Reviews and Testimonials

9.8

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 11 reviews

Review submitted by Laura E (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Friday 4 September 2020. Review relates to August 2020.

My father has had a tough time since his life turned upside down following a major stroke five months ago. He’s been in Amberwood House almost three weeks and it is greatly noticeable how much his anxieties have lessened. The staff have been wonderful in helping him to settle and arranged live music, a cake and gift to celebrate his birthday earlier this week. So far, the care has been superb. Thank you, Amberwood House.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Frances L (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 11 August 2020. Review relates to July 2020.

I cannot speak highly enough of the staff at Amberwood Lodge. The care they are giving to my mother is excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful and have been so good at assisting us to keep contact during the lockdown. We are also very pleased to receive the regular newsletters which keep us informed about everything which is happening. I know my mother is happy and well cared for and that is everything we as a family would wish for her.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P B (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 25 June 2020. Review relates to June 2020.

I feel very safe and cared for, they look after me very well. I enjoy the food and company of others. Staf always treat me with respect.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by B W (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 18 June 2020. Review relates to June 2020.

I want to thank everyone at Amberwood House for all the care they have provided. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They have been great, especially as it has been a tough time over the last few weeks not being able to see my friend regularly. It is lovely that we are able to start visiting again even with restrictions.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Margaret S (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 16 June 2020. Review relates to June 2020.

Amberwood staff do really well looking after us all. The food and the way it is served is very appealing always with nice choices, good cutlery and serviettes. Coffee is good too. The staff take their time, they are kind and always on the go. You can ask them any questions. I don't stay up too long, and I enjoyed the art classes in the morning.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Judith B (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 16 June 2020. Review relates to June 2020.

Although I found it quite strange living in a care home initially, I feel far more relaxed about it now. The staff are very good from the young ones to the elderly ones; they are all really lovely. On the whole, I enjoy the meals, but I am a fussy eater. If I ask for something special, the staff always try to get it for me. The gardens are very well maintained, and I enjoy spending time sitting outside.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by David S (Son of Resident/Service User) on Saturday 9 May 2020. Review relates to April 2020.

I would like to express my sincere gratitude to all of the staff who have looked after my mum since she broke her hip 9 weeks ago. We consider ourselves so lucky to have secured a place in Amberwood whilst she recovers and are grateful to everyone that has been assisting and tending to her during these difficult times. The outstanding professionalism and the kind, caring nature of all of those staff deserve recognition. From the senior management, nurses, carers and admin staff nothing has been too much trouble. They are incredibly thoughtful of both my mum and to the other members of my family and never fail to keep us informed. Since arriving at Amberwood my mum’s health has been challenging for the staff and the help and support the whole team have given to us is a credit to them and the company as a whole. The whole team at Amberwood have gone over and beyond any expectations, I and my family may have had or could have believed was possible. Thank you.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Neil M (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 16 April 2020. Review relates to April 2020.

From initial contact to placing my friend in Amberwood, the attention to detail from the type of care through to medical needs was dealt with professionally but also considerately. When there has been any need to contact me with regard to hid health or needs; this has been done straight away. Given the extremely testing circumstances, we all face at this moment in time, Amberwood has kept us up to date with all matters that may be of interest or concern to us. Although worried and frustrated by the circumstances, he finds himself very satisfied with his level of care.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Don't Know
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by L H (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 12 March 2020. Review relates to March 2020.

A true care home with kindness and respect for the patient. My one month here has felt like home. Although I am a poor eater after a major operation, the food was well prepared and mashed at the same time of arrival and now improved to proper meals, all be it small size.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Linda A (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Thursday 24 October 2019. Review relates to October 2019.

My Mother has been a permanent resident at Amberwood House for six years and throughout this time she and we, her family, have been very happy with the care and nursing that she has received. The home is well maintained with lovely gardens to use and comfortable lounges for relaxation. The whole building is spotlessly clean. She enjoys a wide range of activities and bus excursions. We are very happy with the care given to our Mother and know that we can always chat with the Manager if any problems arise.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Paul S (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 16 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

I found the staff to be very friendly and polite and two staff I had a good laugh with, with my impersonation of Darth Vader of Star Wars. They thought it was great! The care given to my mum was very good and on the two occasions I was able to get to see Mum, a meal was provided which was very kind of them! Great staff, first class! NB - the food and menu were not great and Mum said they kept getting the request for the menu wrong.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Amberwood House
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • I want to thank everyone at Amberwood House for all the care they have provided. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They have been great, especially as it has been a tough time over the last few weeks not being able to see my friend regularly. It is lovely that we are able to start visiting again even with restrictions.

    Friend of Resident at Amberwood House

    25 June 2020
  • Amberwood staff do really well looking after us all. The food and the way it is served is very appealing always with nice choices, good cutlery and serviettes. Coffee is good too. The staff take their time, they are kind and always on the go. You can ask them any questions. I don't stay up too long, and I enjoyed the art classes in the morning.

    Resident at Amberwood House

    23 June 2020
  • Although I found it quite strange living in a care home initially, I feel far more relaxed about it now. The staff are very good from the young ones to the elderly ones; they are all really lovely. On the whole, I enjoy the meals, but I am a fussy eater. If I ask for something special, the staff always try to get it for me. The gardens are very well maintained, and I enjoy spending time sitting outside.

    Resident at Amberwood House

    22 June 2020
  • Just to show my deep appreciation for the sterling job all the caring people at Amberwood House are doing in the care of their residents.
    Sister of Resident at Amberwood House

    29 May 2020
  • I would like to express my sincere gratitude to all of the staff who have looked after my mum since she broke her hop 9 weeks ago. We consider ourselves so lucky to have secured a place in Amberwood whilst she recovers and are grateful to everyone that has been assisting and tending to her during these difficult times.
    Son of Resident at Amberwood House

    29 May 2020
  • To All, with this care comes our massive heartfelt thanks to all of your staff and management, for the answering way in which they are dealing with this coronavirus situation, from the planning, extended care and supply of essential products to the total devotion that all of your staff clearly display on a daily basis.
    Son of Resident at Amberwood House

    29 May 2020
  • Thank you so much to you and ALL the staff for doing what you do! I have done my best, and will continue, to try and dispel the terrible things that we see on our new every day concerning care homes. I am really quite angry with much of the media and find myself switching off the radio many times.

    Daughter of Resident at Amberwood House

    26 May 2020
  • On behalf of my family I just wanted to thank you & all your staff for the great care & attention that you give to our relation and the other residents, especially in these difficult & uncertain times. It is much appreciated, and we are thankful that our relative is with you and not home alone. You are all in our thoughts and prayers. 
    Family of Resident at Amberwood House

    26 May 2020
  • From initial contact to placing my friend in Amberwood, the attention to detail form the type of care through to medical needs was dealt with professionally but also considerately. Given the extremely testing circumstances, we all face at this moment in time, Amberwood has kept us up to date with all matters that may be of interest or concern to us.
    Friend of Resident at Amberwood House

    26 May 2020
  • To all the lovely staff and residents of Amberwood House wishing you all a Happy Easter. “What do you get if you cross a bee and a bunny? A honey bunny!”
    Daughter of mother in Amberwood House

    28 April 2020
  • A true care home with kindness and respect for the patient. My one month here has felt like home. Although a poor eater after a major operation, the food was well prepared and mashed at the same time of arrival and now improved to proper meals.
    Current Resident at Amberwood House

    28 April 2020
  • Thank you so very very very very much!
    Daughter of Resident At Amberwood House

    26 March 2020
  • To all the staff, I will remember with gratitude all the kindness and help shown to me by all the staff, without your care we would have been quite overwhelmed.
    Daughter and family Of Resident At Amberwood House

    26 March 2020
  • We particularly were impressed with the End of Life support that our Mother received and the genuine feelings people showed for her
    Son of Resident at Amberwood House

    09 January 2020
  • Although you only had Dad in your care for a short time we really appreciated the warmth and concern that you showed, we know that Dad really valued all that you did for him
    Daughter of Resident at Amberwood House

    09 December 2019
  • We have been very happy with the care and nursing that our Mother has received, the home is well maintained with lovely gardens to use and comfortable lounges for relaxation - the whole building is spotlessly clean!
    Daughter of Resident at Amberwood House

    24 October 2019
  • I found the staff to be very friendly and polite and the care given to my Mum was very good. Great staff, first class!
    Son of Resident at Amberwood House

    23 October 2019
  • Your friendliness and caring natures helped both Mum and us
    Daughter of Resident at Amberwood House

    18 October 2019
  • I am very happy with the care my Dad is receiving and am humbled at times by your collective efforts to make his life the best it can be
    Daughter of Resident at Amberwood House

    19 September 2019
  • The care of my Mother was first class from a lovelt, friendly bunch of people whose attention to detail was amazing
    Daughter of Resident at Amberwood House

    08 September 2019
  • Thank you and all the staff at Amberwood House for having taken such wonderful care of my relative, who has come back to life in your care.  We could not have wished a better recovery for him; our family and friends will be forever immensely grateful to you all
    Teresa, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    04 June 2019
  • Thank you so much for all the cheerful support
    Relative of resident at Amberwood House

    27 April 2019
  • Thank you to all for the kindness, caring and friendliness shown to me during my recent stay, everyone behaved in a professional manner and all helped me along with smiles and understanding 
    Mike, respite resident at Amberwood House

    11 April 2019
  • Thank you and all the staff at Amberwood House for your help and friendship during our relatives stay, we are grateful that she was so well cared for during her time with you
    Relative of respite resident at Amberwood House

    25 January 2019
  • I found the staff to be very friendly and polite, the care given to my Mum was very good and on the two occasions I was able to get to see Mum, a meal was provided which was very kind of them! Great staff, first class!
    Paul, son of resident at Amberwood House

    16 October 2018
  • Thank you for making Dad's 90th Birthday so special, we are had a wonderful time and it was so lovely seeing him so happy
    Relative of resident at Amberwood House

    14 October 2018
  • My sincere thanks to all the staff at Amberwood House for the care, support, and help given to my Mother and me. I always found the level of care and support exemplary, not just from the front line carers but from the whole staff. Everyone has been friendly, approachable and caring about the comfort and welfare of my Mother 
    Peter, son of resident at Amberwood House

    15 August 2018
  • My mother went to Amberwood House for respite care. Prior to this Mum was living alone with carers going in twice a day. When the respite period came to an end, Mum realised that she would miss the companionship. Not only is it wonderful for Mum but it gives me the comfort that Mum is cared for so well. The staff at Amberwood are a credit to Colten Care. Nothing is too much of a chore for them and they are so caring
    Julie, daughter of resident at Amberwood House

    13 August 2018
  • Thank you all for my wonderful care I received during my stay and also for your patience and understanding
    Carole, resident at Amberwood House

    29 July 2018
  • My neighbour loves the care and friendship of all the team and promptly decided to sell his house and move in! I have been delighted with the reception he has received and the way his friends are always welcome to visit - it is truly his home already and I am so glad he is happy here
    Angela, friend of resident at Amberwood House

    22 June 2018
  • Mum always said how happy she was during her time with you all at Amberwood House and we were so glad of this 
    Mark, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    22 May 2018
  • My experience at Amberwood was a very pleasant surprise, I found the staff exceptional, always caring and going the extra mile to help and assist the patients.
    Respite resident at Amberwood House

    15 May 2018
  • I found the staff exceptional, always caring and going the extra mile to help and assist the patients
    Resident at Amberwood House

    15 May 2018
  • Caring, happy environment with a good balance of activities. Comfortable accommodation, which is relaxing, with high standard of food
    Peter, respite resident at Amberwood House

    11 May 2018
  • During my stay of 11 weeks, I could not have asked for better treatment, the whole 4 weeks were thoroughly enjoyable
    Walton, respite resident at Amberwood House

    10 May 2018
  • The 2 years at Amberwood House has given us all an insight into the high standard and quality of care given and the caring nature of staff giving beyond their philosophy of dignity
    Jaraine, niece of resident at Amberwood House

    25 April 2018
  • I found the home staff very kind and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Great care was taken for my comfort. The food was very good and nothing was too much trouble
    Resident at Amberwood House

    19 April 2018
  • The home was very welcoming and made my husband feel safe for a few days respite care
    Jean, wife of resident at Amberwood House

    10 April 2018
  • Thank you for the dedicated an exceptional care you provided for our Mother. Thank you also for the catering team - Mum often commented on the lovely food. It was a comfort for us to know that Mum was receiving such outstanding care.
    Garry, son of resident at Amberwood House

    25 March 2018
  • We were so impressed with all the staff at Amberwood House, reflecting the same caring and professional vlaues 
    Paula, visitor to Amberwood House

    21 March 2018
  • We wish to thank you so very much for looking after Mum with such care, respect and affection. She really has enjoyed her stay and is always saying how kind everyone is.


    Debra, daughter of respite resident at Amberwood House

    23 February 2018
  • I want to thank everyone who took such great care of my relative whilst she was with you at Amberwood House. Great care and attention was provided; the carers, waitressing staff, cleaners, entertainment team and office staff all had the same attitude, and that was to ensure each and every person in the care home was extremely well looked after and happy.

    Thank you Amberwood – I cannot rate you highly enough.


    Hugh, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    08 February 2018
  • On behalf of my brothers and I, we would like to thank you for the care and companionship shown towards our mother.

    All the carers, kitchen staff and activity organisers were loving, helpful and attentive. The idea that all staff are part of a single team worked so well, and your efforts were much appreciated by us all.


    Penny, daughter of resident at Amberwood House

    04 January 2018
  • Thank you to all the staff at Amberwood House for looking after our relative so well, and for making her feel so comfortable.


    Anne, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    25 November 2017
  • I thank you sincerely for the kindness, care and consideration shown to me by all on my recent stay at Amberwood House. I felt truly cared for. An additional thank you for the food menu – delicious, varied and imaginative. I cannot speak too highly of the care received from Colten Care.


    Jill, respite resident at Amberwood House

    03 November 2017
  • Thank you all so much for looking after our relative during her stay with you. You have all been so kind and caring, and looked after her with such compassion.

     It’s been a pleasure to visit her in such beautiful surroundings.


    Marion, relative of resident

    23 August 2017
  • Thank you so much for looking after our relative with such compassion, love and care.


    Alison, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    08 July 2017
  • My mother was very happy at Amberwood. She felt safe, cared for and loved. I am most grateful to all the staff for their good will, kindness and professional care.


    Pamela, daughter of resident at Amberwood House

    06 July 2017
  • I just wanted to say thank you for all the help, support and kindness you showed towards our family member. It was very much appreciated.


    Family of resident at Amberwood House

    15 June 2017
  • Thank you very much for the care you all took in looking after our relative at your lovely home.


    Don, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    20 May 2017