who nowadays,
    are maybe not so confident!

    In the early evening hours,
    these cars will disperse,
    and others take their place,
    as night staff come on duty,
    to work the whole night through.
    It seems a hard task,
    but, to them, worthwhile to do.

    So let’s be thankful for them,
    even though we may appear,
    to be less than grateful,
    when at times they gather near!

    For we all have our troubles,
    be they evident or hidden,
    and to these nursing staff,
    the daily task is given!

    So let us all be cheerful,
    and give a good response,
    when we receive a friendly greeting,
    as the staff pass to and fro,
    then they may be, in the end,
    sad to see us go!

    Down there, in the kitchen,
    there must be others too,
    who work hard,
    at working out,
    the delicious dishes of the day,
    to be chosen from the menu received,
    with the breakfast tray!

    Other folk in the office,
    residents probably rarely see,
    working out the payment charges,
    that are due from you and me!

    Then there are some folk with a trolley,
    passing to and fro,
    dispensing hot and cheerful drinks,
    daily as they go!

    Then there are the cleaners,
    who have a cheerless, thankless task,
    who make life more bearable,
    without us having to ask.

    There are people who devise
    entertainments too,
    activities and occupations,
    that some may care to do.
    At times, they must feel frustrated,
    thinking they are not appreciated.
    But this probably is not so,
    as they organise the outings,
    on which folk may care to go.

    So many unseen people,
    all working for our good.
    At times their roles and routines,
    may not be understood.

    All in their way,
    they play their part,
    whether we stay on with them,
    or in a short time depart!


    Margaret, respite resident at Avon Reach

    22 April 2017
  • Thank you for welcoming me with open arms, and for making me feel at home from the moment I got here.


    Peter, resident at Avon Reach

    05 April 2017
  • Avon Reach was a good place for Dad; the nurses and carers understood his strong personality and his need for a set routine. They also supported me, and kept me updated if there were any changes to his condition.

    Thank you for improving Dad’s quality of life.


    Christine, daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    27 March 2017
  • Thank you all so much for making my birthday a wonderful day.

    You made my friends and I feel so welcome.


    Joan, resident at Avon Reach

    23 March 2017
  • Thank you for making my grandmother so happy during her stay with you. It is very noticeable how much effort the team make – thank you.


    Crispin, grandson of resident at Avon Reach

    09 March 2017
  • For the past eighteen months, I have spent the best part of most days at Avon Reach, usually in the lounge and restaurant, enjoying quality time with my wife.

    I became such a fixture I was virtually invisible, which provided me with what may be a unique insight into the running of the home. Not once in those 540 days did I observe anything other than the utmost courtesy, kindness and dignity from the staff towards my wife and other residents in her vicinity. Whether it be the manager, nurses, carers, receptionists, kitchen, maintenance, or laundry staff, they all performed their duties to the highest standards.

    You should be justly proud of your organisation and that rare thing you have achieved – value for money, quality care. 


    Trevor, wife of resident at Avon Reach

    14 February 2017
  • Avon Reach is very homely and clean. Staff are happy and welcoming and everyone looks very well looked after.


    Emma, visitor to Avon Reach

    16 January 2017
  • We would like to thank you all for the excellent care, both nursing and personal, that our relative received throughout the eighteen months she lived with you at Avon Reach.

    We know she felt safe and well cared for, and was always happy. As a family, we also felt very well cared for, especially when we came to stay for a few days.

    We know that Avon Reach was definitely the best place for our relative, and we are very grateful.


    Pam, relative of resident at Avon Reach

    11 January 2017
  • Visiting Avon Reach is always a pleasure as the staff are not only friendly and professional, but also extremely pleasant and smiley.


    Terence, visitor to Avon Reach

    10 January 2017
  • I wanted you to know the sensitivity and quality of care shown by every single member of staff to the residents shone through at Christmas. Our whole family had a warm welcome and Mum thoroughly enjoyed herself. Staff from all the teams give so much – I cannot thank them enough. 


    Daughter of resident at Avon Reach

    29 December 2016
  • Thank you all for making Avon Reach such a special place, and for bringing a wonderful Christmas to all there.


    Ray, son of resident at Avon Reach

    26 December 2016
  • A very big thank you for the care, kindness and patience shown towards me during my short stay with you.

    From a very grateful patient.


    Martin, respite resident at Avon Reach

    07 December 2016
  • Sadly, I cannot thank you all at Avon Reach in person, but please be assured your efforts are recognised and really appreciated. Every time we visited, we noticed what a special place it is. That does not just happen, it needs everyone to work towards it, so a big thank you to you all.

    The way you all look after people at Avon Reach allows those precious end years to be special. We witnessed that first hand with Mum and Dad, so when you are having a hard day, smile and remember how important you all are. 


    Ray, son of residents at Avon Reach

    11 August 2016
  • A huge thank you for all the help and great kindness shown to me during my three-week stay with you. I cannot speak too highly of the extra help I was given – all with a lovely smile! 


    Sylvia, respite resident at Avon Reach

    09 June 2016
  • I wish to thank you all for my card, cake and presents, and for giving me such a nice 99th birthday! You are all so kind.


    Dolly, resident at Avon Reach

    01 June 2016