Reviews and Testimonials

9.8

Carehome.co.uk is the UK’s leading independent care home website. The review score is made up of a ‘Quality Score’ relating to the rating, and a ‘Quantity Score’ relating to the number of positive reviews.

Review score from 34 reviews

Review submitted by Paul S (Son of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 16 October 2018. Review relates to October 2018.

I found the staff to be very friendly and polite and two staff I had a good laugh with, with my impersonation of Darth Vader of Star Wars. They thought it was great! The care given to my mum was very good and on the two occasions I was able to get to see Mum, a meal was provided which was very kind of them! Great staff, first class! NB - the food and menu were not great and Mum said they kept getting the request for the menu wrong.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Satisfactory
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Julie S (Daughter of Resident/Service User) on Monday 13 August 2018. Review relates to August 2018.

My mother went to Amberwood House for respite care. Prior to this Mum was living alone with carers going in twice a day. When the respite period came to an end, Mum realised that she would miss the companionship. Not only is it wonderful for Mum but it gives me the comfort that Mum is cared for so well. The staff at Amberwood are a credit to Colten Care. Nothing is too much of a chore for them and they are so caring.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Pamela D (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 3 July 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

Having no family and unable to fully care for myself, it was inevitable to come into care. I have accepted the situation gratefully.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Don't know

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by Angela A (Friend of Resident/Service User) on Friday 22 June 2018. Review relates to June 2018.

My neighbour came for 4 we4eks respite after leaving hospital. He loved the care and friendship of all the team and promptly decided to sell his house and move in. I have been delighted with the reception he has received and the way his friends are always welcome to visit. It is truly his home already and I am so glad he is happy here.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by P R (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 15 May 2018. Review relates to May 2018.

My experience at Amberwood was a very pleasant surprise. I had torn an achilles tendon and couldn't manage at home. I found the staff exceptional, always charing and going the extra mile to help and assist the patients. The food was good - myself and friends having some very pleasant meals.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by J C (Brother of Resident/Service User) on Monday 14 May 2018. Review relates to May 2018.

Very pleased with the service.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Peter B (Respite Resident/Service User) on Friday 11 May 2018. Review relates to April 2018.

Caring, happy environment. Good balance of activities. Comfortable accommodation, relaxing with high standard of food.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Walton S (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 10 May 2018.

During my stay of 11 weeks, I could not have asked for better treatment. The whole 4 weeks were thoroughly enjoyable.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Lois H (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 3 May 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

Very good.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Good
  • Management: Good
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Good
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Good
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Good

Review submitted by P S (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 19 April 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

I found the home staff very kind and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Great care was taken for my comfort. The food was very good, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Likely

  • Care / Support: Good
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Good
  • Facilities: Good
  • Cleanliness: Good
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Good
  • Overall Standard: Good
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Isabel S (Resident / Service User) on Tuesday 17 April 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

Equal to a five-star hotel.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Jean S (Wife of Resident/Service User) on Tuesday 10 April 2018. Review relates to March 2018.

The home was very welcoming and made my husband feel safe for a few days respite care. He had a lovely room and enjoyed very good food.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Excellent
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Excellent
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent

Review submitted by Zoe M (Resident / Service User) on Thursday 18 January 2018. Review relates to December 2017.

There is a friendly atmosphere in this well-appointed care home and the same applies to the staff. Facilities are excellent.

How likely would you be to recommend Amberwood House? Extremely likely

  • Care / Support: Excellent
  • Staff: Excellent
  • Management: Excellent
  • Rooms: Excellent
  • Facilities: Excellent
  • Cleanliness: Excellent
  • Food & Drink: Excellent
  • Activities: Good
  • Safety / Security: Excellent
  • Value for Money: Satisfactory
  • Overall Standard: Excellent
  • Treated with Dignity: Excellent
  • Visit our reception to view our 'Our Values' book, a collection of memories, stories and photos illustrating life at Amberwood House
  • Read a selection of our resident and relative testimonials below:
  • Thank you and all the staff at Amberwood House for having taken such wonderful care of my relative, who has come back to life in your care.  We could not have wished a better recovery for him; our family and friends will be forever immensely grateful to you all
    Teresa, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    04 June 2019
  • Thank you so much for all the cheerful support
    Relative of resident at Amberwood House

    27 April 2019
  • Thank you to all for the kindness, caring and friendliness shown to me during my recent stay, everyone behaved in a professional manner and all helped me along with smiles and understanding 
    Mike, respite resident at Amberwood House

    11 April 2019
  • Thank you and all the staff at Amberwood House for your help and friendship during our relatives stay, we are grateful that she was so well cared for during her time with you
    Relative of respite resident at Amberwood House

    25 January 2019
  • I found the staff to be very friendly and polite, the care given to my Mum was very good and on the two occasions I was able to get to see Mum, a meal was provided which was very kind of them! Great staff, first class!
    Paul, son of resident at Amberwood House

    16 October 2018
  • Thank you for making Dad's 90th Birthday so special, we are had a wonderful time and it was so lovely seeing him so happy
    Relative of resident at Amberwood House

    14 October 2018
  • My sincere thanks to all the staff at Amberwood House for the care, support, and help given to my Mother and me. I always found the level of care and support exemplary, not just from the front line carers but from the whole staff. Everyone has been friendly, approachable and caring about the comfort and welfare of my Mother 
    Peter, son of resident at Amberwood House

    15 August 2018
  • My mother went to Amberwood House for respite care. Prior to this Mum was living alone with carers going in twice a day. When the respite period came to an end, Mum realised that she would miss the companionship. Not only is it wonderful for Mum but it gives me the comfort that Mum is cared for so well. The staff at Amberwood are a credit to Colten Care. Nothing is too much of a chore for them and they are so caring
    Julie, daughter of resident at Amberwood House

    13 August 2018
  • Thank you all for my wonderful care I received during my stay and also for your patience and understanding
    Carole, resident at Amberwood House

    29 July 2018
  • My neighbour loves the care and friendship of all the team and promptly decided to sell his house and move in! I have been delighted with the reception he has received and the way his friends are always welcome to visit - it is truly his home already and I am so glad he is happy here
    Angela, friend of resident at Amberwood House

    22 June 2018
  • Mum always said how happy she was during her time with you all at Amberwood House and we were so glad of this 
    Mark, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    22 May 2018
  • My experience at Amberwood was a very pleasant surprise, I found the staff exceptional, always caring and going the extra mile to help and assist the patients.
    Respite resident at Amberwood House

    15 May 2018
  • I found the staff exceptional, always caring and going the extra mile to help and assist the patients
    Resident at Amberwood House

    15 May 2018
  • Caring, happy environment with a good balance of activities. Comfortable accommodation, which is relaxing, with high standard of food
    Peter, respite resident at Amberwood House

    11 May 2018
  • During my stay of 11 weeks, I could not have asked for better treatment, the whole 4 weeks were thoroughly enjoyable
    Walton, respite resident at Amberwood House

    10 May 2018
  • The 2 years at Amberwood House has given us all an insight into the high standard and quality of care given and the caring nature of staff giving beyond their philosophy of dignity
    Jaraine, niece of resident at Amberwood House

    25 April 2018
  • I found the home staff very kind and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Great care was taken for my comfort. The food was very good and nothing was too much trouble
    Resident at Amberwood House

    19 April 2018
  • The home was very welcoming and made my husband feel safe for a few days respite care
    Jean, wife of resident at Amberwood House

    10 April 2018
  • Thank you for the dedicated an exceptional care you provided for our Mother. Thank you also for the catering team - Mum often commented on the lovely food. It was a comfort for us to know that Mum was receiving such outstanding care.
    Garry, son of resident at Amberwood House

    25 March 2018
  • We were so impressed with all the staff at Amberwood House, reflecting the same caring and professional vlaues 
    Paula, visitor to Amberwood House

    21 March 2018
  • We wish to thank you so very much for looking after Mum with such care, respect and affection. She really has enjoyed her stay and is always saying how kind everyone is.


    Debra, daughter of respite resident at Amberwood House

    23 February 2018
  • I want to thank everyone who took such great care of my relative whilst she was with you at Amberwood House. Great care and attention was provided; the carers, waitressing staff, cleaners, entertainment team and office staff all had the same attitude, and that was to ensure each and every person in the care home was extremely well looked after and happy.

    Thank you Amberwood – I cannot rate you highly enough.


    Hugh, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    08 February 2018
  • On behalf of my brothers and I, we would like to thank you for the care and companionship shown towards our mother.

    All the carers, kitchen staff and activity organisers were loving, helpful and attentive. The idea that all staff are part of a single team worked so well, and your efforts were much appreciated by us all.


    Penny, daughter of resident at Amberwood House

    04 January 2018
  • Thank you to all the staff at Amberwood House for looking after our relative so well, and for making her feel so comfortable.


    Anne, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    25 November 2017
  • I thank you sincerely for the kindness, care and consideration shown to me by all on my recent stay at Amberwood House. I felt truly cared for. An additional thank you for the food menu – delicious, varied and imaginative. I cannot speak too highly of the care received from Colten Care.


    Jill, respite resident at Amberwood House

    03 November 2017
  • Thank you all so much for looking after our relative during her stay with you. You have all been so kind and caring, and looked after her with such compassion.

     It’s been a pleasure to visit her in such beautiful surroundings.


    Marion, relative of resident

    23 August 2017
  • Thank you so much for looking after our relative with such compassion, love and care.


    Alison, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    08 July 2017
  • My mother was very happy at Amberwood. She felt safe, cared for and loved. I am most grateful to all the staff for their good will, kindness and professional care.


    Pamela, daughter of resident at Amberwood House

    06 July 2017
  • I just wanted to say thank you for all the help, support and kindness you showed towards our family member. It was very much appreciated.


    Family of resident at Amberwood House

    15 June 2017
  • Thank you very much for the care you all took in looking after our relative at your lovely home.


    Don, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    20 May 2017
  • Thank you once again for providing hospitality for our relative’s 91st birthday. On behalf of the entire family, thank you all!


    Sue, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    16 May 2017
  • I hope that I told you often enough how much I appreciated the care you gave Mum, but I felt I should write again with my heartfelt thanks for making Mum’s last couple of years such happy ones. The care and affection you showed her was amazing, but then you are all such exceptional people.

    I will always be grateful we chose Amberwood, so thanks once again. I will miss you all – you are all wonderful!


    Relative of resident at Amberwood House

    26 April 2017
  • Thank you for helping to make the transition for our family member a smooth one - she seems to have settled in quite well.

    Please thank all the staff for all they have done.


    Relative of resident at Amberwood House

    19 April 2017
  • Thank you so much to the staff at Amberwood House, especially the two wonderful chefs, Lorna and Annabel, for the delicious Chinese lunch you provided for my mother (and me!) for Mother’s Day last week.

    She particularly enjoys Chinese food, so I had booked a table at a Chinese restaurant as a surprise treat, but due to her recent incapacity, we weren’t able to make it. However, Lorna and Annabel came to the rescue, and created nine delicious Chinese dishes - plus prawn crackers and fortune cookies! They had even asked me which dishes are her favourite, and then prepared them all – and more besides! I was also offered private dining so that I could decorate the table for Mum.

    It was a special occasion which will remain in my memory – Mum was so surprised and very impressed. Once again, thank you to the Amberwood staff for continuing to offer and provide empathetic care for my mum.


    Jackie, daughter of resident at Amberwood House

    04 April 2017
  • We have recently returned from a ten-day holiday abroad, and I was concerned that my mother would feel lonely and neglected whilst I was away. However, I needn’t have worried. She may have been upset at times, but the Amberwood staff knew her so well they were able to cheer her up!

    Thank you to the carers, nurses, housekeeping, activities and restaurant staff for being so kind and thoughtful, and for giving Mum that extra bit of attention when it was needed.

    I hope the staff know how much we appreciate the people they are, and the jobs they do.


    Jackie, daughter of resident at Amberwood House

    19 March 2017
  • My mother, a stately 102, has recently spent four weeks in Amberwood House after a fall at her home. She is an immensely strong, gifted, though slight woman, with an independent spirit and a pleasure for ‘refinements’, as she calls them, despite a frugal nature. She was absolutely traumatised by her fall, losing for the first time in my memory, both her confidence and her ability to be stoical about pain. I was exhausted beyond description, having dropped everything at home to head straight down to care for her. I genuinely thought this was the end, but I desperately did not want to lose her in this way, with this level of pain, confusion and bewilderment for Mum.

    A trusted friend recommended Amberwood House, and we were lucky enough to secure an initial fortnight’s care. These two weeks turned into four, as Mum found herself unable to ‘think of next steps’, as she put it.

    Gradually, by perceptible increments, she regained strength and healed. The confidence and feistiness did not return, but Mum blossomed into a mellower, calmer person, at least able to live her days in comfort and serenity. This I did not expect, but am enormously grateful to Amberwood for.

    No one knows what path we will all take as we approach the end of life. But to see a proud, but damaged old lady, my mother, be restored enough to contemplate her ‘next step’ is life-affirming.


    Rachel, daughter of respite resident at Amberwood House

    28 February 2017
  • I would like to say a big thank you for all the help we have received from you all at Amberwood House – we appreciate it very much.

    We have got to know so many of you over the past few weeks and look to you all as friends.


    Dot, respite resident at Amberwood House

    30 December 2016
  • The more I think and talk to people about the Christmas Gala at Amberwood, the more I realise what a brilliant event it was. The dining room looked stunning, the meal was fantastic (Lorna and the team did an amazing job – every part of every course was delicious and the service was wonderful), and the entertainment was perfect (the Landgirls were very entertaining and had the whole room singing and clapping).

     It must have been a tiring day for the staff but it didn’t show. and they ensured it was a memorable evening for both residents and their families.


    Jackie, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    12 December 2016
  • I would like to thank most sincerely all of the staff at Amberwood House for making my mother’s 95th birthday so special. She had a really beautiful day yesterday with her friends and family. Thank you for allowing us to use the pretty coffee room on the 2nd floor, and my compliments to the catering staff for the delicious short eats and the really yummy birthday cake. Everything was done to perfection and we could not have asked for more.

    May I also take this opportunity to say how happy my mother is at Amberwood and to thank all the staff who are kindly looking after her. 


    Eileen, daughter of resident at Amberwood House

    28 September 2016
  • I am writing to thank you all for all the kindness and respect you have shown towards not only my mother, but also our family as a whole. Mum was treated with great respect, maintained her dignity and was consulted at every stage. The nursing expertise and personal care that she received was outstanding, and everyone took the trouble to talk to us and explain matters.

    A huge thank you to you all!


    Jill, daughter of resident at Amberwood House

    26 August 2016
  • I would like to thank all of the staff at Amberwood House for giving me such a wonderful birthday – the best one I have ever had! I think you are all wonderful people and I am glad to spend the rest of my life here.


    Peggy, resident at Amberwood House

    14 June 2016
  • I just wanted to write this note to say how enjoyable both the sponsored walk and picnic were yesterday. I can’t give enough praise to the team who organised it. They made it such fun for the residents and their families, and did Amberwood House proud.


    Jackie, relative of resident at Amberwood House

    09 June 2016